Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

8 Reviews

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Russell Dawson

    Fabulous Cycling

    Having done quite a few fantastic Exodus holidays, I have to say that this 2 week trip was one of the very best. It had everything; fantastic leaders Memo and Anthony, great weather, and very helpful drivers. My fellow cyclists were so welcoming and friendly that we soon were like one extended family on holiday together. However the real star of the show was the location; Costa Rica is a wonderful cycling venue, as is Panama.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Very difficult to say. Every day was full of wonderful experiences.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Memo and Anthony did everything to make the holiday relaxed and stress free. Memo gave us background information on the various areas we were in whilst travelling to our starting points, complete with excellent diagrams. Both had a very well rehearsed and executed procedure to make sure that tricky junctions were safe for us to negotiate.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget the bug spray; essential in a few places.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Barry Weiss

    Fun trip

    We had a really nice time on this trip. The group of cyclists was wonderful, as was our guide and our bike mechanic. Of note, we brought our own tandem bicycle on the trip. The crew was really good about taking care of it during transport on the bus. So, everything went smoothly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We really enjoyed being awakened in the morning by the sound of howler monkeys. Some of the side trips, like the Tarcoles River trip and our hike the La Fortuna Falls, were really special. Also had lots of opportunity to practice my Spanish.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guillermo ("Memo") was super. Hard to imagine having a better group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for hot weather and bring lots of sunscreen. Also, some of the days we were riding on roads with heavy truck traffic, so make sure you are comfortable with that.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The folks at Exodus were also super-helpful as we were planning the trip.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Earle Shields

    Cycle Costa Rica and Panama

    High-handed and unfriendly trip leader tarnished what otherwise would have been a great trip with excellent logistics, amazing wildlife, and wonderful accommodations

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Either seeing Osama, the 18 foot crocodile, or the sight of the Panama Canal in operation.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable about the wildlife and geography in Costa Rica. Plus Gerhard speaks perfect English. However, his shortcomings described above (high-handed and unfriendly) outweighed his attributes and resulted in a flawed trip.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Earle for his feedback. We are pleased that he found the wildlife to be amazing and the accommodation to be wonderful, but we were very sorry to read that he was unhappy with the tour’s leadership. The tour leader, Gerhard, has 23 years of experience and normally receives very positive feedback. We have reviewed the feedback for him from other members of Earle’s group and from previous departures, and we are very confident that he continues to meet Exodus’ high expectations. We are nonetheless very sorry that Earle felt that aspects of the leadership had a negative impact on his trip and we have asked Gerhard to ensure that he interacts with all clients in a friendly manner.

    Malcolm Parkinson – Product Manager

  • Reviewed February 2019
    KEITH Panter

    Coatas Rica and Panama cycling

    good trip - first 2-3 days need re-thinking as clearly hotels not up to scratch Good and varied visit Great group of folks Good Guide Some long transfers

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Long Downhill ride in Panama

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - good English, caring and fun

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit - it worked for me and I am 69 Don't be put off by challenging status - there is always the bus!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall would have like more 2 day hotels and maybe less trasnferring
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Andrew Moncrief

    Cycle nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama... omitting Nicaragua due to civil unrest

