Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2017
    Deborah Loach

    Dolomites snowshoeing February 2017

    One of the best holidays I have ever had. I was a little nervous about doing a first group holiday but this holiday was amazing. The group leader, Sara, was fantastic - very knowledgeable about the mountains, and many other things. She was very friendly and very interesting to talk to. The other members of the group were lovely people. The scenery was incredible and the walking was varied and perfectly planned. The only criticism was the dinner menu which was over complicated - would be much better to have 3 courses with a few choices. The breakfasts were fantastic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the mountains to see amazing views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Perfect.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be pretty fit.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Lynda Samler

    Snowshoeing in the Dolomites

    I have just returned from a marvellous holiday in the Dolomites. Perfect weather, amazing scenery, 4* hotel, excellent company, and an elite group leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many moments during the week. Just being surrounded by the beautiful mountains and snow in itself was inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This is my 3rd holiday with Sara Bull as the group leader. She excels as a leader, always going that extra mile for her group members. On this holiday I was the slowest, but the guidance and support was always there from Sara. Thank you for making it a very pleasurable experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not hesitate to holiday with Exodus. They are very professional. Try something new and enjoy the experience, and the satisfaction of achievement.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Looking forward to my next holiday with Exodus.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    John Hughes

    Winter Adventure

    The whole holiday went very well. Initially, snow was limited but that all changed on Tuesday when proper snow-shoeing conditions arrived. Our itinerary was flexible so that we were able to undertake the optimum walk each day to suit both the weather and snow conditions. Day 1 saw us walked up Monte Piana using crampons. On day two we ascended Seikofel from the KreuzbergpassPass using both crampons and show-shoes; lovely sunny day. Day three was snowy so we made our way to the Durrensteinhutte and along to Platzwiese using our snow-shoes once again. Day 4 was a rest day; we chose to take the gondola to Monte Elmo and sit in the sun whilst enjoying the views over the Sesto Dolomites, eating heartily and watching the skiers. All excellent stuff but the best was yet to come.......

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Days 5 and 6 really were fabulous; some of the best walks we have ever experienced. On day five we ascended Lutterkopf and strode out along the ridge to the summit of Durakopf at 2275m. The next day was the stiff climb up to the gloriously located Rossalmhutte (2124m) in the heart of the mountains. The descent was enormous fun with some off-piste routes cutting the corners off the zig-zags. Two wonderful days in lovely sunshine.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was an absolute wonder. She looked after us all so well and made sure that we all got involved and that we acted as a group without constraining anyone who wanted to go faster (or indeed slower). She helped us all in many ways and gave us the encouragement to get the most out of a wonderful holiday in a beautiful and dramatic part of the world.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about crampons and show-shoes. Both are easy to use and there to help you. Essentially it is just about walking in the snow and ice and being able to do so safely whilst making reasonable progress in winter conditions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The equipment provided is top quality and a great help.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Catherine Smith

    Snowshoeing in the Dolomites

    A fantastic week of snowshoeing. Awesome in the true sense of the word! Awesome hotel, awesome views, awesome walks and awesome guide Sara! We were lucky to arrive after a decent snow fall so we had 5 days snowshoeing in pristine snow with beautiful clear blue skies.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was amazing and each walk inspirational in its own right. We loved the Narnia walk climbing up through the snow laden trees, Monte Piano summit had poignant moments as we thought about the WW1 trenches deep beneath the snow and the Wilderness walk up to Rossalmhutte had its own charm with views of a frozen waterfall. If I had to pick one, it would be the ridge walk combining 2 summits - Lutterkopf and Durakopf. The views were magnificent with the Dolomites to one side and the Austrian Alps the the other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was truly wonderful. She was so professional and knowledgeable and yet wonderfully caring at the same time. Her enthusiasm is infectious. She really cared about making sure we had a great holiday and looked after each and every one of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is definitely a trip book if you're considering trying snowshoeing. The hotel is really comfortable with great food and spa facilities. Sara is a superb guide and the routes she takes you on are spectacular! If you enjoy mountain walking and like the snow it is a must!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Pack layers! When climbing up hill you get very warm especially if the sun is out. However in the shade or when you stop it can get very cold!
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Susan Turner

    Snowshoeing in the Dolomites

    Really lovely holiday Snowshoeing in the Dolomites. The hotel was very comfy, the scenery stunning, the trip leader couldn't have been better and the group were great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each walk was very different and all had their highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader, Sara, couldn't have been more thoughtful. She was there for us the whole time, tended blisters, provided additional snacks and ensured we all had a good time.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    David Collins

    Best trip ever!

