Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2017
    Amanda Barker

    Plentiful prosecco....

    This is a fantastic trip with a varied itinerary, including some decent walks, steep both uphill and downhill at times, a guided tour of Treviso, with some free time, and a free day that can be spent in Venice, easily reachable at only an hour on the train. Add to the daily activity, unlimited wine on 4 nights at dinner, and a couple of excellent tastings...all in the beautiful surrounds of northern Italy.....highly recommend!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably for me, visiting Venice, one of the most amazing and unique cities in the world, but the prosecco vending machine half way up a hill, was a welcome delight after a long walk in the heat.... Of course...not to forget.....a fabulous group of fellow travellers, who all got on amazingly well

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Serena....a wonderful Italian woman, fairly new to the job, and local to the area, was a delight. She was very approachable, and felt like a friend to us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the walks are steeper in places than I'd expected from the trip notes/reviews. Nothing too difficult, but some fitness and good footwear essential. We were fortunate as didn't have to walk in the rain, but on places it could be quite muddy and slippy, so good footwear essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The villa is beautiful, and the pool, if not a bit cold, was a welcome relief after a hot days walking. The food in the hotel is at best average, though the wine is very pleasant....and unlimited. The prosecco tasting at the vineyard was very generous...and an eye opener being introduced to the different varieties of prosecco....I await my case arriving.... shipping costs to the U.K. are very reasonable.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Steven Adcott

    Prosecco O'clock

    This is an easy introduction to trekking, mainly leisurely walking but with the occasional uphill sting in the tail. Very do-able but please make sure you have at least some basic fitness. Our group was fantastic, everyone dovetailed and good friends were made. The walking days were interesting, it wasn't just a trek, there were points of interest and the local history, particularly the First World War was fascinating. Obviously Prosecco plays a part. The vineyards and the tastings were varied. If you enjoy Prosecco you will not be disappointed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most of the group went to Venice on the free day, who wouldn't be inspired by that!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob was great, an older Exodus hand, who was coaching Serena who was to take over the reins. So we were blessed with two guides. The interaction between leader and group was just about right and Bob was able to arrange all sorts of activities for one of the group who was carrying an injury which curtailed his walking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't just drink Prosecco, the local red is excellent. The hotel food is okay and the wine is complimentary and non stop, the bottles keep on coming.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip for those who want a not too strenuous trek in Italy, with amazing scenery.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Ray Morris-Hill

    Walking the Prosecco Hills

    An enjoyable and varied week of walking in an unspoilt region of Italy

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved the visit to Treviso. Our guide Gabriella gave a great tour and we loved it so much we returned on our free day to explore some more.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Christine was great at ensuring the group interacted well and despite it being only the first time she had run the trip she was very knowledgeable and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can get very hot walking on the slopes of the vineyards so drink plenty of water. Sticks are helpful on the descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Check out my short video of the trip to get a real flavour of the countryside and the walking. You can find it here https://youtu.be/B5X3RPUxcrc or just google "Walking the Prosecco Hills, Italy video".
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Jane O'Brien

    Walking the Prosecco Hills

    A really wonderful trip overall, great to get off the beaten track in areas of Italy with very few tourists. Well planned walks in beautiful scenery and towns, plentiful wine and interesting conversation made for a very relaxing week, you really felt far away from the pressures of day to day life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The second full day walking through the vineyards, having a cold beer (do try some Italian beer as well as prosecco!) overlooking the hills followed by the fascinating and beautiful winery tour and tasting. The lady who ran it was hugely knowledgeable and warm. Day two is a perfect day. Also Venice on the free day, I still can hardly believe I've been to Venice now, it was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob was immense. The group was more diverse in terms of ability and expectations than I thought it would be and he dealt with resulting challenges calmly and professionally. His knowledge of the area and history added a huge amount to the walks and the sheer amount of information he provided for the free day was amazing, it made it so much easier and took any potential stress out of the day, I just did what Bob suggested, job done!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As always, read the reviews and the trip notes carefully. Exodus will never be able to win with the ratings, but the clue is in the title, there are hills involved, but only moderately. If you never walk at home you'll find it a little hard, if you scale Munros then the walking will be easy and you'll be there for the scenery, company food and wine. A couple of the restaurants struggled a bit with the concept of vegetarianism for the 3rd course where they would usually have meat which is a shame in an area with such beautiful produce that so much went to waste, and when we had so much lovely food in the other courses that we didn't need 4 anyway! It would almost be worth seeing if your leader can negotiate not to have the 3rd course (or in one case Bob asked for a simple omelette which was lovely.)
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Kai Aylward

