Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Olivia Dudleston

    Lots of variety!

    A thoroughly enjoyable and exciting way to see the country - walking, cycling, boat trip, ziplining, white water rafting, and plenty of jungle and wildlife. All with a manageable amount of travelling to see very different parts of the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ziplining over the Costa Rican rainforest canopy, feeling liberated and taking in the incredible views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Adriana was really lovely, had great English, and as a Biologist by trade had an incredible eye for pointing out all sorts of flora & fauna as we were partaking in our various activities. We saw monkeys, sloths, crocodiles, coatis, as well as endless beautiful birds. Our driver Olivier was also fantastic, taking great care of the minibus every day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack a variety of lightweight clothes for different activities and quite varying climates throughout different parts of the country. Wet shoes or velcro sandals are useful for white water rafting, otherwise you will be wearing your trainers and hoping they dry out for the next day! If you wear glasses then best to take a strap to hold them on during rafting. Take a water bottle with you as a water dispenser is available on the minibus so you can refill as and when you like.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    During the dry season, the river levels are quite low and the rapids are very tame! If you're looking for true grade 2/3 rapids then best to go when the river is a bit higher
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Tony Daly

    Watching a classy act

    The trip was good with Exodus staff doing a great job. Even our non-English speaking driver, Roberto, always managed a warm "hello". Makes a lot of yards in starting each day and making it into a great day. Costa Rica is geared mainly for the American market - everything in dollars. Sadly all things American includes plastic cheese and processed meat - makes for a lousy omelette! Food was disappointing, largely because I expected some elements of 'spice and fire'. Food was plain on the Caribbean (how does that happen?). Sauces really shouldn't be offered in plastic bottles of 57 - no names! And beer at London prices???? Prevented the group from bonding at the bar on the first night. Some, like me, used the convenience store to stock up and no garden, meant a bedroom snifter before dinner - pity.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Zip Lining and Rapid descent. The guy pulling the brake on time, when I plunged (by arrangement) 150 feet - it gets higher in telling - from a cloud forest tree to Mother Earth. Then, being told to climb back up there!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Splendid! As someone who has written and led tours, I can't speak more highly of him. Great driver too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Buy some Colonas (local currency) or you will be given change for dollars in local money at variable rates. Take Vitamin B6 for 2 weeks before trip, plus during visit (check with your (GP) - mossies will positively spit you out!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel in San Jose was utility. Better location might have been on city edge, as we had no time to look around, so why choose there?. Better a more peaceful setting. Also, insist on those bar prices being regulated for your clients, if no-one else. As I said, it directly influenced some (not just me) to avoid the bar and so delay the highly important getting to know our fellow travellers. I used to select trade shows my company attended and it was small things like this and silly lunch prices, that influenced the decision makers. Earls Court wouldn't listen, nor Olympia - said it was out of their control - REALLY? We just didn't buy stand space.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Melissa Dymond

    Costa Rica Mixed Activity

    Excellent trip. Very busy itinerary with a variety of activities. Eduardo was a great leader and was very knowledgeable about the areas we visited and the country as a whole. His love of his country is very evident!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved challenging myself to some new activities: whitewater rafting, kayaking, zip lining!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have a long sleeved shirt or rash guard! The sun is lovely but intense! :) Bring your sun cream!
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Sarah Counter

    Costa Rica mixed activity

    Stunning scenery, extraordinary and wonderful wildlife, excellent and knowledgable guide in a wonderfully diverse and enchanting country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Exhilarating white water rafting, contrasting with the stillness of the cloud forrest broken only by the sound of bird calls. Coming face to face with white faced monkeys in Dan Antonio was fun too!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andreas was a knowledgable group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take closed wet shoes for the whitewater rafting, and plastic bags for damp clothing as items don't dry easily in the rain forest despite the high temperatures!
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Djamila Stachowski

