Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Els Draper

    Wonderful autumn cycling trip

    Just returned from really great cycling trip. Lovely route - we chose this trip over ones with other companies because of the route, mix of the mountains and time on coast in Essaouria. This was our first trip with Exodus and my husband Graham and I were very impressed. Fantastic tour leader in Liz, she managed every aspect of the tour superbly - logistics with the support vehicles - during rides never more than 10k away from drinks etc and sweeper support at rear in case of incidents. On the route there are lots of long ascents and Liz described what to expect extremely well in terms of the uphills and downhills, no-one got into the van on any of the rides and I believe this was due in large part to Everyone having confidence in Liz’s descriptions and timing of stops etc. Coming over the high pass on day 3 we encountered very heavy mist, Liz managed the descent extremely well with everyone feeling safe and comfortable with the ride down. Fantastic fun group of people to ride with, everyone gelled and mixed in together really quickly and whilst there was of course a range of fitness and technical cycling ability, it was relatively modest and at stops it was on average 15mins between first and last of the group arriving. Due to nature of the trip, lunches are roadside picnics every day, these were simple but fresh and filling. Accommodation is also simple but clean, in the first couple of places in the mountains there was some issues with lack of hot water, but to be honest whilst this isn’t ideal I think you need to accept that this type of issue can happen when travelling in a large group in the mountains in Morocco. We were fortunate that weather was kind to us every day, if we’d arrived cold and wet lack of hot water would have been more of an issue. Support team with Liz were v friendly and helpful as well. Really recommend trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cycling each day was varied and the scenery stunning. Whilst we had some very long ascents, the gradient was always manageable and rideable. The long sweeping descents are fantatsic fun, because of the quiet roads would say they were the best I have ever ridden

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz is an outstanding tour leader, knowledgeable, experienced, calm and organised! Everyone on the trip had full confidence in Liz. She described the rides every day really clearly, setting everyone up well for the ascents and descents - We adapated to Lizs definition of an “undulation” very quickly 😀 it was a full trip with 15 riders and liz maintained control at all times but didn’t mollycoddle or nanny us, giving more experienced fitter riders freedom to stretch out etc. We did experience extreme heavy mix on the steepest longest descent of the week and I thought Lizs management of this was superb. She positioned the support vehicles to protect us at the front and back and ensured we all maintained a controlled pace down. During rides Liz quietly but continually moves through the group from front to back checking everyone is ok Liz was also brilliant at keeping on top of bike maintenance, sorting out any tweaks needed quickly etc Finally each day Liz gave us background and historical context of places we were riding through / staying at. Couldn’t ask for more from a tour leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really recommend Morocco for late autumn cycling and exodus trip was great itinerary. But come in knowledge that this isn’t a trip with long leisurely lunches / cafe stops or the comfiest hotels at the end of the days. It’s an opportunity to get away from it all in beautiful scenery experiencing local life in a lovely country
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Tory Bygrave

    Gokyo Lakes

    What can I say, it really has been a trip of a life time!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two very different experiences stand out for me; the first being the day we crossed the Cho La Pass. An early start and steep climb led to fantastic views and sense of achievement at the pass. This was followed by a decent over the glacier and stunning walk into the next valley. The second was the opportunity to meet Mr Kanchha Sherpa, the last surviving team member of the 1953 Everest expedition and listen to his memories, arranged by and translated by our guide. Another once in a life time experience provided by this trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our lead guide, Tsering Dorgee Sherpa, met us from the plane and and looked after us until departure. His experience and knowledge ensured the whole group gained as much as possible from the trip and stayed safe. He along with our other guides Uwa and Nima were always professional but still made the trek entertaining and had a great sense of humor. I really felt the group were lucky to have been guided by this team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't under estimate the trek, its tough but worth it. If you are going in the cooler season then prepare for the cold on the earlier starts, it really will make a difference to your trip. The Tea house accommodation was, on the whole, a lot better than expected and the food was always good. I took plenty of snacks, didn't need them all but glad I did. If you do take snacks make sure its food you really enjoy, peanut M&Ms were a great idea for me. If you are undecided between this and the normal EBC trek I would go for this without a doubt. Gokyo is stunning and Cho La pass an adventure.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Lynne Bateman

