Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2018
    Janet Lillicrap

    Highlands of Sri Lanka

    A wonderful experience in a beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The welcoming smiles of the Sri Lankan people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujee was excellent - caring, helpful and knowledgeable with a passion for his country. Nothing was too much trouble for him or his team and they were a team who worked really well together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an umbrella as well as a sunhat!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Juliet Nicolson

    Lovely week spent in the Pyrenees

    Excellent week with lots of fresh snow and a stunning final day with bright sunshine, blue skies and panoramic views of the Pyrenees. We enjoyed the lessons with Leah our instructor, who tried her best to upgrade our Classic technique to something more stylish. Every day was different, with the option of more ski-ing independently, or guided snow-shoeing, which was new to us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snow-shoeing through deep snow in the forest with sunshine highlighting all the ice crystals, then emerging on to the plateau to the amazing panorama of the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Francois was great fun (apart from some of his music choices in the minibus!) but well-organised too, and told us a lot about the local area. He kept everyone amused with his jokes about the British- and the French!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Need to be quite fit with plenty of stamina for both activities Also helps to be adaptable- sometimes the plans for the day had to change depending on the road and weather conditions.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Anna Kennedy

    Costa Rica - Coastal Secrets Jan 2018

    We had a great time on this trip. We saw lots of birds and other wildlife. Costa Rica has very diverse ecosystems and we experienced quite a variety. We really liked the limit of 16 travelers. We enjoyed the group and were made very welcome everywhere we went.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on the waterways around Tortuguero and Drake Bay was very special. If we hadn't had the benefit of great guides, we wouldn't have seen so much wildlife. Snorkeling at Cano Island was really amazing too - fantastic to see the colourful fish in the coral reef and also a large black sea turtle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was so knowledgeable and a really nice guy. Very thoughtful in terms of knowing what people were keen about and interested in.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We didn't factor in having to tip so many people (boat drivers, resort staff). Also, we were surprised that traffic all around Costa Rica goes much slower than you expect so time to get to some places is longer than anticipated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall is was a great trip and would recommend it highly to others. The mini-bus was a little on the tight side for taller people - hard on the knees.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Andrew Bennett

    Outstanding trip in Finland

    Superb trip! loved every minute of it. The activities, accommadation, food and staff were all excellent. Cannot fault a single part of the trip and would really like to do the whole thing again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Husky dog sledding. Amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, nothing was too much trouble at all. All staff were superb.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are in doubt about the coldness, all clothes were provided and they kept us warm all week. If you needed anything extra you just needed to ask. I am 6 foot 5 and everything fitted me fine.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Tara Jellis

    Incredible South Africa

    All in all a fantastic and diverse trip with a great group of people. South Africa has so much to offer. Beautiful scenery, close up encounters with wildlife (I still can’t believe we came so close to lions), an interesting history, combined with some great walks and a few more thrilling activities. The food was also very good. There really was something for everyone and I would recommend this trip to virtually anyone really.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many. The Tooth and Claw Safari at Schotia Game Reserve, zip lininig at Tsitsikamma and everything about Cape Town. We were lucky enough to get up Table Mountain on our first attempt and the views were amazing. But, my lasting impression from this trip will be of the South African people who all seemed so happy and welcoming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were incredibly lucky to have Justin as our tour leader. He’s friendly, knowledgeable, entertaining and professional. A real credit to Exodus and a pleasure to be with. I would be happy to tour with him again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t be put off by tales of violence and crime in South Africa. Everywhere we visited seemed very safe and we were able to wander around after dark without fear. ALthough do make sure you are the right sort of person to join a group tour as if you are a lover of 5 star luxury or find it difficult to fit in then this sort of holiday may not suit. Having said that, the hotels all had their own charms, and the one at De Rust was exceptional as was it’s owners who really welcomed us.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We added a night in Port Elizabeth before the start of the tour and a few extra nights in Camps Bay on the end. This made for a pretty perfect holiday. Where to next?
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Dave Young

    Snowshoeing, wine, cheese, culture and much more in the Catalan Pyrenees

    This was a superb trip for me. As well as enjoying the snowshoeing I learned so much from the group leader about Catalonia - its wildlife, history, language, culture and the current political situation. The remote mountain villages were charming and the scenery magnificent, especially after an unusually heavy snowfall. The hospitality everywhere was excellent and I especially enjoyed the local wines and delicious ewe's milk cheeses. The large glasses of brandy were also wonderfully warming after a cold day out in the mountains .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting a local cheese producer who had moved from Barcelona to make a new life for herself and her family in a remote mountain village. She now lives in a lovely large house with magnificent views across the valley and spends her days making the most wonderful cheeses. She is so passionate about my favourite food and richly deserves all the awards she has won for her produce.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Miguel is very friendly, knowledgeable and always keen to improve his spoken English. Each day we snowshoed in a different area so that we saw as much as possible and experienced different types of terrain. We were fortunate in having excellent weather most days and an exceptionally heavy snowfall at the beginning of the trip. I loved all that deep, fresh snow but it made it very challenging for Miguel to re-plan routes to cope with much deeper snow than expected as well as a large and diverse group. In the circumstances, I think he did a great job. I agree with other reviewers that a smaller group would have been better, but then the cost per person would have been much higher.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Before booking, study the trip notes giving details of the proposed duration, distance and amount of ascent / descent each day to check the trip is appropriate for your level of fitness and experience of walking in steep terrain. Also, vegetarians should be vigilant. Although the meals were generally excellent, two dishes described as vegetarian actually contained pieces of chorizo and bacon.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I especially enjoyed the variety this trip provided. It's an excellent combination of snowshoeing with a range of other activities and experiences.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Steve & Dianne Fletcher

