Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2018
    Susan Ross

    Amazing experience

    I travelled on my 50th birthday, determined to conquer the 'unknown' and explore a country that has always fascinated me since a young age. It's a hard core trip with lots of early starts but well worth any exhaustion as the exhilaration you experience, at all the new sights, smells and scenery is beyond any adjectives. It is a complete sensory experience and an opportunity to participate in this beautiful country and it's stoic people. I believe with Exodus, that I saw Vietnam perhaps at a more authentic perspective and for that, I am grateful. The food is wonderful, the sights are breath taking and the history is intricate and fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most of my trip was inspirational as, personally I love history. A cycle tour to Cham Island was very humbling and gave me the opportunity to speak with a Veteran from the Vietnam/ Cambodia war. We had a family lunch in Hue, which was amazing to experience 'home cooked' food. Latterly, we visited the Cu Chi tunnels, which whilst fascinating, certainly brought a sombre reflection to my trip ( but a good sombre!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nhi Pham was our guide and a wonderful young woman. She was caring, precise and kept us all under control ( not that we were overly wild!) Her knowledge of local history really brought Vietnam alive for me, with antidotes and localisms. Without her, my journey and experience would have been very poor. Nhi takes great pride and respect her country, therefore making her a wonderful ambassador for Vietnam.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some warmer clothes for the north and be advised that the overnight train journey is 'an experience'.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    David Nowicki-stephen

    Vietnam adventure

    A feast for the senses! Amazing sights and stunning scenery! Wonderful food! Crazy sounds of manic cities! Balmy breezes humid showers tropical heat! A complete sensory experience! The most exotic country I have visited! Plus friendly people and a wonderful local guide Nhi PHam. What's not to like!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Local meal with Vietnamese family in Hue

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic! She made Vietnam come alive! Knowledgeable caring funny and friendly

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Warm clothes for the north

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Train journey from Hanoi to hue can be a bit of an ordeal
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Miriam Carpenter

    A fantastic experience

    This trip really lives up to it's name - every day is an adventure. Most mornings our alarm was set for 6am, sometimes earlier. There are so many different experiences, it was exhilarating. The food is amazing. I would thoroughly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to single out one moment out of so many. Each area we visited had its own characteristic. I loved the cycle trips in Hue and Hoi An (you don't need to be an experienced cyclist to enjoy it) and enjoyed meeting local people. The cookery class was great. I was fascinated to see the places I had read about, such as the breathtaking cave in Marble Mountain, used by the Viet Con as a hospital in the war.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We became very fond of Duy. He looked after us well and was great company. He was very knowledgeable and keen to share his country with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes - if you don't like cities, want to get off the beaten track or like restful holidays this might not be the one for you. I was glad that I had learned something about Vietnam's history before I went, it made some of the places we visited more meaningful- such as the Cu Chi tunnels, 'Hanoi Hilton' & Marble Mountain. It's gruelling to see how much the country has suffered, but humbling to see the resilience and recovery.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Pam Peers

    Great introduction to this wonderful country

    This was a busy trip covering a lot of ground! It was my first trip to SE Asia and I feel the itinerary was well thought out to provide an overview of Vietnam. We also did the Cambodia extension, which was excellent

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a lot of them: Halong Bay was very beautiful, though very busy and in danger of overcrowding unless numbers are restricted. Our private boat was a welcome refuge from the crowds. Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum was very interesting. The homestay in the Mekong was lovely - many of our group would have preferred to spend an extra night there, perhaps reducing the time at Hoi An?

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bao was excellent and really helped us share his love of his country. He was great at finding interesting and unusual places for us to eat, even in locations where most of the other restaurants were offering identikit tourist-orientated menus. Bao managed very well the balance between organising us and our activities and giving us plenty of free time to do our own things.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take too many warm clothes - you'll only need them in Hanoi, if at all. Do take lightweight clothes that are easily laundered - wherever we went, Bao could arrange laundry services that were efficient, fast and extremely cheap by UK standards. Do take lightweight rain protection i.e. a lightweight folding umbrella and/or cheap plastic waterproof with a hood. Don't bother with 'technical' rain protection Do take anti-mosquito protection. We used Incognito and found it very effective. I quite enjoyed the overnight train journey and slept well - it's certainly not luxurious but it was clean and moderately comfortable, though earplugs and an eye mask are a good idea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Cambodia extension was excellent and I'm very glad we did it. Angkor Wat is superb and lived up to all the hype, and the Phnom Penh visits were very moving.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Muriel Grantham

    AOV170729

    Firstly, I wish to thank EXODUS for allowing an 87 year old to take this trip. It was such a rewarding experience and I was very touched when on the last evening the group praised me and said I was an inspiration to them. I did opt out of only two activities but I was not the only one. Although I was with my daughter, our guide, KHOA DUONG , was wonderfully encouraging too. In fact he was outstanding the way he showed sensitivity to the group as a whole and altered timings and activities according to our energy levels or more to the point, how we were all coping with the heat and humidity! I was impressed with his knowledge of the history of Vietnam as it affected different areas of the population and he always gave both sides of the story. His impartiality was without irony too. At the end of the trip were all felt like an extended family, with myself as the great- grandmother.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The war museum in saigon

    What did you think of your group leader?