    Walking in the Prosecco Hills

    Pleasant walking, late September sunshine, plentiful food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finding a Prosecco vending machine on the side of a hill in the middle of nowhere. Italians have their priorities right!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob knew the area very well and outlined each day in great detail beforehand, so we knew what to expect. We had a free day in Venice at the end of the tour too (as our flights were coming back in the evening rather than the usual morning flight) and he went above and beyond the call of duty, taking us to Venice airport, putting our luggage into storage, then getting us a return bus ticket into Venice, before accompanying us there and showing us to the water taxi.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for vast amounts of food at the hotel! The chef is a lovely old guy in his 80s who seems to see it as his duty to come and pile more food onto your plate at every opportunity. As most meals are 3-4 courses, there's no reason for seconds!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wasn't a fan of Prosecco before doing this trip...but during the two tastings we had on this itinerary, we learnt there's a whole range (rather than just the fizzy stuff we get in the UK) and I stumbled onto a few I liked. I came home with 3 bottles!
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Colin Read

    Walking the Prosecco Hills

    Almost everything about this trip was excellent: our leader (Bob Mason); the walking and scenery; the restaurants we ate out at; and the visits - particularly to the San Gregorio winery and to Treviso. The weather was mostly warm and sunny which added to the experience. The Hotel Villa Soligo was well appointed, comfortable and the staff were attentive and helpful. It was only let down by the rather odd restaurant run by the eccentric hotel owner. They rarely served exactly what was on the menu.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walking planned and led by Bob and the visit to Treviso with a great local guide.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As already mentioned above, Bob was everything which a good leader should be. He knew and led the walks well, was always attentive and helpful, even on the free day, and was very much part of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have not travelled with Exodus before make sure you understand what the gradings 'leisurely' and 'moderate' mean. If in doubt speak to someone at Exodus before you book. If you have special dietary needs, take an appropriate Italian language cook book and point out what this means. There is lots of good, meat or gluten free Italian food but many restaurant kitchens don't really grasp the concept.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A really good trip. Go for it.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Frances Leach

    Walking the prosecco hills

    Overall, it was a very enjoyable trip. The beautiful countryside, good hotel, with friendly and helpful staff together with top quality food and drink were super. Personally, I would have enjoyed longer and more varied walks. At times, in the latter part of the day, after our walks, it would be good to break the journey home with a stop either at a place of interest, like a local village or refreshment stop. (If the weather was wet, there wouldn't be a great deal to do back at the hotel).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is very hard to pick a highlight. The Villa Barbaro was outstanding and memorable. The overall quality and variety of the food and drink was terrific. The last night meal at The Swallow, was a corker!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was pleasant, with an easy going style but he could have been better. As a native of Italy, it would have been good if he could have told us more about the culture and history of the region. I didn't expect him to be an expert in all areas, but he would sometimes make up answers to questions instead of just saying, 'I don't know, perhaps I can find out'. His knowledge of flora and fauna, for example, was poor, which is not a problem in itself. LWhat I found irritating was,for example, that when we came across the body off large black snake and asked what type it was; rather than admit that he didn't know;he told us that it was a grass snake. A couple of days later we discovered that it was actually a European whip snake! Generally, he was a bit too casual. At lunch stops, we rarely knew how long we had to eat; he would often just say, after a while, that we'd be leaving in five minutes. Severio always got us where we needed to be on time, but didn't volunteer the sort of additional information that would have added a great deal to the holiday. A simple map of some the places where we stayed and visited would have been helpful or a verbal outline of recommended places to see or things to do , would have been useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip to Treviso didn't allow enough time to have a good look round. The walk by the river, particularly the return leg, shrouded in trees, was really dull. Annoyingly, at the end of the walk, we stood outside an ancient and intriguing building which Steverio told us was supposed to be wonderful but was only accessible by prior arrangement with the council. If this building if this great, wouldn't it be a lovely idea to incorporate it in the guided walk that we did on arrival?
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Reynold Hauff

