Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Marjorie Barnes

    Stunning Location

    A wonderful week walking in the surrounding area of Achenkirck. Thanks to both leaders, Bob and Lea, who were super. Our hotel was great with good food, lovely helpful staff and a very nice room with a balcony.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing at the top of the Steiner's Tor and drinking in the views. For a second memory sitting in the restaurant at the top of the Olympic ski jump venue having a great cake and a glass of wine on our free day in Innsbruck.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders were great. I did mainly level 3 walks and Bob Mason was superb. He made the walk so interesting with his extensive knowledge of local fauna and flora. Lea, level 5 guide, was delightful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Dorothy Jackson

    Walking in the Austrian Tyrol

    My first trip to Austria more than reached my expectations . I have undertaken several treks, including Everest Base Camp, the Annapurna Circuit, Kilimanjaro and more recently, the Inca Trail. Whilst the altitude was lower, the level 5 walks were challenging and set at a pretty fast pace which definitely gave me a sense of accomplishment by the end of the day! I decided to opt for the level 3 walk on a day when the weather was more inclement and though gentler and lower, it was very enjoyable and still required stamina and a good fitness level. Our Guides, Bob and Lea, were excellent, and it was good to have the option to choose whichever grade you felt like doing each day. The hotel was very good, a spacious room and small balcony, comfortable bed and plenty of hot water to soak tired limbs at the end of the day, plus a sauna down the corridor. The food was tasty and plentiful and the bargain of the week was a packed lunch for 10 euros (for the week!) ! The staff were friendly and very efficient. The hotel is located on the northern shore of Lake Achen, near to the boat landing, so very convenient. The lakeside walk was delightful and a good option on a day when the clouds and rain came down. A good transport system - bus/boat/train - made it possible to visit Innsbruck on the free day and this was a very enjoyable excursion.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After some strenuous climbs and long descents the fantastic views and beautiful scenery made it all worthwhile, particularly the day we were almost knee-deep in snow on the summit - magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob and Lea were both excellent. Lea led the Level 5 and Bob the Level 3. The evening briefings outlined the next day's walks and any questions we had could then be answered and helped us decide which level to go for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A reasonable level of fitness and stamina for some quite long days but no technical expertise really necessary. I would definitely recommend using walking poles, especially for the long descents. There is a well-stocked Spar shop about 15 mins from hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thoroughly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rupert and Jo Livingstone

    Tyrolean trekking

    A wonderful week of walking in the Austrian Tyrol, experiencing extremes of weather and beautiful, relaxing scenery. We opted for grade 5 walks each day (except the last due to the inclement weather) and they were suitably challenging and brought rewards of fantastic views making the effort expended worthwhile. The use of varied modes of transport made the trip more interesting and the return to the hotel on the ferry and the opportunity for a beer and/or ice cream whilst enjoying the scenery pass gently by was a great way to end some of the days. Overall a great week which has suitably tickled our fancy to return to Austria.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were two highlights. Firstly, the Rofan range which was beautiful and gave the sense of being part of the landscape rather than just observing. Secondly, coming out of the cloud in the cable car and seeing a wonderful cloud inversion - close to inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Bob and Anna were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack for all weather. Our trip at the end of August had swelteringly hot days and a shiveringly cold day, a real shorts to sweater experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have time and are that way inclined, the Air Rofan zip wire is an interesting way to see the mountains. Four of us did it early on our day off and we went from scared silence to exhilarated whoops of joy. It made the coffee and cake at the hut all the better.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Henry Slennett

    Excellent location and great walking in the mountains

    This is an excellent hotel based walking holiday that I would recommend to anyone. The location, entered around Lake Achensee, is fantastic, with both Level 3 and Level 5 walks available. I stuck to the Level 3s, but several people easily switched between 3 and 5. The Hotel Fischerwirt was an excellent base for our walks, offering family run service, and great meals in the evening. Both of our tour leaders, Anna and Paul, were excellent, and I would certainly go on a holiday with them again. If you are looking for great mountain walking, in an excellent location, I would highly recommend this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of the Rofanspitze and enjoying the magnificent views, before descending and taking the ferry back across Lake Achensee to our hotel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Anna and Paul were excellent group leaders, and I would highly recommend them. I would certainly wish to travel with Anna again.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    adam wardman

    good times in the Tyrols

    I loved this trip. I have never been to Austria before and the location and walks featured an array of stunning views. Having the option of Level 3 and 5 walks was great as you vary the level of challenge depending on your ability and how you are feeling! The tour leaders were funny and helpful, though I felt we missed out on many opportunities to stop for cake. You are based by a lake and it was lots of fun using the local ferry, steam train and cable cars to get to and from walks. The hotel was fine, the breakfast and dinners were filling, though Austrian food can be rather heavy and it would have been nice to have had a group meal at one of the local restaurants one night.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was a draw between: Getting to the top of the Rofanspitze; amazing views. Going on the zip-line at the Rofan cable car. I had never done this before and it was an amazing experience

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2! Paul and Ania, they were both good fun, with superb knowledge of the local flaura and fauna, if slightly lacking on knowledge of the location of cake selling Alms!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring poles for the descents, eat all the cake, drink all the beer. If you decide to walk to Pertisau on your free day wear your boots, its trickier than it seems!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Richard Fenn

