Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2018
    Ian Taylor

    One of our best trips ever.

    This was an amazing experience. The cycling was moderate on mostly quiet, smooth roads with some hills. The bikes were good quality Scott hybrids with disc brakes. (Ours were brand new.) The guided nature tours were fascinating and informative with local, expert guides. Our trip leader, Roberto, was excellent. Always helpful and very knowledgeable with good English. Our driver, Luis, was very safe and helpful. I would love to do it all again. Ian Taylor, Vancouver, Canada.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Nature tours with local guides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First rate.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Add some hills into your training rides.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Ian Taylor

    One of our best trips ever.

    This was an amazing experience. The cycling was moderate on mostly quiet, smooth roads with some hills. The bikes were good quality Scott hybrids with disc brakes. (Ours were brand new.) The guided nature tours were fascinating and informative with local, expert guides. Our trip leader, Roberto, was excellent. Always helpful and very knowledgeable with good English. Our driver, Luis, was very safe and helpful. I would love to do it all again. Ian Taylor, Vancouver, Canada.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Nature tours with local guides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First rate.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Add some hills into your training rides.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Vicki Nunn

    Great wildlife!

    Great to see so much great wildlife on a cycling trip (it was the reason we took the trip). Be prepared however if, like us, you are used to cycling along quiet roads enjoying the views or witnessing folk going about their lives whilst getting to know your fellow travellers. Half the cycling is on busy roads (sometimes with little to see) cycling single file with your speed being restricted by the lead guide. That being said, the stroll (not 'hike' as stated in the trip notes) in Antonio Manuel NP and the biological station as well as the boat trips at both Rio Tarcoles and Tortuguero were great and we saw SO many birds, insects, reptiles, amphibians and animals. The trip to the medicinal garden provided us with one of the best meals of the trip and so many unusual and beautiful plants. I was worried I wasn't going to see a sloth - we saw 7 (one on a fence on the side of the road we were cycling on). The dips in the Pacific and the swimming pools during the first week were also a particular highlight for me.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing our first sloth in Antonio Manuel NP - he was awake and eating too! Having 3 dolphins swim beside our boat in Tortuguero (very rare apparently!) Our first swim in the Pacific, the waves were amazing and the water so warm!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good English, good wildlife knowledge but lacking in his interaction with us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    - Take binoculars!! - Take the BA direct flight and have an extra day (or more) at the end - Ask the last hotel to order an Uber taxi if you need one, half the price! - Take lots of Factor 50 for the first week! - No mosquitoes at all until Tortuguero (then they bit thru clothing even!) - Be prepared for hot days with hot nights then warm days with cold nights then hot days with cool nights. More varied than I thought - Avoid beans and rice when you can as there are occasions when you'll have no choice!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Zoo Ave near the final hotel was a nice surprise. Great to see up close some of the birds and animals we'd seen thru binoculars during the week.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Frances Warnell

    A brilliant cycle trip

    This excellent cycle journey offers wonderful diverse experiences from coastline to mountains to rainforests with spectacular scenery and wildlife. The cycling is challenging - some big hills, busy roads and very hot - but great fun and our needs were very well catered for by our excellent guide Andreas, and his team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick just one, but probably day 10 - Turrialba to Palomo, the final mountain day, with a big climb, followed by a big descent that ended with a very welcome and cooling dip in a river.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andreas was an excellent guide; He kept us safe on the roads, with the help of his team. He was efficient, organised and informative with a vast knowledge of the history, ecology, fauna and flora of Costa Rica.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To get the most out of the trip, a good level of fitness would be an advantage - it's hot and there are some big climbs. I hadn't cycled for 4 months but managed all the hills, with some help on the last days climb when I was pushed part of the way up by Andreas and our other cycle support, Louis! There's always the bus if you've had enough. Also be aware that the roads are busy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a challenging trip and the account of the holiday on the Exodus website does not prepare you for the hills or the busy traffic. A bit more information would be helpful for customers, but that said, we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and would definitely recommend it.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Mark Higgins

    Costa Rica Coast to Coast Cycle Ride

    Just back from a wonderful time in Costa Rica. All in all I could not recommend the trip highly enough. The cycling was fantastic, our tour guide and support staff brilliant and the hotels we stayed in along the way amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the 3 mile up hill cycle ride in the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andreas was a wonderful guide. Took great care of our safety and always happy to answer any of our questions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you are fit for the challenge, some of the cycle stages are harder than described in the trip notes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared to meet a lot of traffic on the roads, especially on the South Pacific Highway.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Wayne Maxwell

    Wayne Maxwell

    We had a great trip and would recommend it highly. Our guide Roberto and his team looked after us all extremely well and nothing was too much trouble. Roberto was very organised and efficient and planned our trip with meticulous care. He sorted out any unforeseen problems very quickly to enable the trip to run smoothly and enjoyably. He was intuitive at predicting our needs in advance. We enjoyed the small friendly hotels we stayed in, mostly run and owed by locals. We enjoyed the excursions to small family run concerns such as Frog Heaven.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved cycling along the Pacific Beach, our morning in Manuel Antonio National Park, swimming in the Pacific on an isolated beach at Puerto Jimenez followed by lunch at a Plantation type restaurant. Waking up to Scarlet Macaws kissing on a branch outside our bedroom window on the second morning. Cycling the beautiful Orosi Valley. Frog Heaven and taking the most amazing picture of a red eyed tree frog. Eco-Termales Hot Springs was a fabulous end to a long day in the saddle. Exciting boat trip in Tortuguero spotting all kinds of wildlife. The light / sunshine, beautiful plants, colours, wildlife, tropical scenery. The friendly helpful people we met along the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Could not have been better. Superb. We would highly recommend him and his team. We would like to do another trip with him if possible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of fly spray, watch out for lizards landing in your Gin and Tonic. Always check the glass before you drink. Check clothing before getting dressed - I was bitten on my bottom by a harmless scorpion. Factor 50 sun cream and re apply frequenly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Gill Snowden

