Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Rose Chandler

    North Cyprus

    An excellent week walking in the hills of North Cyprus, learning about the history of the present-day Greek/Turkish divide as well as the ancient Roman and pre-Roman history of the area. Very nice hotel on the outskirts of Kyrenia with 2 pools to help us cool off at the end of the day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When you get to the top and see the coast below, that's a good feeling! Even better if you know you will be swimming in the sea later in the day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gizer is a very engaging leader, accommodating to the faster and the slower amongst us, full of local knowledge and keen to introduce us to good local food.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be very hot, be prepared.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Anthony Turner

    Sun, sea and castles

    A really enjoyable week in Northern Cyprus which is a fascinating place to visit with a rich history and culture and beautiful mountain scenery. An ideal place to escape the cold weather back home!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the five walks and the three mountain castles. For a major tourist destination, it was very peaceful up in the mountains with some amazing views. The optional trip to Famagusta is also highly recommended.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gizer was excellent and very knowledgeable about Northern Cyprus. A very experienced leader who seemed to know everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was very disappointed with my two flights with BA. Very poor value for money with a significant delay flying back and because it is classed as a short-haul route (despite the 4.5-5 hour flight time) there was no entertainment and you had to pay for food and drink. I would recommend shopping around for alternative options. Despite the advice in the trip note you also do not need to bring shoes to swim in. Our guide was not aware of any problems with sea urchins and the beaches visited are all sandy beaches with no sharp rocks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An excellent mix of fairly easy walking (although even in October it was very warm) and fascinating archaeology. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Suzanne Carp

    Interesting break, lots of downhill

    This was our first time to Cyprus, and it was a great experience. The walks were not challenging, but there was plenty of downhill. We had a great group which added to the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We really enjoyed the views from Buffavento and Kantara Castles.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gulie (apologies for spelling) was very enthusiastic. It was a shame she wasn't at the airport or hotel to meet us on arrival, it made for a rather shaky start to the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for downhill. Most days we drove out to a castle or sightseeing point up in the mountains, and then walked back towards the coast. Great scenery, but you'll feel it in your calf muscles. Also, take some Euros for the airport in Larnaca. Being in southern Cyprus, they don't accept Turkish Lira.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exchange rates are better in the UK, so I'd advise to take cash with you. I managed to get 4.65 online in October, but the hotel were offering 4.21
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Michael Greenfield

    Escape to Kyrenia.

    Tour got off to a bad start with no obvious Exodus rep in sight, this was compounded by the minibus developing an oil pressure failure before we left the airport which necessitated another hours delay to add to the delayed flight. Driver of second minibus had no idea where the hotel was and had to keep asking for directions which meant instead of arriving about 10.30 p.m. it was way past midnight. Hotel turned up trumps, providing us with soup, cheese roll and a complimentary beer. Unfortunately hotel not due for more praise as room was over main road and 2 rooms were over the very noisy casino. Staff at hotel were very pleasant and breakfasts exceeded expectations and swimming pools were a god send after a extremely hot day's walking. Kyrenia, just a 20 minute stroll or a £2.30 taxi was captivating with its impressive castle, wonderful waterfront and vibrant restaurants. Due to the 40+ degrees heat walks became a water swigging, sweat sodden endurance test which many fellow travellers avoided or stopped at convenient points. Most of the walks did not seem to have an objective as sightseeing was done prior to their start. In my view it would have been better to walk, in the cooler part of the day, to one of the many ruined castles and then to meander coastwards afterwards. Beaches we visited were not over-commercialised and very hospitable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A number of moments were interesting but not inspirational: Salamis was one but not on a par with Jerash from last year's trip: Vorusia was again interesting as I was reading the book by Victoria Hislop: Kyrenia Castle was by far the most interesting of the 4 castles visited.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leader was organised if not 'inspirational'.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you visit in August or September be prepared for temperatures above 40 degrees and high humidity. Ask Exodus to ensure that you all have a room upgrade, do not suffer the casino!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is my 11th one week walking trip with Exodus and this is the only one I would not whole heartedly recommend.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Michael for his review, although we are very sorry that he was underwhelmed with aspects of this trip.  Since Michael travelled, we have changed local partner and we are now able to guarantee pool view rooms, away from the road and casino.  We also have a new leader for this trip who has been receiving great feedback from clients.

