Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Pen Barnes

    Tour de Mont Blanc hotel- ( tour du gormet)

    Best trip in a decade. Combination of stunning vistas, hiking, culture and food. Jenny our guide was superb. Better named the “Tour du gormet”. “5km to best gelato, 7 km to Prosecco, 8 km to tarte framboise”. Or that can be translated to first breakfast, second breakfast, first lunch,second lunch. Lots of hiking - don’t underestimate the impact of5 days of 2000 to 4000ft and 10 plus miles at the beginning of the trip. However there is then the best hot chocolate in Italy- more a chocolate fondue to look forward to. Bon appetit!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mont Blanc

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate the hiking - even if used to doing long hikes
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Pen Barnes

    Tour de Mont Blanc hotel- ( tour du gormet)

    Best trip in a decade. Combination of stunning vistas, hiking, culture and food. Jenny our guide was superb. Better named the “Tour du gormet”. “5km to best gelato, 7 km to Prosecco, 8 km to tarte framboise”. Or that can be translated to first breakfast, second breakfast, first lunch,second lunch. Lots of hiking - don’t underestimate the impact of5 days of 2000 to 4000ft and 10 plus miles at the beginning of the trip. However there is then the best hot chocolate in Italy- more a chocolate fondue to look forward to. Bon appetit!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mont Blanc

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate the hiking - even if used to doing long hikes
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Debra Thompson

    Fabulous trip

    My husband and and I really loved this walk. The scenery every day was simply spectacular. The accomodation was very comfortable and food provided for us was top class. We had quite a small group of 7 of various nationalities and we all muddled along together very well. I found our trek leader to be very helpful with advice on what to do on days off etc. He was always encouraging along the way and informed us of points of interest, landmarks etc. I did find the walk to be quite challenging and anybody interested in doing this trek needs to have a fairly high level of fitness. I would recommend Exodus travel to my friends, expecially the Tour du Mont Blanc trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Brevant on the last day of the walk. It had been a long, long walk up. I felt really proud that I had been able to complete the walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter Smith was a fantastic tour leader. He was “keep calm and carry on” type of character. He was encouraging and provided me with helpful hints along the way regarding the use of poles, pace and was particularly helpful to me when we had to some, what I think was scary edge walking to do. This was not my strength but I managed well with his help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trek requires a fairly high level of fitness. Do a lot of uphill training in readiness and be assured that it won’t be enough. Be determined to finish.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Judith Argent

    Summer in the mountains surrounding Mont Blanc

    A thoroughly enjoyable trek through France, Switzerland and Italy. It's a lovely feeling to walk everywhere (with the occasional use of local buses). The hotels and auberges were comfortable and we were well fed throughout the trip. There was a large choice of food and fruits for packed lunches which we made ourselves, choosing as much as we wanted. The walking was fabulous, I loved seeing the different scenery and villages.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed walking over the cols to the next valleys. Always a wow moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nick was a great guide, and knew a lot about the mountains and the things living in them. I don't think anyone was ever anxious about what the day might bring as trickier parts of the walk were dealt with as we arrived at them and not over thought of before. He had a calm, relaxed manner which made all the days enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Always carry wet weather gear. We only had just over an hour of rain on one occasion whilst walking but I was grateful for the waterproofs I'd carried for nearly a fortnight. Do get fit but don't over worry. We live in a very flat area so only really walk up hills and mountains whilst on holiday and we had no problem. Carry plenty of water. Be prepared to wait for slower members of the group... never a problem when you're an such beautiful surroundings!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Tony Perdomo

    Just Wow, reason why it's a Top 5 trek

    This trek (early July '18) was phenomenal. this is my first real trekking holiday and I have to tell you, I am converted now. the scenery all along the way is spectacular, and different each day! Going through 3 countries, more than 170 kms, and going from towns and villages to a handful of coffee drinkers at a refuge at 2000+ masl, really added variety to this trip. The first 2 days might be challenging ones for most, but then your body and mind sync, and then your only focus is when to stop taking pictures and not to get your breath back. Your body will love it, you will be at peace and most importantly, super fit after it's all set and done. Work hard during the day, have a nice sleep on a comfy bed each night - what else do you want?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Realizing that my group of 3 was the best paced group my guide has ever had, and I kept up with them no problem. doing a Col in 2 hours where it should have taken 3, and still feel like a champ after all. Bring it on Annapurnas, you're next

