Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Martha Knight

    Stunning views, wonderful walks, excellent company

    I'm just back from a fabulous week's walking in Madeira. The scenery, weather and company could not have been better. Thank you to Andre, our guide, for helping to make this week so successful. There was lots of laughter along with some strenuous walks set against the majestic background of mountains and the Atlantic Ocean. I highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the walks were completely different but the second day's walk was stunning covering both the mountains and the ocean and including the levadas. The drink at the end of the walk was a welcome reward in a bar set next to the ocean. Pretty perfect.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Andre, was great. He was knowledgeable, fun to be with and always seemed to be aware of our safety needs without being intrusive. He clearly loves Madeira and managed to pass in this love to the group. The arrangements went smoothly and all transport and luggage transfers were seamless.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to Madeira!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the walks was hard because of the climb up the mountain consisting of many flights of steps. Be aware of any personal limitations such as knee problems. The walks are considered of moderate difficulty but that one was tough and many of us felt it had been under graded. The views at the top, however, were worth it!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Chris Moss

    Madeira walking

    The walks were well planned and we were lucky to have a well rounded and very pleasant group. The first two days were rather "easy" but after that the walking took us further afield and we spent plenty of time off the beaten track in some wonderful landscapes. Overall I think the walking could have been a bit more challenging, overall only just a "moderate" walking grade. The hotels were fairly modest, they were simple, but fine, twice there was no wi fi in the rooms though. Funchal worth a visit in its own right.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The levada's are fascinating as well as unique, the walk along the Levada do Caldeirao Verde was really memorable and it was a glorious day. The early rise for sun rise on Pico Ruivo and the walk to the summit and back down into the Nuns Valley to the hotel was the longest day and the best and the hotel has a stunning location - a really memorable "five star" day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was very on top of his job, he planned and explained well and was always pleasant company with a well rounded knowledge of the island although perhaps with a bias towards flora and fauna, I'm not sure I picked up much about contemporary social and economic life on the island.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Robert Rutter

    Walking in Madeira

    Holiday was very good once in Madeira. Booking and office support from Exodus UK was poor. We paid a surcharge of over £300 pounds to get flights six months prior to departure. There were people in our group who arrived later in the day that didn't pay any surcharges. We could have got a later flight also.... No one has come back to me about this after my first survey. Also, Exodus don't have enough staff in the London office to even answer your phones. Dreadfull in light of the money we your customer pay. SORT IT OUT. That was my fourth holiday with Exodus, I doubt personally that I will book another in light of the London office. It's a shame you let all of your reps that are actually in front of your customers down. Learn the lesson. Rob Rutter

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See above

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't book via Exodus

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Rob for taking the time to provide us with feedback both on his holiday evaluation form (HEF) and in his review. Whilst HEFs are read by 2 members of staff, we endeavour to make it clear both in the email we send inviting clients to complete their HEFs, as well as at the end of the survey itself that due to the volume of feedback we receive, we are unable to respond on an individual basis to the comments our clients make. We do, as a result of this, provide an email address which clients are welcome to use if they would like to raise any specific concerns to our customer services team. We would like to apologise if this could be further clarified. Flight prices can vary quite significantly throughout the year and even when flights are booked early, sometimes a supplement can be applicable, as explained in our trip notes. We were pleased Rob enjoyed his time in Madeira, but we are nonetheless very sorry that he was disappointed with the support he received from Exodus prior to travel.  –  Marta Marinelli, Product Manager.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Peter Burn

    Madeira

    This was my first Exodus Tour. It will not be my last. Organisation was great. The guide (Andre Pontes) was superb - he made sure that everyone was enjoying themselves and that everyone was safe. He has very good people skills, and was a font of knowledge. I am 57 years old and moderately fit. The walking was just right for me. The others in the group (we were 11) were a lovely bunch. Madeira is beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sun rise from the top of a mountain

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, really excellent (Andre Pontes)
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Paul Lomas-Clarke

    General review

    Everything was very good except the hotel near Encumeada which was expensive,had very poor staff, and no acoustic attenuation between rooms. In short wholly unsatisfactory. For this reason Exodus does not get an Excellent rating

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    One of the walks is very hard

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Find a better hotel near Encumeada. Cut down the number of hotel stops and use buses 2 hotels is quite enough in a week.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Helen Rogers

