Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jessica Gale

    Vietnam Adventure

    I cannot fault any aspect of this trip and can say without a doubt I had a truly unforgettable experience in this amazing country. The Itinerary is vary varied which allows you to experience the many different destinations, activites, culture and food throughtout the north, central & southern regions of Vietnam. All accommodation used was of a high standard and very centrally located which is another great bonus as you can experience more of a destination rather than spending time travelling to/from your hotel. The weather was very hot when I travelled in May, this did not affect the experience of the trip & I would throughly recommend this tour to anyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The two highlights of my trip was experience the stunning scenery & sunset of Halong Bay and the beautiful lantern filled city of Hoi An.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Tour guide Manh was truly amazing. Manh had a great personality, his knowledge & passion for Vietnam was clear to see and he provided us with endless information which we would not have learned if travelling on our own, (Especially how to safely cross a road!) Manh worked endlessly to ensure all aspects of our trip ran smoothly & no request was too much trouble for him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just to go with the flow.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No, I honestly cannot fault this trip.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Martyn Stone

    A seamless trip.

    From the initial pickup at the airport to being dropped off the organisation and execution of this holiday/ adventure worked seamlessly for us. The information and sights we saw were brilliant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The shear " madness" of the cities and the beauty of the coast and Halong bay give you a insight into the whole country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khoa was a credit to the company and to the Vietnamese people. He worked tirelessly to ensure we all had a complete and enjoyable trip. His efforts made sure everything worked.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind and immerse yourself in the country.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This country needs more exploration than can be done in two weeks.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Maggie Murfitt

    Vietnam Adventure

    I have just returned from the Vietnam Adventure trip. It was my 6th Exodus adventure and I have to say it was easily one of the best I have been on. This vast country has so much to offer, there are vast differences between the north and the south and the trip enables you to experience a lot in a relatively short time. When we were on the boat in Halong Bay the weather was damp and grey - it gave a really ethereal quality to the experience and I think our photographs are absolutely stunning. As we moved south the weather changed and became hot and humid which was a relief! To me the whole trip was fantastic, it's hard to pick favourite places but I have to say that Hoi An and My Son were truly amazing. I have never seen anything like them. It is a busy trip with lots to take in and lots of variety in what you do. I have to say that Tao, our Trip Leader, was brilliant. He must have had so much to organise, check and manage but he did it all with total calm and good humour. He was knowledgeable and kind and is one of the best Trip Leaders I have had the pleasure of touring with. The standard of hotels is excellent, the toilets are fantastic and everywhere is spotlessly clean. So book it and enjoy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My Son, Hoi An, Saigon and Halong Bay - all of it really!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tao is a total professional. Very knowledgeable, proud of his country and top fun. Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring extra cash if you like wine (it's a bit pricy in the hotels), and shopping there lots of bargains to be had. Also bring trainers and a waterproof jacket, the north of the country was not very warm and it rained as well.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish it had gone on for longer.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Maggie Murfitt

    Cambodia

    This was a great trip and Bun, trip leader, was very good. Cambodia is blossoming as a travel destination following years of war and turmoil, they are not yet really geared up to separate the tourist from the $ which is really refreshing. Give it a few years and I’m sure it will be different! The hotels are of a much higher standard than I expected including charging facilities in hotel foyers. I was also very pleasantly surprised by the condition and cleanliness of the toilets both in the hotel and outside in bars etc. Food is fantastic as well. Bring sound shoes as there is a lot of climbing at the temples and when you go to the Bat Cave, make sure to take the extra bus up to the Killing Cave, they don’t focus on the cave but there are beautiful temples and things up there. Enjoy Cambodia xx

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ankor Wat - it’s unbelievable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bun was our leader and he was knowledgable and good fun. Local guides were good as well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring good walking shoes and lots of Deet!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Robert Sharpe

    Vietnam Adventure

    An excellent trip. As previously, super hotels, above all perfectly located, never more than a short walk from the centre/sights. The usual combination of comfort, with a little bit of "edge" & adventure during the day. But go now - at current rate of development, there will be too many of us tourists, & moped fumes in cities will be intolerable. Our guide, T-V, was absolutely superb. Knowledgeable, caring, & always willing to go the extra mile to deal with eg complex eating habits of the group. Tet (New Year) was actually a great time to visit, lots of buzz, & any downside (eg potential restaurant closure ) was anticipated & dealt with by T-V

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Saigon Opera House performance

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, T-V, was absolutely superb. Knowledgeable, caring, & always willing to go the extra mile to deal with eg complex eating habits of the group. Tet (New Year) was actually a great time to visit, lots of buzz, & any downside (eg potential restaurant closure ) was anticipated & dealt with by T-V

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go now - at current rate of development, there will be too many of us tourists, & moped fumes in cities will be intolerable.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    M B

    Vietnam Adventure

    A busy trip that covered a lot of distance , seeing both north and south Vietnam . Travelling prior / during and after Tet gave a different perspective to the country and people

