Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Susan Ringoen

    Classic Dolomites-Premium Trip Notes

    This was my first time to do a group travel "adventure" and this Exodus trip exceeded my expectations. It was superb in every detail-the daily hikes were truly phenomenal; our leader had a wealth of outdoor and guiding experience, and shared many interesting hiking and history tidbits; our hotel was exceptional-staff, meals, extras -all such a treat! I can't wait to plan my next Exodus adventure!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day's hike seemed to build on the previous one...I'm not sure I could say which was the most inspirational - they were all fantastic. On the free day our leader helped us to connect with a Via Ferrata guide and that was perhaps the highlight/most inspirational for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was an experienced, confident and easy-going leader. He had interesting tips for us about our hiking, as well as sharing interesting history bits from the area. He managed the various levels of the group with ease.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Kirk Fedder

    Dolomites 2018

    Exodus provided a very well planned and executed trip. Communication with Exodus prior to the trip was easy, and they were very good about answering questions. The guide, Alex, was excellent. He was very well informed about the geological and historical history of Northern Italy, and he was eager to share this history with us. Alex would be an excellent professor! He always let us know what the next day's hike would be like, and he would describe the hikes by his estimated degree of "spiciness" (one pepper, two peppers, etc.). The Hotel Adler was the perfect place to stay for the week. The Adler is family owned and staffed, as it has been for over 50 years. They were very friendly, warm and welcoming, and couldn't have been more helpful. The food was delicious and plentiful, and the menu varied every night. The small dining room staff of 3 or 4, were there for every meal, and were very friendly, helpful, and efficient. Of the 16 people on this trip, all but 3 or 4 of us had traveled with Exodus before multiple times. Not only was this trip very well planned, organized, and executed, it was also an extremely good value at half of the price of other companies we looked at for a similar itinerary. I will definitely travel with Exodus again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The closeness and friendship within our very diverse group 16.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See previous comments.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    JACKIE CASH

    CHALLENGING BUT VERY REWARDING

    We thoroughly enjoyed the whole Dolomites experience. We selected the challenging week and found that it was just the right level for us. The treks took us to different mountain peaks and we were always rewarded with the most fantastic breathtaking views. Alex our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Hotel Adler was centrally located with shops, bars and cafes nearby. The staff were friendly and efficient. Food was always fresh and appetising. We were also very pleased with the fact that we could make up and back our own lunches from the breakfast buffet. We would recommend this trip for views and excellent value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trekking to the top of Monte Piana where the Italian and Austrian Fronts were battling during the 1st World War and seeing the trenches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was an excellent and efficient group leader with lots of advice and knowledge to impart.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train well to enjoy the experience and ensure that you have done plenty of hill walking.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Sheryl English

    Fantastic Trip

    This was my first time travelling with Exodus, and will definitely travel with them again. It was really nice to stay in one hotel for the week. I loved not having to pack and unpack, and I don't think we missed anything by not moving to various locations throughout the trip. (If we did, we wouldn't know it- the trip was everything I expected.) The Dolomites were amazing!! The hikes were challenging, and it was nice to come back to the hotel for a shower and great dinner. Our guide was wonderful. I've been on hiking trips for years, and this was the first time I've had a guide give short lessons on how to hike over certain terrain.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For the free day, 4 of us did a Via Ferrata near Tres Cime. Climbing up the mountains and seeing the views from the top was just breathtaking. I climbed where I never thought I could! Although this wasn't on the itinerary, I'm so glad our guide set this up for us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was fantastic. Very helpful, knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was worried the level 3 trip would be too light, but it was perfect. Hike were long with some challenging ascents/descents. I think 5 would have been too much for me. I would recommend the level 3 vs 5 to anyone who is unsure. You won't be disappointed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd recommend the Via Ferrata be added as an option for the free day, or put on the itinerary. I don't know if I'd want to do a full week, but for one day, it was amazing. It was an experience of a lifetime!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Lucy Wiggins

    Brilliant leader with spectacular walking

    I went away with a friend last week and we had an amazing trip with 15 other people in our group. Our leader Alex is a real credit to Exodus Travel, he was extremely approachable, helpful and knowledgeable and made our trip incredibly enjoyable across the entire week. The scenery and walks were all spectacular and every day very varied. The hotel we stayed in was also very good and the food extremely yummy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Alex was the best leader I have had on any holiday to date and the scenery on the trip was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best I have had on any holiday to date. He explained so much to us on local culture and knowledge and taught us how to walk and use our poles which was very beneficial as the week went on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Poles are very beneficial -would recommend collapsible ones - mid range
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Lucy Wiggins