    KHOU DUONG was the absolute best. I have already commented o n this

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have extra batteries and a memory card for your camera
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Teresa Hoggett

    Vietnam adventure

    The tour guides behaviour on our trip to Vietnam spoiled a once in a lifetime holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Boat trip to halong bay crew on the boat were very pleasant and place was amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Was disappointed with our guide. He did not interact with the group and was often rude and impatient with people in the group Was not very professional and this affected our enjoyment of the trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The behaviour of the guide has put me off using Exodus tours in the future

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We were very concerned to learn that Teresa was so disappointed with the leadership of her trip and we have been in touch with her on an individual basis.  We usually receive fantastic feedback about our leaders in South East Asia so to hear that Teresa was so underwhelmed was very disappointing and her leader is no longer being scheduled to lead trips for us.

     

    Megan Devenish - Product Manager for Vietnam

  • Reviewed April 2017
    Helen Organ

    Amazing trip

    Our trip was amazing, can't believe we did so much! Leaving the hotel by 8 each morning we seemed to do a week's worth of adventure in one day! Our guide was brilliant, he was informative, fun and had great English. The hotels were much better than I expected, the one in Hoi An was particularly good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We went to a local house for a meal. Not only was the food the best of the whole trip but it was really interesting to meet the family and to gain some understanding of their way of life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent. I don't think he could have been improved upon. Clone him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't hesitate!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Donna Meyer

    Vietnam for Americans

    As an American who grew up in the 60s, the American war in Vietnam was a painful episode in our history. The exodus trip did not shy away from some the sites that caused me some personal pain. That said, I welcomed the reflection. For me it was not a trip entirely about lounging, great food and shopping. And I am grateful to our gracious guide for that; and the amazing Brits who were my traveling companions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking a side trip to a war memorial in Hue. The peddle car driver opened up to us that he lost a father and uncle in the war. He was very kind about your mutual loss.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can't say enough about Binh our leader. He let us know that all subjects were acceptable to ask questions about. He wanted to share information about his country ; political and cultural. He told us his own personal story, which reflected the hardship after the reunification of Vietnam. His honesty and kindness are qualities he did not have to share with a bunch of tourists, but he went there. The first day he called us his little family. A two week family.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The itinerary is touristy. There are masses of people at each site. There are painful reminders of the war at several places.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The quality of my fellow travelers. Where I could be morose and reflective, they would give me a hug and pull me out of it. I am so grateful that this group of strangers. I'm home now and miss them all...and Binh
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Steven Endacott

    What a Fantastic Holiday!

    This was my first organised party trip and my first holiday experience with Exodus. Everything about the Vietnam Adventure exceeded my expectations, the group were great company, the hotels were so much better than I expected, the food was superb and Vietnam was such a wonderful experience - a fantastic country with lovely people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were two: Halong Bay was such an amazing experience, I didn't know too much about before my trip, but it was breathtaking. Secondly, the vibrant colours of the night time lantern displays in the super resort of Hoi An were a sight to behold, a photographers dream.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Cong, was brilliant. He was so enthusiastic and caring, nothing was too much trouble. He certainly educated me on currant & past Vietnam.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect a relaxing holiday lazing around! This is a full-on trip, with a huge amount of variety to experience every single day. There are some free afternoons, but mostly you're on the go.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Susan Darling

    Fantastic Vietnam Adventure

    This trip is well named and proved to be a most enjoyable adventure from north to south Vietnam. We experienced so many different things from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi and Saigon to the peacefulness of Halong Bay. We walked a lot, climbed to get the best views, we cycled, we travelled by road, rail, boat and aeroplane. We stayed in excellent hotels, a very well run boat and a very welcoming home stay.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Witnessing the resourcefulness, resilience and work ethic of the Vietnamese people, their smiles and how well they have built up their country after the horrific war. Arriving in the hustle and bustle in Hanoi with motorbikes every which way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Thuy le, was wonderful, very likeable and hardworking. Nothing was ever too much trouble for him. He gave us an informative insight into Vietnamese history and culture. He answered our endless questions with patience and ease. He had excellent organisational skills. Everything worked like clockwork. Buses miraculously appeared and tables were always laid up ready as we walked into a recommended restaurant. He made sure we tried a variety of different types of excellent restaurants and escorted us back to the hotel if that's what we wanted. He had a wonderful sense of humour which was contagious and made for a very happy group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In February/March, bring warm clothes for the north and be prepared for very hot and humid weather further south. Bring rainwear as well. Travel light as laundering can be done locally very cheaply. Bring a small overnight bag for the boat in Halong Bay and the homestay in the Mekong Delta. Having clothes tailor-made in Hoi An (or elsewhere) is great so bring a picture etc of anything you want copied, although they do have their own catalogues to chose from

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We are a couple in our late 60s/ early 70s and found all the activities doable. There were early starts and full days. We found the overnight train journey unpleasant in terms of uncomfortable sleeping arrangements and smelly toilets. Personally, it was an experience I could well do without. Not wanting to end on a negative note, we thoroughly enjoyed the trip for the reasons we have described., made all the more enjoyable by having Thuy as our leader.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30