Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Marilyn Carroll

    Walking and lots of cakes

    Mixed weather meant some cloudy days but views of the Tyrol were lovely on the good days. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The rooms were a good size and had a balcony to sit on to enjoy the views. Very quiet at night. The evening meals were 4 courses and ample. No nouvelle cuisine here. Vegetarian meals were available each evening. The packed lunches from the hotel worked well as the nearest shop was a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The level 3 walks had a stop for coffee and cakes on most days. Be prepared to go on a diet when you get home! The first 2 walks for the level 3 were the least challenging and were mainly on forest tracks so the views were restricted. The last 3 walks were the best for views. The Achensee travel pass was a good way to see the area by public transport.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Rofanspitze walk. Views from the summit were panoramic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob Mason led the Level 3 walks. An excellent guide with good knowledge of flora, fauna and history of the area. The other leader Paul was also very helpful. The 2 guides work well together as a double act at the evening briefings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good boots and walking poles recommended as the trails can be slippy and muddy when wet.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Smoking in the hotel bar is allowed as Austria has not yet made smoking in public illegal, unlike other European countries. The hotel allows you to run up a bar tab which is payable at the end of the week.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Kevin Powell

    Excellent Walking: shame about the weather!

    A very good week. Great group of people with a good choice of excellent, well lead walking. The Hotel was a generally good for the grade, I'd have no problem staying in this hotel again. Whilst the evening meals are perfectly OK, they could be improved (see below), hence the less than excellent overall rating. I'd happily do this holiday at this hotel again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting at the top of Vordernnutz sunny and warm, with a 360 panorama eating my lunch. Brilliant and well worth the haul up to the top.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very, very good. Clearly very experienced and knowledgeable about the area. Oozed competence and confidence. I would not hesitate to go with him again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The level five walks are physically demanding, even for a very fit, keen 63 year old like me. Five walks in six days with over 1000 meters of up most days is not easy. You need to be fit, motivated and have the right kit for mountain walking. However, if it's your thing, then it's very rewarding.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The weather was not particularly kind. I chose the level 5 walking, and the views from the mountain tops were obscured by cloud on four of the five days. On the day it cleared, the views were superb! That said each walk was rewarding challenge. Hotel generally was good. It was busy and the staff work very hard and are quick and efficient, however this can sometimes appear a little brusque. However it was never noisy in the rooms (3rd floor in our case). Our room was of a good size, clean, with an excellent shower, plenty of hot water irrespective of time of day, and comfortable (if a little firm) beds. Good choice at buffet style breakfast. Also, the evening food was plentiful and filling, always arrived hot, which for such a busy place is no small achievement. However, the overall selections and quality were perfectly acceptable, but hardly inspiring, and could have been a little more varied. Overall, good but could be better for only a little more effort.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    John Martin

    Great time

    A fantastic experience, great hotel and food with friendly staff. Two knowledgeable and great guides, who made it all flow like a dream. Superb walks at two levels with Great views when weather permitted. Definitely a must do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Paul Mcdermott our guide was brilliant and enthusiastic about the walks and the views as a reward

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Mcdermott and Bob Mason were both very professional and passed on great knowledge and enthusiasm. Ironed out any problems with ease.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have good quality boots as can be slippery if wet.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My 5th or 6th Exodus trip which shows how highly I recommend their organised trekking holidays.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Anthony Nicholls

    Fabulous Tyrolean walking - despite the weather!