    Brilliant leader with spectacular walking

    I went away with a friend last week and we had an amazing trip with 15 other people in our group. Our leader Alex is a real credit to Exodus Travel, he was extremely approachable, helpful and knowledgeable and made our trip incredibly enjoyable across the entire week. The scenery and walks were all spectacular and every day very varied. The hotel we stayed in was also very good and the food extremely yummy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Alex was the best leader I have had on any holiday to date and the scenery on the trip was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best I have had on any holiday to date. He explained so much to us on local culture and knowledge and taught us how to walk and use our poles which was very beneficial as the week went on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Poles are very beneficial -would recommend collapsible ones - mid range
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Kim Maidment

    Stunning scenery, good walking, enjoyable companions, great hotel and an excellent guide

    It was a good holiday with an excellent guide (we came across Alex before in 2012 in Corsica) who shares his enthusiasm and knowledge of and for so many things. The group was large (16) but a good mixed bunch of people who gelled well. The walking varied and scenery stunning. The hotel was good however more choice at dinner for those of us who do not eat meat would be good - I did find myself eating the same thing several times/ having pasta for more than one course/ skipping a course (although I am sure the latter did me good!!). Breakfast was superb and being able to make our own lunch very helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in snow in August!! Completely unexpected.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have 'layers' - due to snow/wind/rain it went from cold to hot very quickly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See above re hotel. Given that we booked this holiday in November 2017 it was very disappointing to have the issues over the single room before we went.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Ray Morris-Hill

    Spectacular walking holiday

    A week of exciting walking in the Dolomite mountains, technically in Italy but very much Austrian in character. Villabassa/Niederdorf was an excellent base to explore the South Tyrol. Check out my 2-minute video of the trip: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Drm5Iqb9CVM

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 700m ascent to the summit of Monte Piano was tough but exhilarating. Our reward was spectacular views of the surrounding peaks and a unique insight into the WW1 fortifications.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was excellent, quietly getting on with leading the group. He is very knowledgeable about the local area. He also taught us the best way to use our poles and imparted other very useful tips on negotiating the mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles were very useful as some of the terrain is quite rocky.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel facilities, especially the pool, were excellent. The dining staff were very accommodating and did their best to meet all needs. The breakfast was delicioust and the DIY packed lunch was an excellent idea, there was so much choice.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Alison Kalus

    Perfect Week

    An excellent week of good weather, good walking, excellent guiding and excellent company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the summit of Monte Piana and exploring all the WW1 trenches and battlefields

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was an excellent leader. Friendly, knowledgeable and inspiring. The whole trip went like clockwork.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's worth getting a bit fit before you go so that you can enjoy the walks without too much struggle. There were some steep ascents and descents to tackle.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    David Tomlin

    fantastic mountains

    Late June was a brilliant time to go to the Dolomites. We had variable weather, but plenty of sun to admire the spectacular mountains. This was my first "walking holiday", and exactly what I hoped it would be. The main draw was the mountain scenery, but I also enjoyed the hotel and its food service, which offered plenty of variety. There were 16 in our group, which meant the supper service dragged on quite long, but everyone was friendly and completed all the hikes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    360 degree views of Dolomites, Alps and valleys on our Tuesday hike. I didn't bother myself with the names of peaks, so I can't name the place, but it was the most scenic spot I've ever been.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide bailed after day 1 due to a family emergency. He was good while he lasted, though. We had 3 other guides during the week, 2 who were little more than wayfinders, 1 who was excellent in his knowledge of the area, his command of English and his thoughtful presentation of the complicated cultural issues of the region. It seemed that the hotel proprietor helped Exodus with the scramble to find replacement guides. It all went very well, with no negative impact to our week. Excellent job to cover the unexpected departure.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For the travel days, arriving and departing, count on doing nothing besides reaching your destination. The location is remote. I planned a second week in Como, so my airport was Milan Malpensa. Reaching Villabassa required 4 trains, one of which was late and another was canceled (replaced by a bus, fortunately). Trains are frequent enough to be a good option, but taking the Exodus transfer from Venice would have made life simpler. Also, plan to do some laundry by hand, daily. There were no laundromats anywhere in the valley.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was thrilled to have my own hotel room. Actually, I had inquired about paying the single supplement, but was told it was unavailable for the dates. Sharing the very small room for a week would have been quite cramped. It appeared several of us had individual rooms. Much appreciated, but a surprise.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30