Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Louis Victor

    Glorious walking and an excellent itinerary

    This was our first Exodus guided walking holiday and the whole experience was an excellent one. The Amalfi Coast is beautiful and this itinerary showcases the highlights superbly, with a varied selection of walks and a host of beautiful sights. I would say that the level is more 'moderate' than easy as all walks included some trickier sections and there are many, many steps but the rewards for effort are wonderful with amazing views following each other in quick succession every day. The balance of the week was great, with good chances to recover between the walks, and the Hotel due Torri was a very good base, with lovely staff, large, cool rooms and excellent food. Finally a word for our leader/guide Vania - she was an absolute delight and a real highlight of the trip! We are already looking at the Exodus site to plan future holidays but I would say that this is a great one for Exodus newbies to start with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the crater of Vesuvius was sensational

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was terrific - so genuine, friendly, knowledgeable and engaged. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she really helped the group to gel, contributing to a fabulous week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes carefully, they are very comprehensive and honest but some people in our parallel group managed to be surprised by the walking levels, etc. Also remember to bring your proof of holiday insurance... you can't take the walks without it!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    nicola patterson

    Don't think about it - book it!!

    Wow! What can I say to do justice to this trip? Breathtaking views, amazing walks to picturesque villages nestles on the steep cliffs of the Amalfi coast. Brilliant food and friendly family service at the hotel including getting in to the kitchen to see how they make the fresh pasta and pizza! The walks are not technically difficult but in the 40 plus degree heat they became a little challenging but were well worth it for the incredible views. Our guide Severio was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for him and he always had a ready smile. I would happily do this trip again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting at the top of Mount Tre Calli having a picnic lunch looking down over the town of Positano was the highlight for me, you cannot describe the views we had over the Amalfi Peninsula. Well worth the long uphill slog to get there,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As I said above, Severio was brilliant. Knowledgeable, encouraging and nothing was too much trouble for him. He even gave up his day off to arrange and accompany our group on a trip to Capri Island. Always willing to go above and beyond the call of duty!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Hiking shoes are necessary but full hiking boots are not needed, some of the walks can be done in a pair of trainers which gives your feet a break from the hiking shoes. Make sure your day pack is big enough to carry a swimsuit and towel to use in many of the villages we finish up in! A refreshing dip is perfect at the end of a hot sweaty walk!
  • Reviewed July 2018

    A brilliant first walking holiday

    Enjoyed every day of our first walking holiday, met a lovely group of people, good age range, good mix of couple and single travellers. Scenery was spectacular, hotel due torri was first class - friendly and welcoming as were the locals. The walks were well planned by Paul, our guide which just left us to enjoy the scenery (even the steps). Would recommend the small additional fee for the guide in Pompei and Vesuvius. Exodus have this holiday well planned including amazing drivers of coaches and taxis. This was our first holiday with Exodus and would definitely go with them again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last walk up Tre Calli had the most amazing views, unspoilt countryside and the feeling of being on top of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul our leader was brilliant, friendly, organised and seemed to enjoy sharing the secrets of the Amalfi coast with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do even more practice walks up and down steps than you think necessary.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Catherine Arter

    I can quite understand why this holiday is an Exodus best seller....

    Much of what I would say has already been said in reviews below. This was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday in every respect. Moderately challenging walking, at a leisurely pace, in gorgeous scenery, with a delightful, professional and knowledgeable young guide (Martina Cipola) just about sums it up. Then add a relaxed and congenial family run hotel, with excellent food plus amiable travel companions and it's easy to see why this is a winner. Ideally based in the hills above the coast, away from the crowds was perfect - I loved exploring the authentic little town of Bomerano. We (my daughter and I) really had fun and lots of laughs!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick one out - perhaps the beautiful walk from Amalfi, taking in industrial archaeology, lemon groves and a steep climb - to be rewarded by Ravello.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing - bright, fun, caring, knowledgeable and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I don't usually use walking poles, but I did find them useful on the long downhill sections. Take at least one warm item - the temperature differences can be quite marked during a typical walking day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a big thank you to everyone who made this such a lovely holiday!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Sarah Crawley

    Amazing scenery great friends and awesome guiding.

