Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2018
    Susan Ross

    Amazing experience

    I travelled on my 50th birthday, determined to conquer the 'unknown' and explore a country that has always fascinated me since a young age. It's a hard core trip with lots of early starts but well worth any exhaustion as the exhilaration you experience, at all the new sights, smells and scenery is beyond any adjectives. It is a complete sensory experience and an opportunity to participate in this beautiful country and it's stoic people. I believe with Exodus, that I saw Vietnam perhaps at a more authentic perspective and for that, I am grateful. The food is wonderful, the sights are breath taking and the history is intricate and fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most of my trip was inspirational as, personally I love history. A cycle tour to Cham Island was very humbling and gave me the opportunity to speak with a Veteran from the Vietnam/ Cambodia war. We had a family lunch in Hue, which was amazing to experience 'home cooked' food. Latterly, we visited the Cu Chi tunnels, which whilst fascinating, certainly brought a sombre reflection to my trip ( but a good sombre!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nhi Pham was our guide and a wonderful young woman. She was caring, precise and kept us all under control ( not that we were overly wild!) Her knowledge of local history really brought Vietnam alive for me, with antidotes and localisms. Without her, my journey and experience would have been very poor. Nhi takes great pride and respect her country, therefore making her a wonderful ambassador for Vietnam.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some warmer clothes for the north and be advised that the overnight train journey is 'an experience'.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Karthi Pillai

    Cycle Sri Lanka - Amazing trip with some challenging cycling

    This was my 3rd trip with Exodus, and it was a really great experience. Sri Lanka is a wonderful country, very lush & green as it is a tropical country with lots of rain, so it is just green everywhere. The people are very humble & friendly, they speak English in most places, except in some really remote areas. The cycling itself was challenging, due to the heat factor, as it is quite a humid & hot most of the time. Overall, the trip exceeded my expectations, & I really enjoyed the cycling as that is what I was looking forward to.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The simplicity of the people & how humble they are, extremely friendly, and especially since we are on bikes, they are always fascinated by where we have come from & where we are going to, and the fact that we are cycling everywhere. Ridging through very remote areas is really refreshing as well, a nice break from the busy & polluted cities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is a great guy & a great leader, a great sense of humour, and goes out of his way to do more that what is expected of him & always does it with a smile.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some days of the cycling can be quite challenging, so ensure you have a decent level of fitness. I am fairly fit, and there were a few days that were tough. The weather plays an role as well, as it is very humid & hot, it adds to the difficulty of the cycling, so ensure you are prepared. Stray dogs are everywhere, lying in the middle of the roads roaming around, they are generally harmless, however, as you will be on bikes, they like to run after the bikes, sometimes giving up after a few meters, but sometimes they can chase you for a while, can be quite scary, but you just need to kick you leg out at them & shout at them & that will hopefully get rid of them. Lots of sunblock & insect replant is a must. The food is not for everyone, can be spicy & you may not get western food in all places. Keep hydrated, as it is extremely hot. Some of the accommodation is not the best, think we had 2 places where is was very basic, but that is expected, as some parts are not central & a little remote.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is a lovely trip, just be prepared for some decent cycling, and ensure you are ready for some real work, especially up the hills, climbing up to the tea plantation area was an epic ride, & very tough. Mostly enjoy the sights & sounds, as it was a really great trip with a great tour guide as well, who not only lead us cycling, but also gave us a lot of history on the country as well as some added activities, like a hike up to amazing lookout points.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Shamini Mahadevan

    Shamini

    Fantastic trip. Great people, scenery, culture and views. Very well organised and was very well looked after by trip leader and whole exodus team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting poon hill was very special for me as it was where my grandpa and grandma visited over 40 years ago so I thought of them as I looked across the amazing views. However there were many amazing moments including visiting beautiful monasteries and the feeling after crossing Throng la pass and seeing the amazing view on the other side.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was fantastic. He had a great awareness about all those in the group and how they were feeling and was always helping us to have the best time possible. He showed professionalism as well as being a really fun trip leader. Would 100% recommend him as a trip leader to friends travelling to Nepal. Thanks Bikash!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to Nepal! It is a beautiful place with beautiful people. Would recommend travelling in winter if you don't mind the cold and don't want the crowds.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Pat Rumpus

