Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2018
    Henry Marriott

    May walking

    Arrangements were efficient, the hotel was lovely, the reception and meal on arrival was most welcoming. Walking was as brochure said and the town/suburbs was abundant with flowering plants. Evening meals easily available at very reasonable prices. The guide was full of interesting information about the historical context of the island. As ever the greatest fun was meeting the excellent other holiday makers! The hotel were very attentive to providing me with "gluten free" meals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to the roman remains at Salamis

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed April 2018
    SID HILLS

    walking northern cyprus april 18

    A very enjoyable week,good mixed group ,interesting walks and perfect<for walking> weather. The hotel was of a good standard and the staff very helpful,also only a 15minute walk to the harbour and castle

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    thursdays walk starting with 600 steps up to a castle. getting up there

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very well organised although used turkish time when telling us how long we had to go on walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Any later than april would be very HOT.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The difficlty rating was optimistic 2, we did a 3 in cappadocia last year this was at least on a par with that
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Deborah Dawson

    A memorable experience

    This was a very enjoyable week of walking and sightseeing. The walks are in stunning locations and, in April, there are wild flowers and butterflies everywhere. The walks are not too demanding but be careful as many tracks are rocky and could cause you to stumble if you are not careful. The weather was perfect at this time of year but I think that any later and it would have been too hot. Excellent hotel. Delicious food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lunch at the top of a mountain, listening to the birdsong and watching the butterflies.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giza was a very knowledgeable leader and organised all the activities well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It would be very hot doing these walks after April. Also, you need to be physically fit as some terrain is quite rocky.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a very different holiday and not touristy at all which helped to make it so enjoyable. If you are interested in history and love walking in beautiful places you will not be disappointed!
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Judy pogson

    Hiking Northern Cyprus

    I really enjoyed this trip and the group were fun and our leader was helpful. I would have preferred more challenging hikes as the abilities were quite different. I would also have preferred to be able to choose our own restaurants rather than being taken to one of the Leaders choice which wasn't always good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Really enjoyed seeing the Monasteries, as well as the Ghost Town. The Christmas eve dinner the hotel put on and the party were both great fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was nice but not sure he always managed the very different hiking abilities in the group. There were several really fast ones and some very slow and the ones ahead were constantly were having to wait for the slower one and he often went ahead with the faster ones.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The food is very heavy and the lunches were boring (always the same white bread rolls and cheese). So much meat the vegetarian options not always good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did not like the fact that our leader would take us to restaurants of his choice (where he knew the owners well and maybe got a good tip for taking us all there) and 2 or 3 of them weren't good at all and there was a set menu and price and it was not good value. When we had a free eve we would go to a restaurant of our choice which we always found excellent and good value. I went from Gatwick airport which was far more convenient for me but most of the group thought they had to go from Heathrow on BA which wasn't convenient for some. The reason I was able to fly from Gatwick is because I asked if it was possible but others in the group were not given an option. Thi I s was not the trip of my choice as I had provisionally booked for Andalucia but then called to pay the deposiy and my place had been sold to someone else without even a phone call to ask me if I was still going. I was not happy about this and feel that the customer service of Exodus has changed over the past year or so as used to be a lot better.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Rose Chandler

    North Cyprus

    An excellent week walking in the hills of North Cyprus, learning about the history of the present-day Greek/Turkish divide as well as the ancient Roman and pre-Roman history of the area. Very nice hotel on the outskirts of Kyrenia with 2 pools to help us cool off at the end of the day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When you get to the top and see the coast below, that's a good feeling! Even better if you know you will be swimming in the sea later in the day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gizer is a very engaging leader, accommodating to the faster and the slower amongst us, full of local knowledge and keen to introduce us to good local food.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be very hot, be prepared.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Anthony Turner

    Sun, sea and castles

    A really enjoyable week in Northern Cyprus which is a fascinating place to visit with a rich history and culture and beautiful mountain scenery. An ideal place to escape the cold weather back home!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the five walks and the three mountain castles. For a major tourist destination, it was very peaceful up in the mountains with some amazing views. The optional trip to Famagusta is also highly recommended.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gizer was excellent and very knowledgeable about Northern Cyprus. A very experienced leader who seemed to know everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was very disappointed with my two flights with BA. Very poor value for money with a significant delay flying back and because it is classed as a short-haul route (despite the 4.5-5 hour flight time) there was no entertainment and you had to pay for food and drink. I would recommend shopping around for alternative options. Despite the advice in the trip note you also do not need to bring shoes to swim in. Our guide was not aware of any problems with sea urchins and the beaches visited are all sandy beaches with no sharp rocks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An excellent mix of fairly easy walking (although even in October it was very warm) and fascinating archaeology. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Suzanne Carp

    Interesting break, lots of downhill

    This was our first time to Cyprus, and it was a great experience. The walks were not challenging, but there was plenty of downhill. We had a great group which added to the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We really enjoyed the views from Buffavento and Kantara Castles.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gulie (apologies for spelling) was very enthusiastic. It was a shame she wasn't at the airport or hotel to meet us on arrival, it made for a rather shaky start to the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for downhill. Most days we drove out to a castle or sightseeing point up in the mountains, and then walked back towards the coast. Great scenery, but you'll feel it in your calf muscles. Also, take some Euros for the airport in Larnaca. Being in southern Cyprus, they don't accept Turkish Lira.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exchange rates are better in the UK, so I'd advise to take cash with you. I managed to get 4.65 online in October, but the hotel were offering 4.21
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Michael Greenfield

    Escape to Kyrenia.

