Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2018
    Sonya Bartley

    I amazed myself every day!

    Learning to snow shoe was simple, but for the first two days I also had to learn how to pick myself up. My feet felt huge. The walking was exhilarating and the views spectacular. I began to understand the mountaineer's drive to be in that terrain. At times I was overwhelmed with the effort it took for me to reach my destination but always felt happy to be participating. Different group members were warm and encouraging. Our guide was OUTSTANDING. I was a teacher and I appreciated all of the incentives Sara used to help me not only finish my walk but enjoy it too. A fantastic and memorable week! Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along a vertiginous mountain track and realising I'd almost completed it without calling for my husband.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara always described what we would be covering each day. She instilled trust and confidence and loved and knew the mountains. She gave clear instructions and was able to help us with old and new injuries. Sara was OUTSTANDING.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I feel you have be cardio fit to do this week. Arms and legs are utilised all day!!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Sonya Bartley

    I amazed myself every day!

    Learning to snow shoe was simple, but for the first two days I also had to learn how to pick myself up. My feet felt huge. The walking was exhilarating and the views spectacular. I began to understand the mountaineer's drive to be in that terrain. At times I was overwhelmed with the effort it took for me to reach my destination but always felt happy to be participating. Different group members were warm and encouraging. Our guide was OUTSTANDING. I was a teacher and I appreciated all of the incentives Sara used to help me not only finish my walk but enjoy it too. A fantastic and memorable week! Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along a vertiginous mountain track and realising I'd almost completed it without calling for my husband.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara always described what we would be covering each day. She instilled trust and confidence and loved and knew the mountains. She gave clear instructions and was able to help us with old and new injuries. Sara was OUTSTANDING.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I feel you have be cardio fit to do this week. Arms and legs are utilised all day!!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Sonya Bartley

    I amazed myself every day!

    Learning to snow shoe was simple, but for the first two days I also had to learn how to pick myself up. My feet felt huge. The walking was exhilarating and the views spectacular. I began to understand the mountaineer's drive to be in that terrain. At times I was overwhelmed with the effort it took for me to reach my destination but always felt happy to be participating. Different group members were warm and encouraging. Our guide was OUTSTANDING. I was a teacher and I appreciated all of the incentives Sara used to help me not only finish my walk but enjoy it too. A fantastic and memorable week! Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along a vertiginous mountain track and realising I'd almost completed it without calling for my husband.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara always described what we would be covering each day. She instilled trust and confidence and loved and knew the mountains. She gave clear instructions and was able to help us with old and new injuries. Sara was OUTSTANDING.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I feel you have be cardio fit to do this week. Arms and legs are utilised all day!!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Sonya Bartley

    I amazed myself every day!

    Learning to snow shoe was simple, but for the first two days I also had to learn how to pick myself up. My feet felt huge. The walking was exhilarating and the views spectacular. I began to understand the mountaineer's drive to be in that terrain. At times I was overwhelmed with the effort it took for me to reach my destination but always felt happy to be participating. Different group members were warm and encouraging. Our guide was OUTSTANDING. I was a teacher and I appreciated all of the incentives Sara used to help me not only finish my walk but enjoy it too. A fantastic and memorable week! Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along a vertiginous mountain track and realising I'd almost completed it without calling for my husband.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara always described what we would be covering each day. She instilled trust and confidence and loved and knew the mountains. She gave clear instructions and was able to help us with old and new injuries. Sara was OUTSTANDING.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I feel you have be cardio fit to do this week. Arms and legs are utilised all day!!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Elaine Richards

    Effort rewarded

    Being complete novices my wife and I were just experimenting with this trip. We are so glad we did. The walks are all pretty challenging stuff but the rewards of the effort put in are more than ample reward. We were fortunate enough to get a pretty good week, some snow, some blue skies and not too cold and the Dolomites definitely showed us their best face. We are in our early sixties and walk regularly and found the walks doable but not easy. You get out of this holiday what you put in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the summit of Durakopf and being completely surrounded by snow covered mountains against a clear blue sky takes some beating but there were many other moments like that. Every day provided something new and even more amazing than the previous one. The sense of achievement we, and the rest of the group felt on reaching our targets.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It is quite hard to explain how much Sara makes this holiday. She is all the things a guide should be, knowledgeable, helpful, caring and extremely competent but the whole is so much more than the sum of the parts. With any reasonably competent guide this would be a good holiday but Sara takes it up a notch and to a different level. Excellent does not do her justice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are a fit and able walker and the snowshoeing will come naturally. Read the trip notes and kit list thoroughly and ensure you follow it. Bring a camera or you will regret it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We take a number of holidays this is the best one week holiday we have ever taken. Learning about the area's history (particularly the First World War) was an interesting bonus.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Hebe Pritchard

