Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Penelope Becker

    Good trip

    Went with my 22 year old son July 18 .. flew via Bogotá to Quito on Avianca ..Long transit at Bogotá Airport, recommend buying transit lounge pass, but staff very unhelpful, and on return trip . Quito high altitude and lovely authentic hotel .. restaurant close by , son ate guinea pig ,, and recommend artisan market for Alpaca poncho and Panama hats .Long boat ride to Napo destination and wonderful accommodation in newest palapa on lake edge with outdoor jacuzzi , deck and hammock, but very little free time to relax ..stinky turkey birds ...great character and plumage ...Canoe rides fab, but not much wildlife can be seen from canoes because of dense undergrowth . Super watchtower at Napo valley for birdwatching ..no good if you can’t do heights, climbed two other watchtowers for amazing views over canopy to see blue macaws and toucans ..best view from watchtowers with scope provided and set up by Eduardo ..also took pics through scope ..can sway a bit with large group up top ..not for the faint hearted ..also saw cayman and river otters from canoe ..managed to get away from noisy Australians by ducking out of village tour , and instead Eduardo took us for a. Jungle trek and climbed watchtower on our own to see blue macaws ..absolutely fantastic . He also presented us with an enormous male crested owl after a trek ..so exciting ... back to back excursions, got bitten last night as too tired to be vigilant, blessed the fact we had our vaccinations ..lots of monkeys ..very hard to see ..your own bins an absolute must .. one sloth , through scope ..hard to see ....Very remote location ....parrot licks amazing ..back to Quito and then to Galapagos, fortunately for us we were upgraded to Beluga ...lovely boat, no time to rest...daily very early starts ..on and off a panga to islands ..all that you could wish for ..2 more owl, barn in lava cave ..short eared owl on open terrain ..swum with sea lions, lots of turtles, son went diving in washing machine ..not good clarity .ha ha ...all the boobies you could wish for ..right next to you .. ..albatross ..nesting ..eggs, chicks tropicbirds , yellow warblers ..finch, Galapagos mockinbird .. marine and land iguanas everywhere ..sea lions ..no penguins ....could see golden rays from cliff top ..a lot of walking ..daily ..extreme snorkelling ..very cold water for me ...my shortie not thick enough ..even with rash vest ..too exhausted to do one afternoon on lava island ..thought I would rest in cabin, but staff had a noisy get together ..also rough sea on night journeys ..every night ..barely slept ..big day with tortoises ..returned via night in Guayancil ..more alpaca from market ..and then Bogotá to London ..arrived home totally exhausted ..not enough sleep throughout trip ..good food on board ..took my own snorkel and fins .. saw a juvenile hammerhead from panga on last day around mangroves , juvenile sharks .spotted rays and turtles plentiful ..managed to change cabins for final 3 nights ...put in tiny cabin .originally ...one porthole and not enough daylight ..make sure you get one with at least 2 portholes ..upstairs cabins open on to seating area ..but best with huge windows ..lots of getting on and off pangas and trekking ..would rate level 2 ... came home and slept for a week ......camera with bird watching zoom lens essential

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mating dance of albatross and the albatross nesting site ..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Too tired.. in Quito twice but only went to park and city tour ..artisan market ..too tired to go to cloud forest and very expensive ..however managed to see England v Sweden World Cup match .., and also when we were thrashed by Croatia ..there in no internet on the boat but can get on Darwin in cafe

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    High energy level needed !
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Eric Watts

    Amazon and Galapagos

    Excellent wildlife, the snorkeling was amazing - turtles, sea lions and occasional (small) sharks. Good guides. Hectic with early starts and busy schedule. Worst experience was having my bag with all my valuables stolen from the hotel lobby - although we were aware of steet crime we did expect to be safe within the hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming with sea lios

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good - both of them

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Never let go of your valuables

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is unfortunate that the risk of theft was understated - it takes a lot of time to replace everything that was taken and the photos are irreplacable
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Ruth Luck

    Amazon and Galápagos Islands

    This trip surpassed anything I could ever have imagined. The Napo Wildlife Centre is beautiful. The service, accommodation, guiding and sightings were fantastic. An incredible place to stay with some incredible birding. The Cachalote 1 and her crew were just amazing. Kind, generous, knowledgeable and so helpful. I had hurt my neck earlier in the trip and the crew went above and beyond to help me out. Each island brought a new, remarkable landscape with it's own unique species. The snorkelling was beyond the imagination and our guide was flexible and eager for us to see as much as possible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Amazon -Being introduced to the entire of the Napo staff, their names, their roles and being given the opportunity to say our thanks to the "backstage" staff you rarely see. Listening to Howler monkeys. Galápagos - sitting on the upper deck of the Cachalote, staring up at the big Southern Hemisphere sky feeling blessed, having just swam with sea lions, sharks and dolphins. Darwin is an incredibly knowledgeable guide who genuinely loves what he does. His excitement is contagious and his ability to find what you want to see is unreal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 guides in the Amazon and both were fantastic at spotting animals and birds as well as being able to identify everything! They were happy to answer questions and spend time with each of the group members. Darwin was our guide in the Galápagos and his knowledge was outstanding. He was approachable, happy to answer questions and keen to adapt to the groups needs. The best thing I could say is that when I return to the Galápagos, I will only go with Darwin and the Cachalote crew.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get up early, be adventurous and sit quietly in order to truly appreciate the beauty of your surroundings. Take your snorkel stuff with you on every panga ride (if you are allowed), you just never know when you'll see something amazing. And if you go in August - take seasickness pills (I never got sick and it only took me 2 days to get my sea legs but the seasickness pills saved me)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A massive thank you for the opportunity to see a part of the world I have always dreamed of. It was more than I ever imagined.
  • Reviewed March 2015
    Ethel Robinson

