Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Trefor Haines

    Natural Tenerife

    A superb opportunity to see a side of Tenerife that few holiday makers get to see. There is so much more to this island than large hotels, bars and beaches. We stayed in the north of the island initially in the beautiful and largely unspoilt town of La Laguna. The hotel is in the centre of this vibrant town an did a beautiful building with large rooms and a covered central courtyard. The town of Los Realejos, while not as beautiful as La Laguna has it's own charm and the hotel is more than adequate. The walks were well planned to show the wide variety of landscapes and scenery on this island. Some of the walks are the challenging side of moderate so be prepared for some slightly aching limbs at the end of the day. Don't be disappointed by not being able to climb to the summit of Teide itself because the view from Mount Guajara of Teide and the 16km diameter caldera of the volcano that existed before Teide is stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Viewing Mount Teide from the remains of Charles Piazzi Smythe's observatory on Mount Guajara.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Javier was simply excellent and went way beyond the call of duty.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take a fleece and waterproofs, it does get a little chilly and damp. The weather can change very quickly in the mountains.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rob Alleway

    Stunning South Africa

    This was our first trip to South Africa which we found was a stunning introduction. The pace of the trip was perfect, and we visited memorable and beautiful locations every day. The flora and fauna were amazing, the excursions should not be missed. The route is scenic and interesting

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We can't find a best moment as there were so many. The game drives close up to wildlife were perhaps what we enjoyed most, but seeing whales close up was just amazing. The penguins, ostriches all added to the flavour of the trip along with a sobering tour of Robben Island.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The trip would not have been so spectacular without our guide Justin. This guy is passionate about his country and has an encyclopeadic knowledge of flora and fauna as well as a local knowledge which takes you to the best vantage points on any trip. He went well beyond what we could have expected of our guide. He was engaging, humorous and attentive to everyone on the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The excursions should not be missed, make sure you have a large memory card for your camera, and buy a local sim card for your phone.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Carole Fendick

    Norway weekend

    If you want a short weekend break you won't be disappointed with this trip. A lot is packed into the weekend just enough to make you want to return and do more. The hotel was family run, the staff very friendly and the food was wonderful .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was great standing on the Trolltunga, such an iconic landmark and fantastic view.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was brilliant, always there to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just remember alcohol is expensive!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Elaine Jeffery

    Elaine Jeffery

    Full on trip but brilliant. Dragon made the trip special and exciting with his knowledge and patience, he is great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are so many.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dragon was THE BEST, a happy, helpful, knowledgable and patient man who looked after us admirably, kept us safe and had a super sense of humour. Everything went to plan, no hitches, clearly all down to his hard work and skills. Brilliant!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Kerryn Buckley

    Grand Tour of Iceland - 2017

    Amazing overall tour and can highly recommend a trip to Iceland. Our two week tour was not too long or not too short. We experienced amazing and incredible scenery, waterfalls, active volcanoes, geothermal features, geysers and glaciers. Great tour leader who's knowledge about the country was exceptional.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to say, the whole trip was awesome with changing scenery around every corner. The unexpected sight of the northern lights one night will have to be one of the memorable moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Awesome tour guide/leader. Nothing was too much trouble and his knowledge as exceptional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spend two weeks in this amazing country and do the Grand Tour as you will not be disappointed.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Heather Pells

    China trip

    We visited Beijing, Xian, Yangshou and Hong Kong.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to the Terracotta Warriors was amazing. We were lucky because for some reason it wasn't very busy so we could see everything without being pushed along. The detail in the warriors is amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dragon was excellent. he was easy to get on with and gave u lots of information without overloading us. Although the travel arrangements were complicated he made it all very relaxed and easy. Dragon was very keen to tell us about the Chinese people so that we got a real feel for the country of which, as he said, he is very proud.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some parts of China are very basic. Be prepared to use chopsticks and don't expect Western food or drink.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Johnny Corn

    The highs of the High Tatras

    Had a wonderful week of walking and sightseeing here in Poland. A great leader in Teresa, a good group, wonderful walking and Krakow after to unwind after a challenging few days walking. Brilliant accommodation with great food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sadly due to weather it was not getting to the top of Mount Rysy but we nearly got there! Mind you Auschwitz was an experience I will never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresa was brilliant. Years of experience in the mountains and her great sense of fun and humour made her one of the best guides I have been led by. She was well liked and respected in all the places we stayed and by othe guides and local people we met along the way. Whatever we wanted she saw we got it!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a challenging trip so read trip notes and seriously decide if it is for you or not as the last day is tough and several people in our group I think were secretly relieved that the weather was bad so they did not have to go to the top!!! The chains were not something that some people were expecting!!! Take ear plugs! Pack light- ask the guide what to take! I took two books and never read a page! Use walking poles! Do not bother with a second pair of shoes, maybe just flip flops for shower!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Dorian Moss