    Plenty of snow in remote Pyrenees valleys

    We had a great week snowshoeing in plentiful deep snow, staying in very comfortable and welcoming hotels, particularly Hotel Victor in Rialp. The family there made every effort to accommodate our varied and various needs always with a smile. The fresh deep snow made it difficult for the group to complete the planned walks every day, but this really was not necessary - the pleasure of being out in untouched snow with no-one in sight all day was the thing. Miguel our leader had built several cultural extras into the programme which added considerably to the interest .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sun shining on deep untouched snow on the day walking above Son.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Miguel had to cope with a combination of a group with diverse abilities and experiences in a week with more snow than usual which made logistics and completing the planned walks difficult. Given this he did a good job of trying to ensure that as many people as possible completed as much as possible of the advertised programme. He clearly loves his country (Catalonia!) and the mountains and went out of his way to share this enthusiasm with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Understand that the degree of challenge involved is very dependent on the snow and weather conditions. The depth of soft snow we had meant the effort involved was 50% to 100% more than in conditions of less or no snow. Also experience of walking in the hills in varied weather conditions is desirable. Be prepared for long days out in very cold conditions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The group size was too big - we had to walk in single file making it impossible for Miguel to talk to the whole group at the same time, and also slowed us down. More advice could have been given to inexperienced snowshoers.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Steve & Dianne Fletcher

    Plenty of snow in remote Pyrenees valleys

    We had a great week snowshoeing in plentiful deep snow, staying in very comfortable and welcoming hotels, particularly Hotel Victor in Rialp. The family there made every effort to accommodate our varied and various needs always with a smile. The fresh deep snow made it difficult for the group to complete the planned walks every day, but this really was not necessary - the pleasure of being out in untouched snow with no-one in sight all day was the thing. Miguel our leader had built several cultural extras into the programme which added considerably to the interest .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sun shining on deep untouched snow on the day walking above Son.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Miguel had to cope with a combination of a group with diverse abilities and experiences in a week with more snow than usual which made logistics and completing the planned walks difficult. Given this he did a good job of trying to ensure that as many people as possible completed as much as possible of the advertised programme. He clearly loves his country (Catalonia!) and the mountains and went out of his way to share this enthusiasm with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Understand that the degree of challenge involved is very dependent on the snow and weather conditions. The depth of soft snow we had meant the effort involved was 50% to 100% more than in conditions of less or no snow. Also experience of walking in the hills in varied weather conditions is desirable. Be prepared for long days out in very cold conditions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The group size was too big - we had to walk in single file making it impossible for Miguel to talk to the whole group at the same time, and also slowed us down. More advice could have been given to inexperienced snowshoers.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    David Netherwood

    Fantastic trip

    Brilliant trip, great balance between cycling and cultural. Our leader "Is" was wonderful - she stops traffic with a wave of her hand and big smile! We were really well looked after. The hotels vary a bit with most being very comfortable, one or two in out of the way places are just OK. All were clean, en-suite and had air-con. We visited markets, got top try a range of "food" - I'm veggie, so skiped the meat bit (some it had 6 or even 8 legs). As a veggie, Is always made sure I had a suitable meal. The bikes were heavy mountain bikes, in excellent condition in Thailand, less so in Cambodia and Vietnam. The cycling is all flat, there are couple of long days, but we all managed. My advice, book it. Its a great trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many. I love the cycling, with 3 guides we were able to push teh pace a little while no leaving anyone behind. Siem Reap and the temples were great, but so was everywhere else. The killing fields was the most moving. While upsetting, it I do feel it was the right thing to include it in the trip. Weaving through traffic in Siem Reap, its utter chaos, but everyone gives way to each other and somehow it just works. I think the abiding memory will be the huge and warm welcome we got from the locals, the kids hi-fiving us as we rode past, lunch at one of the cycle guide's mum's house (best meal of the trip).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Is, our leader, was tireless, hard working, great fun, and made sure we all had a great time. We owe her a massive thank you, she really made the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I read a lot of other reviews and lot of them mentioned the bike seats. I dismissed them at the time,a mistake. I don't know why, they look OK, but oh my bum! Take Thai Bart, US dollars for Cambodia. In Vietnam there is a good exchange near the hotel that takes £ $ and I guess a lot more.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Gail Madeley

    Classic Kenya 4WD Safari - Brilliant

    This was my 22nd trip with Exodus so I had no worries in embarking on tented accommodation, it makes a change from being pampered in a hotel. All the staff were very friendly and looked after us very well. It was a perfect time to experience the Masai Mara - by going in the low season you avoid the crowds the migration draws and you have a better view of the wildlife in the low grass.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a cheetah with a kill, zebras fighting, giraffes necking and a leopard (never seen one before in the wild). The variety of wildlife was amazing including the young that had been born prior to the wet season.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Peter and Davis were great. Very well organised, kept in constant touch (almost!), everything ran to time. Peter said each day would bring us something special and he was true to his word. I couldn't believe how each day gave us scenes that got better and better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We travelled out to Nairobi ahead of the main group. This was due to the night flight followed by a long journey to the first hotel which we have experienced in the past. As there is so much to see en route it is a shame to miss it due to tiredness. Take a sink plug as there is no plug in the tented accommodation. Take plenty of insect repellent - although I had a variety, which was well used, I was still bitten over 100 times, but not by mosquitos. Be prepared to put on weight as you get little exercise apart from the rush of adrenaline and the massages provided by the seats of the landcruisers!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thorough recommend this trip to all animal lovers, but be prepared to see some sights you might not like, for example you may witness a kill, but this is natural in the circle of life and the locals do not treat their donkeys with respect.
Call us on 020 420 22 20