Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Sheila Parker

    Great Holiday and Superb Walking

    A great holiday with excellent walks which were enjoyable as well as being physically quite demanding. Liz, our guide for the week, made the holiday extra special as she was a superb leader who always went the 'extra mile' to please everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 2 day trip to the hut was a fantastic part of the holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was excellent. She was knowledgeable about the area and always got the best out of group with her support. She had a great personality and was never bossy as some leaders can be. Her own level of fitness was an inspiration.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food in the Braccicorti was a little disappointing. Breakfasts were good and it was helpful to be able to make your own packed lunch from the ingredients provided although there was room for improvement with some of these items eg the bread and the packet cakes. Dinners could have been better eg salad was usually just a bowl of chopped lettuce, pasta was quite bland and the meat was disappointing. The red wine was however much appreciated.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Jonathan Dorward

    Walking in Tuscany

    What a fantastic trip,the weather,the acomadation,the scenery,Trek Leader & her Dog ( Elvis ) only one word to describe it. BEAUTIFUL !!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it !!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was Excellent, she was very informative she was a damn good cook ( cakes ) very knowledgable. Helped us in any way she could,Hat's off to her fantastic.OBE,MBE She deserves a bloody Medal ! Never let this Women leave Exodus ! Everything that she recommended was spot on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If Sara Bull is the Trek Leader go for it you won't be disappointed. Tuscany is Beautiful. We went to Pisa a day early before the trip started and it is well worth a visit. On our day off we went to the ancient walled town of Luca which was again well worth seeing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One week was not enough.a 10 day Trip would be nice ?
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Kaz Owczarek

    Some people might be misled in thinking this is a walk in the park, before booking, it should be entitled trekking in the mountains of Tuscany

    A brilliant experience and can't wait to go on the next one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having walked up a mountain, with sweat pouring out of me, breathing deeply, with the sun beating down on us, to get to the top of the mountain, to see the views in the distance below and the mountains in the distance across makes it all worth while. This happened everyday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was the female version of Gear Grylls, though she didn't have us drinking our urine! She is very knowledgeable about the Region, the language, and health and safety in trekking. She has trekked in jungles of Africa, South America, to name but a few. She is a trained medic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have never done any trekking, prepare well, to get the most out of this exhilarating experience. Go for walks starting 6 weeks before travel building up to 10 miles the week before, to harden up your feet and to get your feet used to wearing boots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More emphasis should be made on the need for Isotonic refreshments to keep you energised with the correct minerals for all day trekking
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Kaz Owczarek

    Some people might be misled in thinking this is a walk in the park, before booking, it should be entitled trekking in the mountains of Tuscany

    A brilliant experience and can't wait to go on the next one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having walked up a mountain, with sweat pouring out of me, breathing deeply, with the sun beating down on us, to get to the top of the mountain, to see the views in the distance below and the mountains in the distance across makes it all worth while. This happened everyday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was the female version of Gear Grylls, though she didn't have us drinking our urine! She is very knowledgeable about the Region, the language, and health and safety in trekking. She has trekked in jungles of Africa, South America, to name but a few. She is a trained medic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have never done any trekking, prepare well, to get the most out of this exhilarating experience. Go for walks starting 6 weeks before travel building up to 10 miles the week before, to harden up your feet and to get your feet used to wearing boots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More emphasis should be made on the need for Isotonic refreshments to keep you energised with the correct minerals for all day trekking
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Kaz Owczarek

    Some people might be misled in thinking this is a walk in the park, before booking, it should be entitled trekking in the mountains of Tuscany

    A brilliant experience and can't wait to go on the next one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having walked up a mountain, with sweat pouring out of me, breathing deeply, with the sun beating down on us, to get to the top of the mountain, to see the views in the distance below and the mountains in the distance across makes it all worth while. This happened everyday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was the female version of Gear Grylls, though she didn't have us drinking our urine! She is very knowledgeable about the Region, the language, and health and safety in trekking. She has trekked in jungles of Africa, South America, to name but a few. She is a trained medic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have never done any trekking, prepare well, to get the most out of this exhilarating experience. Go for walks starting 6 weeks before travel building up to 10 miles the week before, to harden up your feet and to get your feet used to wearing boots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More emphasis should be made on the need for Isotonic refreshments to keep you energised with the correct minerals for all day trekking
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Irina Tseyref