    Galapagos and Amazon

    What a fantastic adventure! The rain forest was amazing, paddling up the creek to the Napo Wildlife Centre was like going to a different world. The cabanas were lovely, food plentiful and tasty. We saw Giant River Otters twice! Wow! It was the rain forest, so guess what, it rained! (but not all the time.) Cachalote was equally comfortable, if a little cramped, and Cookie produced excellent meals, need to go on a diet now. The walks on the islands were short, but interesting with an abundance of wildlife providing loads of photo opportunities.Snorkeling was brilliant, even for a novice like me. The Hotel Vieja Cuba in Quito was quaint and unusual.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When the boat was surrounded by a pod of minky whales. We could even hear them calling to one another.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Delfin was informative and knowledgeable, keen and enthusiastic, whilst Fabio had eagle eyes. Together they were amazing. In the Galapogas Christina was equally knowledgeable and as a resident showed her love of the islands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pracice snorkelling and buy a good camera or you will be very left out!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having travelled from Manchester via Amsterdam I would have been happier to return from Guayaquil to avoid a day travelling back to Quito to return to Guyaquil the next day and spend another 2.5 hours in the airport there whist plane refuelled and a new crew came aboard,but apart from that it was a wonderful experience and well organised
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Karen Beswick

    Galapagos and Napo Wildlife Centre

    This trip was unbelievable and hard to put into words to give it justice. I went with no expectations although the reviews I read were good. From the moment we arrived it was an adventure with experiences that can only be described as amazing. From the wildlife to climbing the volcano every moment is one which I will treasure. There is not one thing I can say that is negative.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are so many it is hard to choose but when you get out of the sea after swimming with a pod of about 100 dolphins and struggle to control your emotions I guess it has to be that but honestly everything had it's own special moment.. to be able to swim with dolphins, turtles, sea lions, penguins, sharks, sea iguanas, and the most amazing fish was a privilege beyond compare. Climbing the volcanoes and seeing the views was equally amazing. Napo was beautiful and the highlight has to be the macaws flying over the canopy as we stood on the tower. We saw lots of parrots and birds. Also several types of monkey, The setting on the lake is beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Darwin....well I think he is a merman! Fantastic guy who swam with the most able and then equally came on to the beach to be with the least able. Good sense of humour and very knowledgeable. Could not fault him. Kind and caring without being patronising. In Napo we were guided by Delpin and he was brilliant. Even managed to find a blue frog.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it and extend to Napo Wildlife Centre after. Such a contrast to the Galapagos and equally as amazing. It is an active trip but all abilities are able to go.. the fit and not so fit...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I honestly can not fault this trip. The food was excellent. The crew on the boat were friendly..just amazing.
  • Reviewed December 2013
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS & AMAZON

    A wonderful trip, which combined an exhilerating journey into the Amazon basin and a unique tour of a number of the Galapagos islands on board the Cachalote.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to pick out just one memory. The Napo Lodge, run by Anangu Kichwa community, is breathtaking. Snorkling with sealions and huge turtles was also a fantastic experience. Cachalote is a wonderful yacht - great atmosphere and the best way to island hop in the Galapagos.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This trip did not involve just one group leader. The three we met were all excellent. A special mention to Glorio in Quito who helped us find an alternative hotel when we arrived in Quito without accomadation at one o'clock in the morning!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sun protection with a high factor. You will need plenty of protection whilst on the Cachalote.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although arrangements had been made to be picked up at the Quito airport, we discovered that Gloria, Exodus's representative in Quito, was not expecting us. Fortunately we had arrived 15 minutes before the group she was waiting for. Neither had we been allocated a room at the Vieja Cuba! Quite a shock at 1.00 a.m.  Fortunately again Gloria was on hand to help us out.But had we arrived at Quito airport half an hour later we would have had problems. 
  • Reviewed June 2013
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS & AMAZON

