Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Marie Longworth

    Great trip!

    Great opportunity to see 3 countries! Great leader!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    While sad it was wonderful to bear witness to the relatively recent history of both Cambodia and VIetnam and also great to see the lovely welcome we got!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I returned from Sri Lanka in October and thought the legendary Suresh was thee best Guide ever, Where to start with Is!! She was just fabulous! She looked after us so we’ll and was always one step ahead in organizing everything. At the border crossings she brought pens for filling out the forms and even spelled out the names of the hotels that we had to put on the forms. She stopped the traffic with a firm hand which made us feel very safe but she was always very gracious in her acknowledgment of those that stopped! Her Tinglish (English) was excellent and she was never off duty. She never stopped and was unfailing courteous at all times! The support team in the three countries were great too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat! The cycling was very doable but oh soooo hot!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Philip Morley

    A must for new travellers to this region

    As a second time traveller to this area I had seen many of the sites by coach. Cycling is so much better allowing time to absorb the many natural wonders and culture with the wind through your hair. Our tour leader, nick name IS, a fully committed Thai lady, gave 110% to everything for the group, including the 2 boarder crossings that looked like something from a James Bond film!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having seen many of the natural wonders previously, and an appreciation of the countries history, for me the stay over in the Mekong delta Homestay was my highlight. This was tailored for our group only and included a ferry transfer, evening cooking lesson and traditional entertainment with musicians and dancers; an evening of great memories.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader ,”IS”. Was inspirational. As said, she gave 110% commitment to the group ensuring everything was in place, put in place or corrected where found wanting. I can’t sing her praises enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, please check with Exodus shortly before departure that all travel documentation is in place, particular if flying with Malaysia Airlines. We had trouble at check-in and we’re not allowed to board until we had signed an Airline Waiver of no responsibility; this caused some angst and was embarrassing holding up other travellers in the check-in queue.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Apart from the issues at check- in on departure, everything ran extremely smoothly; this was due to the efficiency and committment of the tour leader. The only other point is that some hotels outside of the main cities were wanting! Mainly due to plumbing issues, i.e. blocked toilets and flooding bathrooms. We had to change room once and others in the group similarly.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Virginia Morris

    Wonderful contrasting country cycling

    This tour gives a great overview of the 3 countries visited with differing food, landscapes and people. Our group was small (only 9: Brits and Americans) which gave us a very close bonding time together and our leader 'Is' was outstanding in her warmth, compassion and sense of humour. The pace was faster than expected and yet although we cycled further than I have experience of, it was completely manageable and I was never tempted to get on the bus. It's hot and sweaty but virtually flat the whole way. There is more traffic and car fumes than anticipated and it felt a bit risky at times, but 'Is' had her eye on us the whole time with help from the crew. The food is wonderful and as a gluten free vegetable lover I was in heaven. There really is no need to bring anything extra except perhaps a bag of muesli. The cycle snacks are never ending and delicious. Culturally, we were indulged in many new tastes, sights and sounds from spiders, silk worms, frogs, rats and snakes to be eaten in the local markets to fabulous home cooking in the home stay. We toured Angkor Wat in its splendours over 3 days and enjoyed the boat ride in Cambodia and the homestay in Vietnam. Entering Vietnam, we experienced the New Year celebrations in a riot of colourful flowers and local costumes and decorations as well as some evening shows. We enjoyed every aspect of the trip and followed straight on to the Exodus Cycle Vietnam trip. This was totally manageable and I recommend it as a way of enhancing the experience if you can manage that amount of time and expenditure (see my review for that trip too). We loved the time spent in Saigon and also had a few extra days in Bangkok at the start to acclimatise to the time zone difference and the weather. The hotels along the way can be basic but all are clean and comfortable and most have swimming pools. Laundry is easy to do. Leave space in your suitcase for shopping. There are lots of possibilities along the way for cheap and colourful clothing, crafts and food items. The history of war can be hard to digest and the visits in Pnom Penh quite devastating. But we were taken for lunch to a community restaurant project rehabilitating street children, which was so uplifting that we could see how the people have moved forward from their dark history with quiet hope, endurance and humility. We have so many great photos and memories but are already thinking about where to go on our next adventure. A big thanks to 'Is' and Exodus for this great holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hearing about the Cambodia history and seeing how the people have forgiven though not forgotten all their strife.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic in every way

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No need to take snacks along. Don't take too much clothing and leave space in your suitcase.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommended
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Grant & Paula Reed

    First multi day cycle trip & certainly not the last!

