Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Pam Bennett

    Stunning varied scenery

    I read previous reviews prior to going on the trip, and they are all accurate. I would add that I was borderline fit enough for this holiday so found it challenging at times (it was a late decision to go), but I would not have missed a moment of it. I completed all the walks, which are all different from each other. The group I was with was very supportive. Andre the guide made one unit of us from the first night, and was watchful, prepared, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. As he said 80% is in your head, 20% in your walking ability. Apart from Andre, the other essential was walking poles, especially on the long downhill Day 4. I had not been on an Exodus holiday before, nor had I been on one without a companion. Any reservations I had were blown away very quickly. It was so enjoyable,I just love Madeira. I am looking for my next holiday already.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The feeling after the walk along the levadas to the Green Cauldron. After a days walking in the laurisilva it was like having been bathed in green for a day.Like no where else I have been.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was the best. I say this even though it was my first Exodus holiday, I cannot imagine a better guide, professor or group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I wore my walking boots every day after one day in walking shoes. The support and shock absorption of the boots made such a difference for me. I have already mentioned how useful I found the walking poles

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it, go there, enjoy.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Rose Chandler

    North Cyprus

    An excellent week walking in the hills of North Cyprus, learning about the history of the present-day Greek/Turkish divide as well as the ancient Roman and pre-Roman history of the area. Very nice hotel on the outskirts of Kyrenia with 2 pools to help us cool off at the end of the day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When you get to the top and see the coast below, that's a good feeling! Even better if you know you will be swimming in the sea later in the day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gizer is a very engaging leader, accommodating to the faster and the slower amongst us, full of local knowledge and keen to introduce us to good local food.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be very hot, be prepared.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Nuala Reidy

    Incredible India!

    A very fast paced tour combining the highlights of this region of India with Indian culture and history. Starting in Jaipur - the iconic Pink City and driving across to Agra via Ranthamborne National Park. Some very early mornings but all worth it when we got to see the famous elusive tiger on our morning game driver and the Taj Mahal at sunrise. We travelled by sleeper train to Varanasi (Indian Railways are a wonderful experience) where you can really embrace the history and culture of India. We did an evening and an early morning boat ride on the Ganges as well as Tuk Tuk rides and drinking fresh watermelon juice from the street market. We saw the beginning of Diwali celebrations in Varanasi. The trip ended in Delhi which has some really great and iconic landmarks. The group were a fantastic and diverse bunch from all walks of life and we had many laughs together. Our tour leader really enhanced the experience with his extensive knowledge and personal experience of India and his constant up beat approach to everything! I would recommend this trip to anyone looking for a fun, fast paced taste of India!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Diwali Celebrations were amazing! We did Diwali shopping, purchasing coloured powder and sparklers. The Bollywood Film was also an amazing experience! However, seeing the elusive tiger just two or three metres away from us was absolutely breath-taking as well as the Taj Mahal at sunrise.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manoj was absolutely amazing. Showed such positive enthusiasm towards all aspect of the trip and all of his guests. He showed care for each individual on the tour and sought to solve any issues – no matter how big or small. Gave us such great historical and cultural knowledge of India as well as his own personal stories of growing up in India and life there for him! He also shared jokes with us and my favourite quote of his was "This is incredible India - you never know what good things might come on the way!" A true asset to the Exodus name.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you read the trip notes carefully for this trip before booking it as it is quite an intense tour. I would recommend this tour as long as you are physically fit and able. It is fast paced and there can be long, hot, uphill walks from parking places to the actual sites of interest which for some people would make the tour difficult to enjoy. There is not much down time – you won’t have much time to lounge around or have a lie in but there is so much to see in India and with this amount to see in the time frame it will naturally be quite full on! Other than that I would recommend this trip is for those who are physically fit and able and want to embrace India for what it is which is an amazing country exploding with culture, colour and good things!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Stephanie Pinto

    Exceeded Expectations - Inca Trail - Breathtaking

    I have just returned from Peru and would thoroughly recommend this trek. From enquiry to booking and throughout the trip, the service was excellent. Having been on several other trek's throughout the world I had high expectations and these were exceeded! The Inca Trail is an incredible journey and our guide was exceptional. Throughout I felt well looked after, the customer care was superb. I would happily recommend Exodus to anyone, it was 25 years since my last holiday with Exodus, I will not leave it so long this time! The porters were an inspiration and the food provided on the trek was superb!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every part of the journey was an amazing experience, but the moment you first see Machu Picchu has to be the highlight!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Tomas Llancay was exceptional, he had the patience of a saint, a lovely sense of humour, is very knowledgeable and cared for us throughout. Tomas really could not do enough for everyone. It is clear he loves his job and is proud to work for Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is rated as a 3 and suitable for anyone with moderate fitness. Having been on a number of trek's, as this trip is at altitude I would grade it a 4. There are some steep hills and we had all weather to contend with, which at altitude is a challenge. That said if you have a good level of fitness and a positive attitude, I would thoroughly recommend this trip!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Josephine Fish

