Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2018
    GRAHAM CLARKE

    ETHIOPIA IN DEPTH

    Kipling wrote of Burma to the effect that it was like no other country you have seen. Had he visited Ethiopia, and there is no evidence that he did, he might well have come to a similar conclusion; I did. Overall we had a very comprehensive insight into the country; taking in the fabulous and varied scenery, the religious settlements, the wildlife, food, markets and the way people live.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was a WOW factor to most days even the 12 hour drive between Mekele and Lalibela which was punctuated with stops for photos and a visit to a camel market. We passed through some fabulous scenery at 11,500 feet. The trip on Lake Tana to visit monasteries, the walk amongst baboons in the Simiens. The rock churches of Lalibela were just amazing particularly when you consider when they were done and how. The mule trek up to Ashatan Maryam. We were a happy group: everyone got on with everyone else.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gabre was excellent. A font of knowledge. He was communicative, patient, very much a people's person. Not forgetting our bus driver. I don't remember his name, but in addition to his excellent and safe driving skills ( he took the bus to places I would think twice about in a 4x4 ) he was similarly cheerful and communicative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get your visa either before you set off: the queues were long an slow. Do your homework. Read up as much as you can before you go on the various rock churches and other places of interest, you may find it difficult to absorb so much new information. I did and was glad I did. Take home some coffee.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a great and memorable trip.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Martyn Roberts

    Amazing Experiience

    This is an excellent two week introduction to Bangladesh. It is a packed itinerary that requires stamina on occasions but the rewards are well worth the effort. Bangladesh is a fascinating destination for adventurous travellers. Go with an open and inquiring mind and you will experience a unique country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of the trip was not actually one single occurrence or event. Rather it was the incredibly warm and friendly welcome we were given by local people everywhere we went. This was invariably accompanied by a request for a selfie as well as a query about your name and country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Suzy was excellent. Her enthusiasm and love for the country shone through all the time. Given the lack of tourist infrastructure and the other challenges faced in travelling around Bangladesh she had a number of issues as well as occasional grumbles to deal with throughout the trip. She dealt with these expertly and with great professionalism. Our trip was greatly enhanced by her presence. The local guide Khan was also a tremendous asset to the group. No problem was too great or small for him to deal with in a charming manner. Finally , a mention of our driver Dalal who kept us safe on many long journeys. The driving style in Bangladesh is crazy and even though we encountered many hairy moments he never once lost his composure. A great driver and a lovely guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long bus journeys. By European standards distance are not that great but taking in to account the dreadful state of many roads, the amount of traffic and the reckless driving of locals, any trip is going to take a while. We were covering 25/30 km an hour at best on good runs. The bus we had was reasonably comfortable for our group of 13 plus guides/driver. Had we had the potential full 16 guests on board it would not have been so comfortable. The standard of hotels overall was good but variable. Often we were staying in the best places available in a limited market. Be prepared for this and you'll be OK. One thing to watch out for is that some rooms require you to flick a switch to turn on the hot water and then wait up to 20 minutes for it to heat up enough to take a shower. On the Sundarbans cruise the bedding was grubby and we had several visits from local insects. Make sure you take a sheet sleeping bag if these things bother you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bangladesh was much less Islamic and conservative than I expected. You can even get alcohol with a bit of effort ! I had expected to have a wonderful and fulfilling experience and was not disappointed. If you are thinking of visiting do it as soon as you can. The country is changing rapidly given the predominantly young population. Go with realistic expectations particularly in relation to transport and accommodation. If you do this you will have a wonderful experience.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Suzanne Thorne

    Ethiopia in depth

    This was the most amazing holiday. Our guide Gabre was excellent. Scenery was beautiful. We had a very good driver who negotiated some terrible roads with great care. Hotels were good considering it is such a poor country,pot luck sometimes . People were so friendly, which made the holiday for us. It is cool in the evening, jacket needed.Good strong trainers or walking shoes for very uneven surfaces around churches. Ethiopian airways were excellent. Ethiopian food is an acquired taste. !! One of our most memorable holidays.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The camel market ,the churches, the galada baboons and many more.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have all jabs. Protect yourself against food Bourne illnesses. Take good shoes a WALKING stick. Jacket for the evening.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a memorable holiday in every way. Ethiopia has everything, I wish the country well in the future.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Mary Todd

