Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2017
    Brigitte Hease

    Cambodian Adventure

    An excellent trip which combined awesome historical sites, modern cultural encounters, fun activities in great natural surroundings all with fantastic food shared with great people, an excellent guide and a steady driver to hold it together.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Aside from the chilling poignancy and reflective moments of the killing fields in Phnom Phenh, cycling around the Battanbang countryside, meeting farmers, strolling around local market and trying bamboo rice on the roadside as well as enjoying a delicious homestay lunch. In the evening watching millions of bats leaving their cave was a natural wonder. Although Angkor Wat was impressive because of its size, Banteay Srey Wat's amazing intricate stone carvings, Ta Prohm and Banyon were astounding. Don't miss the $20 day trip to Koh Kong island's deserted tropical beach with an amazing lunch cooked by the boat crew.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lee was a very knowledgeable, patient, easy going and a fun leader who took our group to excellent restaurants allowing us to sample delicious Cambodian food. During the course of the trip he shared his culture and told us much about the ancient and recent history of his country and some of the experiences of his family. A perfect combination of efficiency and cool!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For an easy life, don't bring cash Pounds or Euro's. Almost everything is priced in US dollars, and most cash machines dispense US dollars. Shops and restaurants all have lots of small denomination dollars, or will give small amounts of change in Riels.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Caroline Bradley

    Cambodian Adverture

    Well constructed trip to see the life and history of this country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Angkor Wat at dawn

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was well organised and managed the various needs of the member of the group

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow and wear plenty of Deet!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great experience doing the two bike rides on the trip, you get to see and feel so much more of Cambodia
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Mike Davey

    Cambodian Adventure

    Interesting and enjoyable holiday,

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were 5, The bamboo railway for man's ingenuity, the killing fields for man's inhumanity, the smaller villages for the hard working local population for low wages. Angkor Wat for being Angkor Wat, and the people on the trip with similar interests and sense of fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, well up with history of country, religious heritage, honesty when giing information, and organisation, never seemingly to to get flustered.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In their documentation I did not think Exodus make it clear about currency, the Currency of Cambodia may be the Riel, but the currency on the street, shops and used by Exodus for any optional extras is the US dollar, I would advise taking US dollars, do not bother changing any money into Riel, apart from a few traders in remote villages, everyone uses and quotes dollars, in Restaurants your bill will automatically come priced in dollars and Riel give dollars you will get change in dollars, with small amounts in Riel, everywhere prices are marked in Dollars. The hotels happily changed larger bills into smaller notes. If you can get some small dollar bills take them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am not a foody, friends say the best they get out of me is "it was OK" but food and its presentation in the places we ate at was excellent, best food I have had on holidays around Asia. Would recommend the Kampot Pepper dishes. The accommodation we stayed in was excellent.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Katherine Burke

    Cambodia.... wow!!

    Cambodia exceeded all of my expectations. I went out over my 40th birthday to escape having to have a party and had the best holiday I've ever had! Brilliant mix of fun and history

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples. I personally loved the jungle temple and would advise anyone to go before tourism really takes off

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ly was fantastic, he was very informative and had a great sense of humour. He was well organised, friendly and his 'shit stories' on the coach lightened several long coach rides.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Never underestimate a sand fly!! Although I fully DEET-ed up at every opportunity, these little gits left a couple of us looking like we had smallpox after a trip to the beach!! Also, don't worry about taking Cambodian Riel- everywhere takes dollars.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Battambang bamboo train was a definite highlight, so much fun and the closest to feeling like Indiana Jones I've ever come. Don't miss the cyclo tour of Phnom Penh or Siem Reap bats either!
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Leslie Dawson

    Cambodian Adventure

    This trip gave us the opportunity to experience urban and rural Cambodia. It was not just about the major attractions like Angkor Wat,but also less visited places such as Koh Kong. With just 5 people in the group it was easy to organise ourselves and our tour leader Rous was always great company, ensuring we were enjoying what we were doing and offering us lots of local Cambodian foods.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our visit to Bantreay Srey was a delight. Although other temples were awesome in their size and complexity it was this temple that was a highlight. The intricacy of the relief work and the attention to detail was amazing. We were very glad that this was part of the itinerary and not just the bigger temples.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rous was so much fun and a great ambassador for her country. She was knowledgeable about its past and the sadness of its recent history, but full of optimism for its future. This was such an important cultural message to impart. She was caring and considerate, making sure we could comfortably complete the bicycle rides when some of us weren't feeling very well. Rous often stopped the mini-bus so we could try new foods, see how foods were prepared, exposing us to all things Cambodian, that we otherwise would miss out on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We visited Cambodia in late October, when the weather on the south coast was still quite wet. Because of the humidity an umbrella is of more use than a plastic poncho (you sweat less). Apply the bugspray (Rous's words) before you think you need it. Just put it on before venturing out, like putting on your shoes. Take as little as possible - 3 of everything is enough. Just handwash more often. We fitted everything into 40L backpacks. Any walking we did, did not require hiking boots and we didn't take any gear specifically for the cycling we did.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a very enjoyable trip because of its diversity. Going west to Koh Kong gave us an opportunity to see a little of regional Cambodia- the Cardamon mountains and the mangrove sanctuary were a welcome respite from the pace of Phnom Penh. Angkor Wat and other temples were stunning and are probably reason enough to go to Cambodia. Travelling with a small group has many benefits , as does having a local tour leader who is part of the country you are visiting.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Paul Sullivan

