Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2017
    Pam Peers

    Great introduction to this wonderful country

    This was a busy trip covering a lot of ground! It was my first trip to SE Asia and I feel the itinerary was well thought out to provide an overview of Vietnam. We also did the Cambodia extension, which was excellent

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a lot of them: Halong Bay was very beautiful, though very busy and in danger of overcrowding unless numbers are restricted. Our private boat was a welcome refuge from the crowds. Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum was very interesting. The homestay in the Mekong was lovely - many of our group would have preferred to spend an extra night there, perhaps reducing the time at Hoi An?

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bao was excellent and really helped us share his love of his country. He was great at finding interesting and unusual places for us to eat, even in locations where most of the other restaurants were offering identikit tourist-orientated menus. Bao managed very well the balance between organising us and our activities and giving us plenty of free time to do our own things.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take too many warm clothes - you'll only need them in Hanoi, if at all. Do take lightweight clothes that are easily laundered - wherever we went, Bao could arrange laundry services that were efficient, fast and extremely cheap by UK standards. Do take lightweight rain protection i.e. a lightweight folding umbrella and/or cheap plastic waterproof with a hood. Don't bother with 'technical' rain protection Do take anti-mosquito protection. We used Incognito and found it very effective. I quite enjoyed the overnight train journey and slept well - it's certainly not luxurious but it was clean and moderately comfortable, though earplugs and an eye mask are a good idea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Cambodia extension was excellent and I'm very glad we did it. Angkor Wat is superb and lived up to all the hype, and the Phnom Penh visits were very moving.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Muriel Grantham

    AOV170729

    Firstly, I wish to thank EXODUS for allowing an 87 year old to take this trip. It was such a rewarding experience and I was very touched when on the last evening the group praised me and said I was an inspiration to them. I did opt out of only two activities but I was not the only one. Although I was with my daughter, our guide, KHOA DUONG , was wonderfully encouraging too. In fact he was outstanding the way he showed sensitivity to the group as a whole and altered timings and activities according to our energy levels or more to the point, how we were all coping with the heat and humidity! I was impressed with his knowledge of the history of Vietnam as it affected different areas of the population and he always gave both sides of the story. His impartiality was without irony too. At the end of the trip were all felt like an extended family, with myself as the great- grandmother.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The war museum in saigon

    What did you think of your group leader?

    KHOU DUONG was the absolute best. I have already commented o n this

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have extra batteries and a memory card for your camera
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Teresa Hoggett

    Vietnam adventure

    The tour guides behaviour on our trip to Vietnam spoiled a once in a lifetime holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Boat trip to halong bay crew on the boat were very pleasant and place was amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Was disappointed with our guide. He did not interact with the group and was often rude and impatient with people in the group Was not very professional and this affected our enjoyment of the trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The behaviour of the guide has put me off using Exodus tours in the future

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We were very concerned to learn that Teresa was so disappointed with the leadership of her trip and we have been in touch with her on an individual basis.  We usually receive fantastic feedback about our leaders in South East Asia so to hear that Teresa was so underwhelmed was very disappointing and her leader is no longer being scheduled to lead trips for us.

     

    Megan Devenish - Product Manager for Vietnam

  • Reviewed April 2017
    Helen Organ

    Amazing trip

    Our trip was amazing, can't believe we did so much! Leaving the hotel by 8 each morning we seemed to do a week's worth of adventure in one day! Our guide was brilliant, he was informative, fun and had great English. The hotels were much better than I expected, the one in Hoi An was particularly good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We went to a local house for a meal. Not only was the food the best of the whole trip but it was really interesting to meet the family and to gain some understanding of their way of life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent. I don't think he could have been improved upon. Clone him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't hesitate!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Donna Meyer

    Vietnam for Americans

    As an American who grew up in the 60s, the American war in Vietnam was a painful episode in our history. The exodus trip did not shy away from some the sites that caused me some personal pain. That said, I welcomed the reflection. For me it was not a trip entirely about lounging, great food and shopping. And I am grateful to our gracious guide for that; and the amazing Brits who were my traveling companions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking a side trip to a war memorial in Hue. The peddle car driver opened up to us that he lost a father and uncle in the war. He was very kind about your mutual loss.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can't say enough about Binh our leader. He let us know that all subjects were acceptable to ask questions about. He wanted to share information about his country ; political and cultural. He told us his own personal story, which reflected the hardship after the reunification of Vietnam. His honesty and kindness are qualities he did not have to share with a bunch of tourists, but he went there. The first day he called us his little family. A two week family.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The itinerary is touristy. There are masses of people at each site. There are painful reminders of the war at several places.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The quality of my fellow travelers. Where I could be morose and reflective, they would give me a hug and pull me out of it. I am so grateful that this group of strangers. I'm home now and miss them all...and Binh
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Steven Endacott

    What a Fantastic Holiday!