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pete Smith, a legend. he was superb, well attentive and mindful of everyone. it was his first trek of the season and I am happy we got him. superb leader!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, follow the fitness plan and break your boots in. Once you are there, let the mind take over and the body follow suit. It's not a race, it's a walk along one of the most beautiful treks out there. Bring camelback of 1.5-2L and a waterbottle (1L), you will need it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Love this tour Exodus, great educational!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Linda Walton

    A Must Do for every keen hiker

    This was an excellent trip. The views are stunning and we were fortunate enough to have 9 dry and sunny days. Loved hiking from France to Switzerland to Italy and back to France. Being able to have a drink and cake at some of the refuges was a real bonus. There were quite a lot of snowfields to cross but we were very fortunate in that we were able to trek the whole route. Two weeks before and this was not possible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the border from Switzerland into Italy. The views from the Col Ferret were outstanding. Having lunch on the top, enjoying the sunshine and eating toblerone - bliss.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Frank. He was hugely experienced, having done this some 60 times before. Frank set the pace and it was just right. He never went off at a ridiculous pace and I never felt that my safety was compromised at all. He was really helpful when I struggled to cross one pass with my short legs and had plenty of time to make a track through the snowfields when we had to descend through them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was a little concerned with undertaking this trip as I am in my late 50's and the maximum number of days hiking I have done before was 4. We did do quite a bit of training and I would recommend that anyone doing this does try to find some hills before. Having said that, we did not struggle at all. Frank's pace was great. The legs did ache for the first couple of days but after that they were fine. On the last day we did 1670m of ascent and I could have gone on and on! The downhills are definitely harder than the ascents. So pleased we chose the guided tour as it would have been very challenging trying to find some of the routes especially when you're in a storm with limited visibility and being hit with large hail stones.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it! Anyone with good fitness will be fine. This is one of the tot 10 walks to do in the World and I would thoroughly recommonend doing it was Exodus.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Larry Meyers

    An Amazing Trip From Start To Finish

    I knew from the moment I arrived in Chamonix and saw the mountains and its glaciers that I had found the right adventure. Here was a chance to do one of the most acclaimed walks and the trip lived up to its billing. One can read about the walk and its vistas but nothing really prepares you for actually being part of it. I enjoyed the challenge of the walk, my fellow travelers and the quality of the lodging (OK, maybe not walking down the hall to the w/c in the middle of the night at our auberge stays--but a heck of a lot better than tenting). I enjoyed the evening meals and the variety of the cuisine. Overall the food was good and the huts offered a nice supplement to our sandwich lunch fare. The huts were a new experience and each one was unique from the food offered, to the hot chocolate to the w/c's.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the clouds part to reveal a new mountain with its glaciers. Experiencing a cloudless day in Chamonix at the end of the trip. Cheering on over 2000 participants in the UTMB (Ultra-Trail du Mont Blanc) as they pass you on the trail after having run through the night only to later realize that the leaders completed in hours which took us days. To be part of a group lead by Jeff.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have done dozens of trips that required a guide. I can only recall a few of their names. In my mind there will always be an association between the Tour du Mont Blanc and our guide Jeff. To quote a walker who did the trip with Jeff earlier this summer "..he was fantastic..professional, intelligent, engaging, fun, friendly, safety conscious and very caring towards his clients." It is not easy leading a group of 14 hikers with various skill levels and insuring they stay together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    First and foremost this is a group hike. You are part of a team whose goal is for all to complete the Tour and to enjoy their experience on the trail. Do not underestimate the need to do a good amount of walking before the trip. Focus on distance yes, an of course climbing. Include going down steep hills and plenty of steps. Insure your feet are in good shape. Figure out the right weight and sock combination before the trip. The trail conditions vary and it is important to have plenty of tread on your hiking boots. Things I found helpful: my own bar of soap; spare bootlaces; a travel clothesline for in room washing; lotions for the feet after the day's walk; good pair of sandals as your hiking boots are not allowed in the auberges and in some hotels and finally--earplugs. (Laundromats could be found near the Hotel Richemond in Chamonix and the Hotel Val Joly in St Gervais {Day 10 & 11}).
  • Reviewed September 2017
    John Sprout

