Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Sheila Tilley

    Borneo and the Malaysian Peninsular

    A holiday of two different parts-the wildlife of Borneo was amazing and the accommodation at Sepilok was so close to the orang utang sanctuary allowing us to spend lots of time there.To see so much of Malaysia during the second week and take in the diversity as we travelled far exceeded my expectations

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the orang utangs up close Botanical gardens in Penang Cablecar to skywalk on Langkawi The whole trip was excellent

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Aldrid was so helpful and quick to point out wildlife--couldn't have been better. Wye was excellent so cheerful ,helpful and informative---the best leader I have known having travelled with Exodus for 10 years--an absolute gem!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I found it easier to take local currency and didn't require as much as was suggested in the trip notes--mainly because the food was so reasonably priced

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    a thoroughly enjoyable trip
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Sheila Tilley

    Borneo and the Malaysian Peninsular

    A holiday of two different parts-the wildlife of Borneo was amazing and the accommodation at Sepilok was so close to the orang utang sanctuary allowing us to spend lots of time there.To see so much of Malaysia during the second week and take in the diversity as we travelled far exceeded my expectations

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeing the orang u
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Earle Shields

    Cycle Costa Rica and Panama

    High-handed and unfriendly trip leader tarnished what otherwise would have been a great trip with excellent logistics, amazing wildlife, and wonderful accommodations

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Either seeing Osama, the 18 foot crocodile, or the sight of the Panama Canal in operation.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable about the wildlife and geography in Costa Rica. Plus Gerhard speaks perfect English. However, his shortcomings described above (high-handed and unfriendly) outweighed his attributes and resulted in a flawed trip.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Cliff Dean

    "Oh my goodness! You're never gonna believe this !!"

    A smoothly running trip, comfortable hotels & lodges, giving a great sens of this country's natural riches, transformed into something exceptional by a gifted tour leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    (Many moments) Soundscapes: At home I instantly and unconsciously recognise every bird call whereas in CR I was back to being a complete beginner, unable even to guess what kind of bird was making each sound. With Glenda's help I was able by the end of the trip, to differentiate quite a few, enriching the experience. Favourite songs: Montezuma Oropendula & Black-faced Solitaire. The various nocturnal choruses of frogs and crickets were astounding, sometimes synchronizing to a pulse like some ambient electronica, at other times more like a warehouse full of misfunctioning radios & striplights. Frogs that sounded like Space Invaders or little carpenters hammering boxes... I forgot the Howler Monkeys at dawn... The unexpected: Scarlet Macaws suddenly appearing when I thought we had little chance of seeing them. Flocks of unexplained nighthawks passing over the coast one evening; another invisibly camouflaged on its next just beside a busy path. A Masked Falcon gleefully cackling as it carried a snake to its perch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant: Glanda Araya is a great asset. Smartly turned out, punctual, well-prepared, efficient, conscientious, attentive to the needs of tour participants. Subject knowledge excellent, but communicated with heartfelt enthusiasm, hence my title. Glenda's excitement at the amazing things we saw and heard was authentic and infectious. Her social skills were excellent: cheerful, humorous, with the ability to make relationships seem personal as well as professional. She & driver Luis seemed like old mates so I was amazed to find they'd never met before this trip! She was friendly with and respectful towards hotel personnel. I benefited greatly from her enthusiasm for bird-watching & she often went out of her way to show me things or just spend extra time looking for birds. The great majority of nature guides are male, and there were occasions when some of them seemed less respectful of Glenda because she's a (small) woman. I feel though that she is a shining example to which other female guides could aspire. I hope and expect that Exodus actively compensate for gender imbalances in the companies they deal with but there are some structural impediments to this, one of which is companies' preference for guide & driver to share a room. In order to pursue an inclusive policy I would expect companies to absorb the extra expense of separate accommodation in the case of female tour leaders. Another approach would be to employ female drivers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes. Not all had understood that a "wildlife" tour might involve stopping to look at wildlife. They imagined it as a hiking holiday and got restless. This was not a big problem, and was solved quite easily thanks to the leader's flexibility. Only a few brought binoculars. Glenda compensated with very adept handling of her telescope, enabling everyone a good look at the more static animals.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have appreciated a more critical appraisal of the social and environmental impacts of agricultural policies eg of monocultures, of destruction of mangroves, of induced dependence upon pesticides & fertilizers. The baleful influence of United Fruit was hardly touched upon, nor was the expropriation of land, the transition from small-scale forming to plantation work & move to service industries. This may be on account of pressure to present CR as an untainted "tropical paradise" but I would say that a group of mature, intelligent & well-travelled people would appreciate a more nuanced approach.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Pete McLeod

    Away from it all

    The snow conditions for the week I was there were not conducive to great cross-country skiing - deep powder and rising temperatures, which made for arduous progress. Even so, we were taken on full-day tours on every day and the visibility was usually excellent, so we got some wonderful views of the area. I hope to be able to return in the near future to ski up and explore the beautiful mountains surrounding the lake. I have to make some mention of the catering at Mosstrond: it was quite simply wonderful and despite the daily exertion I am pretty sure I have lost no weight!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the quiet location and the informality of the set-up at Mosstrond. A truly unique place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Neil and Philip have a great love for the place and considerable knowledge of the area, which they are happy to share. They both gave freely of their time to those of us there and went out of their way to make sure we were both well looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a wine box or a few beers! There is no other way to get a drink at Mosstrond.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having come from a background of hut-to-hut ski touring in Norway and Sweden (over many years), some of which have been self-organised and others with hut-to-hut tour providers, I was surprised not to be asked by Exodus about my previous ski experience when I booked this trip. The grades provided do give some idea as to what skills are expected, but this self-vetting appears to be the only check on suitability. I can appreciate that client choice is important, but groups need to have a fairly similar range of skills and stamina for group day tours to be a success for all.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Helaine Selin