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Exploring the cities ( Hanoi / Hoi An / Hue / Ho Chi Minh City ) was most enjoyable . From 15 degrees in Feb in Hanoi to 35 degrees in HCMC was a bit of a challenge .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    TV ( Than Vu ) was very able and ensured everyone was having a good time. He spoke of the history of his country as well as traditions. Managed the logisitics of "Tet amendments " well and always communicated upcoming activities in a friendly , informative way .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont worry about the cycling element of trip. The countryside is iron board flat and the pace is very leisurely. If you cant use chopsticks before you go , try to get some practice in . Spoons and forks can be provided but might be worthwhile carrying your own set ( i.e those given away freely by takeaways/ supermarkets in UK )

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Halong Bay is not really a cruise - more a one hour trip to Bay then moor up for evening to enjoy the views and peace and quiet . Much the same as all the other boats staying overnight , all in same place.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Susan Ross

    Amazing experience

    I travelled on my 50th birthday, determined to conquer the 'unknown' and explore a country that has always fascinated me since a young age. It's a hard core trip with lots of early starts but well worth any exhaustion as the exhilaration you experience, at all the new sights, smells and scenery is beyond any adjectives. It is a complete sensory experience and an opportunity to participate in this beautiful country and it's stoic people. I believe with Exodus, that I saw Vietnam perhaps at a more authentic perspective and for that, I am grateful. The food is wonderful, the sights are breath taking and the history is intricate and fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most of my trip was inspirational as, personally I love history. A cycle tour to Cham Island was very humbling and gave me the opportunity to speak with a Veteran from the Vietnam/ Cambodia war. We had a family lunch in Hue, which was amazing to experience 'home cooked' food. Latterly, we visited the Cu Chi tunnels, which whilst fascinating, certainly brought a sombre reflection to my trip ( but a good sombre!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nhi Pham was our guide and a wonderful young woman. She was caring, precise and kept us all under control ( not that we were overly wild!) Her knowledge of local history really brought Vietnam alive for me, with antidotes and localisms. Without her, my journey and experience would have been very poor. Nhi takes great pride and respect her country, therefore making her a wonderful ambassador for Vietnam.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some warmer clothes for the north and be advised that the overnight train journey is 'an experience'.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    David Nowicki-stephen

    Vietnam adventure

    A feast for the senses! Amazing sights and stunning scenery! Wonderful food! Crazy sounds of manic cities! Balmy breezes humid showers tropical heat! A complete sensory experience! The most exotic country I have visited! Plus friendly people and a wonderful local guide Nhi PHam. What's not to like!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Local meal with Vietnamese family in Hue

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic! She made Vietnam come alive! Knowledgeable caring funny and friendly

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Warm clothes for the north

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Train journey from Hanoi to hue can be a bit of an ordeal
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Miriam Carpenter

    A fantastic experience

    This trip really lives up to it's name - every day is an adventure. Most mornings our alarm was set for 6am, sometimes earlier. There are so many different experiences, it was exhilarating. The food is amazing. I would thoroughly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to single out one moment out of so many. Each area we visited had its own characteristic. I loved the cycle trips in Hue and Hoi An (you don't need to be an experienced cyclist to enjoy it) and enjoyed meeting local people. The cookery class was great. I was fascinated to see the places I had read about, such as the breathtaking cave in Marble Mountain, used by the Viet Con as a hospital in the war.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We became very fond of Duy. He looked after us well and was great company. He was very knowledgeable and keen to share his country with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes - if you don't like cities, want to get off the beaten track or like restful holidays this might not be the one for you. I was glad that I had learned something about Vietnam's history before I went, it made some of the places we visited more meaningful- such as the Cu Chi tunnels, 'Hanoi Hilton' & Marble Mountain. It's gruelling to see how much the country has suffered, but humbling to see the resilience and recovery.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Pam Peers

    Great introduction to this wonderful country

    This was a busy trip covering a lot of ground! It was my first trip to SE Asia and I feel the itinerary was well thought out to provide an overview of Vietnam. We also did the Cambodia extension, which was excellent

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a lot of them: Halong Bay was very beautiful, though very busy and in danger of overcrowding unless numbers are restricted. Our private boat was a welcome refuge from the crowds. Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum was very interesting. The homestay in the Mekong was lovely - many of our group would have preferred to spend an extra night there, perhaps reducing the time at Hoi An?

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bao was excellent and really helped us share his love of his country. He was great at finding interesting and unusual places for us to eat, even in locations where most of the other restaurants were offering identikit tourist-orientated menus. Bao managed very well the balance between organising us and our activities and giving us plenty of free time to do our own things.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take too many warm clothes - you'll only need them in Hanoi, if at all. Do take lightweight clothes that are easily laundered - wherever we went, Bao could arrange laundry services that were efficient, fast and extremely cheap by UK standards. Do take lightweight rain protection i.e. a lightweight folding umbrella and/or cheap plastic waterproof with a hood. Don't bother with 'technical' rain protection Do take anti-mosquito protection. We used Incognito and found it very effective. I quite enjoyed the overnight train journey and slept well - it's certainly not luxurious but it was clean and moderately comfortable, though earplugs and an eye mask are a good idea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Cambodia extension was excellent and I'm very glad we did it. Angkor Wat is superb and lived up to all the hype, and the Phnom Penh visits were very moving.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30