    A beautiful island

    Walking is a great way to see Madeira. The paths were in generally good condition, and the drops were not as daunting as I had expected - although you definitely need to look where you are going! The weather in Madeira is much more localised than I had realised - if it's important to you, make sure you look at the forecast for specific places. The mountains were rainy, and colder than expected - be prepared for anything! Most of the group went whalewatching in Funchal - this wasn't mentioned in the trip notes, but was great fun. No whales, but several dolphins - also a great way to get a view of Funchal from the water.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed all of the walking. The cherry blossom above Funchal was superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Add me to the Andre fan club. Very sociable, generous with his time and knowledge. He had to substitute a couple of walks due to weather and rockslides, and we were not disappointed, even though we had been looking forward to the published itinerary. He's an excellent walking guide, well aware of everyone in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most of us used trekking poles, and were glad of them. Be prepared for anything - the weather is the boss of the itinerary. Most of the hotels were very pleasant, one was slightly disappointing - but the obvious place to stay given the itinerary.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a beautiful place, well worth the visit.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Kerry Daly

    Dramatic trekking in the mountains of Madeira

    First time Exodus traveller and I was not disappointed. Madeira was every bit as beautiful as I had hoped: sea vistas (with huge waves on our Day 2 coastal walk), exotic flora and fauna, and at times, dizzying mountain heights that take your breath away. People in our group of 12 were delightfully friendly and supportive. Excellent leadership on this trip. Overall, a very satisfying travel experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    walking the cliffs on the northern coast with a raging sea below

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre, our leader, is a native of Madeira and he was very generous with his knowledge of the history, culture and nature of his beloved homeland. As others have commented, he has a wonderful sense of humour, is very effective in bringing the group together, and went out of his way to check in with each member of the group to ensure that they were safe and content.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Given the heights and some the slippery conditions (we had several days of rain), trekking poles indispensable. Need to be prepared for changes in itinerary (we had two days that were changed) as the weather in the mountains can be unpredictable (ie. cold, wet, fog). Fortunately our leader had good back up plans.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accommodation was comfortable. Breakfasts however, were very uneven - some excellent with hot buffets, others really on the skimpy side which wasn't ideal when you had many hours of hiking ahead.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Maureen Pinder

    A fun week despite stormy weather!

    I very much enjoyed my week in Madeira, despite having 'Storm Emma' lash us for days. It's a beautiful island, with great views. We saw wild canaries, firecrests, blackcaps, lizards and lots of lovely flowers as we walked. Unfortunately the storms made some of the planned itinerary, such as the highest peak, impossible. So guide Andre had to invent more sheltered walks for us, and we managed 4 days walking instead of the planned 5, which was pretty good in the circumstances. Andre was great, all the hotels were nice, and the group (full at 16) were all good fun. I'll definitely go back - in the summer!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The one sunny day, and out walk along the cliffs of the north coast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was great: knowledgeable and funny.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect great weather. I think we were very unlucky, but it's known to be changeable in general.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Collette Allen

    A great holiday

    A really good trip, the walking is fairly easy going as the levadas have only a slight incline/decline. The hardest bit is getting to the start point or descending to get the bus. Sometimes the path is narrow without a handrail but we all managed fine. The trip is good as it moves around the island. No two days were the same so there was good variety.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    None

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good trip!
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Brian Helsdon

    A great if (for me) a strenuous trip

    I really enjoyed this trip. We had a full (15) and varied group, two couples, an American family and ages ranging from late twenties/early thirties to seventies. They were great fun and helped to make the trip. We were also extremely fortunate, no rain in what is the wettest month in Madeira, sun and above average temperatures for the first half of the week. All the hotels were of an acceptable standard with generally very good and varied breakfasts. The exception was the hotel in the centre of the island where the choice at breakfast was very limited and the food quality poor. The walks offered varied terrain and fantastic views but certainly merit the grading moderate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the end, the two days in Funchal, maybe because I felt I'd earnt it! We did an optional extra dolphin boast trip, went on the cable car and generally soaked up the atmosphere. Funchal at night during the Christmas period was lively with very tasteful decorations. The views of the north coast from several of the walks were spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Andre a very experienced mountain guide. He was extremely friendly and helpful and considerate to those of differing walking abilities and experiences. The walks all went well without incident because of this. He was also good at recommending places to eat which accepted 15 individual bills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't do this without either regular walking experience or some preparation before hand. There are five walks. I ducked out of the most strenuous one ( I wasn't the only one) but the last was also for me hard going, too many rocks, too many tunnels and too many hills. To be fair it was not the route in the itinerary which we could not do because of road closures. Definitely consider walking poles, invaluable especially for the down hills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did this walking trip over the Christmas period 2017. I have nothing but praise for the Exodus sales staff, Lucy. When I first inquired the trip was fully booked. I persisted and she promised to let me know if anyone dropped out. They did. The problem then was getting a flight, the return fare was £550 for a so called budget airline but Exodus mitigated this by further reductions in the main price so affordable but pricey my fault for a last minute booking. Following on from my comment above I would suggest Exodus consider a less strenuous option for the last walk whilst the one in the itinerary is off limits. Finally a small beef, the hotels near Funchal, Machico and in central Funchal both charged for a key to the room safe. In this security age I find this unacceptable. I hope Exodus and its agents can negotiate this away in future.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30