Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Chris Pope

    Amazing Expierence

    Great trip, good variety while sticking to the Volcano theme, great food. As a new walker I had some concerns about the walking but the pace was well measured and the support and preparation guide excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stromboli summit watching the eruptions was what the rest of the trip seemed to build up to and it didn't disappoint. Coming down from Stromboli was great fun. Vulcano fumaroles is a good runner up!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Genny is a fantastic leader, cheerful and friendly, she set a good walking pace for the terrain that ensured all the group were able to get to the objectives at the right time, such as sunset. She picked out some great food stops, Angelina's on Lipari will live in my memory for a long time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you prepare for the trip you will have a great experience, take layers especially wind proof for the summit sitting! You cant pay for much/anything? with a card so take cash. Don't underestimate the boat rides - take, or buy locally, travel sickness pills if you aren't sure of your "sea legs".

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I am new to walking holiday I used the Exodus fitness & training guide to prepare which was very useful.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Kate Skowronska

    Unforgettable fireworks

    Greatly structured trip, with a lot of varied trips and sights. Genny, our guide, was amazing - superb customer service!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stromboli summit

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Genny was superb guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack layers and good camera
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Jane Nelson

    My etna

    Excellent brake saw lots great experiance

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going up Stromboli and mt etna

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent he was very good at explaining the volcanos
  • Reviewed October 2018
    james wishart

    sicilian volcanoes

    I personally had problems with travel. As a group we were stranded on the island Lipari for 3 days instead of 1 day due weather preventing ferries to operate. On the last day we climbed Mt. Etna. This proved to be a challenge mainly due the sulphur clouds. I was unwell the next and it took a week to feel better. I know others in the party were susequently ill. My friend , who I travelled with , when he returned home was admitted to hospital suffering from pneumonia. After a week he has left hospital still recovering. The guide on the holiday was helpful to me with my travel problems. He is a nice man , easy to get on with. Given the problems we were having , he could have been more proactive and communicated more clearly what the siuation was.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The part of the trip that stood out most was Mt. Etna. This was positive and negative. The landscape was very bleak and interasting. The sulphur clouds and subsequent ill health were not good.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of the conditions on Mt. Etna.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unfortunately not one of my better trips.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Roland Pope

    Brilliant experience

    If you are not already in awe of the power of nature this trip will remind you who is in charge. Getting close to these amazing natural features, feeling the heat and smelling the sulphur is an experience well worth the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing Etna at close range.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that climatic and volcanic conditions can affect the itinerary; we couldn't get to Stromboli because of adverse windage. We got to over 3000m on Etna and it was chilly when we stopped for lunch so be prepared.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Martin Bayliss

    Pyroplastic fun!

    Beautiful with stunning scenery, history and geology - and that was just the group!.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Island of Stromboli with the milky way easily seen due to no light pollution! The peaches grown in volcanic soil were something else. The Stromboli eruptions and night walk were a high point. Swimming in the sea on Stromboli was special too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Genny was superb. Knowledgeable and competent with just the right balance of guiding and knowing when to give people space. Could not fault her. Thank you so much Genny!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hold back and do everything! The 85 Euros for going to the top of Etna is worth it - it felt and sounded like the mountain would explode at any moment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you can work it in suggest a half day to day boat cruise around Stromboli (or similar island) stopping off at coves for swims etc.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Jane Westley

    Appropriate

    This was a great holiday with a good size group (10 people). I wouldn't have liked many more. Marco our guide was excellent. The trip notes were good but could perhaps be more accurate abound the difficulty leve and the need to sign safety waivers for Stromboli and Etna. We had group members who I think expected that they would be able to do the climbs but realised after Vulcan that it was beyond them. Also we had a couple who were not experienced trekkers and were a bit taken aback at the difficulty level although they persevered and made the climbs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first volcano, Vulcan and realising I was on the edge of a live volcano. Also Marco and his knowledge of volcanoes, the geology and knowledge of plants, rocks and the history of the volcanoes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic. I couldn't rate him highly enough. He had such wonderful knowledge, a remarkable grasp of the English language, and a lovely gentle manner and a great sense of humour. He was very caring towards every member of the group and was well organised. I felt very safe with him in charge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit enough to climb long hard hauls and flexible enough to run downhill in deep and steep sand and rocks. Dont under estimate the need for good quality hiking gear. Even in summer it's cold at the top and you really should have the right layers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Marco needs to be acknowledged and awarded for his excellence.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Jeanette Barker

