Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Hope Ward-Brown

    Trip of a Lifetime

    An absolutely fantastic trip. From start to finish Exodus excelled themselves. It's not often you come back from somewhere and feel you've truly "seen" a place. With this, you do. Spanning landscapes, terrains, cultures, altitudes - you see it all. The Amazon is breathtaking; wildlife, the noise, the vastness of it - it's incomparable. The Inca Trail is a true pilgrimage. Beautiful scenary, a challenge but so worth every. single. step. It's hard to not feel overwhelmed and in awe on arrival to Machu Picchu. The people are wonderful, the food is wonderful, the sounds, smells, early mornings, late nights - worth every single penny. It's not a holiday, it's an adventure - the more you immerse yourself, the greater the rewards. As my first solo trip in my 20s, this was the most supportive environment to see a place, I felt safe and never in any danger. Thank-you to my wonderful group, every guide, every Porter and our wonderful guide for looking after me!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Machu Picchu was the most awe inspiring moment of my life to date!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Susan Hodgson

    Inca Trail & Amazon Rain Forest + Homestay

    All in all a great trip - I met some great people and saw some amazing sights, but this is no walk in the park and I don't think any of us on the trip fully appreciated just how mentally and physically challenging this trip would be -with a rating of just 3 I think most of us who are experienced hikers - myself and two others hiked in Nepal last year and one of our grp had hiked to Everest base camp thought although a challenge we would not have to many problems - we had underestimated the effects of walking at altitude and not taken into consideration that it would most likely rain as it did for 2 days solid and then having to sleep in tiny tents which let in water whilst wet and cold was not exactly much fun

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most would say when they reached Sungate and looked down at Machu Picchu for the first time and indeed this was an amazing sight but for me it was on the third day of the hike - i had been walking on my own for the first three days as there was a very fast group which although I do understand everyone has to walk at their own pace this meant that the group was spilt up into fast/medium walkers some in the middle and two sensible couples who took their time at the back - I sat down utterly exhausted both mentally & physically when this beautiful humming bird come and sat right in front of me and sung his heart out - a very special moment for me

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our grp leader Julio - a man with great patience and always a smile on his face. Nothing was ever too much trouble for this young man I do feel however, that Julio could have controlled the hike so that we were not so far spread out - I do understand that there was a great difference in ability from the fastest to the slowest but by letting everyone do there own thing it did for me basically end up with me having a solo walking holiday which is not what I had signed up for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    oh yes lots! Don't worry about taking clothes for each part of the tour - you can get laundry done in between trips thus cutting down on what you need to take Amazon - take walking boots and flip flops - there are wellies at the camp if it rains. Take shorts and t-shirts to wear around the lodge The trip notes say that you can only take 20kg on internal flights this is wrong you can take 23kg Make sure you take lots of insect repellent The Sacred Valley trip before you begin the Inca trail is a must Take your time on the walk - yes its a struggle and I know some people just want to get to the end but you will miss so much if you don't look around at your surroundings and most importantly encourage those around you who maybe struggling Remember to pack thermal clothes and invest in a good sleeping bag - I would also recommend taking your own roll mat as the one provided is really very small

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Travel If time is not an issue for you ask about the direct flight to Lima - it does mean that you arrive a day earlier /leave a day later then the group flight but well worth it in my opinion. especially on the return journey - our flight back from the homestay was delayed and we did not get back to Lima until gone midnight and many then had to leave on a 18hr journey home at 9:00 - I and two others stayed on a extra day and we were able to rest before the long journey home and explore Lima at our leisure which was quite a change from the fix itinerary we had been on for the past 2 weeks
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sara Harrop