    Walking in Tuscany

    This was one of the best trip I ever had! Beautiful scenery, friendly people, great home cooking, but most importantly - our incredible guide Sara. She was taking care of us like of her own family always paying attention to every small detail. Thank you!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing mount Sumbra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best guide ever
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Helen de Wolf

    Fantastic!

    Exodus holidays are only as good as their leaders and Sara is fantastic, super knowledgeable and full of enthusiasm. The area and accommodation ensure you feel fully relaxed and immersed in the beautiful countryside. The home cooked food is delicious and there is also a day out in Lucca or Pisa etc.. In short, a great holiday for people who enjoy Italy, walking and beautiful countryside.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the wonderful, unforgettable views and climbing to the top of the highest peak in Tuscany.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant! Sara is so experienced and thoughtful and an amazing asset to Exodus. Sara ensured we all had a great holiday and were able to enjoy to the full all the area has to offer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's a hugely enjoyable trip and there is some flexibility with the walks which is a bonus.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Alan Dawkins

    Jackpot in Tuscany!

    For me, this holiday struck the perfect balance, encompassing Five varied walks, home cooking and a day of culture in Lucca. The walks themselves presented us with colourful memories around every corner, whether it be a spiritual shrine, an `out of the blue` stone monument of a world famous pop star ( I wont spoil your surprise!) or simply stunning views. Our World-class Guide, Sara, was always a step ahead of any request or challenge we met allowing us to fully absorb the splendours of this beautiful part of the world. Thank you!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks which veered into sheltered woodlands-I loved the feel and smell of the trees.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    World class

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For those whom have not used walking poles, this is a great opportunity to learn . Sara provide the use of poles and instructions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I hope Elvis` operation went well
  • Reviewed June 2018

    Wonderful first experience of walking holidays!

    Really enjoyed this trip, our guide, Liz, was excellent, the walks were well planned and we were able to explore this beautiful region, the Garfagnana area, which we had not visited before. The agriturismo experience was another first for us, our hosts were warm and welcoming and the food and home-produced wine was plentiful and tasty, it was a lovely environment. We were lucky to be with a very friendly group of fellow walkers which added to the experience and we have arrived home feeling very refreshed and keen to book another Exodus trip in the near future. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys walking and beautiful countryside.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved it all!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was very enthusiastic and planned our days well, taking into account weather conditions and everyone’s needs. She was very attentive to each person on the trip and the holiday would not have been the same without her.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    John Walsh

    Walking in Tuscany

    This was an excellent tour. The accommodation was delightful and all the people there were charming and so accommodating. The guide - Sara Bull - was superb and the walking was enjoyable and in places spectacular without being too arduous.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the rock arch on Monte Ferato. Stunning. And this was a walk that was not in the original itinerary. We went there because the weather was not good enough for Monte Sumbra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull is one of the best group leaders I have come across. Extremely knowledgeable, very well organised, very aware of the needs and capabilities of her clients and good company. She took great care to ensure that everyone knew what was going on, managed all their end of tour travel (surely not within her scope to buy tickets and provide tourist information to those going on to other places) and took care to ensure that my wife (who was not walking with us) had all the information she needed. We had a minor accident on one of the walks and Sara handled the situation very competently and professionally. Excellent all round.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My one reservation was the selection of the restaurant for the meal we were taken to in Castelnuovo. While some of the dishes were very good and, as advertised, constituted a good main course, others under the same heading (eg gnocchi, eggs with truffle) were very small and uninteresting. I did well, but I know that several others in the group were disappointed (and hungry!). I can't help feeling that the town must have better to offer.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30