Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Monica Avram

    Great mix!

    This trip is a great mix of man-made and nature-made. If you like ruins and nature it's an amazing trip! The scenery was great, you can't get bored and the ruins in Troy don't look like the ones in Ephesus which don't look like the ones in Bergama, which don't look like the ones in Aspendos and so on...they are different and each one is unique and fabulous. It's really hard to compare Cappadocia to anything else and the balloon ride over those interesting rock formations was absolutely wonderful! I loved every moment of this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The underground city of Derinkuyu and Cappadocia.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Atahan did his best. His knowledge about Turkey was impressive and his organizational skills really good.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Gill Denyer

    Turkey review

    We visited all the places that we booked the trip to see and our excellent guide Ali also took us to a number of smaller less well known places. Although some of the coach journeys were long, they were split up as best as possible. A few times lunch and dinner were much later than expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the candy mountains at Pamekalle and paddling in the warm spring water.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ali was very informative amd knowledgeable about the history of all the places we visited. He was always considerate towards all the members of the group and treated us all equally.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear long sleeves and long trousers for the Lycian way walk in Kas and be prepared for a spot of mountain climbing!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Christine Jeffrey

    Amazing country

    Very good value for money, some amazing sights and scenery, hotels quite basic with the exception of one or two. Be prepared to lug cases around now and then. Hours of travel but the scenery helped the time go by and lots of stops included.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent knowledge and very good English, very professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t expect great hotels and be prepared to carry/drag cases around now and then.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have been prepared to pay a little more for better hotels.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Janet Watkins

    Hightlights of Turkey

    A very comprehensive tour of this country travelling over 3000 km. Our guide was excellent, one of the best I have had. He was knowledgable and not only gave us the history of each place we visited, but also knew some fabulous restaurants where we could sample Turkish food and wine, not to mention some of the more unusual local drinks. I don't think there was any meal that I didn't enjoy (and the wine wasn't bad either). Of course your fellow travellers can make or break a holiday. I was lucky that I was with a super group, all very considerate of each other. No one was late at meeting points and everyone was very friendly so thanks to them too. I can thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone who would like to experience the true Turkey, visiting ancient sights, staying in old and new cities and towns and experimenting with different foods and drinks. I would have liked more time in Instanbul but perhaps I will save that for another visit. Something I would realy like to do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think the best was when some of us visited a local hamman. It was very old but very beautiful inside the building. After being steamed, scrubbed and pummelled I realised that this is what people had been having for centuries, and now I myself had been able to participate in the experiance. being a bit of a history buff I loved the fact that I had been able to continure with a practice so old.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. I have travelled the world and before only 2 group leaders had made anygood impression, one in the Dolomites and one in Uzbekistan. Our tour leader was Ali Kartal and he has now joined as one of the best.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that you do spend a lot of time in a coach. However, your compensation is that you see a lot of the countryside and visit some wonderful sites.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Sharon Wall

    A great trip!

    Overall, the trip was wonderful! It was my first time doing a trip where we covered so many kilometres which made it tiring, but I expected that at the outset. Some of the hotel rooms could have been of a slightly higher standard.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Galipoli and gaining a greater understanding of the battles fought there. Generally getting a sense of the ancient history of this part of the world Experiencing the power of nature at Cappadocia.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ali was excellent! He’s knowledgeable, organized, personable and has a brilliant sense of humour. He’s also wonderful at managing a diverse group - although we regularly told him we were his best group ever.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To understand the pace and how that, more than anything else will be challenging. I would also suggest that walking poles could be offered as a suggestion in the trip notes for anyone who may need than. This is relevant for only a few days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was invaluable in teaching me how to determine which types of trips to book in the future.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    David Petyt

    Highlights of Turkey

    Wonderful introduction to this huge and beautiful country. Ancient history, beautiful coastlines, Turkish Baths, friendly people, gorgeous food

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Wow moment was the Roman theatre at Aspendos,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Aysenur Geng was excellent, her depth of knowledge was incredible and her organisational skill very good. Personally I did have some problems with her pronunciation of English

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    \be prepared for anything
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Maria Somjen

