Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2017
    Joanne Griffiths

    So, This Is The Game ........

    Fabulous trip, beautiful location, challenging activities and an awesome group of fellow travellers! Some activities pushed me completely out of my comfort zone (read the trip notes!!), but it is a holiday, and there was no pressure from Jose, Jaime or the rest of the group to participate in the slightly more challenging feats that the trip presented. We had lovely weather and I returned to the UK relaxed, rejuvenated and maybe a little bit proud of myself!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I've never had an issue with heights ... but it turns out maybe I do ... and I'm not as brave as I thought I was .... but I just got on with it and made it down safely from scrambling on Bernia Ridge .... with a smile on my face ... looking forward to a lovely meal with plentiful wine and great conversation with my fellow travellers!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose was with us all week as the main Exodus leader, however he was ably assisted by Jaime on all activities apart from the hiking day. Both Jose and Jaime are very experienced tour leaders and you can put your full trust in their expertise and knowledge; they are patient and kind. I really enjoyed spending time with them and listening to their stories; they are great fun and work hard to ensure the whole group get the most out of all the activities. I would definitely book future trips based on knowing if either of these guys were leading them!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is a great introduction to a range of adventure activities ... I've mostly done camping and hiking trips in the past and thought I'd try something different; I was not disappointed! However, if you are really experienced in any of the activities maybe you need to look at at a more advanced style of trip because you could be with complete beginners who need a little more time to learn new skills. Ultimately this is a holiday, and although challenging, there does still need to be time to relax, eat good food and enjoy a cold beer or two!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My favourite activities were canyoning and sea kayaking .... the scrambling on day 2 was challenging for me, but not everyone. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and the food was tasty, plentiful and varied. Our hosts were friendly and attentive. The group dynamic makes or breaks a holiday, and I was lucky enough to travel with an awesome group who enjoyed afternoon beers, copious red wine, lots of laughs and on occasion, some nonsense chat! I would thoroughly recommend this trip!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Jacqueline Burrows

    Taking the plunge

    Sorry about the title but I do like a bad pun and this trip is rather a lot about taking the literal and metaphorical plunge...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Didn't know it before hand, but I love cayoning so much - that discovery alone made the trip worth doing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Soooo good! We had Jose and Jaime - if you do too, you won't be let down.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    -Obviously your group could vary a lot in terms of confidence and ability so be prepared to be flexible as to what you'll achieve (but you will still achieve). -For some (like me), this trip won't actually be quite active enough (some half day activities etc), but the rest of my group seemed very happy with the balance of action and 'holiday'. You can obviously wonder off and explore the area more if you want. -We really did need boots that could get wet (we did wet canyoning) - you might be fine if yours dry quickly but you might want to bring a spare pair instead.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    James Richards

    Sierra de Aitana

    Absolutely fantastic holiday! Great activities with great people. It's tiring but you learn new skills and the exodus reps Jose and Jaime are brilliant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing people overcome their fear of heights.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Brett Nicholls

    Sierra de Aitana

    Just recently back from another great holiday - this time in Spain on the Sierra de Aitana mixed activity week. Everything was superbly organised as ever from booking through to the holiday itself. Really good set of activities some quite challenging - you should understand its a level 4 so some things are reasonably physically demanding. Our guides Jose and Jaime were really brilliant, great local knowledge and very patient with people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Bernia ridge walk (challenged my vertigo - a lot!). The general scenery which was just stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose and Jaime were both superb

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Note its a level 4, take decent sturdy walking/scrambling footwear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend this trip. Hotel was great and food good and really lots of it!
  • Reviewed June 2016
    James Wahday

    Action Packed Weekend Needed?

    A week that will leave you sore and exhausted ... but in a good way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I did the option via ferrata. Definitely recommend it. The 35m abseil down was a lot of fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose and Jaime were helpful, experienced and fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a pretty energetic week. Make sure you are up for the challenge. The hikes are long and have some pretty steep ascents over loose gravel. And what goes up ...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food on the tour is amazing. You will not go hungry, and there is free wine with the dinner. The optional BBQ is a must.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Harriet Kate Hunter-Purvis

    Most amazing week of my life

    This trip was unlike anything I have ever experienced. From the activities to the accommodation, everything was outstanding and I enjoyed every minute. Our leaders Jose and Jaime have become great friends and I will miss them greatly!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scaling Bernia Ridge and then watching the sun rise over it each morning knowing we had been on top of it. The mixture of scrambling, abseiling and trekking made that day so exciting and special. However I also particularly enjoyed the canyoning and the setting was unlike anything I'd seen before!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose and Jaime were faultless. Amazingly friendly, knowledgable and trust worthy. Jose knew climbing like the back of his hand and told of a lot of experience. As a climber myself it was great to be able to converse with him over how different the climbs are in Spain. Jaime knew everything and anything about the Spanish wilderness. His treks took us on a journey of history and he knew every plant and herb that grew in the valley. At night they became great friends and really helped me as I was the youngest and on my own! I will never be able to repay them for such an amazing experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is moderate/challenging and it lives up to this. In the spring/summer months climbs and treks can be made harder by the heat so make sure you are prepared for this. Also don't bring of eat too much food on the way, they feed you enough beautiful Spanish food to fill you for months!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    thank you again for such an incredible week. It opened my eyes to the world out there and I can't wait to travel with Exodus again soon. Special mention to the host family at El Trestellador Pension.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Sophie Warans

    Sierra de Aitana (Mixed Activity) - BRILLIANT!

