Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Mark Rendall

    Exodus delivers again!

    An amazing trip up Kilimanjaro, with a professional leader, guides, porters & support team (66 in total). The team got all 16 in the party up and all were very supportive!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making the rim for sunrise and of course the summit at Uhuru Peak - a moment and memory to savour!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Professional and dedicated.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Put in some training, it will make the trek more enjoyable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Has to be one towards the top of the "bucket list" & to be proudly crossed off!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    ah mak chow

    kilimanjaro lemosho route

    amazing holiday, professional n experienced guides. felt extremely safe. look no further book with exodus. i"'ll do this trip all over again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    scaling Baranco wall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    professional n experienced. felt safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    recommend Exodus

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All guides n porters, extremely helpful would like to do it all over again.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Amanda Brass

    Kilimanjaro Climb- Lemosho Route

    The whole trip has been incredible, very well organised and everything has been thought off. The climb was amazing, beautiful scenery and wonderful people. Easily the hardest physical challenge of our lives to date but also the most enjoyable and rewarding. The crew were first class and we will never forget this wonderful experience for the rest of our lives. A real privilege and a life changer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Stella Point was incredible as we were getting to the stage where we were so physically tired that we were doubting whether we could make it, our wonderful guides gave us the support, encouragement, positivity and inspiration to get us to the top, allowing us to adopt the mind over matter approach and they were with us all the way. I can honestly say the crew have had a huge impact on us as people and they have inspired us as much as the climb of beautiful Kilimanjaro itself.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I will be writing to Exodus separately from this review with a glowing and detailed letter of praise for the crew as I feel Justine was outstanding in his role as our group leader. He was thoroughly deserving of the award that he won and I would go further to say if there are any other awards in the world of mountain guiding on a national or international level I would not hesitate to nominate him. It was a real privilege to have met him and to have been guided up Kilimanjaro by him and as my family were on the trip with us I would like to say we felt so secure, safe and had complete trust and confidence in him. He was positive, encouraging, sensitive, thoughtful, very kind and was very well organised and thought of everything. To top this all off a great smile, personality and a brilliant sense of humour- a very inspirational man! I would also like to point out that the entire team were first class. The other guides were also outstanding, I would like to point out that Mussa was a wonderful guide, also incredibly positive and supportive with also a lovely personality/sense of humour. We had complete trust in Mussa and he was so helpful and kind to us, again I will be writing to you to explain in detail. He would make an excellent tour leader too. James aka King James was a fantastic guide who was very knowledgable, kind, helpful and again encouraging and supportive and kept giving us boosts of positivity. We were never rushed along,even though we were walking a slower pace to some of our fellow climbers. Again we had 100% trust in James and he would also make a brilliant lead guide. It was an absolute pleasure to have 2 female guides, Anjela and Lucia who were both a pleasure to walk with. Again, both very supportive, kind and could not do enough for you. Both very smart and strong ladies who we had our trust in. We feel so lucky to have had this team of 38 looking after us so well and we have so much praise and admiration for all the porters, cook etc. I cannot fault any of them, they were all brilliant. I will be mentioning a few of them in my letter.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would say if you are thinking about doing this challenge, just book it! You will not regret it and I doubt you would find any other trip where you are looked after so well, I read that they 'have your backs' before we went on our trip and I can honestly say it is true. Go for it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I will be writing to you in detail shortly, so not at this time.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    John Farrington

    Kilimanjaro - Lemosho route

    An outstanding trek. Organisation was superb in every detail. Special mention to the African Walking Company for their guides, porters, cooks and everyone involved.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Crater Rim summit in clear sunshine, and earlier in the week The Baranco Wall and Lava Tower

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JT was really outstanding - in leadership, organisation and motivation

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whatever your age, it is essential to get as fit as possible ahead of the trek - whatever anyone else says. Particularly practice uphill severe walks with a backpack (eg in UK hill country).
  • Reviewed January 2017
    James Earlam

    Lemosho Eight Day Trek

    Excellent. If you want to get to the top of Kilimanjaro and stand in awe on 'The Roof of Africa' which is surely why you are considering this trip, the eight day Lemosho Route is the trek for you. It's the right length, with three days or more of going higher but sleeping lower and it will give you the best chance of making a successful summit bid.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All six of our group making the summit after being together for eight days, that incredible sense of satisfaction that comes from doing something that is not easy, that takes something from you, but gives you so much more back and the fulfilment of a long held ambition.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joshua Mlay is an inspiration and his success rate in getting people to the top tells you all you need to know.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep your eye on the prize, eat, sleep, walk, repeat until there is nowhere higher to walk to on the whole great continent of Africa! and Good Luck!
  • Reviewed November 2016
    paul carpenter

    Kilimanjaro - Lemosho route

    This is one of those experiences that will stay with you for the rest of your life! To stand on top of the worlds highest freestanding mountain and know that you did it on your own steam is a fantastic feeling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    waking up in the morning , opening the tent flap and watching the sunrise and the clouds far below you

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I want to thank our chief guide , Mekeke. and the other guides for all of their help over the trip. Without their experience, humour, knowledge and encouragement we would not have all made it to the top.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are of average fitness, and you want to, you can do this, and you wont regret it! It,s easy for me to preach now that I have done it , but I was concerned that i wasnt fit enough, or I was going to suffer from altitude sickness , but there was only one way I was going to find out. do plenty of walking beforehand, follow the packing lists on this site , and trust your guides to look after you !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    just again my thanks to exodus, the African walking company ,and the guides , the cook and the porters for their organisation, communication and hard work to make this an experience of a lifetime!
  • Reviewed October 2016
    David Hill