    Best. holiday. ever

    Best. Holiday. Ever. I cannot recommend enough. CB is bloody amazing as a leader and guide. He's one guide I will always remember - most guides on adventure holidays are great but instantly forgettable. But his humour and patience meant I felt like he was a friend! Great knowledge and communication skills. A really well organised trip. Group size perfect too. Tents and mattresses perfect. Plenty of water and fruit. We were pleased that upon arrival we didn't hop directly in the canoes - we stayed at the mainland campsite (sunrise! Honking hippos!). This was fab because there is a shower block there and you are hot and dusty from the transfer/flight. The canoeing is awesome. The campsites were perfect. The food brilliant (I'm veggie). But the animals! My god! So many incredible experiences. I don't know if we struck lucky but every day got more amazing than the last. It's so much better to see animals from a canoe than from a Dusty 4x4. Lastly- the group were brilliant. Amazingly, there was no Holiday Wanker!! Tips: We got a kaza visa online, no drama - but you only need this is you are travelling after to Zimbabwe. You need a sticker in your passport not just a stamp! (Our first mistake). By the way, Livingstone is well worth a visit and CB organised a local bus for us. You need minimum kit - we washed in the river every day. As suggested, carry your canoe stuff ready to go in hand luggage. Bring a red light torch (for bugs) gloves (just in case) and definitely binoculars (We were so stupid!) And a zoom lens. And a bottle of rum?! We took a 10 litre dry bag each for clothes and another for the sleeping bag and then shared a camera bag.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The animals!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was just wonderful.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Philip Atkinson

    Fantastic trip through Moghul India

    This was a great trip to be on, saw amazing sights; buildings, landscape, wildlife as well as having a chance to see and interact with local people. We cycled through some varied and interesting landscape as well as some that was dull. The roads were quite a mix, some better than the guides remembered from their last trip, others much worse. The heat was relentless on a few days due to lack of shade and start times being later due to coach transfers, this did cause problems and maybe needs more thought. I have to say that, after a few days cycling, most of us improved but the 34km extenI think the trip will be a five in future but it needs some tweaking of itinerary and trip notes to get there. sion on day eight seemed to be wasted as the countryside was probably the worst we came across, uninspiring. Overall a great trip though with a few adjustments to trip notes and tweaking of itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a few, sorry! 1) The forts and palaces generally, especially at Jaipur and Udaipur 2) cycle up to Kumbhalgarh and visit to the fort 3) Morning guided heritage cycle around Jaipur, everyone thought that was fantastic 4) Ride through Sariskar NP buffer zone on day 10 5) Day 13 cycle through backroads to Fatehpur Sikri 6) And finally, the visit to the Taj Mahal, amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two tour leaders who shared duties, Sanjay who was the most senior and Tapesh. I thought they were a good mix and ensured we had the chance to meet locals, especially in impromptu situations. They looked after everyone on the rides and catered for the varying levels of fitness and determination. Socially they were good fun as were the cycle rides. They made the trip in my opinion.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t underestimate the heat and it’s impact on performance. Drinking plenty is difficult when the water in your bottle is 40C so try and mix with other drinks or take some squash or similar. Travel light, a bar bag is a useful thing to take rather than rucksack. Have camera handy for photos as you pass through small villages and chai shops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were a couple of fairly negative people in the group who were disruptive towards the end, I thought the group leaders dealt with them quite well considering. Not sure of the benefit of the extra 34km on day 8, just made us late into Jaipur because of traffic. Also, there was no mention of the length of some of the transfers, the ones to Jaipur and also to Pushkar were very long but nothing in trip notes to indicate that, should,be more honest/explicit. On a separate note, the support staff were all very good and worked very hard.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Francis Sandbach

    COSTA RICA

    The group size of 14 was ideal with plenty of different personalities. The locations selected were a good combination of places which illustrated the diversity of wildlife habitats. The real bonus to the holiday was the guide (Katia) and driver (Chico). Katia was the real deal. Her English was good, she was very knowledgeable about wildlife, and she went out of her way to help and try to meet everyone's needs. Katia was a very professional guide indeed. We were also fortunate to have Chico who was always happy and helpful. He would often stop to let us see something he had spotted. The guide and driver always considered our safety not only when stopping to take in the view, but also in pointing out any potential dangers such as pickpockets, rip currents when bathing, etc.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The boat trips from Tortuguero were wonderful. So many birds and other animals were pointed out to us with the Green Iguanas in the trees being particularly inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be very hot and humid in the tropical rain forest but also cooler in the mountains. Casualwear is definetly what you need.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you get Katia as your guide you will be very fortunate.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Francis Sandbach

    COSTA RICA

    The group size of 14 was ideal with plenty of different personalities. The locations selected were a good combination of places which illustrated the diversity of wildlife habitats. The real bonus to the holiday was the guide (Katia) and driver (Chico). Katia was the real deal. Her English was good, she was very knowledgeable about wildlife, and she went out of her way to help and try to meet everyone's needs. Katia was a very professional guide indeed. We were also fortunate to have Chico who was always happy and helpful. He would often stop to let us see something he had spotted. The guide and driver always considered our safety not only when stopping to take in the view, but also in pointing out any potential dangers such as pickpockets, rip currents when bathing, etc.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The boat trips from Tortuguero were wonderful. So many birds and other animals were pointed out to us with the Green Iguanas in the trees being particularly inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be very hot and humid in the tropical rain forest but also cooler in the mountains. Casualwear is definetly what you need.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you get Katia as your guide you will be very fortunate.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Jane Sinclair

    Epic trip !