    This was an outstanding week which gave the opportunity to try multiple different activities, all in close proximity to the welcoming base in Benimantell, near to Guadalest. There is a general 'theme' of climbing through most of the days which enables you to get very familiar with the basics (and best friends with your harness & helmet). Great if you've tried the activities before, but no problem if you haven't, although some prior climbing knowledge may make you feel happier when it's time to abseil off a ridge ...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was not only one moment! All the week's activities complimented each other very well. I hadn't tried canyoning before and heading into the watery depths was exhilarating and something I definitely want to repeat. I particularly loved the sea kayaking day, with the opportunity also to snorkel, paddle board, explore a cave and try climbing on the cliffs from the sea. But I suppose its each to their own - every person on this trip had a different moment or day that was their preferred!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ace! Both Jose Miguel and Jaime (who joined for many of the activities) were enthusiastic, motivating, fun, knowledgeable and safe leaders. Jose Miguel was constantly teaching, explaining, checking we knew what we were doing. We were enabled to feel really in charge - ie each person learning the basics of rope-work, not having it just done for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The November departure was cold-ish at night (not a problem) but gloriously sunny during the day. We used wetsuits (hired locally) for the sea kayaking and canyoning which we needed, but in other seasons maybe not. The itinerary may switch around a bit for various reasons, but it was well thought-out for the group to be able to make the most of each day. If you're not scared of heights, want an exciting week away with the opportunity to try lots of different activities, and have friends/family who are kind enough to listen to you raving about it upon your return, book now!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The variety on this trip is great - as well as multiple skills you can learn and activities you can try, it caters to different strengths / abilities. Maybe some people find one activity easier than another because they're familiar with it already, but then others find they have skills elsewhere. There is limited travel required each day due to the excellent location of the 'pension' where you are very well looked-after and well-fed! Thanks to all involved for an excellent week!
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Starla Rivers

    Sierra de Aitana - Multi-Activity trip

    This is my third trip with Exodus and I have never been disappointed in the quality of the activities or accommodations. This trip was fun due to the variety of activities that we got to participate in while our guides made sure that we did so in a safe manner. I think I can still tie my fisherman's knot and clove hitch. :-) Jose and Jaime were great leaders and teachers. While the rain on the morning of the 2nd day seemed to be unfortunate at the moment, it made for a great next day of canyoning as we jumped into deep pools, swam and waded our way through the canyon in our warm(ish) wetsuits. We tested our outdoor climbing skills and abseiled (rappelled to us Yanks) on rocks just below the watchtowers of Guadalest. The long abseil at the end of the Via Ferrata optional day was great fun. Sea kayaking is a lot of work but the day was perfect and the water warm for swimming and snorkeling once we were done exploring the sea cave. The views from the Bernia Ridge and Sierra de Aitana were worth the effort to get there. All in all, a trip definitely attractive to people who enjoy an active outdoor lifestyle. Thank you, Exodus, Jose and Jaime!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The abseil down the Via Ferrata was the most fun. The canyoning experience was the most adventurous as I had never done that before. I'm so glad it was full of water to create that unique experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose Garcia worked hard to make sure everyone was safe, had fun, and got full value out of their trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to the climbing gym, read the trip notes carefully, bring water shoes, and have an adventurous attitude!
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Chris Breeds

    Sierra de Aitana

    Thoroughly enjoyed this trip. A real feeling of adventure. Both guides were excellent. The food in the pension was very good and filled an empty stomach after a full day of exercise. There was a good mix of activities but nothing too stretching. For sure, you need to be fit, but not Iron Man.You don't need a "die hard" attitude but it was still exciting in parts. If heights scare you then maybe give this one a miss but otherwise, it's great. I had no idea that you could have such fun, just a short distance from Benidorm.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Descent in darkness from Bernia ridge. Take a head torch!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Super cool.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You won't have the energy to go for drinks in Guadalest, it's just too far away after a full day. You'll have dinner at the pension and sit chatting around the table until bedtime.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Give it a go.
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Rachael Bate

    Brilliant

    It was a brilliant holiday, I learnt so much, met lovely people and its a beautiful place.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The canyoning was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose and Jaime were both lovely, patient and hilarious!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go ahead and book, I'm sure you will love it.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30