    Costa Rica with lots of activity

    I loved the trip, and would highly recommend it for everyone who loves being active, being outdoors, doing different activities during your holiday, and who does not mind being rained on (lots!). The group was fantastic, the tour leader fabulous, nature and wildlife are just amazing! We saw so many birds, reptiles, bugs and butterflies (mostly due to the unbelievably good eyes of our tour guide Ozzy), the nature is breathtaking and we actually didn't mind taking lots and lots of pictures of trees and leaves and other greenery. The activities were well balanced, and you could fill every hour of spare time with additional adventures, which all most of our group did.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the wild water rafting (grade C), the guides were great fun, and as the first activity it is the perfect ice breaker for the group. I could not fault any of the other activities, all were great fun and a memorable experience. We were all in awe when we saw a Quetzal, apparently a very rare and hard to spot bird. Seeing the sloth with a baby was fantastic, picture perfect. The catamaran and snorkelling tour was a grand finale to the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ozzy was the perfect guide. Very knowledgable, his eagle-eyes spotted every animal no matter how well it tried to hide. He feels very passionate about his country and shows this with every story or tale.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Inform yourself of any other activities you may want to do in your spare time. Every hotel or lodge we stayed in has a number of options, there is no reason to sit around unless you actually want to do that ;-) Be prepared for rain, take a good quality rain poncho.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The number of options and activities for this trip is great. I would suggest to use the longer trip and add all those activities to it, so customers can choose between the more relaxed and the active trip. I would have liked to travel to the Carribbean cost and see the turtles, but I did not choose the longer trip because the activities was what I definitely wanted.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Richard Lowry

    Costa Rica Mixed Activity

    A fun filled trip. An amazing country, influenced slightly by USA but it has not lost any of its charm. If you are looking for wildlife then this trip is for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spotting so much wildlife including Sloths, howlers, humped back whales, iguanas, birds etc Canyoning optional activity, zip lining, thermal hot springs, swimming in the Pacific, white water rafting Grade 3

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ozzie was amazing- he went out of his way to organise all optional activities, even some not on the list Super restaurant recommendations A great ability to spot wildlife and an excellent knowledge

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Several people extend the trip so they can visit other national parks e.g. to see the turtles Take a good quality poncho

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip would be even better if 2 weeks long- there is another Costa Rica trip that caters for 2 weeks and looks wonderful for wildlife but doesn't include the many activities this trip does.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Deirdre Oconnor

    Very Active Costa Rica!

    This was a great trip, with a brilliant guide and a wonderful group of people. It was a really good way to see and experience the adventures that Costa Rica has to offer. As well as the activities which were included in the price there was also time to do optional extras. It was a really active and enjoyable trip. The food was good and the accommodation very comfortable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the warm Pacific after a long ( but interesting) bus trip, and a nature walk in Manuel Antonio NP. With the help of Ozzie, we spotted sloths, lizards, squirrel monkeys and hummingbirds and avoided having our stuff stolen by the white headed monkeys. A really magical day! Also feeling the fear of the biking and zip lining, doing it anyway and having great fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ozzie took great pride in showing us his country. His love of the environment was very clear and he was able to spot and show us animals, birds and reptiles. He also took great care that everything was organised really well. A really professional and experienced Guide- he was great. Also a special mention for our driver Gerardo who kept us safe and comfortable all week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for wet weather ( condensation as Ozzie called it) , and the fact that its hard to get things dry. A good raincoat or poncho was invaluable. You also need warm weather stuff, but remember someone has to haul your bag up on top of the bus!! Investigate additional activities - each hotel had brochures as well as the additional activities identified by Exodus. Some of us did a kayak safari float, a night nature walk, surfing etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Costa Rica was recommended to me by other Exodus travellers and I would do the same. Tourism is well organised and that means it feels safe to travel there. It is also a really great place to explore diverse environments from rain forests, rivers, oceans and beaches. Go for it!
  • Reviewed November 2013
    Anonymous