    A challenging experience

    We chose this holiday for the combination of walking and wildlife offerred and the areas within South Africa that it covered. We love the Kruger and were also interested in seeing the Drakensburg mountains and Swaziland. Inevitably we spent a lot of time in the minibus as we covered very long distances, but it was worth it. We saw plenty of wildlife and fantastic scenerey. We stayed in some staggeringly beautiful places. My main concern with the holiday was always the walking, and whether we would be up to it? We are both in our 70s, but consider ourselves reasonably fit, as we regularly play 3 rounds of golf a week ( walking) and always take exercise every day. In the event, we found the walking very tough. In the main the terrain was difficult: narrow steep and stoney paths with tricky footing: there was a lot of difficult clambering across rocks and a head for heights was essential! I feel that a grading of “ moderate” for the walking was misleading: it seemed much more demanding than that. The altitude is high, and this adds to the difficulty. I would have preferred to have been given the option of easier walks from time to time, so that I could look at the wonderful scenery as well as my feet! Having said this, our guide was really helpful and got me through. I am glad we went.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having 4 male lions walk past us on an evening drive. We must have watched them for about 15 minutes as we stayed with them. Fantastic!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really good. Very knowledgable on animals, birds, and plants. Very well informed. Learned alot from him. He was also very well organised and we kept to time, without feeling stressed or hurried. He is also a very good cook: the meals he prepared were well cooked and very tastey: again always on time, and hot! He also helped me a lot on the walks when I was struggling: he was kind and thoughtful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be tough! This is not a holiday for wimps: you need a lot of stamina. Some of the accommodation in the camps is a bit rough: this is not a holiday for softies. Comfortable walking boots are essential. You have to walk with a backpack, so a good quality one is a good idea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were concerned whether everyone would be a lot younger than us. In the event, most people were retired or nearly retired! We had no need to worry.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Pauline Bowdery

    Essential Peru

    A fabulous trip, everything you imagine and perhaps more. The trip notes are accurate and yes there are a couple of very long travel days but the views and huge expanse of Peru and the Anders make these pass quite quickly. Don't miss the optional tour of the Sacred Valley, oddly enough this was as thrilling as Machupicchu for me. Yes the early starts can be a bit of a killer but if you have done these trips before you know this comes with the territory. Altitude and coach journeys make you take naps so you soon catch up. Don't under estimate the need to keep on drinking water and for sunscreen, layers to cope with the changes in temperature and of course a very good camera. Don't, like me, forget to use your video when you visit Condor Valley, l should have also used my tablet. Traffic in the cities is horrendous and in Cusco you have to walk to get the coach.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The terraces created by pre and Inca people, the really do go right up into the sky and The Anders are simply jaw dropping stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Carlos was fantastic, follow his advice and you won't go wrong.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Layers, sunscreen, camera, don't bother with binoculars there isn't a lot of bird life and the condors, if you're lucky with the timing and weather, come so close you don't need them. Don't always reach for your camera let your eyes enjoy the majesty. Getting to and from Machu picchu is an adventure in itself, lots of waiting for the buses. After entering the Machu picchu site there is no toilet or opportunity to get water. I don't think it is worth the cost to go back on the free morning but the museum just outside the town is worth a visit.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Chris Kelly

    First cycling holiday

    This was my first cycling holiday and what a way to start. Firstly let me start by talking about the guide & driver/mechanic These guys made the holiday always went above & beyond nothing was too much trouble holiday was amazing disagree with the rating of 3 was hard but you need to push yourself. Thanks again guys great job 👍🏻

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of those bloody hills!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alessandro was amazing he was like one of the group

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train before you book at least 6 weeks
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Bernadette Sellars

