Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2017
    Petrina Buckley

    Classic Kenya Safari

    This trip exceeded my expectations.We were travelling at the end of the season,just as the long rains were due and I was a little anxious about "what" we would manage to see.We were looked after so well,and everyone did their utmost to ensure we had a perfect and memorable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The smiling faces and generous hearts of the people we met. The utter beauty of the landscape and unimaginable privilege of seeing wild animals in their natural habitat. Watching from the " observation platform" as torrential rain poured down , after our last game drive was over .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter and Davis were our guides/ drivers.They were awesome.They were friendly, fun kind and thoughtful.Both were a mine of information about anything and everything. They kept us safe,informed and entertained and worked tirelessly to ensure everyone had a perfect trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Loose,comfy clothing that you don't mind getting dusty/ dirty.The trip notes are are little unclear and don't tell you that you will want to consider tipping at both venues - the lodge staff and the camp staff,they only allow guidance for your drivers/ guides and one set of staff. We found our multi plug useful at the lodge as there was only one socket in the room.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Considering all that is included in this trip,it is excellent value.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Terence Lee

    classic kenya

    I have been to africa many times, and this holiday was up there with the best. A excellent trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think seeing 7 cheetahs, and a couple chasing wildebeest. Also watching a leopard pass us by. and then following it along , brilliant

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Peter , very good, in fact top marks, and his assistant another peter also

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just sit back and enjoy spectacle, no better show on earth

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only minor thing flying back to UK, via Amsterdam. Over 3 hours waiting at airport, put bit of dampener on it. I heard BA fly straight back for same price. But would have to fly to fly to Nairobi day earlier, which would have been ok for me. Perhaps it could an option. Otherwise another great trip , Exodus. My 10 th trip with you , each one memorable!
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Colin Baigent

    Classic Kenya Safari

    We had been on several Exodus trips before in Africa and the Caribbean. We didn't have enough spare time for one of the longer trips so chose this one. We expected that the guides would be able to find animals in the parks and give advice, including on birds. They exceeded all expectations and more than once we located Lion, Leopard, Cheetah, Hyena, Jackal and Rhino. 194 bird species was exceptional, even though we didn't take a lot of time out specifically for birds. The two locations are brilliant in different ways. Lake Elementaita Lodge has a resident Spotted Eagle Owl. Ilkeliani has a resident Maasai wildlife expert, including copying bird calls!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Leaving a place with a male lion very close and out in the open, to drive quickly to a female leopard and cub which had just lost a kill to a hyena, that was still eating!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The two guides were exceptional. Very knowledgeable, helpful and humorous.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a good camera and some wildlife reference books.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We like to go to different places, but after this trip we are thinking of getting back to this area on the next one!
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Sarah Vallance

    Classic Kenya Safari

    This was my third time on this wonderful tour - everything about it is to be recommended. The accommodation is extremely clean and comfortable, and the tour leaders and all the staff involved at the lodge and the camp are so kind and completely dedicated to giving you a memorable trip. There were 9 of us in the group and we got along really well, which seems to be the way with Exodus groups!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Masai Mara is surely one of the most beautiful, vast and varied places on earth and its' preservation (and the conservation of its' animals) is of the utmost importance. Seeing cheetah cubs for the first time has to come top of my list of 'moments'. Unfortunately we didn't manage to spot a leopard this time, but the other wildlife more than made up for it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davies and Peter are friendly, knowledgeable, kind and amusing and nothing is too much trouble for either of them. They must be among the best leaders that Exodus have.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a couple of long drives, one of which is very bumpy! They actually go so quickly that you don't really notice them, as there is always something to see along the way. Try to take a long lens (minimum 300mm) - not essential but you will be amazed at the images you can get!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour - it is short but packed with the most fabulous things!
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Gary Begusch

    Classic Kenya Safari

    What a fantastic experience! I had never travelled to Africa before and didn't know what to expect. This trip exceeded all expectations. The wildlife was fantastic, the accommodation great, the tour leader extremely friendly and the group I was with all got on extremely well. I would highly recommend the tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was the feeling of adventure and anticipation I felt throughout the trip. We saw so much and experienced so many memorable moments throughout that I couldn't pick out one thing. Black rhino, elephants, cheetas, lions.... the list goes on.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Davis was excellent. He was very friendly and full of interesting facts about the area and the wildlife throughout our trip. He made us all feel comfortable from the start and does a great job! Thanks Davis.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go for it! This was my first group trip and my first safari and I enjoyed every minute of it.
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Charlene Skinner