    So much better than I'd anticipated

    My husband and I are from the other side of the world and our primary reason for being in Europe during June was to go cycling. When my husband suggested we follow our cycling holiday up with a walking trip to see the Sicilian volcanoes my first thought was - meh (shoulder shrug and lack of interest). How wrong I was. I really enjoyed the trip. It was my favourite week or our four week holiday. The trip was extremely well organised; the volcanoes fascinating, the accommodation good value and the walks varied and interesting. We also had a nice group of fellow travellers. We developed a good camaraderie over the week and that added to our enjoyment of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing and walking through the fumaroles on the island of Volcano was a highlight. I also really enjoyed Stromboli, both the two walks up the volcano and also wandering around parts of this lovely island.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a great group leader. Marco is a qualified geologist who speaks excellent English. There is no point walking through the type of landscape we visited unless you have some understanding of how a volcano is formed or of the impact of volcanic activity and eruptions on the surrounding rock formations and landscape . Marco was able to explain complex geological concepts to us in a simple (but not simplistic) way. He also has a wealth of knowledge about the local flora and of many aspects of the region (including local legends and history). This trip does take you to places that are potentially hazardous. With charm and good humour Marco made it clear to the group he was the leader and would be the person that would make the call when and if it became necessary to make decisions affecting our safety. He instilled us with confidence and really looked after us throughout the week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I underestimated how cold it would be on top of Stromboli and Etna. It is possible to hire jackets at both Stromboli and Mt Etna. If you can't fit sufficiently warm clothing into your luggage you should hire them because even in June it was freezing at the top.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Terry Penfold

    Aeolian Islands Odyssey

    This was a great trip. Everyone got on well, the hotels and food were very good and the weather very kind. The walking was quite strenuous in the heat but an attentive leader made sure everyone was ok. The trip was especially interesting for anyone interested in geology (like me). Vulcano and Stromboli were excellent destinations to see volcanic action. Etna was a little disappointing because of low cloud and I ducked the summit trek which proved to be a wise move as the alternative walk on the lava flows was very interesting. Stromboli's summit was very atmospheric (literally) with plenty of smoke, fire and dust. But well worth the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Oddly I think it was our first ascent on the island of Vulcano. We came over the brim and were suddenly faced with a large crater still steaming away and the sulphurous fumaroles which we had to negotiate. A lovely island as well.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marco was superb. He was very attentive - nothing was too much trouble. Being a professional geologist he was able to answer my queries in some depth (in technical English) but looked after everyone whatever their interest. He smiled a lot, as well, which always helps! Everything worked well. My wife decided not to attempt the Stromboli ascent and he insisted on arranging a coastal cruise for her instead to view the eruptions from the sea. I think she saw more than we did from the summit!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go. It is a great trip. Be aware that you will need to buy and carry a lot of water as the local stuff is not recommended for human (visitor?) consumption and the temperatures can be high. You will sweat a lot. Read the instructions regarding the necessary gear carefully - you can't get away with a pair of trainers instead of boots.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Mandy Twells

    Scicilian volcanoes

    This was a very good well organised trip. Saw a lot in a short time. Some of the walks can be strenuous in the heat so look at the time of year you go The flights to Catania were late both ways going out to scicily this had a massive impact as we didn’t get to the hotel until the early hours, up after 4 hours sleep onto a ferry then walking up Vulcano in the midday sun was hard work. The hotels were all very good , lots to eat at breakfast to set you up for the day. The only hotel with limited breakfast was the last one very basic but the location makes up for it The hotel in Catania for the last evening was very well situated however booking out was at 1030 but the return flight is not until late evening that meant about 11 hours to kill which was a bit draining to say the least. You’re allowed to leave your luggage but exodus should consider arranging earlier flights. Home .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Stromboli erupt.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Raffaele was great, very knowledgable and helpful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus needs to look at flight timings as if delayed as we were on the way out it has a big impact on the first day. The flight back could also be earlier or they could make arrangements for a later checkout.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30