    Snowshoeing in the Dolomites

    We have just returned from the Snowshoeing holiday In the Dolimites. We had not been snowshoeing before , others in the party had. Our guide Sara ,was fantastic at bringing the first timers and the experienced along at a pace that fitted both. She was amazing at helping individuals, encouragement and delivered everyday on a challenging walk with a spectacular visual reward at the end and "feel good" personal achievement factor. We felt Sara was super woman, she looked after our welfare and wellbeing constantly and her attention to detail and our safety was amazing. The hotel for this trip was also great. Small and very friendly with great food and facilities to relax with after the days physical challenges. Particularly special beds! Essential at the end of an exercise filled day. We thoroughly enjoyed the week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the" top" of mountains and finding only ourselves for company and peace .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sara, our guide, did an excellent job of working out our fitness levels and choosing the walks appropriately . We did feel there were people in the group fitter than us, but Sara made it possible to achieve the same walk at our own pace with seemingly no physical effort on her part guiding from the front and encouraging at the back! We came home with a huge sense of achievement . I do think to really enjoy this holiday you should feel comfortable with eight- ten mile walk. But, I think each group is well assessed for its potential and walks chosen accordingly. Obviously the further you walk the more you gain from the fantastic scenery . If you are looking for a strol in the park , maybe this one is not for you.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Morag Leaver

    Snowshoeing in the Dolomites

    A great week. Challenging at times, but so worth it to experience raw nature and incredible scenery and views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Monte Piana and thinking about the 14 000 soldiers lives that the mountain had claimed during World War 1 due to the fighting between the Italian and Austro-Hungarian armies and the inhospitable conditions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Sara Bull, was truly exceptional and inspirational especially when I was struggling with some of the uphill sections. She showed me how to reduce my pace to a quarter of what I thought I should be doing and this set me in good stead for the remaining walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Kronzplatz offers long wide pistes for exhilarating downhill skiing on the free day. Take the short train journey from Villabassa to Perca Ried (3 stops) where you will find on the station platform a ski rental shop (19 euros for one day rental of skis, boots and poles and you can leave your walking boots in the shop), a ski pass ticket office (55 euros for a one day pass) and the cable car to take you up the mountain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first taste of snowshoeing and it won't be my last.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Steve Roberts

    Fantastic

    This was my first time on the type of holiday but from the moment we left the airport , I knew I had made the right choice in booking this holiday. The hotel was great, and the views spectacular. As someone who often walks alone I was worried that a group holiday wouldn't be my thing, but there were plenty of opportunities to break away from the group if you wanted. I never felt rushed if wanted to take photos, or just admire the view. It turned out walking as a group was a lot of fun. If I was to be really fussy I would say I would have prefered the evening meals to be a bit more basic, but there were options on the menu if you weren't happy with the main menu. Breakfast provided a good selection, and I normally made a right pig of myself.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To stand on the snow covered plateau and soak up the 360 degree views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    OMG. This women (Sarah) is inspirational. Sarah is an fantastic guide. She went far beyond what I expected, to ensure we all had a great holiday. She provided loads of information on the area and its history, whilst also making time to speak to every individual in the group. Nothing was to much trouble for her, even assisting the group in arranging activities for the rest day. Not only did she have great stories of her own to enjoy, but listened to others stories as well.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am looking to book this holiday again (or one like it). So my advice is to just do it
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Martin coles

    Strenuous

    Beautiful scenery, decent but not outstanding hotel, very professional guide, but be aware that the walking is very strenuous with a lot of extended uphill sections, and not, as advertised, moderate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day of rest!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Nancy Mills

    A Remarkable Combination

    This adventure was a rare combination of breath-takingly beautiful snow-shoeing treks—all selected to challenge but not overwhelm—combined with expert group creation and facilitation skills.. Each of us felt truly seen and supported. An unusual feat in my experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There is nothing quite like walking through virgin snow up the side of an evergreen tree covered mountain with the utter confidence that your guide has your safety totally in hand. Although being a bit disappointed when she once decided that conditions called for us to turn back prior to our original destination, knowing that Sara would err on the side of safety allowed us to confidently and fully engage in what she had planned for us each day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was the epitome of adventure guide professionalism: skilled and experienced and knowledgeable in her particular adventure “specialty” and region while also unusually skillful in group dynamics and cohesion-building. I felt personally seen and supported by her, and all the rest of the group reported the same thing. She challenged us without pushing us. Cared for us without smothering us. Educated us without lecturing us. Can’t wait to travel with her again!
Call us on +90 (0)850 622 33 78