    Wonderful trip

    Great holiday, good company, excellent leader, amazing views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being surrounded by snow & icicle covered trees, looking across to Mont Blanc and the alpine panorama.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Stephane was an excellent leader. He knew the area and the wildlife of the Jura intimately. He was a superb skier and organiser. He was aware when someone needed a bit of help and moved rapidly to assist.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a great opportunity to go off track skiing in a serene environment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a very nice group which gelled together quickly.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Rebecca Horsley

    Highlands of sri lanka

    A totally encompassing experience. Sujee the guide shared many different aspects of such a wonderful country. Not always easy =as in walking in the rain with leeches(leech socks were invaluable!). We saw many beautiful and diverse places, animals and met very friendly and hospitable people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was great to see the wildlife in their natural habitat. Elephants and blue whales to monkeys and colourful birds. The people were so kind. Landscape/scenery varied and beautiful throughout.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. Kind. Knowledgeable. Sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take leech socks, deet, waterproofs, umbrella.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was excellent. One problem with jewellery that I bought at the gem factory which is hopefully being resolved.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Lizzy Hannah

    An awesome experience!

    I was so excited about this trip and was not disappointed as I thought it was outstanding. The pace was good, the scenery very varied, there were a lot of new experiences especially viewing the wildlife, and every day was different. The accommodation also varied but never disappointed. I loved the feeling that we were often away from the main tourist routes, even when we weren't, however there are a lot of long driving days with breaks to stretch our legs and take photos. The accommodation was very comfortable and every place we stayed was different, sometimes even with a fridge and kettle or occasionally a swimming pool. It was exciting arriving at each new place to explore what was special and different.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many moments it is hard to pick one. I woke up in a tented camp one morning to loud birdsong and heard a rustling beside me. It was a pair of zebras grazing. Seeing a snake eat a huge toad was exciting, and seeing a family of hyenas on the road in the Kruger National Park. Later we saw a pair of lions mating. I also loved the penguin colony at Betty's Bay and the seals lying about by the fish market in Cape Town. The view from our cottage looking out of the Drakensberg Mountains was stunning as well, especially watching a storm brewing up and then clearing later.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two group leaders and they were both great. They had so much knowledge about everything, the wildlife, the scenery, things of interest, bits of history. They were so dependable and good to be with, making sure everything went smoothly for everyone and keeping us well informed about what was going to happen day by day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is a lot of travelling and I was pleased I had plenty of audiobooks so I could listen and look at the scenery at the same time. I was also glad I took my hiking shoes as some of the hikes were on rough ground and they were more sturdy in wet conditions too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our first bus broke down and we got a replacement that was a bit smaller. My legs are short but it wasn't fun for people with long legs sitting at the back. I really liked the fact that most food was included because it was fun to eat together as a group and made budgeting much more straight forward.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Garry Smith

    Thai Indochina Grand Tour

    If you want to get a taste of the 4 countries, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia, this is the tour for you. The accommodation was brilliant throughout, with a variety from riverside hotels to overnight boat on Halong Bay to homestay and lastly, the most restful of all, the overnight Reunification Express from Hanoi to Hue. The tour leaders were very professional and, in particular in Cambodia, Vanthe was both passionate and knowledgeable about his country. in fact, in many ways Cambodia was the highlight as the scenery, people and places we visited were beyond our expectations. This trip provides an excellent taster of what Indochina has to offer and we are considering revisiting Laos and Cambodia at some time in the future.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was undoubtedly Cambodia and the way the people have bounced back and proved so resilient from all the recent devastation, both in terms of population and habitat. In addition the passion with which Vanthe spoke about the history and people was both refreshing and eye opening.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 3 different group leaders. All were excellent, in their own way. They were backed up by individual guides in the various places visited, who were prepared to open up their hearts and souls to inform us of their countries and knowledge of the places visited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not hesitate. Book the trip immediately.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Sarah Hamer

