Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Omiros Nicholas

    Pretty awesome - go!

    Everything an adventure should be; stunning country, packed itinerary but plenty of time to do your thing, varied sights but all worth seeing, comfortable and clean accommodation, faultless transport, a great bunch of fellow explorers and a guide who brought it all together with energy, consideration (for us) and passion for his country (thanks Bon!). First time with Exodus for us, definitely not the last. Thanks to all involved at Exodus and in Vietnam an inspiring country and people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having a lunch with local people after 'dropping by' a shamen ritual.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above - couldn't have been better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the trip!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No - all is well.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Lisa Woodward

    Vietnam Adventure - you really need to take this trip!

    The Vietnam Adventure trip was absolutely fantastic and is certainly how to sample the variety Vietnam has to offer in a short space of time. Every day was different and I learnt so much about the country from Lam our tour guide for whom nothing was too much trouble. Lam went 'above and beyond' to meet the needs of everyone in the group. The trip was well-paced with enough downtime to relax, go shopping and enjoy an additional bicycle ride with a local guide. My personal highlights were visiting Ha Long Bay, the Imperial City in Hue, My Son and cycling by the rice fields. Perhaps the decor in one or two of the hotels is in need of updating but the rooms were clean and the hotel staff were very happy to help. Sadly our outgoing flight was cancelled after we had checked -in but the team at Exodus were 'on the case' straightaway and re-booked us onto the first available flight the next day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cruising in Ha Long Bay past the Karst scenery and enjoying my evening meal on board the boat. It had been a longtime wish of mine to visit this world heritage site.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lam was a great leader who went out of his way to meet the needs of all members of the group. He arranged an extra bike ride for me and my husband with a local guide which we thoroughly enjoyed. He is knowledgeable and very keen to share his country's history.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Laura Vitty

    What an adventure!

    A packed itinerary that really fit the best of this wonderful country into two weeks, I saw far more in this time than I could have by going it alone and also shared the experiences with a great bunch of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking the wooden sampan boat on the river in Hoi An during the night, the river was full of beautiful floating lanterns. We were lucky enough to be in Hoi An over the full moon and the city had such a buzz about the place. Another highlight would be visiting the War Remnants museum in Saigon, a very emotionally moving set of exhibitions where it really hit home for me how much the friendly and happy people of this country have suffered in the past.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bac was an excellent leader, he was knowledgeable and very keen to give us an in depth understanding of his country. His English was fantastic and he always answered our many questions enthusiastically. Bac's ability to solve any problem quickly and effortlessly was very impressive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Budget to take more money than the trip notes suggest, there are lots of optional excursions offered for between £15-30 each and they're so good that you won't want to miss them. The extra cycling tour in Hoi An was a particularly good one. Take cycling shorts or a padded bike seat cover for the cycling tour in Hue, the saddles are extremely hard.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was surprised that despite what I had read in previous reviews, the sleeper train was absolutely fine. Our group leader organised for take away food to be delivered to us on the platform to eat in our cabins - delicious! The travel is in a first class cabin with 4 people sharing and it's a great adventure. Don't let it put you off from taking this trip.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Keith La Ronde

    Holiday

    Excellent time and history

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Bike and boat trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Top bloke and very funny man easy to get on with and knew his stuff

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just soak it all up
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Peter Woodward

    Don't waste another moment, book it now

    Vietnam was a very pleasant surprise, clean, superb food, great scenery and a fascinating history. Highlight for me were the Chu Chi tunnels north of Ho Chi Minh city (Saigon to the locals). Not for the feint hearted, claustrophobic or overtly large they gave an opportunity to scurry around underground and marvel at the ingenuity of the local people fighting a far better equipped army. Vietnam is on the verge of a building boom so I would not delay and book today.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finding out that you could buy french bread baguettes filled with pork, pickles and chilli sauce, delicious.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Lam was more a travel companion and friend. He expertly guided us through each day and like all the Vietnamese we met, nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is very humid, wear wicking tops that you can rinse out and dry overnight to cut down on packing. Anything else and you will need to use the laundry service at least once. Buy a poncho when you are out there for the sharp downpours.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jessica Gale