    This was my first organised party trip and my first holiday experience with Exodus. Everything about the Vietnam Adventure exceeded my expectations, the group were great company, the hotels were so much better than I expected, the food was superb and Vietnam was such a wonderful experience - a fantastic country with lovely people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were two: Halong Bay was such an amazing experience, I didn't know too much about before my trip, but it was breathtaking. Secondly, the vibrant colours of the night time lantern displays in the super resort of Hoi An were a sight to behold, a photographers dream.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Cong, was brilliant. He was so enthusiastic and caring, nothing was too much trouble. He certainly educated me on currant & past Vietnam.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect a relaxing holiday lazing around! This is a full-on trip, with a huge amount of variety to experience every single day. There are some free afternoons, but mostly you're on the go.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Susan Darling

    Fantastic Vietnam Adventure

    This trip is well named and proved to be a most enjoyable adventure from north to south Vietnam. We experienced so many different things from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi and Saigon to the peacefulness of Halong Bay. We walked a lot, climbed to get the best views, we cycled, we travelled by road, rail, boat and aeroplane. We stayed in excellent hotels, a very well run boat and a very welcoming home stay.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Witnessing the resourcefulness, resilience and work ethic of the Vietnamese people, their smiles and how well they have built up their country after the horrific war. Arriving in the hustle and bustle in Hanoi with motorbikes every which way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Thuy le, was wonderful, very likeable and hardworking. Nothing was ever too much trouble for him. He gave us an informative insight into Vietnamese history and culture. He answered our endless questions with patience and ease. He had excellent organisational skills. Everything worked like clockwork. Buses miraculously appeared and tables were always laid up ready as we walked into a recommended restaurant. He made sure we tried a variety of different types of excellent restaurants and escorted us back to the hotel if that's what we wanted. He had a wonderful sense of humour which was contagious and made for a very happy group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In February/March, bring warm clothes for the north and be prepared for very hot and humid weather further south. Bring rainwear as well. Travel light as laundering can be done locally very cheaply. Bring a small overnight bag for the boat in Halong Bay and the homestay in the Mekong Delta. Having clothes tailor-made in Hoi An (or elsewhere) is great so bring a picture etc of anything you want copied, although they do have their own catalogues to chose from

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We are a couple in our late 60s/ early 70s and found all the activities doable. There were early starts and full days. We found the overnight train journey unpleasant in terms of uncomfortable sleeping arrangements and smelly toilets. Personally, it was an experience I could well do without. Not wanting to end on a negative note, we thoroughly enjoyed the trip for the reasons we have described., made all the more enjoyable by having Thuy as our leader.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Helen Burrell

    Vietnam Adventure

    This truly was an adventure in Vietnam! From busy and interesting Hanoi to a lovely overnight in Halong Bay. The night train journey to Hue was an experience ; I slept well, though probably in the minority! Hue is a lovely city with its Citadel, and we had a delicious meal at a local family house. Hoi An is wonderful, a very walkable town and full of character and lanterns. We were glad to spent 3 nights there. Ho Chi Minh City is a fascinating city ; from there to a most enjoyable trip to the Mekong Delta and a homestay on an island. A perfect trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Halong Bay My Son Cu Chi Tunnels

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was Thuy Le. We thought he was a lovely, warm and most informative guide. He was most efficient, everything went like clockwork, buses just appeared with no delays along the way. He gave us an interesting cultural insight in his country, also joining us for meals and putting us right on menus. A really good leader and popular guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this tour! You won't regret it. Don't forget your camera charger, you will see so many photo opportunities, including the variety of goods one can bring on a motorbike! We saw a mattress, television, wheelbarrow, chickens, a ladder, and lots more. Bring a sleeping bag liner for the train. Bring tissues and hand gel, although many loos are fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The friendliness of the Vietnamese people is amazing. From villages to cities it is unwavering. The food is delicious, a variety of menus from North to South, and by our standards, incredibly cheap.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Roger & Helen Pickard

    Fantastic Trip

    This was our first trip to Asia and it proved to be very special. We were taken care of from start to finish making for a worry free holiday and Vietnam turned out to be a gem of a country. The people, the scenery, the history, the experiences all combined to make a fantastic trip with a great group of people and a very special leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The amazing streets of Hanoi, sailing in Hulong Bay even though the weather wasn't too great, and the Mekong Delta homestay. The gruelling history of the Vietnam war.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Thuy Le was a star, he never tired of answering our endless questions, always with charm and a sense of humour. He went the extra mile on many occasions taking us to amazing restaurants lunchtimes and evenings that we never would have found on our own.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light, we slept in 8 different beds in two weeks! Be prepared for the temperature differences between north and south and for living out of a suitcase for two weeks. Take some comfortable walking shoes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Vietnam is an amazing place, but possibly in five to ten years it won't be what it is now. There is a lot of development going on almost everywhere, So go now!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Annie Holmes

    Fantastic holiday:amazing people

    This was an adventurous holiday: we got to try so many types of delicious food from street to best restaurants. We learnt from our guide Thuy all about the terrible conflict against the Americans and the devastation caused by Agent Orange. Despite the 20 year war the country appears to be on the up. We sailed around Halong Bay, traveled on the overnight train to Hue, cycled alongside paddy fields and stayed with a family in the Mekong Delta. It was hectic but exciting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved seeing all the families walking around the lake in Hanoi at the weekend, playing lots of games from tug of war to skipping. The food was marvellous, delicious and fragrant. And lastly how well the folk of Vietnam have managed after the horrific Vietnam War against the Americans.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thuy Le was superb and imparted so much knowledge of his county to us with it being over load. He even located a hat my husband left behind on a coach 400 miles away: nothing was too much trouble for Thuy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The torches we were advised to take were not needed! If you want garments made up in Hoi An go with an idea or picture with you as this will save a lot of time. I wish I had taken a couple of smarter outfits to wear in Ho Chi Minh at the end of the tour. Thuy sorted out local folk to do our washing which was very cheap so you don't need to take as much. If you get the chance go to see a show in Ho Chi Minh at the opera house called AO its got a tremendous group of acrobatics performing using bamboo poles and huge whicker baskets. I took two old sheets to sleep in on the train and was glad I did. Water bottles are useful as you can fill up on the bus.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    February going into March was a perfect time of year, colder in the north were fleeces were required but getting warmer the further south you went. 33c in the South. So bring clothes for the summer but with the addition of a fleece and don't forget your umbrella.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30