    Cambodia Adventure

    A great itinerary encompassing the busy yet cultured capital, the relaxed feel of coastal Kampot and Kep, colonial Battambang and the sheer size of majestic Angkor Wat. Fantastic food too throughout, surpassed only by the ever-smiling, friendly locals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Angor Wat - far more extensive and varied than I'd been expecting, made all the more memorable by seeing it over two days, one by bike which was a superb way to get a true feel for the place and its atmosphere.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A fine ambassador for his country, Sokkim transmitted a graceful serenity which made us all feel at ease with him, sure in the knowledge of his ability to calmly overcome any challenges and provide us with whatever information or help we needed in a measured and warm manner. True to his principles, he was ever keen to ensure we got the most from our time in Cambodia, as well as striving for the best for his compatriots and homeland.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cambodia may not be the first country to spring to mind for a visit in the region, but the variety of experiences there and warm welcome certainly make it a recommendation. Angkor Wat alone justifies going, but there is so much more to warrant spending more time there.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nothing springs to mind!
  • Reviewed January 2016
    Penelope Regan

    The surprise that is Cambodia.

    We saw parts of Cambodia we wouldn't have thought of visiting. Some of the less frequented parts were the most beautiful, especially the area around Kampot. Cycling is definitely a good way to see the countryside and how the people live. Thankfully we were acclimatised to the heat by the time we started cycling!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the less frequented temples in the Angkor Wat complex give you time to just sit quietly and think without hoards of tourists.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mr Bun was extremely passionate and Knowledgable about his country. He managed to cope with varying requests and situations with patience and good grace.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A certain level of fitness is required. Make sure you take appropriate footware for walking through the jungle. Be aware that whilst the hotels were better than anticipated, they may not all be up to European standards.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip showed us a side of Cambodia that we were not fully aware of. No number of guide books can prepare you for the impact that this country's history has had on the present generation.
  • Reviewed March 2015
    Valerie Broom

    Cambodian Adventure

    A really great holiday, with a lovely group of people and an excellent guide. Pheap and his driver Mr Ouch showed us with pride their beautiful country. Recovering from terrible events in the 70's Cambodia is now opening up to tourism and has much to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one thing, but of course the size and grandeur of Angkor Watt which was amazing. Then on a totally different scale, the Genocide Museum, which was hard to visit and accept, but had to be done. Throughout the trip the Cambodian people were smiling and welcoming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pheap was an excellent guide and leader. Always available with a smile, lots of information and of course his singing voice, a song for every city we visited! He is an asset to Exodus. Every time we left or returned to the coach we were offered drinking water. It was lovely when we stopped at roadside markets etc and he would buy things for us to taste, some with more success than others!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is quite busy, although there is a free day. Some of our group then did a waterfall/trek, while others took a boat trip to a "tropical" island. The journey there and back took over 2 hours each way, and although the island and the lunch we ate there was lovely, we didn't enjoy the visit of sand flies. Many of us got bitten very badly. The food throughout was varied and tasty, we loved the bargain priced cocktails, especially at happy hour. The hotels were all very acceptable and the excellent wi fi connection was a welcome surprise.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this tour to anyone who loves the diversity and challenge of a visit to Asia! The bike rides were well managed and although quite tough in temperatures of around 35c, there were plenty of stops and the bikes were good. Both rides are around 30 km or so.
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Susan Sargeant

    AOA150125

    Cambodia is a fascinating country with so much to offer. The trip included boat trips, cycling adventures, fabulous temples, and the horror of the killing fields and S21. Our leader was inspirational and introduced us to so many local people and their crafts. The mosquitoes were horrendous and vicious even when thoroughly sprayed with Incognito. And the country was spoiled with so much rubbish everywhere. Even so, one of my best Exodus trips

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the fishing villages, especially our afternoon at Tonle Sap, and so many opportunities to meet local people and sample their foods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Keasar Hong was quite superb: enthusiastic, cheerful, incredibly efficient, full of bright ideas, and ready to adapt the itinerary as and when. He was passionate and knowledgeable about his country and one of the very best leaders I have had with Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of anti mosquito sprays, and Incognito, though I have used it before, seems totally inadequate for Cambodia. Also the cycling was quite hard work, especially in the hot sunshine. But it was a very worthwhile part of the trip, and especially around the villages and Ankor Wat temples

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fabulous holiday
  • Reviewed December 2014
    Diane Tams

    AOA - Cambodia Adventure

    What a great holiday, wonderful tour guide (Pheap). Visited different parts of Cambodia, much of which seemed to still be unspoilt by tourism. From the deserted beaches of the south west to the traumatic tales of Pol Pot and the Khmer Rouge and then the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat and surroundings. The overwhelming memory will however be the Cambodian people, so friendly, smiling and welcoming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to identify a single moment although sunrise at Angkor Wat must be up there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour guide, Pheap, was excellent. Always smiling and attentive to our needs with a song for every occasion (and a great voice). Even during free time and optional activities he was attentive - ensuring that we all had a great holiday. His tales of life as a child during the Khmer Rouge period and after were a real insight into life in Cambodia and very moving.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Currency - Take USD cash - this is the main currency for tourists with prices always in USD - change may be given in Cambodian Riel but no need to actively convert currency. There are ATM's in the main cities but credit cards are really not accepted at most locations. I also found I spent more than expected .... but maybe that was the "happy hour" cocktails! Don't worry about the 2 days cycling - it is fairly straightforward but there are alternatives for those who cannot cycle (but cycling was a great way to experience Cambodia)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fabulous holiday - great to spend two weeks exploring the one country rather than just passing through.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30