Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Catherine White

    Alpine Cols

    Great trip, fantastic scenery, superb guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the final climb up Alpe d'Huez

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn't fault him, knowledgeable, helpful, fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be very cold in mid September, pack some warm weather gear!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks for a great trip!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Paul Cartwright

    Cols du Tour de France 2017

    This was a truly amazing experience and certainly one which I will remember for a very long time. The climbs are indeed challenging but manageable for most regular cyclists. The trip is well planned with most of the hard ascents in the morning with a good amount of downtime on most afternoons and with options for optional extra rides on the shorter days for those who are fit enough. We were blessed with good weather throughout which I am sure does make a difference as I would imagine that some of the descents would be hair raising in wet conditions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day had its highlights but for me the last two days of the trip were the best particularly the climbs up the Col du Galibier on Friday and Col du Glandon on the Saturday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thierry was without doubt an absolutely top guy. He organised picnics for us most days buying baguettes,ham,cheese and fruit and met us at a pre-arranged place for lunch which was extremely welcome after the hard climbs. He also stopped part way up the climbs to hand out bananas and sweets to top our energy reserves.. He lives in a town which is on the route so knows the area very well so was very informative about the local history and geography of the area. At the start of each day he was very helpful in guiding us to the start of the days route in his van and likewise at the end of the day to our hotel.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very cold at the top of the Cols for the first couple of days of the trip particularly on the Col de la Bonette and I for one was under prepared. For the September trip it is necessary to take long fingered and insulated gloves as well as several extra layers of clothing for the top of the climbs and especially the descents which were bitterly cold.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would highly recommend this trip which certainly exceeded my own expectations.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Scott Chalker

    Alpine cols of the Tour de France

    I backed up from the Pyrenean coast to coast two days earlier. In comparison this is a much easier tour with less kilometres per day. The scenery is stunning and the climbs are achievable if you can do all of the seven peaks climbs in Australia. I took my own bike which was not a hassle and provided comfortable, confident riding which was an advantage as the descents are long. Go prepared with at least one set of winter gear, we needed it on one day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing alpe d'huez after 72km on the last day and being in the 50th percentile on strava, as I am not a climber.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thierry was motivated and fun. Would often provide further riding for those who were keen after the main ride which I took the opportunity to do on one day when we headed back over the mountains into Italy. It was nice to have an official photographer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is much easier than the Pyrenean coast to coast if you are deciding on which to do and are not a fit rider.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Graham Burrows

    Alpine Cols of the Tour de France

    This is one trip that I won’t forget in a hurry. The climbs were tough, but the distances just about right to give some time off in the afternoon to relax and recover. The scenery was simply stunning and the descents were thrilling. Apart from one day when things turned a bit grim on the Galibier, the weather was warm, sunny and perfect for cycling. It was great having the minibus as backup, stopping at different locations each night and the group leader was excellent. I was a little perturbed about going on my own, but really needn't have been. The group were a nice mix of ages, abilities and nationalities and very easy to get on with. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It pretty much all was, but the ascents of the Col d'Izoard and Col de la Crox de Fer were exceptional.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very friendly and helpful, as well as being knowledgeable about the local area and all things bike-related.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather may suddenly take a turn for the worse, so bring winter gear as back-up. We needed it on one day, when temperatures plummeted to 7 deg.C and snow fell on the Galibier.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Quan Nguyen

    Alpine Cols of the Tour de France

    Well supported and challenging holiday with an amazing, well informed and courteous tour leader. Loved that we rode from hotel to hotel an didn't take any motorized transportation. Rental bike was repsponsive and a joy to ride.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climb to the top of Alpe d'Huez...very challenging in 37 degree heat with unrelenting 10% grade. Felt amazing to reach the top!
  • Reviewed July 2014
    Bruce Woods

    Cols of Tour de France

    Cycling holiday cycling over some of the most famous Cols, which were climbed during the Tour de France over the years. Climbs like Col d' Izoard, Col d' Bonnet, Alp d' Huez, etc.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summiting Col d' Izoard together with a friend after a tough day in the saddle, and another moment was coming to the top of the Col d' Bonnet (Last couple of hundred metres around 15%) with my Ipod on to keep me company, playing out Sam's Town from the killers just as I got to the top (The views, the other cyclists, the motorcycle, the lyrics, it was just a special moment).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought our group leader was awesome, as he was friendly, supporting, helpful, full of incite, and more important than anything else, a cycling enthusiast through and through.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are considering doing this trip, train, train, and train some more, plus get as light as froome (Sadly I wasn't, but still really enjoyed). A lot of preperation, training, and some grit at times is needed, but the potentials gains of experiences and memories from such a trip, well they will all be worth it (Plus you can watch the Tour, and say to your partner, oh look I cycled up there).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you for some fond memories of a adventure that will last forever!
  • Reviewed July 2014
    Geoff Noake

    Alpine Cols of the Tour de France

    I chose to go on this holiday in celebration of my 60th Birthday and as a long time road cyclist and massive fan of the Tour de France, I was looking forward to it immensly. It exceeded my expectations in every way. The week was amazing and in terms of the organisation, travel, scenary and the ride itself I had a wonderful time. The rides are carefully planned to be long enough to be testing, yet not so long that they wear you out. It was never a problem getting up and riding 5 or 6 hours the next day. An excellent week!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The week was full of 'big moments' really, but if I have to highlight any then they would be the Col d'Izoard climb, the Col du Galibier, and then the Col de la Croix de Fer and Alpe d'Huez on the Saturday. A fantastic finale to a great week cycling, with superb climbs and weather which couldn't have been better.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Vincent who did a brilliant job. He organised our days brilliantly, knew the routes and climbs intimately, took photos and greatly added to the experience of the holiday. Thanks for all your help, Vincent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The best advice I can give is to make sure that you have some 'hilly' miles under your belt before you go. The climbs are long and sustained and although the overall average gradient is not particularly high, there are a few fierce ramps along the way. I was riding a compact chain set with a 28 tooth cassette, which was fine, but couldn't help wondering if a 30 might have been slightly better. Other than that, my advice is to enjoy it. It's over all too soon!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Everything about the trip was spot on; good hotels, great food, spare time for a bit of sightseeing, shopping and an early bar! A superb holiday in every way!
  • Reviewed July 2014
    Gordon Drummond

    Alpine Cols of the Tour de France

    Simply an experience of a life time! A very well organised trip from the transport and support through to the accommodation and the food which was superb. All you needed to concentrate on was the cycling and I doubt you will find better cycling anywhere on the globe!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are too many to mention! Was it the giant Col du Galibier, the stunning ride in to the Col de Vars or the lunar landscape of the Col d'Izoard. Of course we can't forget the iconic Alpe d'Huez! Personally I enjoyed the Col d'Izoard for the combination of a great climb in spectacular, if slightly surreal, surroundings but each climb was unique in itself which was key to the enjoyment of the trip, no two days were the same.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vincent made the trip. Always well organised and there for support when needed. Knew a lot about the climbs, the surrounding area, local traditions, food and culture which added an extra dimension and interest to the trip outside the cycling. During the rides he was never too far away with the support vehicle carrying spares and refreshments which was reassuring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is not an 'easy' trip so a good level of fitness and bike proficiency (downhill as well as uphill) is recommended as the fitter you are the more enjoyable this trip will be. It should be remembered that this is not a race and pacing yourself for a higher average speed is better than busting yourself on the flat or on the Col to 'bonk' later in the day. It can be very warm during the day so plenty fluids during the ride and plenty more at the end of the day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a big thanks for a truly excellent experience!
Call us on 020 420 22 20