    Another great trip, despite the disappointment of Nicaragua being excluded due to civil unrest. CR is a lovely, friendly country and the guide was pleased to showcase it for us. The wildlife is a highlight on this tour, so do bring binoculars to see birds, lizards, crocs etc close up. Some fantastic hotels , some quirky but always clean, secure and friendly. The cycling is fine, no really long days but some rides are a bit lumpy and some of the group found it a bit challenging with the heat/humidity. No issues with illness on the trip, and no serious untoward incidents luckily. The tour guide and cycling guide/mechanic were excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Really loved seeing sloths at the sanctuary in Fortuna- pricey, but just haggle! Toucans at dawn at Mystica! Bocas del torro- dancing in the forbidden Iguana bar! Panama canal (although our visit was curtailed by a fire alarm)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader was Andrea, who had many years of experience in the industry and her knowledge and English were very good indeed. She worked tirelessly to meet our needs and keep us happy, and i learnt a great deal about the places we were travelling through from her. Anthony was our cycle guide/mechanic and was learning his trade quickly. He was friendly, encouraging, helpful and kept the bikes in good repair. He is an inspirational cyclist too- think twice before issuing a challenge! Ron was our driver, and aquited himself very well, with no incidents along the way. Even though his English was limited, he was always there to help load the bikes or cut the pineapple etc during our breaks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please please Exodus, don't book flights with United Airlines (shocking customer service, minimalistic or no in-flight food included, pay to view tv's (which didnt even work if you paid). We will NEVER fly with them again. Transitting through Newark to San Jose was also an experience we never wish to repeat. To call it an international airport is a contradiction in terms. Despite having submitted and paid for an ESTA, we were forced to queue for nearly 3 hours, and as the time to make our connection was running out, the official helpful advice received was "book another flight". Dreadful, hostile and unhelpful. Why they bother to paint "welcome" at the arrival gate is a mystery. A bit more time at a few places might have been nice- Bocas del Torro, Las Lajas
  • Reviewed November 2018
    christopher richardson

    Smelly tours

    Great cycling but we got wet (repeatedly}. We got wet but it was never unpleasant as it was lovely and warm but the bus did get very smelly. Hotels generally very good. Costa Rica expensive but great coffee and beer. Panama cheaper but coffee and beer not so good. The short days, dark by 5.45 limit, activities after cycling. Good wildlife. Hope you like Rice and beans.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the Las Lajas beach resort on day 12 and virtually the whole group charging into the surf.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roberto was an efficient well organised leader. Terrible Chinese impression.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a telescopic brolly and newspaper to help dry shoes.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Alice Dain

    cycling costa rica and panama

    Fun trip with plenty of cycling and wildlife. Plenty of opportunity to sample local food including excellent seafood. Cycled through varied terrain with enough hills. Grading of 4 is correct as none of the hills were extreme and daily cycling distance was easy/moderate. Very hot, so sunblock essential. Two days of deluge- rest of time remained dry.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing lock working on Panama Canal Seeing sloth in the wild Fantastically coloured flowers and birds

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader - Memo-excellent. Good organiser and gave us mini lectures on wildlife during bus transfers.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Maeve Gleeson

    Rainforest, beaches and wildlife.

    Another fantastic Exodus trip with some great cycling in varied scenery and terrain, wonderful wildlife and beautiful beaches, Pacific and Caribbean. Well planned itinerary with a good variety of hotels, wild life lodges, quiet beach resorts, good seafood where available. Finishing in Panama City with all the interest of the canal and contrasting the charm of the old city with the shiny high rise of the new.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Best moments included watching pelicans fishing from the early morning ferry while Gabriel's Oboe played over the speakers, cycling the loop at Fortuna, biking to the sounds of the rain forest, relaxing tired muscles in the hot springs, the boat trips spotting wildlife, some lovely early morning bike rides, the toucans, the hummingbirds, the howler monkeys showing off in the trees before breakfast, the surf on Red Frog Beach.... every day offered something different

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Top marks to Andres who was super organised, always helpful, an excellent communicator, incredibly knowledgeable and enthusiastic about wildlife and his beautiful country. He led a very happy team who all worked really hard to make the trip fun for each member of the group. He was also brilliant at spotting birds and animals and identifying wildlife photo opportunities for the keener photographers in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy, don't miss the hot springs, bring rain gear for the rain forest though we were lucky with the weather. A group of 4 or more can hire a boat in the islands (Bocas del Torres) and decide your own itinerary.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really well done to the local guides who rearranged the trip when travel to Nicaragua became a problem. The replacement days included one of my favourite hotels (one of the wildlife lodges) and an excellent guided river safari we all enjoyed.