    Interesting

    I was happy to go to a place that is pretty much free of tourists, certainly in February. The hotel was lovely, the food was good and the walks were scenic if not too varied. At least one was really a bit more than moderate. The guide, Gizer, was fantastic, filling us with more than enough information about everything. North Cyprus has an interesting and pretty sad history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think I liked Salamis, on our day off!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was knowledgeable and careful with all of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would say it's not leisurely but quite moderate as a rating. Nothing difficult though.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Worth a visit. Also, in February, it's the start of Spring, and we saw tons of beautiful flowers.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Michael McDonald

    Winter walking in Aosta

    A generally good trip with a nice rustic hotel, a good leader, a very nice town and good restaraunts but the walking was a little tame and limited, although just about OK for a Grade 2 trip, and the hotel rooms/beds were not conducive to two strangers sharing (see below).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fresh air and great position/views. Excellent food. Fantastic weather.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent (Mr. Mien Barrel).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lot of free time (too much, see below?) so take a good book, artistic or photographic equipment etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    1. Arrived in Cogne at lunchtime on the saturday so lots of time to spare in the pm so, as with other exodus trips, perhaps we should have been taken on an orientation walk around the town, to stretch the legs etc.? 2. On the return we had of all saturday morning to kill so not much to do so an activity then would have been nice, or maybe leave Cogne mid-morning and stop off in Aosta town for lunch and a look around (even though some people went there on their day off there is still lots more to see in Aosta). 3. All walks ended rather early at c.2pm so perhaps there should have been some sort of extra pm activity on a few of the days, such as our leader taking us on to a snow field and teaching us about snow, avalanches, snow holes, snow craft etc.? 4. The area has limited walking in winter, especially if there is heavy snow, with just four valleys to explore. Two of the valleys are very nice but the other two had too much road walking and too many houses etc. In sparse snow conditions, like on our trip, we should have gone further and higher, perfectly possible to do this and still stay within a Grade 2 trip. 5. The hotel rooms were not conducive to sharing with a stranger. The two single beds are very close together and almost amount to a double bed so a little awkward for two people who had just met at the airport, especially if one of them snores very loudly and who had a bad cold (as in my case). On two nights I had to find peace and quiet by going up to the spa at 0100 in the morning and sleeping on the massage table! The beds in the room could not be moved as they were part of a fixed headboard. 6. A very early flight out so most of us had to stay in a hotel at or near Gatwick on the Friday night so increasing the cost of the trip by £100 or so. A later flight would have been better of course, if possible and if there is one (maybe limited flights to Turin?).
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Frances Burman-Mueller

    What does this mean?

    Varied itinerary, unusual overnights. Food quality very mixed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The game drives

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. Pleasant, helpful, everything went to plan

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You definitely need a torch: no electricity in some places. Be prepared for very infrequent Wi-fi Some laundry opportunities are in fact self service launderettes.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Hazel Strudwick

    Well organised trip to see many of the iconic places

    This tour will take you to the main ‘must see’ places in Sri Lanka. However - if you want to go off the beaten track then this isn’t the trip for you. There is free time where you can explore on your own but obviously limited as to where you can go. The standard of the hotels vary - but mostly are ‘tourist’ class with other tour groups staying. Opportunity to eat locally is limited - pressure from guide to eat the hotel buffet. We ordered off the menu - much cheaper - and more than enough food. Breakfasts varied from very good to poor. Be prepared to see lots of rubbish in the towns and along the side of the road.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not one particular thing. The weather was very foggy when we were due to trek Worlds End. So guide asked group to vote on whether we did it. Group voted not to. No one did Adam’s Peak. Cycling was fun. Places to explore on your own in Kandy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was very well organised. We never had any problems. He has done the trip many times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Mosquito repellent necessary. We were in Colombo for a few days before the trip started - those that arrived on the group flight were tired for first few days. Cycling is fun and easy. Group size of 16 but coach size could take more so fairly comfortable. Driver very good in the crazy traffic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus offer different tours to Sri Lanka. Make sure this is the right one for you. This trip was right for us - but - maybe Exodus could tweak to provide more local experiences. Exodus staff in London we’re very good with the booking and pre-tour information. Trip notes accurate. Will continue to travel with Exodus.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Karen Carrington

    Sri Lanka Walking Tour

    This was an amazing tour. It was very well organised. The walking was good. The countryside and people were fantastic and the guide himself was very personable and knowledgeable. It was totally enjoyable. I would recommend going up Adam's peak on a Monday-Thursday evening to avoid the crowds, but that is the only thing I would have changed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everything was good

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was born for a job of this type - friendly, funny and knowledgeable
Call us on +90 (0)850 622 33 78