    Experience the best of Peru in 2 weeks

    This rates among my top trips ever (and I've been on quite a few). Peru is an amazing destination. It is also a huge country and it would be difficult/impossible to organise the variety of activities that enable you to sample some of its highlights without the top organisation of Exodus's UK and local teams.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just a few of the inspirational moments were: 1. Reaching Machu Picchu and sharing the sense of achievement and iconic views with my wonderful travelling companions. 2. Sunrise over the high Andes followed by breakfast on top of the world (well... at 3750m) 3. Reaching 'Dead woman's pass' without actually dying! 4. Dawn and dusk in the rain forest listening to the chorus of birds and beasts.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Raul was a top group leader. His love of his work and his country is infectious. His knowledge of the history, archaeology and culture of Peru are encyclopaedic and he makes the complex arrangements of a tour that encompasses 4 very different environments (mountain, jungle, lake and city) seamless. He treated the group as his family and interacted well with assistant guide, porters and local guides. He was supportive to members of the group who suffered altitude sickness and he is a master of tact and diplomacy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a breathtaking trip - in all senses of the word. The itinerary is packed so you'll need to be fit and active. Lots of early starts and rushed showers in your enthusiasm to see as much as possible at each destination.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I recommend this trip heartily. If it's on your bucket list, go. You won't regret it!
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Anthony Collins

    Moonstone Trek

    This was my first group holiday and I must admit I was somewhat apprehensive at the thought of being with a whole lot of people I did not know and also being organised as I normally like to do my own thing. However, I do have to say that Exodus were first class and our guide Julio Llancay was exceptionally good throughout the trip. On our trek one lady suffered with altitude sickness and was quite ill. Our guide on the trek ould not have been more caring or professional in dealing with the problem. She even had to administer oxygen and arranged for the person concerned to be carried on horseback for two days following which the lady was able to walk down the mountain unaided.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All three elements of the trip were inspirational. The Amazon rainforest, the Moonstone Trek / Machu Picchu and Lake Titicaca. However, Machu Picchu has to take the prize as it was such a magical moment to look down on it especially as we were fortunate to see it in fine weather

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was amazing. He dealt with all our queries and needs without a qualm. He even presented us with a CD contains snapshots of our group at various times on the holiday. The most important thing he did from day one was to create a family atmosphere within the group which prevailed throughout so much so that we are arranging a get together in December

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't underestimate the altitude effect on the Moonstone Trek. It is by no means easy and made significantly harder by the effects of altitude. Also do as advised and drink two litres of water in the morning and the afternoon. You can't afford to get dehydrated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were some issues in the hotels we stayed in in terms of noise both from traffic and in one case staff using an internal metal staircase during the early hours of the morning. Also there were occasions when there was no hot water which is not what you want when you have been out all day.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Anne-Marie Hellewell

    Inca Trail and Amazon Rainforest

    I have wanted to visit Machu Picchu for a very long time and when I began to research my dream holiday, this package ticked all the right boxes. It was everything I had wanted and more. The itinerary is well thought out and makes the most out of the 17 day trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The crowning glory was arriving at the Sun Gate to see Machu Picchu for the first time, having trekked for 4 days. It was a very special moment. However, the entire trip was excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wilmer Delgado is an excellent guide. He is both knowledgeable and passionate about his country. He was an excellent host to our group, always attentive and caring. He joined in socially with a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Inca Trail is strenuous, especially day 2, but it is as much a mental challenge as physical. It isn't a race so take your time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    From the moment of first contact, everyone at Exodus has been helpful and knowledgeable. We have now met several people who have had a few Exodus holidays and the consensus is very positive. We're now planning Vietnam and Cambodia!
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Kevin Oates

    Peru all in one trip

    Great reception. Clear instructions. Planned itineraries. Tickets in advance. The tedium of travel was minimised by smooth organisation, having tickets for attractions in advance, having transport waiting when needed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a giant anaconda in the wild.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Great sense of humour. Clear instructions. Obviously motivated to make sure we all knew what was going on at any given moment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book your own flights. The flights which came with our trip through exodus were via Sao Paulo which prolonged journey. Plus difficulties getting seats together on some flights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip needs more than one day off. The homestay on lake Titicaca was slightly uncomfortable and a night in a hotel in puna would perhaps have been better alternative. If u don't like crowds do the moonstone trek instead of the Inca trail. You will have the trail to yourself and at over 15000 feet it's a real hike.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Elizabeth Dinnage