    TRAILS OF COSTA RICA

    A unique trip to a wonderful country.  Costa Rica is beautiful, its flora and fauna are gorgeous.  This new itinerary covers northern and north/western areas with the diversity of rainforest, volcanic landscape, cloud forest and Pacific coastline.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed every single day of this trip but particularly three (optional) activities: (1) Monteverde hanging bridges.  A lovely walk in the tranquillity of the cloud forest.(2) Cano Negro Wildlife Reserve river safari.  We saw all three monkeys found in the region (howler, spider and white-faced capuchin), many exotic birds, caimen, butterflies, so much more.(3) The boat trip at Samara (although I would have preferred a bigger boat with more shelter from the sun).  We had a magical encounter with a  huge pod of spotted dophins which included many calves and several acrobats performing all the tricks - hurling themselves out of the ocean, doing flip flops and even tail walking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose Saenz was excellent - everything I have come to expect of an Exodus leader.  Efficient, personable, likeable, good-humoured, extremely knowledgeable re Costa Rica's flora and fauna, soon tuning into our individual interests and concerns and going that extra mile to look after us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Three essentials for this trip - a poncho, binoculars and Deet (especially in Samara).  And a few words of Spanish - always appreciated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Because I was visiting in the rainy season I expected it to rain a lot - and Costa Rica did not disappoint!  We had several downpours of biblical proportions and spectacular thunder and lightning storms.  However, there are real advantages in travelling at this time - fewer tourists at many of the venues and in restaurants, better access to river channels, less extreme heat.We were a micro-group (just three of us) and Jose was our guide/driver.  This was my 11th Exodus trip but the first time I have travelled in such a small group.  In fact this proved to be a very enjoyable experience (thank-you, Suzy and Tim) allowing us the flexibility to set our own schedule.  In practice, we soon realised (with Jose's input) that it was best to start our days early and complete our activities around lunchtime (after which the rains inevitably arrived), usually leaving afternoons free for us to do our own thing - swimming (all the lodges/hotels had pools), spa treatments or just relaxing. Tourism is very important to Costa Rica's economy and it shows.  The standard of accommodation was pleasing and everywhere we went we were greeted warmly and service standards were top notch.  We ate well - delicious, fresh, local produce especially fruit (pineapple - divine) and vegetables, eggs at breakfast cooked to order and we had many tasty meals at lovely restaurants (Chilean Sauvignon Blanc recommended) and pit-stop cafes.  I thought food was very good value for money (compared to London prices). I have been back from this holiday for ten days now but the feel good factor of my visit to Costa Rica has yet to wear off!
  • Reviewed November 2013
    Gail Clark

    costa Rica multi activity trip

    This trip was sold as a multi activity trip which was very misleading. While you did a variety of activities they lasted on average 1.5hrs and two activities are described as hikes when in actual fact we were shared the flat trail with a coach load of OAPs complete with their walking sticks and another was only 2.6km. The majority of the trip was spent sitting around in restaurants waiting for something to happen. If you want an active trip, to see wildlife and get a feel for a country I highly recommend you do not pick this trip. It was very disappointing

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    NA

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Gail for her review, although we were very sorry to hear that the trip did not match her expectations in terms of the activities included. Although this is a short itinerary, we include white water rafting, zip-lining, mountain biking, a visit to a hot spring, two national park walks and a catamaran/snorkelling trip. In addition, there are many other optional activities available locally, but we have reviewed Gail’s feedback with our local operator to ascertain why she had so much free time; this is very unusual feedback for this trip as there are so many activities to do. Gail’s tour leader was very sorry to hear of her dissatisfaction and we are following up on the routes taken during the walks as these are not normally as short as Gail has mentioned. Although this is an active trip, the pace is often slow on walks as there is plenty of wildlife to see and to get the best results we find that it is best when group’s approach quietly.

    Vicky Boughton - Trip Manager for Costa Rica

Call us on (354) 567 8978