    Wildlife and More

    We knew December was the wettest month, but hearts sank when our first wildlife trip had to be abandoned as the river was too high for safety to take us there. However, our guides had a good backup plan and took us to the Sarawak Cultural Village where we were able to see some traditional longhouses and experience a display of spectacular tribal dances - including one of the group having a go with a blow pipe. We were lucky enough to see the bat exodus from Deer Cave at Mulu before the rain started again and forgot to stop. We were evacuated from our comfortable lodges while it was still daylight, wading through above-the-knee water to the restaurant. As it got darker, and the water deeper we expected to spend the night elsewhere than our comfortable beds. However, the rain did stop and the river stabilised so we were eventually boated back. The poor villagers further up the river didn't come off so easily in the worst floods for 14 years. All praise to the Garden Park staff and our guides for their excellent control of the situation, and their help to their neighbours as well as us. Don't forget your PONCHO! Preferably a discreet colour. A wading nature walk next day turned up a scorpion, various lizards and skinks as well as a Paradise Flycatcher and the sunshine brought back the butterflies. From the Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary on, the mammals were amazing. The monkeys are real characters with such expressive faces and it was good to see so many mums and babies. Great photo opportunities. Sepilok was a mixed experience. The youngsters are kept the other side of a glass wall and they didn't care for the pouring rain much either - rolling around trying to don sacks and holding leaves over their heads in attempts to keep dry. Although it was disappointing to only see one adult orangutan, it demonstrated how successful the rehab programme has been as far fewer babies and adults are coming in for care. However, moving on to Danum Valley, our outing turned up a mother and youngster orangutan yards from the centre. And they didn't stop coming. Five in a couple of hours. Even the guides were amazed. In all we saw ten or eleven over the whole of the trip, just doing their own thing in the trees. We were lucky enough to see a herd of pygmy elephants on our Kinabatangan river cruises. Again, loads of babies. There were a lot of boats vying for the best position so unfortunately the disturbance to the animals from noise and diesel was to be regretted. The birds were spectacular here too, hornbills, hawks, eagles and little flowerpeckers in the garden as well as more butterflies. Take binoculars and a camera with a good zoom if you want to get any animal shots. You don't need huge lenses - I got some great shots with a compact. And discreet colour clothing. Pack light. It really is 'deal with your own luggage' on this one and there aren't big retail opportunities so small is beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the interactions of the proboscis monkeys Seeing the orangutans wild in the trees Fabulous birds - amazing hornbills and bulbuls Pygmy elephants - adults barely taller than the tall grasses they were eating

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He organised things well and was a good birder which suited myself and my friend. He seemed to lack confidence in dealing with a group and found it difficult to address us all in one go. He really wanted us to see everything we came for but when things went against us weather wise, he found it hard to deal with. Unfortunately he did lose it with one of the group after a long day when it looked as though a river trip wouldn't be on because of continuing rain and went on a rant 'why don't you like me', 'I'm trying to do my best' and such like which was well out of order and had nothing to do at all with the group member.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Poncho! Umbrella. Waterproof shoes/boots (jungle walks need more than walking sandals). I dubbined a pair of cheap, microfibre lightweight, non waterproof boots and that really did do the business as I didn't want to take heavy leather boots. So can recommend that as a solution. Plenty of good mossie repellent as it gets washed off in the rain. Incognito is a good natural (non Deet) one. Discreet colour clothing Long walking socks and spray them with anti mossie to deter the leeches. I took gaiters and some managed to creep under so wouldn't recommend. Something simple to change into for dinner. Nowhere's 'dressie'.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can thoroughly recommend this trip but possibly not in December. It is so different and truly exciting. All the variety of creatures and plants are wonderful. I thought ginger was just 'ginger' but not in Borneo - there are tomes on the different varieties. And so it goes on - 4 or more huge volumes on orchids - and that's only the ones that have been discovered. It was such a pleasure to see orchids and other colourful, unusual to us, plants growing in the gardens. I loved it all, despite the rain!
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Richard Salewski