    It's easy to see why Exodus customers keep coming back for more - knowledgeable and friendly guides, stunning scenery, comfortable accommodation and a brilliantly eclectic group of fellow guests is a winning combination. Both Bob and Paul were full of information about all the flora and fauna we saw, and led us at a comfortable pace through varied mountain scenery. The hotel staff are outstandingly friendly and helpful, and our large double room with scenic balcony was far better than many grander hotels. The way we used our travel pass to get around by buses, cable cars, boat and train was most enjoyably green, and allowed us to sample the mountains in all directions. Even the decidedly iffy weather on 4 out of 6 days didn't spoil the fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day five's grade 5 walk to Vorderunnutz was stunningly beautiful, but it was the only walking day that wasn't in the clouds, so it had to be the highlight. I suspect scrambling to the top of Hochiss would have surpassed it, but the clouds were down again making the day atmospheric and challenging, rather than inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I walked with Bob Mason on 3 days and Paul McDermott on 2. They are both excellent in every way. They went out of their way to ensure that less competent walkers in the groups were looked after safely.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare yourself for bad weather. It seems as if about 50% of the time the weather is much cloudier/wetter/mistier than the photos show, and even in summer a wet day at 2000m is cold.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The routes on day 1 are distinctly less interesting than the other 4 walks. The grade 3 walk was almost entirely on gravel forest fire roads and some tarmac. I'm surprised that a more interesting route couldn't be found in such a stunning location. The hotel exudes old world charm, but three things are noteworthy. 1. The diet of Austria is built on the back of a pig – always served with generous helpings of potatoes and lashings of cream or butter. 2. There is no communal bar/lounge space to get together as a group after dinner. 3. The hotel is rammed with coach parties every day so the Exodus group is <20% of the occupants. Having said that, Hotel Fischerwirt's virtues outweigh its negatives, and you won't ever feel hungry!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Pat McMaster

    What a wonderful week in the stunning Austrian Alps

    I don't normally have time to give feedback but no way I wasn't going to after this wonderful trip! I can honestly say I don't think my experience could have been better from first picking up the phone to discuss the Walking in the Austrian Tyrol trip to flying home and saying goodbye to such a lovely group of people and new friends. I chose Level 3 walks as was not at my full fitness level which were brilliantly led by Graham. A great companion on all the walks. Paul led the Level 5 walks which again were much enjoyed by his group. Both were fabulous hosts to our week. I personally would have been suited to a Level 4 (if there was such a level) but appreciate that wouldn't be possible. The hotel and food were excellent and set in a beautiful location. So sincere thanks Exodus - very much looking forward to my next trip. Definitely the holiday for me!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the peak on Day 3 which had one of the most fantastic panoramas ever - 360 view of craggy mountain tops with a relief of what seemed like hundreds of snow-capped peaks in the distance. Stunning!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Graham is an absolutely lovely guy with a great sense of humour and love of the outdoors. He was always very informative and totally involved with the group both on walks and in the hotel. Five gold stars for Graham!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I suppose just that you do need to have a good level of fitness even for the Level 3 walks. I think many would imagine a walking holiday to be very easy walking whilst chatting, but this involves some steep climbs and descents but nothing technical on Level 3 walks. Some of the Level 5 walks were more technical.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just thank you and look forward to my next trip! Well done everyone.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Pat McMaster

    What a wonderful week in the stunning Austrian Alps

    I don't normally have time to give feedback but no way I wasn't going to after this wonderful trip! I can honestly say I don't think my experience could have been better from first picking up the phone to discuss the Walking in the Austrian Tyrol trip to flying home and saying goodbye to such a lovely group of people and new friends. I chose Level 3 walks as was not at my full fitness level which were brilliantly led by Graham. A great companion on all the walks. Paul led the Level 5 walks which again were much enjoyed by his group. Both were fabulous hosts to our week. I personally would have been suited to a Level 4 (if there was such a level) but appreciate that wouldn't be possible. The hotel and food were excellent and set in a beautiful location. So sincere thanks Exodus - very much looking forward to my next trip. Definitely the holiday for me!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the peak on Day 3 which had one of the most fantastic panoramas ever - 360 view of craggy mountain tops with a relief of what seemed like hundreds of snow-capped peaks in the distance. Stunning!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Graham is an absolutely lovely guy with a great sense of humour and love of the outdoors. He was always very informative and totally involved with the group both on walks and in the hotel. Five gold stars for Graham!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I suppose just that you do need to have a good level of fitness even for the Level 3 walks. I think many would imagine a walking holiday to be very easy walking whilst chatting, but this involves some steep climbs and descents but nothing technical on Level 3 walks. Some of the Level 5 walks were more technical.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just thank you and look forward to my next trip! Well done everyone.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Hattie J