    A fantastic two and half weeks.  The organisation of all the guides was superb, excellent food through out the holiday and the wildlife sightseeing in both the Amazonian rainforest and on and around the Galapagos Islands was sensational.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mini-bus having to stop and then squeeze past a giant tortoise on the track road on our first tour on Santa Cruz.Snorkelling with sea lions swimming close by, and having to "make way" for a large turtle as it ascended to the surface for air, I was floating directly above the turtle looking down while it was feeding.Walking past sea lions basking on beaches, and laying down beside them (not too near!!) to have the customary tourist photograph taken.Diving off the Cachalote yacht into the Pacific Ocean.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All the leaders were superb.  Juan (Galapagos islands) was very good and attentive to detail and very informative about the wild life.  Jairo (Napa Wildlife Lodge) was also very good, friendly and outgoing, helpful and knowledgeble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take waterproof camera for snorkelling. Take more cash than you think you might need, especially if you wish to tip the guides, boat crew and other leaders through out the hoilday.  Used ATM once to withdraw additional dollars without any problem, took the precuation of using an ATM within a building (e.g. inside The Raddisson Hotel).Pack lightly and with luggage that can be folded for the yacht cruise.  Storage space is limited, the Exodus holdalls are superb for this job and you can pack these in a larger bag so you can split luggage and leave some in the hotel in Quito. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you love wildlife, this is a fantastic holiday to take.
  • Reviewed April 2013
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS & AMAZON

    A holiday of contrasts – the dust, hustle and bustle of Quito, the tranquillity of the Amazon and then the abundant wildlife of the Galapagos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snorkelling with turtles, sea lions and the most enormous shoals of dinner plate sized fish. The sea lions in particular were great fun – swimming towards you at the speed of a torpedo, you think a collision is inevitable and then at the last minute they dive underneath you. I’m sure they loved the look of panic on our faces! The turtles were completely unbothered by our presence and in some places were so plentiful you had to be careful you didn’t kick them in the face.Another memorable occasion was watching the seals at night chasing fish round the boat – the speed at which they can change direction is quite amazing.And I can’t fail to mention the famous Blue Footed Boobies – truly as stupid as their reputation.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two group leaders – Danny in the Amazon and Juan in the Galapagos. Both were excellent. Juan in particular was very entertaining – we knew he was a bit of a joker from the moment he pretended to mistake a rock for a giant tortoise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    AmazonDon’t expect to see much wildlife in the Amazon – there are too many trees in the way! It is an experience that I enjoyed but I was expecting to see far more than we actually did. Most exotic birds were viewed through binoculars and the giant otters proved frustratingly elusive – although another group did see them. However, gently gliding along creeks listening to the call of the howler monkeys was still special.It’s a good idea to take a small fold up bag so that you can leave some of your Galapagos clothes at the hotel when you go to the Amazon. You won’t need them in the Amazon and it will save them getting damp in the humid conditions.You will need to wear long sleeved shirts and long trousers every day in the Amazon – although the bugs weren’t annoying.GalapagosOn the boat you will be barefoot most of the time while aboard – so the only footwear you really need is a pair of walking sandals and a pair of walking shoes.They will give you a swimming towel for the week, so there is no need to take one (but a small trek towel to take ashore to brush the sand off your feet is a good idea).The water is pretty chilly, even at the ‘warm’ time of year so I found a wetsuit essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If the planned Exodus flights are with Iberia, try to arrange your own flights. A truly awful airline! Unfortunately our flights were changed to Iberia at the last minute because United changed their schedule.
  • Reviewed April 2013
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS & AMAZON

    We found this trip to be well planned with a full and interesting itinerary. we particularly enjoyed the activities from the cruise section of the holiday. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The various snorkelling activities - each swim was a completely different experience with regard to the variety of marine life seen. The varied wildlife on each Galapagos Island - close encounters cannot be avoided as wildlife at times is almost underfoot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Within the tour are two separate parts - each part we were allocated a guide, in particular we found Juan, our Galapagos guide really enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you take/consider- anti bug spray for rainforest- ear plugs to reduce engine noise whilst sleeping on boat- we found hiring a wet suit on board the boat was necessary in order to snorkel for extended periods- take a spare bag so that you can leave luggage in Quito and travel lighter to Amazon and Galapagos- be vigilant with personal security when out and about in Quito

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    To enable you to get the most out of your time, be prepared for early starts and pretty full schedules.
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS & AMAZON

    A fantastic holiday, well organized.We had a major problem on the last day and the local Agent was brillient.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip to the rain forest was majical from the moment we set foot on the moterised canoe - but seeing the Napo Centre from under our rain ponchoes was amaizing . The atmosaphire, accommodation and people at the Centre were all inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader in the Rain Forest was so enthustatic it was infectious, nothing was too much for her and she was always on the look out for us, made sure everyone saw what she saw!!The Leader in the Galapados was good but lacked the enthusiam.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GoIt is not as warm as you might expect in the GalapagosThe trip to the Cloud Forest was worth going on.Take a safety belt for money especially in Quito.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great Holiday but pity about the 11 flights we seem to have spent a lot of time at  Guayaquil airport!!                             Don't take Tavellers Cheques - NO ONE acceps them.The market in Quito is great especially if you enjoy bargening.- get most of your presents to take home there.
Call us on (354) 567 8978