    This trip surpassed all my expectations. There were 15 of us in total ranging from age 26 to 65 and all strangers. Within a couple of days we were like a team of old friends laughing and teasing each other and being supportive and kind to each other. The scenery was spectacular and we enjoyed sunrises , sunsets, swimming in a rock pool, picnicking at the highest peak, strenuous walking , we saw nomads and a few villagers but not a single other tourist the whole trip. The children came out to meet us and to chat and play if we walked through villages and it often felt like we were witnessing life from a bygone age. The tents were sound and kept the wind out on the first 2 nights . Once we camped in the valleys the wind dropped.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was walking down a mountain glimpsing the camp and the rock pools beckoning to us in the distance. As we walked a herd of over 300 sheep rams and newborn lambs moved towards us led by a nomad in vividly coloured clothing which contrasted starkly with the grey rocks and stones. The sound of the the animals hooves on the rocks sounded like the pitter patter of raindrops echoing through the mountain air. In the distance a young Berber who looked about 12 years old was skipping effortlessly across the rocks dressed in bright magenta and red tunic. It was truly an ethereal sight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Lasan was professional organised calm extremely kind and great fun. Nothing was ever to much trouble for him. He encouraged me up the mountains, made sure we had enough to eat and constantly filled up our water bottles. The team of cooks and porters looked after us so well that really all we needed to do was walk , have fun , eat and sleep. They put up the tents , prepared all the delicious food and served lunches fit for a king on top of mountains. I always felt safe and was able to fully appreciate the isolation of the mountains as a result.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take woolly hat and gloves as it was cold on a couple of evenings. The group leader provided bottled water in huge containers so we didn't need our water filter bottles or chlorine tablets so save your money and don't bother buying them. I would advise anyone considering doing this trip to go for it. The hotel on the first night was clean and comfortable ( unfortunately i cant remember the name) but ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the saturday night disco/club was at the front of the hotel and our room overlooked it and was very noisy until 3pm in the morning.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely travel with Exodus again. All the arrangements were excellent and the all the people who supported us from Lasan to the drivers , cooks and porters were professional and real experts at their jobs.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Marg Bjerky

    Essential Peru

    What an amazing trip! Our tour leader, Fernando, went above and beyond all through the trip! I am in awe of how much we were able to see and experience in only 2 weeks. I would recommend Exodus and Fernando to anyone looking to come to Peru! Thank for the trip of a lifetime! The Bjerky’s

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I would say the giving to the needy children, dogs and schools was the most inspirational part of the trip! It was nice to give back while we were enjoying our trip and it is something we will endeavour to do more in the future.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fernando was amazing. He was very good at reading the group and knowing when/how to suggest things and get everyone excited to participate! His passion for the country and history was evident throughout the trip but he did a fantastic job of not overwhelming us. He is wonderful at his job and is an asset to Exodus!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sleep before you come :) and carefully read the itinerary and be prepared before you arrive. Review the current weather for each location before you leave. Take lots of hand sanitizer and kleenex for bathroom breaks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you for organizing this trip and for this amazing opportunity!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Marie Josee van Rijn

    Himalaya experience

    Wonderful, inspiring and active trip full of challenges. Beautiful scenery, great people, lovely staff. Truly one of the best experiences in my life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing over the highest passes, overcoming my fear of descending (I really prefer walkin uphill), letting go of everything that was going on in my life back home, meeting wonderful new people, dealing with altitude and learning the effects it has on your body, meeting monks in Ladakh and visiting the Taj Mahal (I booked the extension Golden triangle).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngima was the best! He was so experienced with climbing and the altitude. Also, he was extremely fit. He made sure everyone was doing alright all the time and motivated us to keep on going even if we were having a hard time. He showed genuine interest in all of us and opened up to us during the trip. Tashi was great as well, as was the rest of the staff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was very happy with my walking poles for the descents. Also, bring lots of sunscreen and a hat with a long flap that covers your neck. Exercise enough at home before you start this trip. I was very happy that a came prepared and fit enough. The altitude and the heat during the day already make it hard so having a certain level of fitness really helps you to be able to enjoy this trip instead of having to struggle through it. Bring a set of playing cards and invite the rest of the staff to join you for a game after diner; they love that! Earplugs will come in handy at night as most nights you will here the continuous sounds of the bells on the horses that stay around the tents. Warm clothes are a must, especially a warm hat, fleece and gloves. A washcloth helps you clean up a little bit during the 7 days camping when you get a bowl of warm water and you try to ‘shower’ in your tent ;-).
  • Reviewed November 2018
    kathy tuggey

    Super trip exceeding expectations

    Saw so much of Mexico including Day of the Dead Festival. Lots of fantastic scenery, culture and history not to mention food and art. Be prepared for some long days and windy, mountain roads.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved swimming in cenotes which was added to the tour as well as Frida Kahlo house and the Mayan sites.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Arthuro couldn’t do enough for the group and had extensive and humour!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Booked group flight via Washington and on reflection should have booked my own flight either direct or via non US hub. Transfer queues were worse part of holiday!
Call us on 020 420 22 20