    Turkey was fascinating but tour leader was not the best

    Turkey is a fascinating place historically, politically and culturally and definitely worth visiting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were blown away by the “Cotton Castles” and, of course, Cappadocia and the underground dwellings. The rock formations in both those areas are really unusual and beautiful. Unfortunately the group was not able to take the balloon ride at Cappadocia because of weather conditions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had just finished a tour of Sri Lanka with an outstanding guide so maybe it made us more dissatisfied with the guide we had on this trip. Her English was difficult to understand and her explanations more convoluted; she was often repetitive. It took up too much time at the site which could have been spent exploring. It might have been better given on the bus. A couple of times we wanted to stop for photographs, but told it was too dangerous or cost money when there was an obvious pull off or we would have been glad to pay. We did not really learn about other aspects of Turkish life, the politics, religion (except for Sufism) and culture.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We suggest that if you take this trip, you spend a few extra days in Istanbul before or after exploring Topkapi, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Dolmadahce Palace and various other museums, plus hanging out with the locals.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Couple of the hotel rooms were so small we had nowhere to put our suitcases, and one had no hot water, another no separate shower, might be better to charge a little more for the trip and provide slightly better accommodation. A leisure level trip is likely to have more senior people on it so I think it would be better to have a more senior guide.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Susan Darnton

    Highlights of Turkey

    An excellent introduction to this large and fascinating country. The itinerary allowed us to get a real flavour of the history, archaeology and topography. The sites and ordering of the stop-overs were excellently chosen.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having been steeped in ancient history from an early age I was amazed to find myself in Troy and to realise that it was a very small small acropolis but with great influence both geographically and historically.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have been on many Exodus trips and generally have admired the leaders. This time though, Tolga excelled all my previous experience. Knowledgeable and caring about his country and caring of his guests ---and a gastronome who led us to all the best eateries [all Exodus clients seem ready for the next meal].

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take the trip. One tip is that in terms of cash, it is better to put money into your back account at home and to use the many ATM's available everywhere. There are far more ATM's [and they are open all hours of course] than there are exchange outlets.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus are so reliable-- trustworthy in all circumstances. On this trip we had to be diverted because of unrest in Ankara and it happened calmly, seamlessly and very satisfactorily.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Malcolm Otter

    Terrific Turkey with the amazing Fatih Develi and Unal

    We set our expectations quite high for this trip but these were exceeded in every way from start to finish after meeting our superb tour guide - Fatih Develi - in Istanbul. His organization and communication skills were outstanding as he guided us smoothly throughout the fantastic highlights of this great country, imparting his considerable knowledge of all aspects of Turkey from religions to history ancient and modern, wildlife, industries, politics etc. etc. Fatih was the highlight of our trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were very many inspirational moments including our visit to 'tremendos' Aspendos with it's 'stupendos' theatre, the spiritual experience of a performance by Whirling Dervishes of the Sema ceremony and exploring the superb city of Hierapolis which was completely unexpected above the travertines of Pumakkale. But for us, the most inspirational moment was undoubtedly in the peaceful setting of Celaleddin Rumi mausoleum in the Mevlana Museum in Konya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely superb! He worked so hard to assist each one of us whenever he could and with great wit and humour in order to make our trip as enjoyable as possible. What a gem you have there. It was a great pleasure to meet him and share the journey with him and our fantastic driver - Unal - who was such a gracious traveling companion too. Unal was always there to pick us up on time and handle all our luggage and often went out of his way to assist us. His negotiation of rush hour traffic, especially in Ankara and Istanbul with patience and no little skill was exemplary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We would probably advise potential travellers on this trip to extend their stay in Istanbul by a day before or after the tour, though we did get to see some of the many places of interest in this great city.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I could go on and on about all the incredible experiences we had on this trip - I could not recommend it highly enough. Best to go and do it for yourself - you won't be dissappointed.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Mary Otter

    Highlights of Turkey

    As the title suggests, this is tour which takes in some of the highlights of Turkey. A mix of ancient and more recent history, culture and amazing landscapes, together with friendly people and good food, its a recipe for a great holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I had high expectations of Turkey and this trip far exceeded them. There were many inspirational moments from the amazing rock formations of Cappadocia and Pamukkale, to the quiet contemplation of Mevlana Rumi Mausoleum in Konya, the poignancy of Gallipoli, and the remains of the ancient city of Ephesus.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Fatih was wonderful. Professional, flexible, and cheerful, he was always able to offer choices to the varied group of travellers. His knowledge and love of Turkey shone through. He was ably assisted by Unal the driver, who was also flexible about the itinerary and timings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try not to be too disappointed if you can't take the balloon flight over Cappadocia, we were not able to as it was too windy on the first day and fully booked on the second. There are some long bus journeys, but the bus was comfortable, the driver excellent and the roads good, with regular stops on the way. There is not a huge amount of time in Istanbul so I would recommend adding at least a day at the beginning or end of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone interested in Turkey, I'm sure there is lots more to see but it gives a flavour of the country
Call us on +90 (0)850 622 33 78