    Trek of Treks

    I did this exact same trip with Exodus in 2010. I loved it so much, I did it again in 2017! And again, the Alps were stunning, exhilarating and life-affirming. Every day brings you a new view of green-carpeted mountains and clangy-bell cows (or goats), snow-capped peaks, massive winding glaciers, fresh-scented larch forests, and breathtaking views up and down. The hotel and restaurant people were friendly and generous with their servings and their service. I could do this again.. and again... I've hiked hundreds of miles in the Colorado Rockies and 800 miles of the Appalachian Trail, but this is my favorite trail in the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the Grand Col Ferret, from Switzerland into Italy, at the highest point of the trip, reaching that amazing view, feeling the wind in my face, hearing the gush of glacial melt all those miles away across the valley...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ian was 100% dedicated to our group's well-being and success. Full of stories, he kept us engaged and fascinated with our beautiful surroundings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train for this. I prefer not to wear the heavier ankle-covering boots, just the lighter ones and mine were fine for this trip.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Alan Thom

    Tour Du Mont Blanc Hotel Trek

    This was an excellent walking holiday, well paced, interesting interaction with fellow travellers & informative interludes from Ian our guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The excellent weather giving us spectacular views of Mont Blanc

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ian was excellent , informative, interested in the individuals within the group & led well giving the group the appropriate amount of time to walk & have breaks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are undertaking this trip the cable car from Italy op & then over to the Aiguille du midi was well worth the expense with a reduced rate for people over 65 if they ask.It is cheaper over all to go from this side & the travel across the massif was truly spectacular.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sandra Martin

    My Magical Tour du Mt Blanc Adventure!

    I did this trip in July 2017. It was the most magical, memorable and rewarding adventure trip I have ever done.! This trip is not about rushing from A to B. This trip is all about the journey. It is about having fun, it is about the magical scenery, it is about the culture of the people who live in the alps and most importantly it is about the people you meet along the way. You get out of this trip what you put in to it. Our guide Jeff was fantastic. He was professional, intelligent, engaging, fun, friendly, safety conscious, and most importantly very caring towards his customers. Jeff is the most inspiring guide I have ever met! The accommodation was great. We stayed in a variety of hotels, hostels and auberges. They were all of a high standard, clean, hygienic and all the staff were friendly. The staff at the Richemond Hotel in Chamonix were outstanding. They were very friendly and helped me practice my French which I greatly appreciated. Our meals were great, with plenty of choice. You must try the cakes at the Bovine Refugio! The hiking pace each day was good. It was steady, however you could stop and take photos whenever you liked or even just stop for a few minutes to ' soak up nature'. I liked our exercise session every morning after breakfast. It was a great way to get our muscles ready for our long day of hiking. It also helped with team bonding as we always had lots of laughs during this time, watching each other trying to balance on one leg and hopping about. If you want to be inspired, have fun, and go on an epic adventure, go with Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The eldest person in our group ( not sure of his age), but he would be over 70, had a fall just before the water crossing and injured himself. He did not cry or complain. After our guide ' bandaged' him up, the man completed the days hike, with a smile on his face, and more importantly, finished the whole trip. He is an absolute inspiration.! Our guide Jeff was equally inspiring during this time as he was calm, confident and reassuring to this man, even though it must have scared him also, not just the customer.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Jeff, was fantastic. He was professional, intelligent, engaging, fun, friendly, safety conscious and most importantly very caring towards his customers. Jeff is the most inspiring guide I have ever met.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it! But remember, this trip is all about having fun! Don't rush, don't show off pretending you are the fastest and most fit person in the group. Get with the program and be a team member. Pace yourself up the steep hills and remember to hydrate frequently. Water, water, water! I did regular hill training 6 months prior to this trip and this definitely helped. I also did a basic 'French for fun and travel' course prior to the trip and it was extremely useful. Most importantly, go with the flow, get to know your fellow team mates, laugh often and be happy!
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30