    Spectacular scenery, great hotel and a guide beyond brilliant! Every walk was different with varying degrees of effort required but all great fun. If you like walking in the mountains and are looking for jaw dropping views then book this trip - you won't regret it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view from the top of Durakopf. A sight that will remain with me forever. All of the other views were only brilliant! Got told off for saying "wow!!" every 5 minutes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara is professional, caring, knowledgeable and fun!! She enthused the whole group and spared no effort to ensure everyone got the maximum enjoyment from every day's activity.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take layers. Conditions can vary so you need to be able to easily add or subtract layers. Sunglasses, factor 50 and, most importantly, a camera with lots of memory.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic group of people on this trip added to the enjoyment.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Kath & Pete Needham

    Fantastic holiday - snow and views

    Overall an incredible week - no 2 days the same and they just got better. Our fabulous guide, Sara, was enthusiastic and motivating; her knowledge of the area was amazing; nothing was too much trouble and she ensured everyone had the best time ever. It was fun as well as hard work but thoroughly enjoyable. So pleased that we went.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Shared experience of completing some amazing walks, climbing some big hills and seeing 360 degree views of amazing mountains. Days got better and better .... such inspiration to see such stunning scenery - scenery overload!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic, brilliant, enthusiastic, motivating, knowledgeable, fun, determined to ensure that everyone on the trip had a fabulous holiday. Thank you Sara!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book!!!! You will have a great holiday! Make sure you take layers to wear as it does get warm when the sun shines! Sun glasses and lip balm are a must!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great holiday - many thanks to everyone on the trip who made it such a fantastic holiday. :)
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Bob and Marion Ganthony

    Snowshoeing in the Dolomites

    Almost perfect trip. The weather was magnificent, blue skies and sunshine pretty well throughout. The hotel Adler was excellent - comfortable beds, lovely food, good service, lovely swimming pool to relax in after a day on the mountains. The scenery is as magnificent as it looks in travel brochures. To top it all, Sara, our guide, was helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, organised, and everything else you could hope for a leader to be.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two, for the same reason. Ascending Strudelkopf and, a couple of days later, Durakopf. Both tops have all-round views of the Dolomites and even the distant Alps. Both were well worth the climb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara is superb.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for climbing. These are the Dolomites! But the effort is all worthwhile.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    sally vaughan

    Snowshoeing in the Dolomites

    Amazing week with perfect conditions. The area is beautiful and the walks are varied. Great equipment provided lovely hotel and our leader, Sara, could not be faulted

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing every walk - be prepared for some steep climbs and descents, each one is absolutely worth it

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was brilliant. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and incredibly talented. Nothing was too much trouble and she is passionate about her work. She even ran a stretching session at the end of the day to ease our aching muscles!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some challenging routes, all of which are achievable and worth every step. There was more ascents than I expected - go with a sense of humour ready for when you first fall over, getting up again is interesting fo the novice!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can't fault this trip - everything was great, our group got on so well. Would highly recommend , definitely a happy moose :)
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Sandra Hounsham

    Fantastic snowshoeing and amazing views

    We had a really amazing week in the Dolomites, it was hard work but with huge rewards. Being in the mountains most walks started up, up up and ended down, down, down. But we had some truly amazing views of the Dolomites and Alps and the hospitality in the many Mountain huts was much appreciated. Hotel Adler was very comfortable and the staff were very accommodating for a variety dietary needs (vegetarians, nut allergies etc)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing the summits of Lutterkopf and Durakopf where we were rewarded with astounding views of the Dolomites and Alps. Snowshoeing down afterwards in near perfect conditions - deep powder snow! Also the final walk was a steep climb up to Rossalmhutte which felt like a real achievement!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was fantastic and went above and beyond her duty to ensure we all had a great time. As two of the slower walkers we were not made to feel a burden and she spent her time equally with the whole group. Sara made sure everyone was organised for their free day - with bus timetables highlighted etc, she even got hold of maps that showed all the walks we did during the week which was fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long walks with steep ups and downs. Clothing - take layers so you can be prepared for heating up on the ascents and then cooling down when descending. If you go to Mexico City Restaurant on your free evening have the pizza not the mexican as the latter is very bland!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On our free day we went on two toboggan runs (could have done three but ran out of time) 5km at Croda Rossa and 3km at San Candido, you need to rent out toboggans at each place and you need id (passport or driving license) to rent them.
Call us on +90 (0)850 622 33 78