    Great trip

    Superb walking in a beautiful area. This was a great trip reaching several peaks surrounding lake Achensee. The hotel is fantastic as well, you get your lunch from the breakfast buffet.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Two leaders, both well organised and looked after us brilliantly.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Claire Ferguson

    Great walks

    My husband and I completed this in July this year and it was a really enjoyable trip. The weather was poor all week but it didn't dampen our spirits and that of the guide, Paul. Everyday was filled with laughter, sarcasm and plenty of hard walking on the level 5, all of which was worth it for the views and the overall experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting fantastic people and seeing some amazing views!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was honest about the walks each night before so we could decide which level to do, not only that but he was just like a member of our new group of friends we had made, friendly, approachable and definitely up for a challenge and a laugh! He was happy to accommodate extra things we wanted to do like a zip wire and jump in the freezing cold lake, what's more he joined in for all of it! He really made a difference to our holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for poor weather but he experience is worth it no matter what!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Emily Smith

    Emily

    A superb trip, highly recommendable. The level 5 walks were varied and very satisfying - with beautiful flowers, varying terrain and sometimes gave opportunity for a welcome beer / strudel. Led by a good humoured and knowledgable Paul, every day was a happy challenge. The level 3 walks sounded beautiful as well, and there was high praise for their experience of Bob's tasty cakes! Authentic Austrian hotel with a sauna for sore limbs, swims in the fresh lake, good hearty food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights include the zip wire, the mountain chamois, and all the group laughs. Thank you for an excellent trip.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    James Baxter

    Superb location and walks

    We originally planned to go on the Classic Dolomites trip but decided to take the plunge and try this much newer trip. We're very glad we did and had an excellent time. The area is very well chosen for various reasons, mainly because it is beautiful and offers superb views. We were very lucky with the weather and had a couple of fantastic days with great views all around the neighbouring mountains and valleys. In addition there are excellent public transport links i.e. bus, cable car and ferry which make getting around throughout the week very easy. The trip includes a travel card for all of these which is also a big bonus on the free day, and there's plenty to see and do. The trip offers both grade 3 and grade 5 walks with a different leader for both. It was nice to have the choice and you do of course have the option to pick and choose. We did Level 5 walks on all but the first day and found them challenging in places but perfectly manageable for someone of good fitness, although you do need to be quite sure-footed on all grades. The only point I would make for me personally was that there was more descent than ascent on several of the days which I found hammered my knees. I got the impression that the level 3 walks were somewhat more leisurely and had a much greater emphasis on refreshments, with at least one cake stop at the many mountain huts! We were generally all finished by around 4-5pm which gave plenty of time for a couple of relaxed hours before the evening meal. The surrounding area and the views were of course stunning and there were an abundance of wild flowers and various wildlife. The very friendly cows and goats deserve a special mention too with their clanking bells audible all around. The accommodation and local area in general were very pleasant and the hotel staff very friendly. The food and drink were excellent and of good quality and the rooms were clean and comfortable. An important aspect of any group trip is of course the people and we enjoyed some excellent company. I feel any Exodus trip is going to attract interesting, likeminded and well-travelled people and it took hardly anytime at all for people to get to know each other.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed all of the walks but the climb up to peak of the Rofanspitze and the subsequent views was very rewarding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both group leaders were friendly and approachable. Paul McDermott took the level 5 walks and was laid back and was happy for people to go at their own pace. Paul was quite new to the area himself but had obviously made the effort to learn about the local area as well as the various flora and fauna. Bob Mason led the Level 3 walks and has many years of experience in the region and in Austria in general and had a wealth of knowledge. We were travelling onwards from the trip but hadn't had much time to organise anything, and he was more than happy to give us advice on places to visit which we were very grateful for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The level 5 walks in particular involve quite a lot of descent and this can be quite hard going on the knees. I'd advise the use of walking poles as the ground can be very uneven, steep in places and gravel covered and requires quite a degree of sure-footedness. The weather can be very changeable too with rain and thunderstorms typically rolling in later the afternoon. Packing a waterproof coat and trousers is a must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only that if you enjoy alpine scenery, walking and cake this is the trip for you!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    David Mullett

    Wet but worth it!!

    This has been my first walking trip and our first booking with exodus. We chose the level 5 walks on all of our days out. The walks were challenging but manageable even in poor conditions. The hotel was clean and tidy with great views over the lake and within easy reach of the local shops and bus stop . The food was great and it's a nice that the hotel let you make a pack up for your trips out......ham sandwich anyone???

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not so much inspirational but my highlights include, Thursdays summit of Vorderunutz was fantastic with clear views of Achenkirk and the lake below. Swimming in the lake . Meeting some fantastic people who made my experience amazing!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul's knowledge and relaxed attitude was brilliant. He was happy for everyone to go at their own pace and help those that needed it most as and when required. On a personal level, I felt Paul was not only a great leader but a great member of our team, he'd happily join in with suggestions that aren't in the itinerary, whether it's a dip in the lake, a blast down a zip line or an evening run around the town ,Paul would give it a try. Do leaders come any better than this??? I don't think so!!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'd recommend using some walking poles. I chose not to but by Wednesday my knees were the throbbing from the decents. I'd also recommend a trip to Insbrook on the free day

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall a great trip that I'd happily recommend ! Well done level 5's