    Backroads of Sri Lanka - cycle

    To see Sri Lanka on two wheels was just the most amazing experience for us. Cycling through tea plantations, rice paddies, local villages and wildlife sanctuaries. A stunning country with the friendliest of people. Being part of a group made the holiday like one big party with friendly banter from breakfast through to lights out in the evening. Early starts met with the usual groan but what a way to spend the day flying along the roads enjoying all the sights along the way. A well organised trip with an excellent leader in Suresh. Nothing is too much trouble. A must do for the those out there thinking about your next Exodus adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunset and the sunrise the next morning in Ella listening to the call to prayer across the valley with the mist swirling around the mountains. Peaceful and just magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    How many words can we use. Suresh. Amazing. Witty. Helpful. Great listener. Entertainer. Historian. Super fit. Playful. Comedian. Kind. Considerate. Our group were 16 who became one large family all of us chatting and having the best time with Suresh being the party organiser. A great trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it and ask for Suresh as your tour leader. Nothing is stopping you. This has to be the only way to see this beautiful country. Get out there and see it.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Sonia Newman

    Snowshoeing in the Catalan Pyrenees

    This was a wonderful trip to the Catalan Pyrenees. The snow conditions were excellent - too much if anything, making some of the snowshoeing hard work. The food and drink at the hotels was great, allowing us to try local Catalan food. Our guide Miguel went out of his way to provide an interesting experience and impart his knowledge of the local area.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up through trees on day three in the cold, snow everywhere, with the sun shining and with glimpses of high peaks was magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader was excellent - an experienced mountain guide. He was very friendly and had a good knowledge of the history of the local area, taking us to interesting sites as well as the snowshoeing. He also arranged samplings of local produce and organised a night at a tapas bar on the rest day, which was fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, the walking is up and down mountains and they will enjoy it more if they are fit and have experience of hillwalking.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Andy LEWIS

    Fantastic first snowshoeing trip - snow, scenery, and guide all top notch. Loved it.

    This was my first snowshoeing trip and I enjoyed it immensely. The huge amount of fresh snow and mountainous terrain made it hard work at times but it was exactly what I was looking for. In fact, it exceeded my expectations. Gorgeous scenery, great hotels and food, an excellent and engaging guide, and sociable and entertaining fellow snowshoers all made for a great trip. The walking routes and attractions visited (e.g. cheese maker in a mountain village, the civil war destroyed village of Tirvia) were well-chosen for variety and to show some of the history and current way of life in this part of Catalunya. Miguel our guide was a mine of information, clearly passionate about the region, and an excellent tour leader. Beware: Before deciding to book this type of trip you need to be sure that you're fit enough. It's far from a walk in the Surrey Hills in summertime. The Pyrenees are high, steep, cold, and (thankfully when I was there) deep in snow, and the hikes quite long. One or two in the group didn't seem to be aware of this and our guide had to make the difficult decision to arrange some less demanding walks for them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in thigh-deep snow and seeing the sun come out and the clouds part and the high mountains of the Pyrenees come into view. Magic!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Miguel our guide was a mine of information on the history and socio-economic aspects of the area, clearly passionate about the region, engaging and sociable, extremely well-organized, and generally an excellent tour leader. Beware: Before deciding to book this type of trip you need to be sure that you're fit enough. It's far from a walk in the Surrey Hills in summertime. The Pyrenees are high, steep, cold, and (thankfully when I was there) deep in snow, and the hikes quite long. One or two in the group didn't seem to be aware of this and were not sufficiently fit, so our guide had to make the difficult decision to arrange some less demanding walks for them. This caused some friction in the group, but I, and others in the group, fully supported him in this.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See above about fitness level required.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think the group max size of 14 is too many. 8-10 is more manageable. Exodus should make it clearer to potential clients that this can be demanding walking, esp if the snow is deep, and that a good level of fitness is required.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30