Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2017
    Irene Turner

    Great way to see SA

    An interesting and varied trip, including trekking in several locations, safaris in a number of places, a trip to a beach and a boat ride to see hippos and other wildlife. I like hippos and gazelles.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being woken by elephants at night whilst in my permanent tent in the first game reserve we visited. Being vegetarian and not being given pasta every night for dinner. The food was actually very, very nice and thoughtfully prepared - with a different menu every night!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The two leaders, Mira and Marco, were marvellous. They answered all my questions about the trip, the country and its history. Mira Is particularly knowledgeable about all the scientific names of the plants in the areas we went.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a SÁ travel adaptor (or be pleasantly surprised when your travel companions have one). Take clothes for all climates. Be prepared not to see any Baoba trees. It's best if you like wild animals, otherwise the safaris are a bit boring. Some of the walks are uphill, but in the Drakebsberg mountains you can do your own, flatter walks. The Swazi Candles shop in Swaziland is excellent: Stock up whilst you can. No need to bring half a suitcase of food with you: as it turns out, there are supermarkets in SA that sell edible vegetarian food! The group leaders also provide excellent food!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to my daughter and son-in-law for taking me on this fascinating trip. It was an excellent trip and highly recommended.
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Pam Peers

    Superb, fun-filled trip with lots of variety

    This trip covers a lot of ground! I can't believe how much we managed to do in just two weeks, and needed my photos and videos to remind me. The accommodation was of an exceptionally high standard and we slept very well everywhere. Our own guides were brilliant, and the external guides at various locations were excellent and very knowledgeable about their specialist areas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were too many to list them all! Crossing Buffalo River (near Rorke's Drift) was quite an adventure - certainly very memorable. Michael Caine would have been proud of us :-) The Sentinel Path walk, in the Drekensburg range, was wonderful and the ladders weren't too challenging - well worth the effort to reach the escarpment with superb views for miles in all directions. Watching hippos at close range, from the safety of a sturdy boat, was an amazing experience. The wildlife encounters were fantastic everywhere - I never imagined we would be able to see so many varied species at such close proximity.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had an amazing team! Colly, Skhu and Farai were all fantastic and worked hard from morning to night to ensure that we all had a great holiday. It was a privilege to share their insights into the fascinating culture, history and landscape of South Africa. They were very good at judging when we needed a break on the long days travelling, and made sure we had plenty to eat and drink at all stages. They prepared varied and interesting meals, and there was always more than enough for even the most hearty appetites.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes carefully. Take plenty of sunscreen and insect repellent. Don't take too many clothes - the laundry service in Swaziland was very good and excellent value for money

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    South Africa is a wonderful country and this trip provides an excellent introduction to a small part of it. We added a few extra days in Johannesburg at the end of the trip, and visited Soweto, Kliptown and the Apartheid Museum. I'd recommend it very highly and wish we'd had longer.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Madeleine Newcomb

    South Africa Wildlife and Walking

    A good mix of wildlife watching in a number of areas and walking in the Drakensberg Mountains

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view of The Amphitheatre in the Drakensberg

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Colly, and his assistants were excellent. They were patient and knowledgeable. It was great to witness young men with such a passion for their surroundings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My only reservation is that I didn't get to the ladders on The Sentinel climb. My advice is to NOT LOOK DOWN at the exposed sections (I didn't do this). Your leaders will make sure you are safe the whole way.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Stephanie Walker

    South Africa: Walking and Wildlife

    Difficult to sum up as we were offered such a wealth of experiences on this holiday. However revelling in the wonders of the natural world, whether specifically looking for wildlife, or walking in the mountains and hills, was a constant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Again, there were any number. However, getting out a a 4X4 in a game reserve, walking cautiously and quietly in line behind our ranger with his rifle, to come over the top of a rise to find hippos and crocs in front of us in the river.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had three leaders who worked incredibly hard, driving, shopping, cooking, clearing up and keeping us informed about what we were seeing. They were all skilled, knowledgeable and thoroughly professional. They also guided and safeguarded us on walks with patience and understanding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were very lucky to find ourselves to be a friendly and confident tour group so were able to rely on others for support as well as our guides. I found it useful to have a hydration bladder, rather than fumbling about with water bottles, in my backpack, and, having some concerns about my elderly knees, I used trekking poles for every walk; all was well.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were fortunate with the support of our guides, our fellow-travellers and the weather, along with the amazing things we saw and did on this trip. It was a brilliant experience.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Nandita Nelson

