Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Eve M

    Fabulous trip

    It’s over ten years ago since I did a walking trip and this is the first one in Europe. I found the walking to be as described in the notes. The only thing that they don’t tell you is that ‘lactic acid city’ is going to hit those muscles for a few days unless one has done enough hill walking, especially after the 2,000 plus steps down to Amalfi. Do take at least one walking pole as it definitely helps to support limbs and steady one’s descent where the path is uneven and rocky. Our tour guide, Vania di Paoli, was a lovely guide. She was caring, patient, efficient and organised and she was always there to brief us on the day’s walk, in the evening, before dinner. She set a very nice pace for the group and found us some interesting spots to eat our lunch.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many moments that inspired me but the walk to, and around the top of Vesuvius inspired me the most. It was a cloudy, moody day and perfect conditions for walking up.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I liked my group leader very much and would be very happy to travel with her again. She had to deal with one or two challenges and handled them calmly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As above; do some preparation before the trip. Make sure that you have a Camelbak, or equivalent, and drink plenty of water so that you do not become dehydrated.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    yeenam chow

    Great walks/hiking trails

    Enjoy the different walks/trails which were all not too difficult for if you do not have a problem with steps. Walking poles were available to used from the hotel (free of charge) making the walks easier. Great coastal sea views and trips to both Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius vast crater walk.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mt Vesuvius (optional) walk up the vast crater was well worth the extra payment for the guide. The Villa Climbrone with landscaped gardens at Revello was wonderful sight too. On the free day, visit to Herculaneum was also a highlight for me as I found it more interesting and smaller then Pompeii.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania De Paoli, has been a great group leader. She would looked up and helped us with any of our travel requirements. It has happen a few times with me when I mentioned to her once about some travel arrangement and she came back looking for me with the information. Also she changed the route on day 5 to start from Ravello in the morning (less tourist in both the town and Villa Cimbrone) and walked down towards Amalfi to end the day which we found it a better route as the other Exodus walking group found (and confirmed) the route set as in the notes (Amalfi to Ravello) harder and more tourist and less enjoyment when they had to climbed up to Ravello at the end of the day. Vania, is forward thinking and she tried to make the trip enjoyable and change things if required if it can be better for all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have knee problems then the steps going down towards Amalfi can be trouble some and hard work.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Martin Samuels

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    This was a superb trip - wonderful walks with stunning coastal views, lovely accommodation, food and drink and great tour guide (Michela). I wholeheartedly recommend it - just beware that there is plenty of up / down climb in the walks, especially the steps +++ down to Amalfi. It was great to visit Pompei and Herculaneum, both fascinating sites and we were lucky enough to have Hectore as our site guide. It was also worth doing Naples for pizza and the museum - we did this on our last day. Michela was really helpful in maximising the options that members of the group chose. Great job Michela and Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Mount Calle or Ravello, making pizza and tiramisu, walking round the whole rim of Mount Vesuvius, all great moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michela was so helpful and very knowledgeable - also very tolerant and flexible with our group!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go walk the Amalfi Coast - it's worth it. Make sure you can walk a few miles with climbs and descents - learn to use walking poles if necessary.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Richard Lee

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    Great walks, wonderful scenery, good company. The hotel Due Torri was spotlessly clean, the hotel staff were all, without exception, friendly and helpful. Its a family run hotel and they go out of there way to make sure you are looked after. The food at the hotel was excellent. Some of the walks were tougher than we anticipated, so we all had aching legs for the first couple of days, but it was worth it for the views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking out along the peninsula towards Capri for the first time after climbing to the top of tre Calli.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Severio was excellent, great local knowledge, lots of interesting stories, and good fun. His kept us all entertained, and made sure we got to see as much as possible in our time there. With the changing weather conditions during our stay, he kept track of all the alternatives should we have needed to change our plans. We were also lucky to have a trainee guide, Vania, who was also a pleasure to have around, and will I'm sure make an excellent guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure if travelling in March, early April you take plenty of layers! Try and get a little extra walking exercise in before the holiday
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Lynn Guy

    Amazing Amalfi

    Just a note to extol the virtues of both the holiday and the leader. It was a week filled with varied walks which were very well lead by Severio. His personal preparation, briefings and advice were of an amazingly high standard. He is a very friendly guy, personable and caring with a fantastic sense of humour The walks themselves were varied in style, scenery and degree of difficulty. We were able to explore a vast area of the coast and were amazed when we were able both to view from the sea and to see outlined on a map just how far we had walked and the heights we had attained. This is my second Exodus trip (Albania being my first) but it will not be my last Well done Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Path of the Gods

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sensational Seve!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks have their respective degrees of difficulty. Prepare your body well!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it it’s amazing
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Caroline Wallis

