Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Yvonne Carson

    Cycling Sardinia

    This is a wonderful trip, with some great scenery and lovely hotels. The guides are very knowledgeable about everything and know the terrain very well. The cycling can be quite tough at times - there are some big hills to climb! The heat can make the cycling quite hard going but the guides are so supportive and there is never any pressure to hurry. The trips on the ferry to the other smaller islands are lovely and really enhances the overall experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The other people on the group were amazing and so encouraging to each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. A bit serious at times but he takes his job seriously and he obviously cared about doing it well. Very knowledgeable about the area and never put any pressure on the cyclists to hurry up.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is heavy on seafood, which is great if you enjoy this kind of food. The food and drink it quite expensive and there isn't always much choice. Train well for those hills - you will enjoy the cycling more if you can cope with the hills. There are also some gravel roads, again do some preparation for this.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Matt Ormiston

    Mont Blanc Hihglights - Trip of a lifetime

    as avid followers of the Tour du France for all the scenery shots, we hooked on the idea of this trip when the 2016 tour went through Chamonix and a helicopter fly over of Mont Blanc was part of the coverage. We started to look for a reputable company that had local representation in Australia and we came across Exodus. Having never travelled to this part of the world and unsure what to expect the agents answered our many questions and for those they couldn't they organised a conference call with their UK office, who later sent photos of some of the areas I had queries on. This level of customer service convinced me Exodus was the right company for us and it turned out to be a good decision we had a great time, the Chalet was beautiful, food great and the company even better

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After a steep climb up to the Aiguillette des Houches to stand on the top and look across to Mont Blanc and the Les Bossons Glacier was truly inspiring. All our training had paid off and to be in this amazing part of the world was such a blessing and achievement. It made us hungry to explore more and further immerse us in this special place

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a great group leader, very relaxed but always got us where we needed to be safely and on time. Paul was very personable and eager to learn from us as we were from him. There was never a sense of rush and you felt that you could just enjoy the moment, the place and the activity without feeling like you were being moved along or curtailed in your ability to adventure Paul loves botany and geology and enjoyed sharing his knowledge with us. if he couldn't answer a question he would search out a answer and usually came back the next day with a response. Paul had probably done this walk many times but very gifted in making it feel like his first with us, adding to the awe and amazement for all of us first timers

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare as much as you can, ask lots of questions and make sure you are reasonably fit so that you can enjoy the experience without being breathless of feeling like you need to keep up. everyone got along really well and the pace worked out at a nice average such that no one was finding themselves breathless. Don't count yourself out on age, we had people from 30 to 70 and all made it through the days walking with a smile and sense of achievement.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our hosts Sarah and Rich were wonderful, we had beautiful 3 course meals with a different theme every night. They were a wealth of local knowledge and helped us with many other walking options and alternative activities for our free days and the extra days we stayed. Coming from Australia this is a big trip with a big anticipation and it was met in this experience. We look fondly back at our time and the friends we made and would happily do it all again If you'd like to read more on our journey you can go to - www.hikingfaith.com or watch our daily highlight clips at - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCnbSjAymlxmYDlMQH6-er9Q?view_as=subscriber
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Paul kane

    Paul

    It's a good trip if you are very fit and don't get unwell some of the hotels have no hot water some have no air con or fans highlight camel ride

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Camel ride

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ok but because he runs marathons I think he thinks we all can

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes don't get ill and you need to be reasonably fit

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Good luck
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Karen White

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    A fantastic holiday from start to finish. The hotel was comfortable, food was great and the staff very friendly. Our guide, Enrico was extremely knowledgeable and took us on some fantastic walks. View were absolutely stunning. I would definitely recommend this holiday although you do need to be fit for all the hills and steps!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just about every stunning view was inspirational! Have to admit I didn't expect to enjoy the visit to Pompey as much as I did - it was fascinating. Walking around the crater of Vesuvius was surreal. The walk to Ravello was my favourite walk. It's difficult to choose a best bit as it was all brilliant!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enrico was very friendly and continually made sure everyone was OK. His knowledge of the area, the plants, the culture etc was exceptional. He was extremely likeable and we were very lucky to have him as a guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes! I would not rate this holiday as easy to moderate. I would rate it moderate. I am reasonably fit but even I struggled on the last day with even more steps. The walking is in beautiful countryside and coastline but there really are thousands of steps to climb up and if you are not fit, you may struggle. Having said that our leader Enrico always had a "Plan B" and for those that were struggling, there was always the option of a bus for the second half of the walk so that no-one completely missed out. Proper walking shoes are also a must. Several of our group also found that their walking poles helped on some of the walks. Take a good camera - the views are stunning!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just to say thank you to Enrico and all the staff at the hotel who all helped to make this such a great holiday. I was also lucky that everyone in our group was really friendly too. I also enjoyed the few extra things included such as the pasta making demonstration one evening, the visit to a cheese factory and the pizza making demonstration one evening. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday - just book early as it is very popular and now I know why!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Annette Jorgensen

    Great cycling holiday in Romania

    Just back from a 8 days cycling trip in Romania and really loved this trip because here you get the chance of experience the real country life in Romania.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people of Romania was just so friendly and welcoming everywhere we went in the country and seeing their simple but laid back life was a true inspiration for all of us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The 2 guides Radu and Liviu is by no doubt some of the best guides I have ever had. So experienced and laid back and nothing was too much trouble for them. Also always ready for a party and to take the group out a night so just had so much fun with these guys.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not expect 5 star accommodation but expect something very different every night and to get close to the real people in Romania.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bikes are not fantastic on this trip but the days are relatively easy so didn't matter too much. However if you are a tall girl like me and prefer a male frame then please remember to request this - since for the first time I had to cycle on a female frame - which was not ideal for me.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Dieter and Sigrid Kadolsky