    Walking and Wildlife South Africa

    A very varied holiday, filled daily with new adventures so that it felt longer than 2 weeks. The animal sightings on safari and the early morning estuary trip were thrilling and the views on the mountain walks breathtaking. The added excitement of panning for gold, the aspects of historical interest (Anglo-Zulu war) and a day at the beach whale watching made this trip truly memorable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a whale launch itself out of the Indian Ocean, do a somersault and land with an almighty splash. Seeing a leopard stroll past the rear bumper of the van. Seeing a group of baby elephants taking a mudbath and an oxpecker (bird) disappear into the ear of an Impala. Seeing the glorious Drakensburg draped in mist, which then melted away to leave a crystal clear deep blue sky. See an African Paradise flycatcher flit through the trees with its orange ribbon tail floating in the breeze. Eating the delicious S African cuisine prepared by our superb guides under the stars, washed down with some excellent S African vintage.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Colly was first class. He was so concerned about our welfare and worked so hard to make sure EVERYONE was having a good time. He never rested really. Also extremely well organized and everything was beautifully organized, on-time and under control. He did also chat and have fun with the group. Definitely "DANGEROUS" when it came to Uno.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a range of temperatures, the plains are very hot and the mountains cold. Some longish transfers, so be prepared with entertainment. Washing and toilet facilities everywhere were excellent-even in Kruger where there was a shared toilet block and an enormous bath. Mosquitoes were not too much of a problem, but some insect repellent needed. Don't forget some binoculars, or you will miss out. Birders, you will not be bored or disappointed! Not many maps provided, and I wished I had one to trace our route. Easy to purchase wine at supermarket stops--LOTS of good quality S African wine VERY reasonably priced. (Didn't sample the beer, so no comment there).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Relax and enjoy. If you want a varied holiday, not too strenuous, but not too idle, with good facilities and some adventure go for this. You won't regret it.
  • Reviewed May 2016
    Eleanor Freckleton

    South Africa Walking and Wildlife

    I had booked this holiday because of the variety of activities on offer and it didn't disappoint. My main interest was the hillwalking and this was superb in all locations, however I found the safari part of the holiday just as enjoyable. The sights we saw, such as the cloud inversion at God's Window, were also stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of the walks offered something unique and I enjoyed them all. I was surprised by how lush the countryside was in Swaziland and it was a very picturesque walk. The scenery and views in the Drakensberg were stunning and all of the walks here were excellent. I particularly enjoyed our scrambling up the Crack. Unfortunately we were not able to go up the chain ladders to the top of the amphitheatre due to high winds. Our guide made the right call on this one but we still managed to get some spectacular views from the viewpoint slightly further down. The whole Drakensberg experience was awe inspiring, helped by the location of our lodge in the Royal Natal National Park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our main leader Andy was outstanding. He has a fantastic personality, which really helped to bolster our group spirit, and he was also passionate about all the activities and very hard-working throughout the trip. He was a great help to me personally when I needed medical attention halfway during the trip. Andy was assisted ably by Colly and David. Nothing was too much bother for them and they did everything with a smile.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes are very informative. I would also add that walking poles would be very useful, albeit not essential. I think the walking part of the trip is fairly graded as a 3. The walks are not overly long, but do require a reasonable level of fitness. There was also a fair degree of scrambling required on our second last walk. I would reiterate previous reviews about some long transfers on the minibus. A good supply of reading materials and music kept me occupied. However, I personally would not change the itinerary as each of our stopovers had something unique to offer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can't praise this holiday highly enough. We had a great group spirit and one of the most enjoyable things for me was simply the companionship each night after the day's activities. Our nights round the campfire at the private game reserve are particularly memorable. Add to this an action-packed itinerary with splendid walking and sightseeing opporunities and it truly was a spectacular holiday.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Anthony Negus

    walking and wildlife

    The whole trip was fantastic. The only downside was the failure to inform the leader of my requirement for a gluten free diet. I don't think Ende had even heard of the condition, but, when it was explained to him he coped brilliantly even to the extent of preparing my main dish separately.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing elephants in the wild for the first time is always a thrill. I have seen them on several occasions but it is always a thrill.The lodges at Royal Natal park and in Swaziland together with the views were something special