    Scenic but challenging week

    I was part of a family group for our week of walking the Amalfi Coast. We had every type of weather which nature could throw at us, rain, fog, snow hail and sun but Enrico our brilliant guide adapted our activities ingeniously to cope. The week is a mixture of challenging hikes to Amalfi, Positano and Ravello and then more gently flat walks around Pompeii Naples and Herculaneum. When the sun did shine, the views and scenery of the coastline were breathtaking. We had brilliant guide, Hectore, to explain and illuminate the history and tragedy of the end of Pompeii and Herculaneum. We were part of a lovely group of people. The hotel and hospitality were excellent, lovely food and warm showers and central heating made for a good return after challenging wet walks. Enrico was a fount of knowledge of the history and ecology of the area so I learned a lot. So glad to have at last been able to visit such a beautiful and fascinating area.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final walk is the most breathtaking. This is the Path of the Gods walk towards Positano. We had a lovely sunny day and the views of the coast in the sun are wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enrico is a passionate knowledgeable insightful and considerate group leader. We were not all expert hikers and he arranged things so that the slowcoaches could move at their own pace and indeed join the walks at points if things like bad backs prevented someone taking part in the full walk. He also went the extra mile to help with things like bus tickets when some of our party did not do the walk but met up with the walking group later in the day because of bad backs fatigue etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take good walking shoes or boots, lined walking socks, waterproof trousers a good waterproof jacket, sunglasses and suncream and a supply of small plastic bags to keep money phones and cameras dry. If you are not surefooted and don't like heights walking poles are a must. Also a good backpack with a rainproof cover is a must in the current weather conditions. I would also recommend a good supply of cream to soothe tired calf muscles and some ibuprofen if needed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The walks are more challenging physically than may be indicated by the trip notes. Our group was a mix of very experienced walkers and some who maybe walked flat walks once a month and others who did occasional flat walks. The are some challenging vertical climbs on all walks and stony, rocky precipitous paths to follow so be warned. Your guide will be very familiar with the paths and safety is first and foremost so you will be fine as long as you listed to their advice.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Christelle M

    Beautiful Amalfi Coast

    It was my first ever organised holiday trip and it was a real success. I had such an amazing time in Italy, meeting lovely people, discovering beautiful places and eating great food! The Amalfi Coast is just magical and we managed to see a lot of it during our walks and treks. It was also pleasant to have the coast almost to ourselves at this time of the year and to avoid the summer crowds (especially in Pompei and Amalfi). it's riskier as the weather changes rapidly in March but we were quite lucky and Enrico, our guide, was really good in terms of organisation to make sure we would always have something to do regardless of the weather. The hotel team was lovely as well and took good care of our group! Definitely recommend it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick just one! The walk around the crater of Mount Vesuvius was definitely a memorable experience. Positano and Ravello are really pretty towns too - postcard picture perfect - and the views from the top of Monte Tre Calli (done on day 2) was really impressive. It's the first glance you get of the area and it is so worth it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enrico, our local guide, was the best! Very knowledgeable and passionate about the land and plants, the traditions and the environment. He was very helpful with organising our free day and making sure nobody felt left behind. Good sense of humour too :)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As mentioned by others, walking poles are a great help with all the ups and downs and at that time of the year a good wind/rain jacket is a must. Definitely go for walking boots instead of shoes as I felt the support form the boots was needed considering the sometimes slippery terrain/rocks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to Enrico and the hotel for a great adventure, thank you to the rest of my group for being great travel companions and sharing a memorable holiday!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Jenny B

    Excellent first trip

    This was my first trip of this kind - I usually go on holiday with friends or family. Due to thick fog, torrential downpours and landslides, the itinerary was changed a bit, to make the most of the good weather. Severio kept us informed and entertained and we had plenty to do. It was a fun, well-organised week with a lovely group of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment... probably arriving on top of the slightly foggy Mont Tre Calli -as someone who had never done any hiking, it was a bit challenging, but worth it. Or, towards the end of the week, looking out over the peaceful hilltops and villages and across the blue-turquoise sea in the sunshine.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was fun, but serious and had lots of interesting stories. He was keen to make sure we saw as much of the area as we could despite the weather. He was clear on arrangements (firm with timings etc) but was also friendly and approachable and got to know the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take walking poles, as the trip notes advise. I was one of the younger people in my group and didn't have a knee injury, but still found the one pole that I borrowed useful for getting up Mont Tre Calli - it would have been vital to use the poles if the weather had been hotter!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Alison Donnelly

    Walking the amalfi coast

    Wonderful way to walk and see the highlights of the amalfi coast. The guide, Enrico enthusiastically took us on the walks and always had a plan b or c if the weather disappointed us. Take walking poles if you have sore knees as lots of steps and be prepared to walk up 400metres as well as down lots of steps. Hotel a great place to come back to for a well earned hot shower, a drink and diner .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around versuvius and having a packed lunch in ravello

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enthusiastic particularly about the environment and traditions

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Heed the fitness training notes and take walking poles if knees an issue
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Ray Morris-Hill

    Spectacular Italian Coastal Scenery

    Beautiful coastal walking with so much to see and enjoy. The weather in September was just perfect -mid 20's Celsius every day. Check out my short holiday video here https://youtu.be/YMSI8ye1kQc to get a taste of the area.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the magnificent coast from Tre Calli on the first day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Satva was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and fun. She was keen to get us walking as a group so everyone felt part of the experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some training in before the trip - there are a lot of steps and the downhill can really stretch your calf muscles! Bring sticks as they will help a lot. Good walking boots are a must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Pompeii is extraordinary but when we were there it was overrun by lots of tour groups. Amalfi was also very busy. Most of the walking routes are quiet.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30