Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Lizzy Mullings

    Amazing Week

    I have just returned from my weeks trekking in the Atlas Mountains, 3-10th September. All I can say is the experience was everything I hoped it to be. The staff at Exodus have been fabulous. Said our guide was fabulous, and the group of people brilliant despite mixed abilities. What I can say is that I did prepare for this trip and would not have been able to have done it if I hadn't spent time improving my overall physical fitness. I am ready to book my next trip with this company already...looking to go to the Simien Mountains Trekking,

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the Top of Mt Toubikal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was a wonderful, supportive individual, understated in his nature, ..what a nice man

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is not easy, and you need to train for this trip and have a good level of fitness
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Helen Cavill

    Challenging but very rewarding week in the Atlas Mountains

    A challenging trek but definitely achievable with a good level of fitness and pacing yourself. The terrain is very tricky, with steep inclines, scrambling over large rocks and long sections of loose scree. However, the scenery is inspiring and you'll finish the week with a real sense of accomplishment. Rounding off the trip with a day in the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh is great fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing at the highest point in North Africa (4167m), with clear blue skies and mountains reaching out as far as the eye could see. After setting off at 5am by head-torch light, the summit felt like another world. Also, the food prepared by our local chef was a daily delight - the Moroccan dishes were wonderful and the whole group were far too excited the day that he produced omelette and chips...!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    S'aid was brilliant. He did a good job keeping a large group (16) together when we all walked at varying paces. His English was impeccable and he had a great sense of humour. The whole trip was organised really well and the timings were pretty accurate. S'aid did fantastically to ensure that the whole group made it to the summit of Toubkal together (and down again safely) - it was a very long and challenging day but we were in safe hands the whole time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some snacks (sweets, nuts etc.) to keep you going on the trek. If you want any kind of souvenirs relating to Toubkal (e.g. t-shirts), make sure you get them before you leave the Atlas Mountains (the village where you stay in the gite is best) because you can't find anything of the sort in Marrakech! Keep walking slow and steady and you'll make it. Walking poles are definitely worthwhile for steep uphill sections and to help with dodgy knees going downhill. Make sure you have good worn-in boots - if you get blisters on the first day you'll spend the whole week regretting it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great value trip with a busy but balanced itinerary - highly recommended.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Bertan Ercin

    There and back a gain..........a trekkers tale

    From the bustling red city of Marrakech to the peak of Jebel Toubkal (and back), this trip far exceeded my expectations. The days in Marrakech that bookend the trek offer the opportunity to explore some of the main attractions such as the Jardin Majorelle, and, of course, the medina with its labyrinth souks and the famous Djemaa el Fna main square. Both are within walking distance of the hotel, which is of a good standard with very friendly staff (they will print your boarding pass for you, thankfully!),though i would recommend taking a taxi to the medina unless you are confident of the route. Most taxis hold 3 passengers and as a rule of thumb 10 Dirham per head is a good price. The trek offers a wealth of stunning and varied scenery and trails, from lush valleys and terraced fields irrigated by the rivers flowing from the High Atlas to the snow capped peaks of the mountains themselves. A highlight was the lunch on day 1 of the trek taken in a meadow. The trail is a combination of mule paths, rough, stony terrain, and scree ( and snow at the higher altitudes when we visited in early May). I have never used walking poles but these would have been very useful on days 4 and 5 when ascending and descending the optional high pass trek and Jebel Toubkal. Ice axes and crampons were needed for the Toubkal climb at this time of year and i found these great fun- it was the first time i have ever used them, but will not be the last! There was a great range of age groups and abilities in our exceptional group, and our tour leader Hassan and additional guide Mohammed who joined us for the Toubkal ascent managed the pace extraordinarily well, ensuring everyones welfare and giving everyone the best possible opportunity to achieve the summit- everyone who went for the summit made it. The views from the summit will stay with me from some time. Toubkal is tough and was my first high altitute summit for some time, and serves as a great foundation for some loftier peaks. Our tour leader Hassan was magnificent. We had to divert from the itenery on day 2 which resulited in a comfortable stay in a gite rather than camping due to snow making a high pass on the traditional route inaccessible for our mules. Hassan expenmined the diversion in detail and our acclimatisation did not suffer. This was symptomatic of the whole trip which was flawlessly organised from start to finish. The food was amazing and supplied calories just when they were needed. What makes the quality of the food even more amazing was that for the most part it was prepared in a tent by a chef that had traveled with us . No-one was made ill by the food. I am full of respect for our tremendous guides, chef, muleteers and the magnificent mules that formed our team in Morocco and who do an exceptional job. I highly recommend this trip for anyone with a sense of adventure, perseverance and with a reasonable level of fitness. Camping is basic so perhaps not for those who need their creature comforts, but it all adds to the adventure in my opinion and i wouldn't change a thing. Afternoon tea and delicious pancakes at the campsites were an unexpected treat ( if your group saves you any......protecting them from the wasps indeed!)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from the summit of Jebel Toubkal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptional. Very good communication skills, safety conscious with a great understated sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack a pen in your hand luggage to fill in the entry forms, and ensure you stick to the times set by your leader for departure as getting through to the departure gate can take some time due to checks. Walking sticks are highly recommended, and a good travel pillow for the tents. Always agree a price straight up before getting in a taxi and 10 dirham per head is standard for taxis, or 30 dirham for a normal taxi that takes three passengers. Hand gel/ wet wipes are a must for the daysack.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Catherine Allen