    Walking in Puglia and Matera

    Our first holiday with Exodus went really well. We were met at the airport by our tour guide Luigina and driven to our first port of call, the Sassi District of Matera. Matera is built on a rocky outcrop, so there were lots and lots of steps. Not a good place for less able bodied people, and we thought some of the cobbled streets were a little slippy, so take a pair of sensible shoes. Our hotel room was a cave built into the rock. Very unusual, but the bathroom was a bit tired and needed a refurbish. Great local restaurants and cafes and very reasonably priced. Our guide Luigina did a great job and had excellent local knowledge. She organised 2 picnic lunches during the week and organised an extra trip on our free day to Lecce. During walks, she pointed out many places of historical interest, but also talked about the local flora. We got to try wild almonds straight off the tree, also wild rocket and strawberry fruit. We were fortunate to be in Italy during the olive harvesting and she asked a local farmer to demonstrate the harvesting method. The final evening’s meal, was at a Massiera (farmhouse). We did have to pay extra for this trip, but it was worth every penny (euro). The food was all locally sourced and Home cooked. It just kept on coming and coming, and I lost count of the number of courses. Wine was free flowing all evening too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The meal on the final evening at the Massiera

    What did you think of your group leader?

    English not always perfect, but she made herself understood which is all that matters. Good local knowledge and knew many good restaurants and cafes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take suncream, as even in October the sun was hot.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Bernadette McCann

    A fast paced incredible trip to North India

    A fast paced journey through Northern India. Your feet barely touch the ground and you are whisked off to the beautiful pink city of Jaipur - transported to Ranthanbore National park - Game drives, early mornings - Worth it, we saw the tiger on our early morning game drive! Drive to Agra - early morning start to witness sunrise over the Taj Mahal - stunning! Red Fort, Fatehpur Sikri - overnight train to Varanasi. Lucky enough to be in Varanasi for Diwali - intense, amazing Varanasi! Evening and very early morning boat rides, magical & spiritual, walks by the temples. Overnight train to Delhi - As i did the land only Exodus tour - we had visited Delhi independently before the Exodus tour began - many wonderful sights to see in Delhi. Overall, a fabulous experience with a wonderful diverse group of people, lots of laughs, early mornings, late nights - long drives - two overnight trains - an amazing tour leader - some great hotels, some not so - an explosion of noise and color, sensory overload in many good and bad ways - all part of the experience. Incredible India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say - there were many! Goosebumps when the tiger walked so close to us in the jungle - the stunning beauty of the Taj Mahal - the spiritual feeling of city of Varanasi and witnessing the early morning bathing in the Ganges and the evening prayer ceremonies..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manoj is one of the most inspirational, kind, patient and enthusiastic person i have ever met. He managed our group, mixed ages, nationalities and abilities with kindness and went above and beyond to help in any way he could with every single group member. Manoj made our trip incredible - gave me and understanding of the complexities of Indian history and life - his knowledge is deep and he is a credit to Exodus as a group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a fast paced trip. Read the trip notes carefully to decide if its the trip for you. Understand in order to keep to this schedule, you need to be flexible, reasonably fit as there is walking around monuments while sightseeing - some uphill and some under the midday sun. It was hot, long days - early mornings - long drives - which is the only way to keep up with the itinerary. You will not be laying around pools, enjoying spas, you will be packing, unpacking, preparing for the next days travel. Its fast- paced and exciting and you will see and do a lot in a short time. However, every bit of the moving around is worth the incredible sights you see during this short trip - its a dynamic, exciting, tiring trip.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Carlo b

    Porto to Lisbon Atlantic Ride - MEO (Sep/17)

    This was my 7th cycling trip and biking was a great way to see this region of Portugal. The route is mostly flat with the occasional steep but short hill.. The views while cycling along the coast were beautiful. Our cycling group was a lot of fun and the pace was perfect such that we enjoyed a relaxing time at coffee stops (always near a beach) and got into the next town/city in time to explore a bit. The weather was perfect for cycling and we had no rain on the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many memorable moments on the trip but some of them were: 1) the many beautiful views of the beaches and Atlantic Ocean, 2) Porto, 3) Portuguese pastries, 4) the food in Porto, 5) Port wine with tonic on ice - refreshing!, 6) the seafood, 7) tapas-style dinner at the "Wine Bar" in Figuera da Foz, 8) Obidos, 9) the coffee breaks: excellent espresso and pastries, 10) Portuguese pastries (delicious), 11) coffee break in Nazare.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pedro was a gracious and knowledgeable guide and very attentive to the needs of the group. He always provided excellent recommendations for dinner. He was very organized and kept the group together despite different cycling abilities. And, Jaun, our support-van driver, was also knowledgeable and provided delicious picnic lunches.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Arrive in Porto a couple of days early to explore this picturesque city - it is easily walkable and has excellent food. But make restaurant reservations ahead of time though. Make sure you are comfortable with riding a bike because you will have to share the road with cars on parts of the journey.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a thoroughly enjoyable bike trip and the views were often stunning.
Call us on (354) 567 8978