    Vietnam Adventure

    I cannot fault any aspect of this trip and can say without a doubt I had a truly unforgettable experience in this amazing country. The Itinerary is vary varied which allows you to experience the many different destinations, activites, culture and food throughtout the north, central & southern regions of Vietnam. All accommodation used was of a high standard and very centrally located which is another great bonus as you can experience more of a destination rather than spending time travelling to/from your hotel. The weather was very hot when I travelled in May, this did not affect the experience of the trip & I would throughly recommend this tour to anyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The two highlights of my trip was experience the stunning scenery & sunset of Halong Bay and the beautiful lantern filled city of Hoi An.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Tour guide Manh was truly amazing. Manh had a great personality, his knowledge & passion for Vietnam was clear to see and he provided us with endless information which we would not have learned if travelling on our own, (Especially how to safely cross a road!) Manh worked endlessly to ensure all aspects of our trip ran smoothly & no request was too much trouble for him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just to go with the flow.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No, I honestly cannot fault this trip.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Martyn Stone

    A seamless trip.

    From the initial pickup at the airport to being dropped off the organisation and execution of this holiday/ adventure worked seamlessly for us. The information and sights we saw were brilliant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The shear " madness" of the cities and the beauty of the coast and Halong bay give you a insight into the whole country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khoa was a credit to the company and to the Vietnamese people. He worked tirelessly to ensure we all had a complete and enjoyable trip. His efforts made sure everything worked.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind and immerse yourself in the country.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This country needs more exploration than can be done in two weeks.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Maggie Murfitt

    Vietnam Adventure

    I have just returned from the Vietnam Adventure trip. It was my 6th Exodus adventure and I have to say it was easily one of the best I have been on. This vast country has so much to offer, there are vast differences between the north and the south and the trip enables you to experience a lot in a relatively short time. When we were on the boat in Halong Bay the weather was damp and grey - it gave a really ethereal quality to the experience and I think our photographs are absolutely stunning. As we moved south the weather changed and became hot and humid which was a relief! To me the whole trip was fantastic, it's hard to pick favourite places but I have to say that Hoi An and My Son were truly amazing. I have never seen anything like them. It is a busy trip with lots to take in and lots of variety in what you do. I have to say that Tao, our Trip Leader, was brilliant. He must have had so much to organise, check and manage but he did it all with total calm and good humour. He was knowledgeable and kind and is one of the best Trip Leaders I have had the pleasure of touring with. The standard of hotels is excellent, the toilets are fantastic and everywhere is spotlessly clean. So book it and enjoy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My Son, Hoi An, Saigon and Halong Bay - all of it really!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tao is a total professional. Very knowledgeable, proud of his country and top fun. Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring extra cash if you like wine (it's a bit pricy in the hotels), and shopping there lots of bargains to be had. Also bring trainers and a waterproof jacket, the north of the country was not very warm and it rained as well.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish it had gone on for longer.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Maggie Murfitt

    Cambodia

    This was a great trip and Bun, trip leader, was very good. Cambodia is blossoming as a travel destination following years of war and turmoil, they are not yet really geared up to separate the tourist from the $ which is really refreshing. Give it a few years and I’m sure it will be different! The hotels are of a much higher standard than I expected including charging facilities in hotel foyers. I was also very pleasantly surprised by the condition and cleanliness of the toilets both in the hotel and outside in bars etc. Food is fantastic as well. Bring sound shoes as there is a lot of climbing at the temples and when you go to the Bat Cave, make sure to take the extra bus up to the Killing Cave, they don’t focus on the cave but there are beautiful temples and things up there. Enjoy Cambodia xx

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ankor Wat - it’s unbelievable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bun was our leader and he was knowledgable and good fun. Local guides were good as well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring good walking shoes and lots of Deet!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Robert Sharpe

    Vietnam Adventure

    An excellent trip. As previously, super hotels, above all perfectly located, never more than a short walk from the centre/sights. The usual combination of comfort, with a little bit of "edge" & adventure during the day. But go now - at current rate of development, there will be too many of us tourists, & moped fumes in cities will be intolerable. Our guide, T-V, was absolutely superb. Knowledgeable, caring, & always willing to go the extra mile to deal with eg complex eating habits of the group. Tet (New Year) was actually a great time to visit, lots of buzz, & any downside (eg potential restaurant closure ) was anticipated & dealt with by T-V

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Saigon Opera House performance

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, T-V, was absolutely superb. Knowledgeable, caring, & always willing to go the extra mile to deal with eg complex eating habits of the group. Tet (New Year) was actually a great time to visit, lots of buzz, & any downside (eg potential restaurant closure ) was anticipated & dealt with by T-V

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go now - at current rate of development, there will be too many of us tourists, & moped fumes in cities will be intolerable.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30