    Mount Kilimanjaro

    Superbly organised and our guides / porters were the best!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit, against all the odds.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Makeke, went above and beyond to make sure that I reached my ambition. He's an excellent asset for Exodus and I wouldn't have made it to the top without him. A true professional who takes real pride in his job and simply looks after everyone in his care.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a tough, indeed gruelling physical challenge but well worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall, I was very impressed with Exodus and The African Walking Company.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Sarah Pritchett

    The Best Kili Experience

    I couldn't have asked for a better Kilimanjaro experience than what I had with Exodus. The guides and rest of staff were incredibly knowledgable and attentive, the Lemosho route was beautiful and varied in its scenery and summit night - though mentally and physically taxing - was an incredibly fulfilling experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summiting the mountain was obviously very inspirational but I also thoroughly loved the Shira Cathedral and the Branco Wall climb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    My group leader John Maeda was a really big reason the experience was so great. He was so knowledgeable and switched on and was loved by everyone in the group.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Jim Armstrong

    Pole Pole

    A gruelling but worthwhile trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Obviously the summit for those who reach it, otherwise the imposing Barranco Wall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abraham from the Africa Walking Company is a gifted and strong leader, managing as he does 57 guides and porters not to mention 14 walkers. The sheer logistics of getting all of us up the mountain at the same time with no hitches would make me dizzy! The guides were watching us all the time and checking our condition, giving advice and generally keeping us going. We were also extremely well fed and lacked nothing to eat or drink, the chef and porters were all fantastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take Exodus` notes seriously and be well prepared. The whole point of this trip is to get you up Kilimanjaro in pretty extreme conditions. It is not for beginners and is a hard climb even for experienced walkers. The camping, though well organised, is fairly basic. Once wet, stuff can`t really be dried, you will be cold and uncomfortable a lot of the time. You will need to be determined and resourceful. The walking itself is ok until summit day but gets harder as the oxygen levels drop. This trip gives you an extra day to acclimatise and no one in our group had serious altitude sickness beyond breathing difficulties. You just have to do everything very slowly indeed, even standing up!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The walk takes you through rainforest then alpine terrain followed by bare scree. There was plenty of wildlife to spot in the rainforest: monkeys, birds, rodents and we saw jackal spoor but not the jackals themselves. For the three middle days we were in thick mist and saw very little but once we got above the clouds the view was spectacular and worth all the effort. Only then did we get an impression of the sheer mass of the mountain. If you`re interested in doing this, it is well worthwhile but you do need to be fairly fit and active, and some walking experience will help.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    RUTH KEIR

    Do you like pina coladas and walks in the rain?

    Very challenging but ultimately rewarding trip. Camping is a pain in the neck after a while. Prepare to be dirty, cold and generally uncomfortable for the whole trip, I think this got to me more than the walking. I believe Kili is quite scenic but it was misty for us most of the time and I could have been at home in Scotland out a damp hillwalk.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to Uhuru peak after a 7.5 hour slog up the scree with hilariously low oxygen saturations. Going a bit mental on the top and having fabulous 'runner's high' type thing going on on the way back to Stella. Wish I could have bottled that. Hypoxia can be fun! Relaxing on Zanzibar afterwards wasn't too shabby.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abraham was a great guy and ably assisted by his team of guides. Mama Lucy helped me the most but Stratton, Hans, Angela, Innocent and Tosha were all brilliant too as were the cook and porters. I left some old equipment with them. I was lucky to be part of a great group who really made the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take it very slowly indeed, the speed seems ridiculous at first but quickly becomes a necessity. Leave your type A personality and desire to win at the door, on this trip the tortoises will get there in the best shape. There is no rush, what are you going to do with extra time in camp? We had lots of card games, hypoxia induced silliness and new sport called toss the rock. Camping just annoyed me after a while. I had my own tent and it was well worth it just to have my own space. They are big enough but I'm not convinced that sharing with a random and 2 people's equipment is a good idea when the experience is stressful enough as it is. Snoring gets worse at altitude. Bring ear plugs. Bring LOTS of snacks. Minstrels travels especially well. Ladies, check out a She-wee and Pee-bols for night time. Try to look after each other. Everyone will have a bad day at some point (Lava Tower for me, it can happily be erased from my memory for ever!). If you are lucky enough to be feeling well, try to divert some of your energy into helping those who are not with some daft games or a supporting arm or hug. It is much more satisfying to help others to succeed as well as yourself and to get there as a team. A couple of folk had music on their phones, this was a great boost during hard bits although it was hard to sing along to Africa by Toto on summit night! Try to learn some Swahili from the guides, you've got nothing better to do!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had a fabulously relaxing 6 night stay at Fumba lodge tagged on at the end. It took a few days to recover from Kili and I can't imagine what state I'd have been in if I'd have returned to work immediately. The staff are total gems, good food and cocktails and really chilled surroundings. Moivaro coffee plantation was also lovely and I enjoyed a lovely scrub and massage when we got back. I did come out in a rash the next day so maybe avoid if you have sensitive skin! I think my skin just wasn't used to being clean anymore.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30