     

    Sarah Ahern - Product Manager for Cyprus

  • Reviewed January 2015
    Jill Follett

    Christmas walking in North Cyprus

    Having had a busy year with house renovations, we left our holiday booking rather late. We always plump for warmth, we like islands, exploring and walking. Two years ago we managed a brief border crossing in Cyprus when visiting the old walled city. That was a highlight and so I was delighted when John suggested joining a guided walk in North Cyprus this year. The booking was simple, making us wonder if we had completed everything necessary. A few days later following phone calls to let us know things were in hand, our booking was confirmed. We were able to join the group flight to Ergo, transfers and accommodation were complete. Everything fell into place, the hotel was excellent making an extra effort to give us a truly memorable Christmas. Our group of 16 fellow walkers gelled really well and our Austrian leader ensured each day went smoothly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact that we received brilliant service throughout making every moment memorable and enjoyable. The itinerary, the transporting and consideration given by the leader and his driver, the timings i.e. lengths of walks and visits to places of interest and relaxation before evening meals were much appreciated enabling us to maximise our time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leaders commentaries were informed and interesting. The walking pace was good allowing time to take in the views, linger a little longer in the atmosphere of the many historic sites visited. Places to picnic were well chosen, picnics provided enjoyable. Attention to detail and to the group was excellent. On a day when we had the choice to please ourselves, the leader organised an extra trip and came with us each evening including Christmas day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For a pair who enjoy meeting people but like to do their own thing, this was a first and we really enjoyed every minute.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks for arranging everything.
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Ann Pilsbury

    Walking in Northern Cyprus

    A varied and interesting trip. Spectacular views. Lovely people. Hotel Pia Bella was a very good base.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moments were Visiting the castles high on the cliffs and imagining what they might have been like when people lived there and what kind of people they were.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent. His English was superb and he had a great degree of knowledge about history, flora and fauna. He was a very warm person and didn't mind answering all our questions patiently. The pace of the walks was good, it was still quite hot.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was interesting to see fruits and seeds on the trees, but spring flowers would have looked lovely.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wasn't impressed with exodus. Our first flight was delayed, meaning we missed our scheduled flight into Cyprus. I know it says if delayed find your own way to the hotel, but I was surprised that there was no contact at all, no message at the airport, no email, no one to meet us. The one other person on the trip was on time and was just met by a taxi, couldn't we have been sent a taxi too as no representative from exodus was involved in Cyprus. It was about 1 am and we had to find our own taxi and pay £30.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Ann for her review. We are very sorry that she experienced a flight delay which led to a missed connection. We appreciate that it must have been frustrating to have arrived and not have a transfer waiting, however, unfortunately, we do not have a record of being informed of the flight issue, so were unable to organise an alternative transfer locally. We were very glad, on the other hand, to read that Ann had a great trip overall and we look forward to welcoming her back on another holiday soon.

  • Reviewed January 2014
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN NORTH CYPRUS

    A variety of walking and sightseeing with some quite tough walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Laurence Durrell's house in Bellapais, the crusader castles of Buffavento and St Hilarion, Kyrenia harbour.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our walk leader Tugberk Emirzade was excellent. His knowledge and love of the island made the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect some toughish climbs to the Crusader castles - worth it for the views if you don't suffer from vertigo!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really liked the Onar Village hotel. It was wonderful to be able to see over the bay from the outside pool and the restaurant. Thank you Exodus for our Christmas Dinner - a nice and unexpected extra. The chefs at the hotel laid on a great meal that night.
  • Reviewed November 2013
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN NORTH CYPRUS

    An excellent week, with a fun group (from different places), an excellent local guide and great weather. The hotel was just fine too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Beautiful views at altitude, looking along the North Cyprus coast