    This was an excellent trip which has certainly encouraged us to look at another cycling holiday. Our guide, Rit, who was with us from Bangkok to Saigon was excellent, forever patient, informative and professional, he was a pleasure to be with. As we entered Cambodia & Vietnam we were joined by local guides for the journey through their country & they were also equally professional, as were all members of the support teams. Their humour certainly assisted us through some warm days.The cycle days were split quite well, with timely stops with lovely snacks & drinks supplied in some memorable settings. The trip covers some of the iconic places to visit in all three countries but also includes quite a bit of low key mixing with locals which was equally memorable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whilst Bangkok, Ankor Wat, Seim Reap, Phnom Penh, Mekong Delta & Saigon are certainly places to tick off a ''must visit'' list, some of the cycling through villages, stopping at local establishments & the general friendliness of the locals was equally inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rit was brilliant, as were the local guides who assisted in Cambodia & Vietnam. The bus drivers were always where they should have been & the cycle support team were very supportive! We appreciated the Exodus leaders more so after joining another trip with another company immediately after this & had a very poor, disinterested leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We would both consider ourselves fit despite being in our 60's. However don't underestimate the first three days; 28 miles, 55 miles then 52 miles is quite a challenge especially in warm conditions, fresh onto a new bicycle. Put the miles in before you go & you'll benefit. DEFINITELY take cycling shorts!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Whilst we did have free evenings, some group members mentioned that another couple of free evenings (without an organised meal) wouldn't go amiss. Everyone mixed well & we met some lovely folks but being together from first thing in the morning to last thing at night on so many days could have been cut back slightly.
  • Reviewed January 2019

    WOW brilliant trip

    It was a brilliant trip . Very well run. The cycling was varied from long straight roads in Thialand to rough tracks along the Mekone valley . It was my first cycling trip and I'm now looking to do another. The support from the team was excellant , I was often near the back of the ride and thier was always a team member with us. . They were very supportive and encouraging . The bikes were well serviced. The stops for snacks had lovely fruits and drinks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ankor Wat was the best site we saw. The best cycling was along the Mekone river , along rough tracks through villiages . You got the real sense of the place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rik was brilliant , always thier to support and encourage.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes stated that the speed would be 8-10 miles per hour , I was at the back of our group and I was doing an average speed of 12-15 miles per hour , the lead pack was even faster.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Gill Fowkes

    Excellent trip and experience with a brilliant tour leader - Nuts

    This trip was a great experience and the best cycling holiday we have been on to date. Our tour leader Nut was outstanding, he could not have done more to ensure everyone on the trip had a great holiday, we could not rate him more highly. The trip itself was well thought out and we covered so much in just a few weeks. The highlights included: Cycling in Vietnam, particulalry down the muddy tracks! the homestay in the Mekong Delta, the Killing Fields and the variety of food in each country. I would recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendliness of all the people, the greetings from the local children and seeing Ankor Wat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nut was an outstanding tour leader, he thought of everything, he gave attention and checked on all group members and worked really hard to ensure that everyone had a great holiday. Looking after a group of 16 with a variety of needs and abilities is no mean feat and he handled it brilliantly, we could not fault him and he had a really positive impact on the enjoyment of our trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip it is a really good mix of cycling and sightseeing. Read all the info sent by Exodus and you will be well prepared.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Barry Ford

