Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Peter Baylis

    Cycling Three Countries

    The whole holiday was a great adventure and turned out to be even better than we hoped it would be! So much to see and do, we packed so much in it felt like we had been away for a month! Cycling allowed you to get to see bits of the countries that you would never normally get close too on other types of holidays -Brilliant!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Depends what you call inspirational but the thing that sticks in my mind , is coming around a corner in Vietnam to be faced by hundreds of children, who all turn and look at you and start screaming "hello" and waving at you -made you feel like some sort of Rock Star!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chai was excellent and looked after us all the way. His knowledge allowed us to stop and try local things as we cycled through the countryside, something you would think twice about if he wasn't with us. Learnt a lot about the local culture from him.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    NICHOLA CARTER

    Absolutely Fabulous Holiday.

    Well where do I start? This holiday was one big adventure from the start, right to the end. I saw and learnt so much.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many inspirational moments but I think meeting so many Cambodian people who so friendly and happy, even though their country went through such a terrifying ordeal. They always had a big smile on their faces.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Chai was always so professional and calm and so knowledgeable. He always greeted us with a big smile and always did his absolute best to look after us. I just hope Exodus realise what an asset he is to their company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't bother taking Cambodian and Vietnamese currencies. Just take Thai Baht and US Dollars. Baggy shorts over your cycling shorts was enough to get you into most temples. Take your own saddle or saddle gel cover. I took the saddle I did all my training in and I didn't have a sore bottom all holiday. Try as much of the different food you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am already looking at booking another Exodus holiday for next year. Everything was looked after and prepared for us and the whole holiday ran on rails (or should I say ran on bicycles?).
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Lesley Dixon

    Fantasitc trip

    Three countries with fabulous experiences in each. A great group and a fantastic group leader made this a truly great trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many. Angkor Wat is a sight to behold; the Mekong Delta is fabulous and the lovely feeling you get when children in rural villages literally jump up and down with joy as you pass by will stay with you for a long time. However the most inspirational part of the trip - as well as the most difficult - was our visit to the Killing Fields and TS21. Our guide helped us to understand this terrible part of Cambodia's history, but also how the country and its people have moved forward.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chai made the trip. He is genuinely one of the nicest people I've ever met. He went out of his way to make this a trip to remember and always had a smile on his face.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can buy cycling tops in both Cambodia and Vietnam - both tops are very colourful and a great memento of the trip. There are some great restaurants in Seam Reap, Phnom Penh and Saigon that work with street children - giving them opportunities in the hospitality industry; Lonely Planet book has details.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip - if you book it you won't regret it!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Priya Chambers

    Amazing cycling holiday as an introduction to South East Asia

    My first holiday in South East Asia and my first cycling holiday! I absolutely loved every moment. It won't be my last cycling trip: seeing beautiful countryside, meeting locals, eating delicious food, great accommodation ranging from hotels to homestay, lovely cycling group and great memories that will stay with me!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I wouldn't say inspirational but it's something that has stuck with me, and is very humbling: learning and understanding the culture and histories each of these three countries has lived through.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chaiya: what an amazingly professional and knowledgable guide! Greeted every morning with his smile and great sense of humour! The trip wouldn't have run so smoothly had it not been for him. From the cycling to lunch breaks, to organised visits. Got to see, taste and do so much thanks to Chai.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As always I over packed, but make sure you have really (really) good padded cycling shorts, breathable cycling tops, and just go for it. Book this trip!! Make the most of it and enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This will not be my last cycling trip with Exodus!! I've had a fantastic life experience that has got me hooked onto cycling even more!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Gobnait Kearney

    Cycling South East Asia

    Cycling South East Asia . We cycled from Bangkok to Saigon - crossed borders , through jungles , stayed in accommodation varying from hotels to homestay - all seamlessly organised by our group leader Chiaya .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's difficult to explain the insight we got into the history , religion ,countryside and cuisine in such a short time but it was very powerful and will stay with me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chiaya , our group leader was the most professional group leader I have ever encountered . He anticipated every problem and diffused any tension with great intelligence , charm and kindness . His knowledge of the history and religions of the countries is comprehensive , but it is his unfailing good humour and positivity that will remain with me and my husband and I'm sure all the group .
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Linda Penn

    Perfect introduction to a cycling trip.