    Returning to Mt. Toubkal and the High Atlas Mountains

    The 8-day trip is the perfect way to explore the High Atlas Mountains and get a flavour of Moroccan culture and history. It gives you time to build up to the climb, appreciate the scenery you're walking through and get to know your fellow trekkers. I really enjoyed the experience, and hope you do, too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To start with; the company of my fellow trekkers - we were a diverse group, but we got on really well. We laughed, we encouraged each other and shared every experience. Priceless! This trip was also important for me as I'd last been to Marrakesh, the High Atlas, Neltner Refuge and Mt. Toubkal 30years ago as an 18 year old student. I wanted to revisit my memories of that time, and brought some of my old photos with me for comparison. Not unsurprisingly, much has changed over the years thanks to tourism, much of it positive, but there were still wonderful echoes of that journey to be found - for example; at Neltner I met the Grandson of the man who had managed the original Neltner Refuge back in 1988, when it was just a single stone 'hut'. Our guide, Hassan, had also worked there as a student, and it is possible that we had coincided 30 years ago! Amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan guided us with a firm but gentle hand throughout the trek. Trying to organise 16 people can't have been easy, but he remained unruffled in all situations. Thank you, Hassan, for your organisational skills, gentle humour and insights into the history and culture of the mountains! I would also like to thank the rest of the Moroccan staff, who fed us royally (sometimes under difficult circumstances) and made sure the camp was ready at the end of each day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As advised in the trip notes, I would strongly recommend you come prepared with dry-bags to pack your kit into, especially your sleeping bag. We got caught in a storm on the second morning, and a couple of the group ended up with wet sleeping bags - not good!
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Mark Houghton

    Walking up Mt. Toubkal.

    Great to be able to walk to the highest mountain in North Africa and in the Atlas Mountains of Morocco. No special skills or climbing gear was required for the trip. For this trip you needed to be reasonable fit and able to cope with moderate high altitude walking. The weather was kind to us, but there were numerous clouds around the top of the mountain meaning that our distant views were not clear. Close mountain ranges looked impressive. Lush green valleys contrasted with stark bare mountain tops. A walk well worth doing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Mt. Toubkal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was very good. He had excellent local knowledge, knew the trip tracks and venue well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This walk is not a stroll in the park. I would only recommend it for seasoned walkers who enjoy a reasonably hard walk in mountainous terrain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not recommended for families with young children or for those who usually go for 'strolls' in suburban areas.twp
  • Reviewed September 2016
    David Ellis

    mt toubkal climb

    a very well organised trip, my first with exodus, so not sure what to expect, but the hospitality of the berber people, and our guide hassan, will live long in the memory