    Outstanding adventure

    There will simply be not enough space to detail all the great experience we had on this trip. Firstly our guide Nut, was outstanding and he ensured we that we covered off of everything that was available to us. Sights, sounds, experiences, feelings, emotions, tastes and the list goes on! Apart from a positive sweeping endorsement about this trip, below are a handful of highlights as felt by us. 1. Nuts food recommendations. 2. The Killing Fields in Cambodia. 3. Saigon. 4. The Thai/Cambodia crossing. 5. The greetings by all the children in Vietnam. 6. All the sights available to you whilst riding a bike. 7. The amazing support staff. 8. Majestic temples. 9. The accommodation in Phnom Penh. We highly recommend this trip to anyone who would like a unique adventure through Thailand/Cambodia and Vietnam. If you are not a bike rider thou, best you do some preparation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Venturing through the Temples and understanding their existence and history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding, we cannot speak more highly of Nut and the job he did. We thank him for making our trip what it was. My partner Kym is vegetarian (no seafood) and Nut ensured she was catered for and in fact opened up many options that she had never tried or thought about. Thank you Nut.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    pay your money and go!!!! Just do a bit of bike training.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No we just cannot wait to do the Hanoi to Saigon ride.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Mark Gilbert

    Cycle

    Great trip with lots to see apart from the cycling. Temples,monkeys etc Great guide and team. Would recommend this trip 👌🏻

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Angkor temple.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Probably the best guide I’ve had (rit) and I’ve been on a few trips now.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Jonathan Dusheiko

    Cycling in Indochina

    This was my first cycling trip and really enjoyed it. Great local food and some interesting sightseeing on the trip as well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Angkor Wat for the first time as we cycled around the various temples.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nut was excellent, very easy-going attitude which made us all relax.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I took a Fabric air-cushioned saddle which was comfortable although still needed padded boxers for the longer 90km days. It is really hot and humid, Buff head band (they do one specifically for cycling) stopped sweat going in my eyes. The Requiem exhibition of photographs by photographers who were killed during the wars in Indochina on the top floor of the War Remnants Museum in Saigon is unmissable. BBQ garden is a nice outdoor restaurant in Saigon near the Independence Palace.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I noticed in Vietnam we were using disposable plastic cups for lime juice breaks when should be reusable as per in Thailand.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    john dingley

    South East Asia in 14 days !

    A great trip, supported by 3 very good teams. The riding was fairly easy - very flat with hardly an incline - , with a great bunch of fellow riders. I dont think we saw the best of Thailand, and it felt like we were out of the country as soon as we started. Temples and Pagodas was the theme of most of the trip, and they didn't dissapoint. We saw monkeys and elephants - too breifly. A lot of people on our trip were more interested in the wildlife, a bit of a shame that more wasnt made of that. Cambodia stole our hearts ! The people were so freindly, the surroundings straight out of "national geographic" pages. A country with such a sad history, but certainly worth a visit on it's own.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The boarder crossing from Thailand to Cambodia was an experience not to be missed - but the highlight of the 2 weeks had to be the temples in Siem Reap. Not only Angkor Wat, but so many other stunning temples to see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was difficult to gel with the team - having 3 teams and 3 bikes in such a short period of time. Because of that, the team leader wasn't as "prominent" as other trips because - in his own words - he was the general manager rather than the tour guide. However, Chai looked after us very well and allowed us to build up a bit of steam on longer sections.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In Seam Reap, head straight for Pub Street - a very lively atmosphere, not to be missed ! The 5am start to Angkor Wat to see the sunrise, was very much an anticlimax for the views, but worth doing just for the atmospehere of 3000 people at stupid-o-clock all racing there by tuk-tuk. When in Phnom Penh, take an evening river cruise - 2 hours up and down the waterways which was very cheap.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The long, long coach trip from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh was mind numbingly tedoius and was a wasted day. You can fly between the 2 cities for $20, i cant understand why that wasnt an option, you might want to consider it. More should have been made of the "elephant farm" or whatever is was that we passed in Thailand.
Call us on (354) 567 8978