    Two wonderful weeks of high cols

    My second Exodus trek in the Alps, and the Haute Route deserves the challenging grade, definitely tougher than TMB. Very well organised by Exodus, excellent leader and camp manager, and a great bunch of 12 trekkers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of the third col of the day between Mont Fort and Prafleuri mountain refuges, the Col de Prafleuri (almost 3000m). This day 5 of the walk stayed over 2500m all day, we were fortunate to have a fine day for it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John is a natural leader, highly skilled in mountain technique but also very sensitive to the different abilities and interests of group members. He quickly gauged the correct pace, and knows when to give extra support to people who need it, e.g. with tricky parts of a steep descent. He kept our spirits up on the days with poor weather, and on fine days allowed the fastest members of the group to go ahead (but then wait at junctions). He has an excellent knowledge of Alpine geography and trees, which he was ready to share. Having been led by John on TMB in 2014, I was delighted to meet him again on arrival at Geneva.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is not for those who lack fitness and stamina. Several days wth 1000m or more ascent and descent, one after another: there is no rest day until after 6 days walking. Do this trip if ready for a challenge, otherwise consider the Tour du Mont Blanc TMB.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our camp manager Egle deserves full credit alongside John. She managed to perform wonders on a basic cooking stove, very imaginative menus, and the large portions one needs on such an energetic trek. The whole Exodus camp set up is very well thought out, including the design of tents, mess tent and all the auxiliary equipment like facilities to charge phones etc. I would suggest that the tents used are absolutely fine for one person but I would advise anyone travelling without a partner or very good friend to pay the single supplement. The two mountain refuges were an interesting experience of living close together, unavoidable to complete the route. Most of the campsites very well equipped, Exodus do not hide the fact that two others have very basic facilities.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Diane Leaver

    Chilled week in beautiful Tuscany

    Just returned from a really enjoyable trip. Stunning scenery, picturesque hillside towns, delicious food and wine and a great group of travelling companions. Mark our group leader was a lovely guy, whose 'can do' approach, knowledge and personality added to the overall enjoyment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The vista over Florence from the arrival point was stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mark was a really efficient and knowledgeable leader with a great personality. I felt that he'd handle difficult situations well, although thankfully there weren't any!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The accommodation is in the hills and it can be a bit chilly up there in the mornings and evenings. Although the pace of the trip was chilled, we still packed a lot in, so you will probably welcome the free day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Mark fitted in an extra wine tasting for us which was welcomed by the group. Perhaps this could be added as part of the itinerary.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Joanne Offer

    Fabulous wildlife

    I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. The amount of wildlife that we saw was simply unbelievable - from sloths and whales, to scarlet macaws, toucans and 4 types of monkeys. We even saw animals that I'd never even heard of before. (Agouti and coati.) Tortuguero is simply magical - waking up to the sounds of the rainforest and then seeing turtles on the beach at the other end of the day. I couldn't believe the number of beautifully colourful birds we saw in the cloud forest. By the end of it, we were saying, "Oh, it's just another hummingbird." And our time on the peninsula was just spectacular. Plodging through a stream in the rainforest and swimming near a mini-waterfall were great experiences. Never mind being able to spot humpback whales while standing on the beach having a picnic lunch!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending my birthday whale-watching: we had 4 different sightings in just that 1 day. The guides were as excited as we were when a baby humpback pretty much swam under the boat!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andreas was extremely patient and highly knowledgeable about Costa Rica's wildlife. He spotted animals that we would have walked straight past, and always made sure we had all the information we needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring water shoes - something you can wear snorkelling or getting on/off a boat. My cheap ponchos bought from Poundland were the best bargain of the trip - they kept me and my rucksack (largely) dry. It really does chuck it down in the rainforest. Yes, the accommodation in Cahuita isn't up to the same standard as everywhere else, but it was clean and situated right on the beach. Did the job. And the cocktails in town more than made up for any shortcomings. When flying in hurricane season, it might be worth trying to fly direct to San Jose so you reduce the risk of flight disruption - our connecting flight via Houston was cancelled, although Exodus helped us to sort alternatives.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have preferred to spend an extra night in Tortuguero and had one day less in Cahuita. (Simply because of the peace and remoteness of Tortuguero.)
Call us on 020 420 22 20