    Sri Lankan Highlights - Suresh Bandara

    The trip was excellent thanks to the leadership of Suresh and the interesting sites we visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was a shock to us that in the rural area a Sri Lankan took a bath in a very polluted small canal ... and had a toothbrush and toothpaste next to him.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was on the trip a very attentive and pro-active guide, caring for each of the members of the group individually and so made this trip most enjoyable. As he informed us at the end of the tour that although he had led this tour for the first time, he still was able to give us many details about the sites we visited and about Sri Lanka. Also, he went at lengths to take us to very special restaurants outside the hotels. We feel priviledged to have had Suresh as a group leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    After the trip, we spent five days at the Anantara Hotel in Kalutara at the seaside. Our hopes for quiet days at the beach were disappointed because the sea was too rough. We think we should have been advised of this.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Julia Ingall

    Interesting overview of China's highlights

    This trip covered many of the highlights of China from the Great Wall to Shanghai and did it very well. Although it was rated as 'leisurely' it was very busy and perhaps Exodus could introduce a new range of ratings to reflect how busy they are as well as the physical effort required. China is an interesting country going through massive change and urbanisation, I had not expected the huge amount of building work and high rise blocks built and being built and the sheer enormity of the cities visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the visit to the Panda Breeding Programme in Chengdu and seeing the baby pandas -such a conservation success story.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader Alan - Liu Bin was excellent, my only criticism was that he only seemed to have one speed which was fast, I prefer to amble and take in my surroundings particularly in a country with a different culture and this was not possible when trying to keep up with Alan. Alan gave us a very interesting and informative session on China's take on disputed territories which presented a different viewpoint from that we have been given in the West. Alan was very organised and full of information, he worked constantly but still maintained a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are not happy to use squat toilets I found that the disabled cubicle usually contained a 'potty' style. Coffee was not generally provided in hotel rooms so some sachets are useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotels in China do not provide maps, I found this very frustrating and feel that Exodus should provide maps of the area around the hotels used with information of suggested places to eat/drink and transport options to places of interest, it is not possible to print these before departure as hotels are not notified until arrival. As a consequence of the lack of maps I do not feel that I had an overview of the cities visited (spatial awareness). I found the food pretty boring, as the only non-meat eater I found that meat dishes were served first (a cultural norm) and often sat with just a couple to veg dumplings while the rest of the group tucked in, when the vegetables (and rice) eventually arrived they were usually rather bland and boring and the rest of the group were nearly finished eating. I would have welcomed the opportunity to pick a dish for myself from the menu. The much vaunted Sichaun Hot Pot was rubbish for me as the spicy part contains ox fat so I could not cook my food there and just had to use the boring unspicy broth. Three nights on trains was too many and Exodus should look at tweaking the itinerary as there was some wasted time waiting for trains and also when we go on the boat. Overall a very good enjoyable trip - I found China interesting and am very pleased I chose this trip as it gave a great overview.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Vicky Lewis

    Fantastic experience, wonderful people

    This was something I've been wanting to do for so long.... it was the most difficult but rewarding trip. What really made the experience magical was the guides and porters who were superheroes! Thank you for making my dream of climbing Kilimanjaro a reality!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from getting to the top, the guides and Porters... they were constantly cheerful, so helpful and even made me a birthday cake!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wonderfully friendly and helpful... dedicated and insightful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do whatever your guide tells you! Bring ear plugs and baby wipes!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Trefor Haines

    Natural Tenerife

    A superb opportunity to see a side of Tenerife that few holiday makers get to see. There is so much more to this island than large hotels, bars and beaches. We stayed in the north of the island initially in the beautiful and largely unspoilt town of La Laguna. The hotel is in the centre of this vibrant town an did a beautiful building with large rooms and a covered central courtyard. The town of Los Realejos, while not as beautiful as La Laguna has it's own charm and the hotel is more than adequate. The walks were well planned to show the wide variety of landscapes and scenery on this island. Some of the walks are the challenging side of moderate so be prepared for some slightly aching limbs at the end of the day. Don't be disappointed by not being able to climb to the summit of Teide itself because the view from Mount Guajara of Teide and the 16km diameter caldera of the volcano that existed before Teide is stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Viewing Mount Teide from the remains of Charles Piazzi Smythe's observatory on Mount Guajara.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Javier was simply excellent and went way beyond the call of duty.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take a fleece and waterproofs, it does get a little chilly and damp. The weather can change very quickly in the mountains.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rob Alleway

    Stunning South Africa

    This was our first trip to South Africa which we found was a stunning introduction. The pace of the trip was perfect, and we visited memorable and beautiful locations every day. The flora and fauna were amazing, the excursions should not be missed. The route is scenic and interesting

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We can't find a best moment as there were so many. The game drives close up to wildlife were perhaps what we enjoyed most, but seeing whales close up was just amazing. The penguins, ostriches all added to the flavour of the trip along with a sobering tour of Robben Island.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The trip would not have been so spectacular without our guide Justin. This guy is passionate about his country and has an encyclopeadic knowledge of flora and fauna as well as a local knowledge which takes you to the best vantage points on any trip. He went well beyond what we could have expected of our guide. He was engaging, humorous and attentive to everyone on the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The excursions should not be missed, make sure you have a large memory card for your camera, and buy a local sim card for your phone.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30