    Discover Costa Rica

    Fabulous holiday - due in no small part to our guide Katia, she went over and above what could have been expected. It included early morning and late evening walks to watch wildlife that weren’t included in the tour. Also travelling with a great bunch of people absolutely made the holiday. Can’t wait for my next Exodus trip. Richard

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tortuguero was brilliant and Esquenas Lodge

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn’t have done more to make for a great holiday

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a poncho
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Stuart Robinson

    Victoria Falls to Cape Town Camping Trip

    I thoroughly enjoyed the holiday from day one. The guides were very good and were always on hand to give some assistance if required. Some of the days were fairly exhausting with the travelling and heat but plenty of water was handed out and the bus was comfortable for the long journeys. I am 65 years old and fairly fit but took part in all the activities so this trip shouldn't deter anyone of advanced years. The only slight moans I had were that the canoe trip on the Orange River should have been cancelled owing to the weather conditions - one canoe capsized - and the toilet/washing facilities were pretty dire at the Aba Huab campsite. This was a beautiful location in the desert but the toilets and showers were disgusting. The bus had some problems with a puncture and eventually died in Namibia but the guides whistled up a replacement without affecting our holiday - Well done Nyasha! Overall, I would have no hesitation in recommending this trip to anyone who was prepared to "muck in" with the rest of the group to make this holiday a memorable one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was at the Aba Huab campsite where about five of us sat round a campfire with a few beers and watched "moon rise" - magical. There were many more memories such as the wildlife at the water holes at the Etosha National Park, the red sand dunes of Namibia at sun rise and the stunning Fish River Canyon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Nyasha and Sylvia were very good and great company. Nyasha did most - perhaps too much - of the driving and organising and Sylvia was an excellent cook and knew so much about Namibian history, culture and wildlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to contribute to the holiday by helping to set up the campsites and packing up - one chap in our group did much of the washing up after the meals! You are not required to help the guides but it helps to break the ice with your fellow travellers and guides - and it feels a little uncomfortable just standing and watching someone else do something that you are quite capable of doing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not really - I would just like to thank guides, Sylvia, Nyasha, Clifford and Lukas, plus my fellow travellers for a really wonderful holiday.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    M B

    Transylvania Winter Walk & Snowshoe

    Definitely a moderate trip ( in winter ) . Some challenges with packed ice / deep snow so a reasonable level of fitness would be helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    getting through a couple of very steep , snow and ice packed sections of a couple of the walks

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thomas was full of historical info and local knowledge which he was more than happy to share. good sense of humour and encouragement when he thought it was needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    use clothing layer system, plus gaiters . Weather can be sunny / cold / rainy / snowy . There are times when you dont snow shoe but may need to walk in deeper snow as its safer than an icy path. Alternatively it could be muddy and gaiters do help keep you clean. Definitely take some shoe grippers that can fit onto your boots i.e. Yaktrax or those rubber /spiky things sold in many shops. Some paths are sheet packed ice and the grips give you that extra safety feature , but you will be putting on and taking off multiple times during a walk so make sure you are familiar with them. The paths vary depending on if they are in open / forest / gorge etc. If you can , carry an old hiking trousers belt / webbing/ bit of string . Its useful to help tie down the snow shoes onto your rucksack ( if you dont have side straps on the rucksack ) . The guesthouse is cosy and warm , plenty of hot water. No TV in rooms . You make your lunch sandwich at the breakfast table in mornings and carry it with you. Might be worth carrying your own trail bars / jelly babies etc if you like to snack en route . A flask to carry your own tea ( the guest house will fill with hot water or fruit tea ) may also be useful in cold weather. You really only need a bit of spending money as one night in a restaurant in Brasov ( I had 2 beers plus main plus starter and it was 60 Lei or 12 pounds total . Roughly 5 Lei to the pound ) . The guest house runs a tab that you settle on final night. You just help yourself to beers ( one beer is 5 or 6 lei depending on brand , teas in afternoon 4 lei ) from fridge , mark it on your list and settle at end . The guest house is in middle of nowhere , really isolated . So no town or shops to walk to etc.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Hannah Reese