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the view from the top of mt toubkal looking over to the sahara

    What did you think of your group leader?

    hassan set a perfect pace, with a break now and then , and even invited us for tea at his home at the end of the trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    go for it, well worth the effort.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Samantha Hopkins

    Mount Toukbal Climb

    My partner and I choose to use Exodus again having experienced a fantastic trip with an amazing guide to the Anti Atlas in October 2014. However we were very disappointed with this trip; on the first night the tents arrived after us: consequently we all got completely soaked despite wearing our waterproofs; our kit bags when they arrived had not been covered properly and consequently some travellers had wet kit; there was a no toilet tent; the tables and equipment were very poor quality. None of these problems had we experienced the previous year. To add to this the guide was very unfriendly, set the pace at that of the fastest walkers (bad mountain leadership)! To summarise we are very reluctant to use Exodus again; pity after such a good first experience. We are travelling to Nepal in February with a rival company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunrise on Mount Toukbal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Poor.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take dry bags to out in the kit bags.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unless Exodus up their game we will not be using you again.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Susan Meehan

    Mount Toukbal in the summer!

    I was concerned about trekking in the Atlas Mountains during summer as I am not very good in the heat! It was very hot but I drank bottle-fuls of water to keep me hydrated. My heart was overworked at times but I managed to complete all the walking plus the optional extras. I was delighted! You do have to love walking to do this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to reach the summit of Mount Toukbal with most of the group after a gruelling walk up on a beautiful afternoon was sensational. The sky was deep blue and the views were tremendous.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was a fabulous leader whose primary concern was for the group as a whole. He runs a tight ship and his approach is meticulous. He inspired confidence right from the start.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We did a lot of walking - about 7 hours each day. On two days we did quite a bit less than this though had a choice of doing optional/extra walks. It is a great idea to take water purification tablets as we had access to water (provided in a jerry can) at lunch and dinner times and could fill up easily and regularly. Drinking tube attachments which you can fit on to water bottles are a great idea as it will ensure that you can continue drinking and hydrating while walking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were looked after amazingly well by Hassan and his support team and wonderful mules. We had plentiful and delicious meals and couldn't have asked for more. I had forgotten that it can get a little hot in a tent! We didn't all sleep throughout the night, but someone we bumbled on!
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Stefano Cernicchiaro

    Mt Toubkal

    So I booked onto this trekk at very short notice (5 days before departure) and was very pleased with the help giving to me by the company in making sure there was space available for me on the trip. From the moment I left Scotland to the moment I left Morocco to come back home I had nothing but an excellent experience with Exodus. The trip was well catered for with fantastic guides who at times gave us abit of knowledge about the areas we where trekking through. This was my first experience with Exodus and would highly reccommend them to family and friends.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me the most inspirational part of the trip was how well the group and staff got on and we all helped each other in different ways during the trekk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader Was excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sun Cream lots of Sun cram!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Kieran Will

    Kieranwill

    So we started in Marrakech and stuck to the plan of the trip notes (as they very accurate) The trip itself housed some incredible views, experiences and long lasting memories! I personally did it for my 18th and found the trip to be an overwhelmingly positive experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A frankly unbeatable moment in the Atlas Mountains was camping above the clouds with beautiful, Sparkling stars overhead. This could only be outmatched by the high standard of cooking (putting my mother to shame) and the abundance of food leaving us full many an occasion.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had hassan as a group leader. He engaged exceeding well and helped to make the trip what it is (a magical experience). He brought many a laugh to us, kept us safe and cared for us all week. He was also very organised as we reached each destination nearly perfectly on the predestined time he suggested if we didn't beat his time. Abdul was also with us, constant smiling with a warm, welcoming glow. One thing I can safely say is that u will be in safe hands!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring sun cream and prepare to sweat but it is sooo worth it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    10/10 would do again!
Call us on 020 420 22 20