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.....knowledgeable, supportive, informative (and with us most eves.....and when he couldn't be, he recommended very good restaurants)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We did two great 10 mile walks on successive days, then much less the rest of the week (we only walked on 4 of 6 days, with two half day walks). For some this wasn't enough. For me, I ccould have done with a lighter day between the two long ones!
  • Reviewed April 2013
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN NORTH CYPRUS

    An excellent spring break lead by an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. Some very pleasant walks, none too taxing. The mountains were greener than I expected and plenty of wild flowers to see. The views from the castles in the mountains are spectacular. Good evening meals are available in local restaurants, particularly in Bellapais.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from Buffavento castle and on the walk down.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ros was excellent. Friendly and helpful. Thorough local knowledge, she seemed to be known by many of the local people.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes should make clearer that payment for the optional group trip/meals is better paid in sterling not Turkish lira, otherwise the exchange rate will be poor. It is a long drive to the Karpaz peninsular and if you are not a beach enthusiast, it may be better to make other arrangements for that day. The Apostolos Andreas monastery, included in the Karpaz day, is unfortunately (owing to its state of disrepair) not worth a visit. The optional trip to Salamis and Famagusta is well worth taking. You could easily spend more time in both.The group flight with Pegasus goes via Istanbul and passengers to/from N Cyprus have to stay on the plane for about 1 hour at Istanbul. This is a budget airline and no food or drink is included in the ticket and prices on board are very high. Legroom is poor. Check-in at Stansted was very slow. I would strongly advise on-line check-in for the outward flight. Seats were though allocated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel in Onar village was pleasant, with helpful staff and good views over Kyrenia. Some on the trip had problems with noise from air-conditioning units used all night in adjoining rooms. The breakfasts were good but I would not recommend it for an evening meal. Main issue is that you cannot walk to and from Kyrenia town to the hotel, which is some distance out of town and on the wrong side of the Kyrenia bypass which has no pedestrian route across. Taxis are though readily available.
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN NORTH CYPRUS

    This is a short trip which packs a lot in, but there is plenty of time to relax. The watchword is choice - there are plenty of options every day. Keep walking or hitch a ride? Relax by the pool or take another trip? The walking itself is not particularly demanding... but in almost 40 degree heat, we worked hard to earn the magnificent views! Even 3 months after returning, my memories are rich with blue and green.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I don't know if it is inspirational as such, but amidst the beautiful scenery and exceptionally varied history, the thing which struck me the most was the modern history, particularly the no-man's-land visible in Famagusta. It's a shame that such a beautiful country is tinged with division and sadness, with the ongoing political and diplomatic struggles trapping the local people in the middle. Struggles and change throughout history are evident across the island, showcased by the visits to the castles, mosques, abbeys, monasteries and both ancient and modern ruins, in which the influence of Roman, Crusader, Arab and Turk can be seen. Not to mention the British...The natural landscape of the Karpaz is a fantastic contrast. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roz was friendly, knowledgeable and very funny. I hadn't realised from reading previous reviews that she was British and so I was doubly impressed by her spoken Turkish language skills! She was able to advise on just about everything, including suggesting places to eat and drink and even passing on a list of North Cyprus-related literature for anyone interested in learning a bit more.With her at the head and a great group of fellow travellers, I spent a hearty proportion of every day laughing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Say "yes" to everything! Say yes to the optional day trip to Famagusta, say yes to the evening dinner cruise, say yes to the chance to swim in the sea, say yes to the delicious barbecue...However, in amongst saying "yes" to everything... Consider packing a snack or two (ensuring it is not something that melts) in case the lunch food is not to your taste (it's freshly-prepared local food and I thought it was delicious!). Also, be prepared for a scratch or two on the leg on the forest walk. I loved the walk but some of the shrubs are hardy and unforgiving!The only definite thing which should be remembered? If flying with Pegasus from Stansted via Istanbul to Ercan, take food onto the plane for your journey!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are a hardy, mountaineering fitness nut then the trip may be too gentle for you. But if you want a mix of walking and bathing, eating and drinking, sightseeing and chilling out, this is one for you.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30