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ende was fantastic he organized everything brilliantly. I would happily go with him again, also I cannot speak to highly of Collie and Marco who were very knowledgeable and interesting to listen to.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for this one

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure the people on the ground know about special diets.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Lauren Sable

    South Africa Walking & Wildlife

    We booked this trip for our Honeymoon, it was something we always wanted to do and we enjoy trekking. We said we would keep a very open mind when getting to South Africa as we didn't expect to see a lot of animals or didn't know what to expect with the accommodation. Well, we were completely blown away with what we saw on this trip, within the first evening on the safari we saw Elephants, Giraffes, Buffalo, Impala and Wildebeest. The accommodation was very good, clean and tidy. Our favourite place we stayed was Mtomeni Safari camp in Letaba Ranch Reserve, this was the true safari experience for us. There was no electricity so bring your torch, sat round the fire, taken back to our tent in the evening by a guide with a riffle just in case we had an unexpected visitor!!. Waking up in the morning to site of the beautiful river with some monkey playing outside of tent was brilliant! Kruger Park was not as touristy as we thought it would be, the camp sites were really good and the showering facilities were very clean. Seeing all the animals so close to our van was incredible. It was almost like the animals were just as interested in us as we were in them! The walking comes later in the trip mainly, the mountains were breath-taking. The scenery surrounding our accommodation was amazing. Drakensberg is such a beautiful place and easily somewhere you could go back in the future for more walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight of the trip was seeing Elephants walking in a line, crossed the road with their young (who kept looking back at us) it just fantastic and something I only dreamed I was see. It totally made our trip and was a dream come true! Also the safari game walk was a brilliant activity. Our guides Craig and Edwin were brilliant and very friendly. We tracked a giraffe then saw it in the distance. It was great to learn so much from him and being in the bush on foot was amazing an experience we will never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Ende and he was absolutely incredible as were our 2 other guides Colly and Marco. They were all very knowledgeable on the animals, birds, trees, plants etc we saw and could identify every we saw (even when we were quite far away!) The meals were excellent and so tasty, every meal was different. We really enjoyed their company and are hoping to stay in touch in the future. Anyone who gets these 3 guys as guides will be very lucky and are sure to have an amazing time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The drives can be very long on some days driving to different places so maybe take a book or something to occupy yourself. However the guides have a library on the van with lots of wildlife/birds etc which you are welcome to read.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is two holidays in one, with the safari and trekking, the trekking mainly comes in the second half when you head for the mountains. Due to the weather being so hot our walks we a little limited but only for our safety. This trip really is something special so definitely do not hesitate to book this one!!
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Denise Hooper

    South Africa Walking and Wildlife

    I loved the variety of this trip. The accommodation ranged from lodges to mountain huts to tents. The activities covered day hikes and game drives. The scenery went from cool mountain plateaus to hot lowlands to lovely beaches. The organisation was streamlined.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Sentinal track was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our group leaders, David and Andrew, were all we could wish for - happy, thoughtful, efficient and caring. Collie was a quick learner.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take fewer clothes, a good zoom lens camera and good binoculars.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd recommend this trip to everyone.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Lisa Hutchison

    South African Walking Safari

    This trip has the perfect blend of hiking and wildlife. Without exception the walks were stunning, and the game viewing in Karongwe and Kruger plentiful and awe-inspiring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being only a few metres from an adult male lion in Karongwe. He had his back to us, but would look round every now and again, not at all bothered by our prescence. The endless views in the Drakensburg, from the imposing amphitheatre to that 'top of the world' feeling at Sentinel Peak.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    David, Andrew and Coli achieved legendary status in my eyes. I have never known one guide work so hard to ensure a trip runs smoothly, let alone three! Pitching and striking tents, preparing all our delicious meals, and driving us thousands of kilometres so we could see so much of this beautiful country, all the while providing great company and humour along the way. Give them all a medal.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you can't stand the heat, don't travel in November.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I genuinely don't think I can top this trip, but I'll continue to travel the world trying. ;-)
Call us on 020 420 22 20