    The perfect winter escape

    If you're looking to get away from it all in unspoilt scenery, try out different winter activities, and generally have an experience you'll never forget, then book this trip. The location is beautiful, the staff are great, the food was absolutely delicious, and I didn't want to leave!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The optional snowshoe hike in Riisitunturi National Park was fantastic. The scenery was something I'd never seen, and everything I wanted to see when I imagined Finnish Wilderness. Also the silence in the forest, and exploring on snowshoes with others, or practicing cross country skiing alone. It's a perfect escape bubble from the rest of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teddy/Bjorn was great - very laid back with a great sense of humour. All the staff at Basecamp were knowledgeable and really friendly. The whole place has a relaxed and cosy feel.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it! If you like being outdoors, making new friends, and trying out new activities then you'll have a great time. You don't need any experience of the activities, just be willing to have a go. On a practical note: The afternoons are mostly free so you can be as active as you choose to be - either snowshoeing, cross country skiing, using the sauna and hot tub, or just taking a nap! Evenings were spent playing cards or boardgames, chatting, or reading by the fire. Drinks are available from reception - I recommend the cloudberry liqueur, or the peppermint in some hot chocolate! Optional activities can be quite pricey so do allow for that. You pay for everything on your tab at the end of the week. If you're not a downhill skier or boarder then Ruka doesn't have much to do, but I found the day spa and a nice coffee shop. A few others went snowmobiling. Wifi works in the dining room/reception (most of the time) and you can always use 4G in the rooms if you need to. Bring a spare power pack if you like taking photos on your phone. The cold will drain your battery quicker than at home. Basecamp really do provide everything you need to stay warm, and you don't need to pack much at all. Just a few sets of your own baselayers, hat and buff, and then jeans and jumper for the evening.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Gail Leeder

    Fabulous Winter Walking

    If you're looking for European winter walking, this is for you. The sun was gorgeous (although the wind is cold on the mountain tops so make sure you have warm clothes) with fabulous, long range, 360 deg views. Jose's sandwiches are already legendary, and rightly so, but he is also an experienced, knowledgeable and fun walk leader. The perfect escape from a dark, grey, damp UK and only a short flight away. Don't expect to lose weight though!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the summits and enjoying the fabulous views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose was fabulous - knows the area well and is enthusiastic about sharing information so you understand your surroundings and appreciate the walks even more. Very conscious of the group to ensure that everyone is enjoying the walk, that the pace is right, and anyone who is a little uncertain in parts is encouraged and supported.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring layers, gloves and a warm hat. The sun can be warm (sometimes we were in T shirts) but the wind is icy, especially on the mountain tops (in January anyway).
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Stephen Clark

    Annapyrnna Circuit

    A great holiday. Excellent leader, good group, great weather, excellent views, lovely locals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the Thorong la Pass and the high mountains all around us. Pokhara was great fun on New years eve.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, he mixed in with the group in the evenings and was always joyfull and very knolageable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to enjoy yourself and have plenty of card space in your camera. It is a strenuous trek with plenty of steep ups and downs to tax the knees

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only thing I would comment on is the fact that you have to take extra cash for your evening meals, I personaly would like to see the price of the meals in the total price you pay for the holiday, then you would not have to take so much extra cash with you.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30