    Absolutely the best thing we have ever done. Loved every second of this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the group we travelled with, the group leader Chai and all the support team. The scenery was fantastic, as was the cycling. The organisation of the whole trip was faultless and smooth, from check in to the hotels to the bikes up and ready to go each day. The snacks along the way were wonderful (especially in Thailand).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic, knowledgeable, helpful with a great sense of humour. Chai made the trip what it was....amazing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it...you will love it. Pack light and spend more money on some decent cycling shorts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first cycle holiday and it won't be our last....we have the bug now and will certainly be looking for our next one.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Linda Simmie

    Cycling Indochina

    Fascinating cycle across three countries. All of them different. Very thought provoking. Showed how privileged we are to live in Western European democracies with checks and balances on the despotic use of power. Also showed the importance of free education and health services in Europe. One informed local told us "you get sick, you go to hospital, you can't pay, you die in the corridor!"

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was very good. Possibly the most noteworthy moments were not so much inspirational as sobering. Visits to the killing fields and detention centre left most of us musing on man's inhumanity to man.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Helpful, well-informed, very sociable. Managed the logistics of crossing three countries and having to change bikes and guides at every frontier very well. Also a great guitar player.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat and humidity, high-fiving children in rural areas and a very educational experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The support on the road was excellent. The picnics set up for each rest stop were an inspiration to keep going. Fresh lime drink is something to look forward to at every break in Vietnam.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Iain Haigh

    IndoChina cycle ride

    A fantastic experience and we really enjoyed every moment. The organisation and back up were exceptional and all the people who supported us were first class in every aspect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the people in particular the children smiling and being so welcoming along the whole route.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader was always taking our safety and well being as the number one priority. He also made it a totally enjoyable and fun holiday. The group dynamics worked so well because the leader included everybody in all aspects and ensured everyone enjoyed their time. He always explained what was happening so nobody was left unsure as to what was happening. Above all Chai was the nicest guy you could ever meet.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The only advice I could give is you can travel light as you don't need lots of clothes etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The entire holiday was excellent value for money!
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Yvonne Price

    Fantastic Trip

    This was the first time I have travelled with Exodus and I was very impressed. I have travelled with other small-group adventure companies in the past, but I have to say for smooth, efficient organization, quality of hotels, and quality of tour leader, Exodus is probably the best. I was also very impressed with the quality of the bikes that were provided.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling around the Angkor Wat site was magical. Cycling along the back roads of the Mekong Delta and being greeted by a chorus of hellos and frenzied waving from small children was definitely one of the highlights of the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chai was wonderful. He was very organized and kept us informed at all times. He was also patient, kind, encouraging, and thoroughly likeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring gel seats or better still, your own bicycle seat that is good for long distances. The bikes are excellent, but the seats are uncomfortable for long distances.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first time with Exodus and also my first cycling tour. I am definitely looking into another cycling tour with Exodus. I loved this trip.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Phil Drinkwater

    Superb entry into cycling abroad

    The was to be my first cycling holiday abroad and I didn't know what to expect. The organisation of the trip, the bike teams who provided superb snacks at every stop, the excellent bikes, the superb leader, the amazing views.. they all helped make it an enjoyable experience. Several members of the group didn't really cycle much at all but we all managed it, with the more experienced cyclists offering help and advice as needed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I personally loved cycling in Vietnam. We were out in the villages more and every kid and some of the parents would say hello. The kids would even line up to get "moving hand slaps". It was all great fun and we felt incredibly welcome. The Angkor wat temple complex was amazing too and cycling around it was a great way to see it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Is was one of the best tour leaders I've every had on a group trip. All of the bike teams in the three countries were superb too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    First off, do not take Stirling currency. Take usd instead. In terms of fitness preparation, I'd recommend at least doing 4-6 spin classes but ideally do some cycling too to get your butt used to the miles! I'd also recommend cycling shorts - which are acceptable to wear - and a gel saddle. You'll also need a pair of "temple shorts" which are below the knee to put over the top and shoulders will need to be able to be covered for temples too. If you have very fair skin like me, get used to be adding suncream very regularly. Alternatively, take long sleeved tops or separate "cycling sleeves".

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Everyone except serious cyclists will wonder if they can manage this. You can! Just do some prep back in the uk and you'll manage.. and love it!
Call us on (354) 567 8978