    Tour got off to a bad start with no obvious Exodus rep in sight, this was compounded by the minibus developing an oil pressure failure before we left the airport which necessitated another hours delay to add to the delayed flight. Driver of second minibus had no idea where the hotel was and had to keep asking for directions which meant instead of arriving about 10.30 p.m. it was way past midnight. Hotel turned up trumps, providing us with soup, cheese roll and a complimentary beer. Unfortunately hotel not due for more praise as room was over main road and 2 rooms were over the very noisy casino. Staff at hotel were very pleasant and breakfasts exceeded expectations and swimming pools were a god send after a extremely hot day's walking. Kyrenia, just a 20 minute stroll or a £2.30 taxi was captivating with its impressive castle, wonderful waterfront and vibrant restaurants. Due to the 40+ degrees heat walks became a water swigging, sweat sodden endurance test which many fellow travellers avoided or stopped at convenient points. Most of the walks did not seem to have an objective as sightseeing was done prior to their start. In my view it would have been better to walk, in the cooler part of the day, to one of the many ruined castles and then to meander coastwards afterwards. Beaches we visited were not over-commercialised and very hospitable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A number of moments were interesting but not inspirational: Salamis was one but not on a par with Jerash from last year's trip: Vorusia was again interesting as I was reading the book by Victoria Hislop: Kyrenia Castle was by far the most interesting of the 4 castles visited.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leader was organised if not 'inspirational'.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you visit in August or September be prepared for temperatures above 40 degrees and high humidity. Ask Exodus to ensure that you all have a room upgrade, do not suffer the casino!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is my 11th one week walking trip with Exodus and this is the only one I would not whole heartedly recommend.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Michael for his review, although we are very sorry that he was underwhelmed with aspects of this trip.  Since Michael travelled, we have changed local partner and we are now able to guarantee pool view rooms, away from the road and casino.  We also have a new leader for this trip who has been receiving great feedback from clients.

     

    Sarah Ahern - Product Manager for Cyprus

  • Reviewed January 2015
    Jill Follett

    Christmas walking in North Cyprus

    Having had a busy year with house renovations, we left our holiday booking rather late. We always plump for warmth, we like islands, exploring and walking. Two years ago we managed a brief border crossing in Cyprus when visiting the old walled city. That was a highlight and so I was delighted when John suggested joining a guided walk in North Cyprus this year. The booking was simple, making us wonder if we had completed everything necessary. A few days later following phone calls to let us know things were in hand, our booking was confirmed. We were able to join the group flight to Ergo, transfers and accommodation were complete. Everything fell into place, the hotel was excellent making an extra effort to give us a truly memorable Christmas. Our group of 16 fellow walkers gelled really well and our Austrian leader ensured each day went smoothly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact that we received brilliant service throughout making every moment memorable and enjoyable. The itinerary, the transporting and consideration given by the leader and his driver, the timings i.e. lengths of walks and visits to places of interest and relaxation before evening meals were much appreciated enabling us to maximise our time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leaders commentaries were informed and interesting. The walking pace was good allowing time to take in the views, linger a little longer in the atmosphere of the many historic sites visited. Places to picnic were well chosen, picnics provided enjoyable. Attention to detail and to the group was excellent. On a day when we had the choice to please ourselves, the leader organised an extra trip and came with us each evening including Christmas day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For a pair who enjoy meeting people but like to do their own thing, this was a first and we really enjoyed every minute.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks for arranging everything.
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Ann Pilsbury

    Walking in Northern Cyprus

    A varied and interesting trip. Spectacular views. Lovely people. Hotel Pia Bella was a very good base.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moments were Visiting the castles high on the cliffs and imagining what they might have been like when people lived there and what kind of people they were.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent. His English was superb and he had a great degree of knowledge about history, flora and fauna. He was a very warm person and didn't mind answering all our questions patiently. The pace of the walks was good, it was still quite hot.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was interesting to see fruits and seeds on the trees, but spring flowers would have looked lovely.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wasn't impressed with exodus. Our first flight was delayed, meaning we missed our scheduled flight into Cyprus. I know it says if delayed find your own way to the hotel, but I was surprised that there was no contact at all, no message at the airport, no email, no one to meet us. The one other person on the trip was on time and was just met by a taxi, couldn't we have been sent a taxi too as no representative from exodus was involved in Cyprus. It was about 1 am and we had to find our own taxi and pay £30.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Ann for her review. We are very sorry that she experienced a flight delay which led to a missed connection. We appreciate that it must have been frustrating to have arrived and not have a transfer waiting, however, unfortunately, we do not have a record of being informed of the flight issue, so were unable to organise an alternative transfer locally. We were very glad, on the other hand, to read that Ann had a great trip overall and we look forward to welcoming her back on another holiday soon.

Call us on +47-22 41 30 30