    Classic Kenya Safari

    This was the first time I'd used Exodus and also my first time visiting Kenya and let me tell you, it was brilliant. I had an amazing time. I loved the week away from start to finish. The trip was well organised and having met such helpful, polite people along the way it ticked all my boxes. I met a lovely group of people who were also single travellers so that helped. The Food was excellent and I enjoyed trying new things. The rooms at both hotels were always clean and well maintained. You could not fault the staff. Every ask was not a problem. There is a bit of traveling and on some bad roads but apart from that, this is a trip I would return on again and again. Thank you Exodus and everyone I met!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To be honest the trip as a whole was my inspiration. Memories I will not forget in a while. The views, the people, the animals even. Completely amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter and Davies were our tour guides and they were fantastic. They had phenomenal knowledge of Kenya and off all the animals we saw. They were so ahead of the game and new where to pin points various animals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would suggest only going out taking Kenya Schillings rather than Dollars. We dealt a lot in Shillings with some use of Dollars along the way. Also you will need to buy rather a lot of bottled water so having the extra schillings helps.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go, please and really have a great time. Soak it all up because its a must!
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Sarah Burke

    Classic Kenya Safari

    This was my first trip to Africa, so I was really looking forward to it, and it did not disappoint! The animals were so beautiful, and it was lovely to see them in their natural habitat. We saw elephants, lions, warthogs, giraffes to name a few. We were even lucky enough to see a striped hyena, which are very rare - even the tour guides were excited to see him. The hotels, especially Camp Ilkeliani, were amazing - glamping in Africa! We saw beautiful sunrises - once from a hot air balloon - and beautiful sunsets. An amazing holiday, with lovely guides, and a lovely group of fellow holiday makers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many it's hard to know which one to pick - probably the friendliness of the all the local people we met and saw - whether it was the staff at the hotels, who provided service with a smile, or the kids on the roadside who all waved and smiled to see our jeeps go by them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter and Davies - lovely men, who know their stuff! They gave us lots of information about the animals, and were able to spot animals hiding in the bushes - their expertise definitely helped us to get the most out of our holiday. As they are local guides, they also gave us insights into Kenya, and life there.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more money than you think you'll need - the cost of bottled water starts to add up when it's 30 degrees! Also, only take Kenyan schillings - you can spend US dollars, but only taking one currency is easier, and occassionally I think schillings were preferred. Our guides advised us to change our dollars to schillings as soon as we arrived. Be prepared for some long drives.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you're thinking of booking this trip - do it! You won't regret it!!
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Karen White

    Classic Kenya Safari

    Fantastic trip from the moment I arrived until I stepped on the plane to come home. Exceeded my expectations which were high as this was my first safari. Tents on the Masai Mara were great, overlooking the river.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many but probably the perfect shot of an African sunset, lion cubs, a python making a kill, the balloon safari, the multitude of other animal and birdlife we saw and just about everything else!! I also enjoyed visiting the Masai Village and the nature walk at Lake Elementaita.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davies was superb. Apart from being a phenomenal driver, his knowledge and experience was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble. He was polite and cheery and helped to make the holiday a special one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy every second as the time flies past. Take a decent camera with a good zoom as you can't always get too close to some animals but make sure your camera can cope with close-up encounters too! Keep your eyes peeled all the time - there's more out there than just the big five - saw some beautiful birds too. Talk to the local people when you can - you can learn a lot more from them too. Take a torch for the camp as lighting is low in the tents. Optional balloon safari is expensive but worth the experience - glad I did it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very impressed with the whole holiday right from the day I booked it. Excellent service throughout. Thanks to Exodus I definitely have the travel bug now and look forward to receiving the 2015 Wildlife brochure!
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Adam Adam

    Classic Kenyan Safari - A fantastic trip

    A 7 day trip with lots of early starts, but that aside it was well worth it, scenery was amazing, and a lot of animals were seen, including cheetahs and a leopard. Considering it was my first safari I was really lucky in what was seen. The guides were great and really knew their stuff, and I also had the other vital ingrediant to a great holiday in that I was with some really fun people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I would have to say one of the most imspirational moments was watching the sunrise on the Masai Maara, just breath taking watching a new day dawn.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was great, knew his stuff was a lot of fun, and drove like a demon when needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't bother with taking Stirling, just stick to dollars and convert it to shilling there. Always haggle and start really low as they over price (waaaaay over) and try to keep a good idea of the conversion from shilling to pounds/dollars in your head. Otherwise lots of sunscreen and a decent camera and binoculars.
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Barry Tylee

    Classic Kenya

    What a fantastic week. I have to say that it surpassed even my expectations. Previously I had been to Tanzania and that was great, but this holiday will be hard to beat. A great group of fellow travellers coupled with excellent guides in a beautiful setting with a host of various animals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Driving across the Masi Mari and viewing the big Cats. Not just once, but on several occasions and being just a few meters from them. The seem just not to be bothered. Seeing the "Chase" the "Kill" the "Attack" such photo opportunities, not to be missed.Even sightings of Rhino.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leaders were the "Drivers/Guides". We could not have asked for more from them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have a good camera. And be prepared for the holiday of a lifetime.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    When you leave, you will know that you want to return. Everything about this trip was first class. (imo).
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30