    Austrian Alpine Antics

    The best Exodus trip I have done to date. Inspirational hiking in breathtaking scenery mixed with exceptional hilarity in outstanding company. The Austrian weather gods blessed us with virtually uninterrupted sunshine, epic and varied vistas on every trek, complimented by authentic Tyrolean cuisine and hospitality. The trip makes excellent use of the local travel card, including the ferry and steam train. The itinerary is well thought out to allow the day to run efficiently, meaning there is enough time for post-hiking swimming in the beautiful Achensee and relaxation in the sauna before dinner. A great week in every respect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many highlights from this week, completing all of the Level 5 walks without difficulty, being treated to the finest views these mountains have to offer, absolutely worth climbing up (and down!) them, and getting a chance to try out climbing on the free day as an optional activity. The fun factor of this trip was significantly enhanced by my fellow hikers. A great group who meant we were struggling to actually walk at times due to excess laughter. How any group holiday should be...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leaders, Paul and Graham, are both exceptionally talented leaders. They immediately bonded with the group, whilst organizing the various logistic aspects seamlessly. Paul led the group 5 walks sensitively, making sure no one was left behind, but also allowing the faster ones to work up a bit of a sweat as appropriate so everyone got something out of the day! The inclusion of the ridge at the Rofanspitze and the cheeky sprint for the ferry were a couple of additional highlights. Both guides were also sociable companions in the evening and readily joined in with our card games. I would happily do a trip with both of them again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Level 5 is definitely a challenge but worth it. Poles are helpful, but you can borrow them from the hotel if you don't have your own. Swim in the lake, eat the cake!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Beth Shamrock

    Variety of hikes, beautiful scenery, fabulous group

    Each day's hike offered different terrain, different challenges, different views...and different cakes. Eric was a wonderful guide. And this group was the most fun I've had through Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking the Rofan range and hearing the chimes of cow bells on the mountains amused me and warmed my heart!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was delightful. He was always in good spirits and always participated in our daily puzzler questions. He helped the group be cohesive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring boots with good traction! Many single-track trails were sloped and some were indeed slippery.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Day 1 hike was so much longer than the rest of the days. Instead, I think the hike on "hike day" 4 perhaps could act as a decent "read" of participants, so the guides can see what level makes the most sense for them. It didn't make sense to hike 23 km mostly on easy fire-roads on day one and hike half of that on single tracks every other day.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Joan Reid

    Super walking week in the Tirol

    Achenkirk provided an excellent base for a great week of hiking in the Tirol. We got a great flavour of the area sampling a range of walks around the range. The Lake, the mountains and the accessibility of excellent walking made the trip. Weather for the most part was great and the terrain was challenging but manageable to walk on. Really enjoyed the hotel and facilities as well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the five treks at level 5 was a great achievement and probably in particular Hochiss.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was very competent and met the needs of the level 5 group very well. He was encouraging and empathetic in balance. In particular his knowledge of alpine flowers Provided an interesting addition to the story of our journeys into the hills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared. Level 5 walks are well worth the additional effort required to reach the top where we were rewarded with magnificent scenery. For all of the level 5 group on this trip it was within our limits and manageable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel and walk leaders work well together to make the experience seamless.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Paul macdermott

    Great walking and company in Achensee

    This was a lovely week of great walks amid stunning scenery in the Austrian Tyrol. Based in Achenkirk, we were able to access many of the best mountain walks available using cable cars, lake steamers etc as well as our own feet! We had 2 very friendly and knowledgeable guides-Paul & Eric, 1 for each level of walking and a comfortable base at Hotel Fischerwirt. A really nice week and a great group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of various peaks as planned.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was inspiring & patient and full of little anecdotes of his past experience. He set the pace and adjusted it according to how the group was managing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a good introduction to intermediate Alpine mountain walking ( if you do level 3) but be aware there are a few steep climbs so come prepared.
Call us on 020 420 22 20