    Cycling Costa Rica

    We thoroughly enjoyed this well organised and interesting trip. Costa Rica is a beautiful country and on this trip we saw so many different aspects to it. Amazing bird life. Spectacular scenery. Lovely friendly people. Variety of places to stay. Lots of rice and beans.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Boat trip spotting wildlife in Tortuguero was fabulous. Seeing scarlet macaws on the second night. Meeting so many lovely people in the group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guillermo and the team were great. Guillermo is very knowledgeable, about the country - history, the environment, great at spotting the birds and wildlife. Very well organised. Good communicator and above all he was fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is hot and there are some tricky hills so be prepared. The cycling is manageable even if you are not a ‘serious’ cyclist but the more you prepare, the more you will enjoy it. Make sure to take some Good insect spray
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Claude Fortin

    MUD: 2017-03

    Excellent trip. Very well planned in terms of route chosen and day-to-day logistics. Staff were all great, helpful, friendly and professional.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In a certain way, each day was inspirational. The biking segments were all fun and at times challenging, but I thought the hilly bits added a personal achievement component. Each day we were exposed to a new area and our leader was very good at explaining to the group what we were to see an do. Just to focus one moment, I was take aback by the spherical rocks on day 5. It is mind blowing to try to understand how these perfect spheres could have been carved and moved using primitive tools.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andres Ramirez is a great leader. Throughout the trip Andres behaved in a professional yet amicable way. He was always well organised and ready to brief the group or deal with specific logistical issues that arose. Andres knows and obviously enjoys talking about the costa rican wildlife, he was our guide for the visit of the Manual Antonio Park and it was interesting to see him interact with the other guides and tourists.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I highly recommend this trip to anyone who is in shape. I would give a bit of warning to potential travellers with regard to the hills. While they were all manageable, some were indeed challenging. The trip notes made available before the trip were rather discrete about hills. Potential travellers should know clearly what they are getting into. couple of participants on our trip were not able to handle these hills,

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The detailed trip notes should have been sent to the travellers before the trip, if not before booking, it is only by reading these notes, and assessing the profile that one can assess whether this trip is for him/her. The notes should also be identified by each specific day, this would help potential travellers in preparing for the trip. In any case I found surprising to be handed notes on one-side-use paper, we are after all in 2017 and one can safely assume that participants would have preferred to have these notes downloaded and readily available on their smart phone. I would instruct the leader and key staff to tell the group in which room they could be found in case of emergency. Some of us had mold growing in our water bottles because of the heat and the sugar in the Gatorade. I would warn cyclists to empty and rinse their bottle every evening. That said, keep the Gatorade, it is needed when cycling in a hot climate
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Paul Mccormack

    Cycling coast to coast Costa Rica

    We thoroughly enjoyed this well organised, scenic trip, to visit some of Costa Rica's highlights

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing somnulent crocodiles by the waters edge. Watching the Cappucin monkeys balance on telephone wires. Getting up close to a 3 toed sloth.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrés is a very well organised and efficient gude, he communicates with the group well, and is interested and passionate about the local fauna

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring binoculars !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We really enjoyed this trip, the scenery is wonderful and the wildlife abundant. It is warm but the cycling stages are well managed with multiple stops for drinks and fantastic fresh fruit
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Lesley Pirie

    Costa Rica Coast to Coast

    Almost everything about the trip was brilliant. Roberto and his team were probably the best guides I have done any trip with. They were pasionate about their country and went above and beyond to make our holiday as memorable as possible. Our major hiccups were with transfers and this is an Exodus issue.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling down the ridge from Las Cruces to Paso Real with mountains either side. The guided tour of Rio Tarcoles Mangrove estuary was wonderful too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roberto was superb, knowledgable, helpful, humorous, sensitive, patient and diverted any potential problems by clear explanations. His team followed his lead. I cannot rate this group leader or his team highly enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not book on this trip if you cannot cycle off road or amongst traffic or are not fit or competent enough for the grade. I think the Exodus grading was spot on but there were folks on our trip who struggled to meet the standard and their behaviour put themselves and others at risk and put an awful pressure on our guides.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There was dreadful confusion about transfers. We booked our holiday and flights all through Exodus so you would assume that that would include transfers either a free group transfer or an extra sum for the transfer. Mercifully I checked up before we left and found out there was no transfer arranged so arranged it for £30 for our group of 4. On arrival there were 9 of us on this transfer, every group whether a single, a couple or as with us had paid £30 for a transfer that cost $16 for 4 of us on the way back. As a gatroup we had paid £120 for the transfer on the way out. That seems very excessive. With 9 of us(out of a total group size of 15) coming off the London Gatwick flight on the way out and 9 going back to UK on this flight I do not know why this was not the free included group transfer.
Call us on 020 420 22 20