Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Lesley Butler

    Wonderful Trip

    If you like history, visiting beautiful buildings and tasting local food, this is the trip for you. Yes there are some bad roads to contend with, but that's a small price to pay. The highlights? Bukhara, meeting the eagle hunter and brilliant local guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up close to a golden eagle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two leaders. Dilshod in Uzbekistan was brilliant - his knowledge of local history was amazing and he also had a great sense of humour. Ermek in Kazakhstan and Kyrgystan was also a great guide - conscientious and a fund of information, particularly about the recent history of the region.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy the different cultures of Central Asia.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We found the local people very friendly and all three countries a lot more laid back than we were expecting.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Ian Hill

    The title of the trip was appropriate.

    The organisation worked well. Trip notes and maps together made route finding easy. The route was varied and interesting; opportunities for eating and drinking were many. The quality of hotels was good, though only two provided tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The bikes were well-maintained, but are rather heavy, so it was a good job the route was mostly flat. There were no bottle cages provided, which made stopping for water a bit of a faff! Overall, a very enjoyable week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    too many to mention.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    not applicable as it was self-guided.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have ridden a bike a lot in recent times. Savlon helps with saddle soreness. Learn a bit of German, particularly to do with food and drink. Being able to read a map is essential if you miss the direction signs, though they are generally pretty clear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't think so.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    julian tatham-losh

    cycle romaina

    really truly surprising place quiet unspoilt clean friendly , good wi fi , mobile phone and yet really untouched by 2oth centuary cars a variety , and then the fortified churches we all yawn ,but with this trip each and everyone has its own special charm . Good varied acheivable ride in deepest quiet untouched country side

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    veskri unesco world heritage village

    What did you think of your group leader?

    radu was i think the best i have had so far

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    do not forget youre battery charger for camera i did and beelive me youll want to take loads of pics
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Lorna Peden

    Wonderful scenery, pleasant and safe bike routes and an amazing guide

    Our guide Vaida took us to see a fabulous variety of highlights in both large cities and small villages. The three capital cities - Tallin, Riga and Vilnius all had exceptionally interesting landmarks, historic sites and interesting excursions into areas of the every day lives of the people. Large national forests, small fishing villages and lovely seaside towns provided a pleasant contrast to our days in th3 featured cities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The lunch at the fishing village where the host smoked his own fish, the forest roads with nesting storks and the pretty seaside settlements with families of swans were lovely. The cities offered a glimpse into the history and lives of three very interesting countries. Our guide, Vaida, gave us a wealth of interesting interesting information. She was the most impressive guide we have had in our fifteen years of traveling. She anticipated needs, answered a huge variety of questions, found wonderful restaurants. She was literally at our “beck and call” every moment of the trip - and we were an interesting variety of fourteen cyclists.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make this trip a priority.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The two night stays in most places were a real bonus.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Pam Moller

    Fantastic Scenery and Historic Sites

    An amazing tour led by an amazing guide (Dana); saw gorgeous scenery and beautiful, historic towns/villages/cities; great food and company all the way. Only improvement would be more time to spend in each place!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling along a cycle path along the Danube in Hungary with flower blossom drifting in the air like snowflakes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Utterly fantastic - inspirational for women of all ages. She was patient, and did everything with good humour and professionalism.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it! If you like to cycle and discover the beauty of middle Europe under the guidance of a fantastic guide then this is the tour for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accommodation in Prague, though in a good position, was a noisy. All other accommodation and restaurants were great.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Fiona Moore

    Mont Blanc Highlights 9th June 2018

    My husband has already done a review and i echo his thoughts. i did find this the most challenging of the walking holidays we have done. We have previously been to Croatia, Turkey (Cappadocia) Picos de Europa, The Dolomites and Slovenia. The views were wonderful and the food was outstanding. Sarah and Rich were just great hosts. The paths were fine and the journeys to and from the walks easy. It was lovely being walking distance from Chamonix.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views of Mont Blanc and the abundance of wildflowers. The trip on our day off to the glacier was most interesting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. He made sure we kept together as a group and altered the walks where necessary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As I said, this was the most challenging and just take your time up the steep hills! We were quite a fast group, but we all managed to keep pace.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Martin Butler

    Beautiful Tuscany

    We had an amazing time walking and sampling wines that we had never tried before but are now fans of. Our leader Liz Proctor was excellent, knowledgeable, tirelessly helpful and made our first walking holiday a pleasure. The villa Casalta was rustic and beautiful. The only problem that we had was the plumbing in room 22. The shower diverter was broken. we reported it and they said yes it is broken and did not fix it, also no hot water in the evening after a long day walking. This needs to be rectified. Meals were good apart from the first night where the main course was a sla b of cold pork with gravy!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The country side and the walks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was amazing, looking after everyone checking people were ok on the walks bringing out treats along the way. She arranged for a cake and bottle of wine for my wife’s birthday which was a lovely thought.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are at a pace where most people would be comfortable with.
  • Beyond expectations

    I always wanted to see polar bear cubs and this trip delivered the goods. After 9 bears were spotted before breakfast on day 2 , the phrase 'Bear before Breakfast' became the mantra for this expedition. Sixty bears were spotted, many through the scopes manned by excellent spotting crew members but we saw at least 30 bears with our own eyes. Three females had coys, (cubs of the year) and the interaction between mother and cubs was just beautiful to watch. The young were out in force as we also saw a walrus with a pup on ice on day 1. The final day rewarded us with an Arctic fox together with a three-week old fox cub. With twenty four hour daylight we certainty had time to enjoy the stunning scenery as well as deleting those hundreds of photographs that we had taken

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was seeing a mother polar bear with two eighteen month old cubs. One of the youngsters took an interest in the Vavilov and came bounding towards us closely followed by it's sibling with mum bringing up the rear. They were not at all phased by the paparazzi shutters being fired off and posed for us, rolling over with paws in the air before wandering back to the main ice pan and swimming across a lea,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein was as usual enthusiastic, energetic and ebullient. It wouldn't be Paul if he wasn't. He works exceptionally hard for his clients making sure that they benefit from his excellent knowledge of both wildlife and photography. A great tour leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get plenty of sleep before you go on this trip, you'll need it!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think I've said it all, it was great
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Sally Chandler

    Good

    Really enjoyed the trip as nothing was too much trouble for Liz our leader. The pace was leisurely throughout but thought the terrain warranted a grade of more 2-3 as very hilly at times, and sometimes hard for even for experienced walkers in our group. This should be included in the description/information of the trip details so other walkers are aware. The farmhouse was lovely and very rustic. Food was excellent and three courses for dinner! The only criticism is the showers - they were not hot and after a long day walking and travelling, you definately need a hot shower. Overall, I would definately recommend Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definately the scenery. Tuscany was very beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was exceptional and nothing too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Any future travellers should be used to walking up and down very steep hills and in the heat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would definately book through Exodus again.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Pauline leeson

    A country of mountains, lakes and rivers

    good walking. great company. we had lovely weather although it does rain a lot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in Lake Bled and everyone making it to the top of the mountain on the last day. Priceless!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Budgie and Alex were excellent. very experienced walkers. gave us all a lot of confidence in their ability to lead the group and keep everyone safe. there were also a lot of laughs. great skill at helping group to gel ad get the best out of everyone regardless of their ability. We also had lessons on the geography, history, politics and culture of Slovenia. immensely enjoyable and very interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    get yourself fit so that you get the most out of the walking. and bring a swimming costume.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    beautiful green country. go there before it is spoilt!
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30