    We had a wonderful time walking the amalfi coast and managing to fit in Pompeii, Herculean and Capri. We didn't walk that far each day but it was a lot of ascending and descending with so many steps. Incredible views, wonderful family run accommodation. Brilliant guides in martina and enrico.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the path of the gods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for this holiday. We are fit running regularly and we still found some of the walking tough.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do the trip to Herculaneum on the Saturday morning before you fly out and do capri on the Wednesday. It is expensive but worth it. If you like shoes Italian handmade shoes are great and much cheaper than standard shoes in the uk.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Lynn Findlay

    TDA180616

    Fantastic holiday beautiful sights an amazing area to visit. The tour guide Martina Cipolla could not have done more. She was very knowledgeable open friendly and great at making sure everyone's abilities were catered for. The hotel was lovely friendly staff food was brilliant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking Mount Vasoovius

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant could of asked of more from her

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No only enjoy
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Felicity Carne

    The prerfect mix

    Walking the Amalfi Coast exceeded my expectations. The mix of moderate walking at a gentle pace in stunning scenery mixed with staying in a friendly family hotel with great hospitality and fabulous Italian food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from the Walk of the Gods

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio our guide was one of the best guides I have come across in 20 years of walking holidays. Thank you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots and lots of steps so you need good knees . Recommend walking poles. Not difficult but Amalfi is either up or down.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Philip Marlow

    A great first group guided holiday

    A first rate holiday with some great walks and time to relax over some fine lunches in places I would not have found on my own. The hotel was a very peasant family run place and the food delicious. This was our first guided group walking holiday and I intend to do another, quite probably with Exodus, who I thought were great from the first booking call to the holiday itself.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery was absolutely wonderful and I enjoyed the company of the group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Severio was excellent. He was well organised, knowledgeable and really led the group up in a nice friendly way. He went the extra mile by doing things like in organising walks/trips for us our day off and the final Saturday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is little preparation needed as Exodus take care of you all week. The walking is moderate as the brochure/website suggests. I see in the comments that much is made of steps! There are steps but they do not spoil the walking and frankly are the only practical way of reaching the coast from the village where we stayed.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Bill (William) Jenman

    Setting the Italian bar very high

    This was my first trip to Italy (I know, I know, but I love France and it's closer) and its hard to imagine that any other trip could be as good at this one. The Amalfi coast scenery is simply spectacular, and beautiful. Our guide, Severio, was excellent and entertaining and unobtrusively shepherded our group along the cliff top paths. The hotel was good too, with excellent well balanced food, friendly staff, and cocktails by the pool. And I learned how to spin pizza dough to make a nice round pizza, something I've been unsuccessfully trying to do for years. Definitely in the top three holidays of my life. Fab.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Path of the Gods. The views are better than the hype, they really do not disappoint. Vesuvius was pretty special too. Standing on the crater rim, with a 300m drop to the crater floor on one side and Naples spread out below us on the other, brings home how fragile our comfortable lives can be and how small we are compared to the geological might of the Earth.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. It's harder than it looks being a good group leader, keeping everyone together and managing peoples' different walking paces.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The paths are steep, occasionally exposed, have a lot of steps (literally 000s) and it can be very hot. So you do need to be reasonably fit, not prone to vertigo, and have a 1.5 or 2 litre water bottle minimum with you. Oh, and there's lot of good food and wine, so don't expect to loose any weight! On which note, the carafes of wine at the hotel are good, but the wine by the bottle is no more expensive if you're drinking 2 or 3 glasses and very good quality indeed. So don't just drink the wine provided, explore what else is on offer, it was all excellent.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Margaret Newman

    Excellent trip

    This was my fifth holiday with Exodus and once again it was most enjoyable. The combination of spectacular scenery, picturesque towns and visits to Vesuvius and Pompeii make the Amalfi coast an ideal destination to visit. Hotel Due Torri is a comfortable family run hotel. The staff are all friendly and the food is excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great walks with spectacular views and the opportunity to swim some days. The walk round the vast crater of Vesuvius and the visit to Pompeii.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania is an excellent guide. She is friendly, knowledgeable and well organised and always has a smile

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that there are a lot of steps on some of the walks and walking poles do help.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thoroughly recommend this holiday.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30