    Walking in the Proseco hills

    A delightful week - our first adventure with Exodus. We'll be back for more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being part of a group of 16 people who, from the outset, treated one another as friends.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sevi was an ideal leader for the group. He was always happy and enthusiastic and engaged well with all of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Heed the advice of Exodus and have walking boots with a good grip and / or sandals with closed toes. We were also glad that we took our walking poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you for a great holiday.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Eve Doyle

    Lovely Region

    We really enjoyed this walking holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from the hills and visiting Venice.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take the time to go to Venice.You can easily extend the trip and go before or after the holiday or go to Venice on your free day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Despite the walking you will put on weight!
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Elaine Baker

    Walking and Prosecco Bubbles

    Foothills of the Dolomites are a beautiful and unspoilt area of Italy with the added bonus of tasting the delicious Prosecco bubbles. Hotel Villa Soliga is comfortable, clean , excellent food , with a delightful pool area and staff who are extremely helpful . All the Restaurants Exodus took the Group to on the evenings we didn't eat in the hotel were excellent and the final evening at Al Roccolo was superb set high up in the hills overlooking the vineyards . Walking overall was good , however, disappointing on occasions when the guide lost his way and part of the group. Also we often seemed to be walking "off piste" which turned into scrambling on tricky terrain. Group on this trip were a fantastic bunch of people and made the trip for me personally .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Several of the walks including the walk from Cison di Valmarino to Castelbrando , very pretty village and impressive views up to Castelbrando , lovely place to stop for refreshments. Castelbrando was stunning , although little information given . Valdobbiadene gorgeous area and the wine tasting at San Gregoria . Guided sightseeing walk around Treviso was very enjoyable . Route around Asolo which is one of the strategic areas from the Great War , stunning views of the Dolomites . Again , disappointed little detail given apart from what information you picked yourself . Asolo tuned out to be a beautiful village and an area well known for producing superior Prosecco . Experienced a new drink here made with Prosecco, Elderflower and mint called a Hugo - delicious.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very disappointed with Group Leader , Severio . He spoke excellent English and was a pleasant enough character . He fulfilled the basic requirement and no more. His heart didn't seem to be in it and was unenthusiastic and lacked passion , his aim was to get to a bar. Compared to previous experiences on Exodus trips the Leader would be more social and share his time between the group and would impart knowledge , interesting facts and details of the places visiting . Leaders in the past have always been aware of the group and their capabilities and listened to their requests. Whilst walking there was one pace, Severio's pace. Walk along the River from Treviso seemed like a "frogmarch" in what was an incredibly hot afternoon , again little information given about the area or flora/fauna. At end of walk , the bar we had been told we were heading for was closed- this was a 3 hour walk . Walk around the Valdobbiadene area , lost his way on occasions and one of the trails was definitely not a marked route and ended in scrambling through a wooded area. Again a very hot day and some members of group experienced heat exhaustion , resulting in needing to take a break until they felt able to carry on . Severio had gone on ahead and remaining group arrived at the refuge a good 30 mins later he hadn't come back down the path to find us . After lunch he set off at such a pace he lost a majority of the group as we didn't know which direction he had taken. We had to phone him. On arrival at Villa Barbaro , he said we had 15 mins to look around which many said wasn't long enough and we needed a little more time. Also thought this was insulting to Villa Barbaro and felt time pressured. Severio needs more guidance and support and needs to appreciate the difference between being a guide for one of the mass market holiday companies and working with Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Incredibly humid in June and July , ensure you have breathable walking gear and carry a camel back for water . Take poles , they are useful and needed at times. Be prepared for mosquitos and take repellent and a plug for your room.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Prosecco region is well worth visiting , very unspoilt and you do learn about this fabulous sparkling wine. On the free day do go to Venice , it's very easy to get their by train or a visit to Conegliano which has a lovely walk up to the castle. Some great restaurants and shops if you feel the need for Retail therapy. It's a 20 to 30 min bus ride with one change or a taxi spilt between a few people makes it very economical.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Elaine for her feedback. I sincerely regret, however, that she was disappointed with her tour leader. As mentioned in our response to Alison’s review, Walking the Prosecco Hills is a new trip this season and this was the leader's first time leading this particular trip. On our other trips he has received positive feedback from our clients, but until he receives further training he will not lead another departure of this trip; we hope this will help to avoid similar client disappointment going forward.

    Marta Marinelli- Exodus Product Manager for Italy

Call us on +47-22 41 30 30