    Inca Trail and the Amazon

    Great trip made even better by a series of brilliant guides. To promote the trip to an Excellent rating I would suggest getting better, rainproof tents for the Inca Trail and giving us another tent to go and sit in after our evening meal - just for a while - rather than having to go to bed between 730 and 8pm. The porters clearly wanted to get in to the dining tent to get to bed and we felt guilty, so never let them linger. We also would have preferred and earlier flight back to Lima from Puno on the last day...we didn't get to the hotel til 1am, but then had to up early for long flights home in the morning. It spoilt our last day together with our group. Must reiterate tho, apart from these 3 things our two weeks were fantastic. The jungle, the Inca Trail and Lake Titikaka were spectacular.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots of inspirational moments. Fantastic views in the Andes, wonderful sights and sounds in the jungle, the hubbub of the cities and the calm of Lake Titikaka.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cesar was a fun and efficient group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a really strong insect repellent. My Jungle Formula didn't work at all.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Marta May

    Inca Trail and the Amazon

    The holiday was a wonderful adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed staying in the lodge in the Amazon. The day walk through the rainforest and canoeing on the lake was my favourite part. On the inca trail, getting to the top of dead woman's felt like a huge success and a memorable moment. Seeing other Inca buildings in particular winaywayna was most spectacular. The home stay at lake Titicacca was very enjoyable. It was really interesting how people lived on the island and the views were beautiful. Had a very peaceful time after all the hard work on the trail.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group leader Wilbert Ramos was wonderful. He really knew his stuff about the Incas and was very informative about the vegetation around as well. He was very easy to get along with and talk to and made our holiday very memorable. When I became ill in Cuzco due to altitude he knew exactly what to do and responded quickly and effectively. I always felt safe in his care.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack more warm things instead of shorts and t-shirts. Have layers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to Wilbert for getting me through the Inca trail even though I thought I wouldn't make it at the beginning. Thank you for a wonderful holiday and all your guidance.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Stephen Gattey

    Inca Trail and Amazon Rainforest

    I was prepared for the altitude and had no problems after the first twelve hours in Cusco, but my wife suffered severe altitude sickness and gastritis, though she was able to complete all the activities and enjoyed part of the holiday. The rating of 'moderate' for this holiday is a generalisation that hides more than it reveals: the second day of the Inca Trail is very challenging indeed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the extraordinary colours of the mosses and orchids of the rainforest on the Macchu Picchu trail, and the amazing geography of Macchu Picchu itself. Also the Corpus Christi processions on the afternoon of our full day in Cusco, which we knew nothing about in advance.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabrizzio, our group leader, was absolutely excellent in the way he dealt with my wife's sickness, making sure she saw a specialist in Cusco after having an intravenous injection at a government health centre on the way. This enabled her to recover and enjoy the last couple of days of the holiday. Generally he was a very caring person and very good at his job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Chewing coca leaves and drinking the tea does really help with altitude acclimatisation, but you need to be strong and fit from the start. My wife's gastritis was, according to the doctor we saw, caused by the medicine she was taking. Having no gall-bladder, she needed to take Lansoprozole in order to tolerate the obligatory anti-malarials and the ibuprofen she took for muscular problems.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A day and a half in Cusco may not be enough for altitude acclimatisation. Our guide book recommends longer. Anyway, the time in Lima, both coming and going, is not enough to take advantage of, and it would have been better to have gone straight to Cusco, a beautiful town with museums and churches we did not have time to visit.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Peter Robinson

    Ink Trail and Amazon rainforest

    A brilliant holiday. All the better for being three different aspects of Peru i.e.: the Amazon rainforest, the Inka trail and Lake Titicaca. The trail was something we have wanted to do for a long time and despite the altitude we both made it. The scenery was awesome. Loved Cusco and could have done with more time here as there is so much to see and learn about. Thank you Exodus for once again giving us a fulfilling holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of Dead Woman's pass. One tough climb without the altitude!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good particularly on the Inka trail where he was encouraging us all the way. Did not let us go too fast. When problems occurred he took them in his stride without any fuss or flap and kept the rest of the group informed. Taught us a lot about Peru in the past and present.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Inka trail is tough mainly because of the altitude but also because of the terrain so you need to be fit to do this although altitude is a strange element and can bring down the fittest of people.. However we are 71 yrs and 68 yrs and both managed without any lasting effects!
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30