Cycling the Cape & Winelands

12 days
from
2 285 €
Loading...
Traveller ratings
4.6 / 5 from 37 reviews >
Moderate
Learn more
Trip code: 
MZC
Ways to Travel:
Guided Group, Tailormade Adventures
Activity:
Cycling
Min age:
16
Group size:
5–14

Cycle through vineyards, over mountain passes and along South Africa's most spectacular coastline

Renowned as one of the most beautiful places on Earth, Cape Town and its surroundings provide a stunning backdrop for this tour. Our unique circular route allows us to take in the fantastic sights the Cape Peninsula has to offer. In addition to Table Mountain and the chance to sample the famous wine from the estates of Stellenbosch, the wild coastline and rugged interior provide classic riding on peaceful roads with little traffic. The stunning scenery, a rich cultural history, unique flora, and unusual wildlife encounters make this a fantastic destination to discover on two wheels.

Highlights

  • Discover Cape Town and Table Mountain
  • Try regional produce from the vineyards of Stellenbosch and Franschhoek 
  • Visit Cape Algulhas - the southernmost point of Africa

Key information

  • 9 days cycling with full vehicle support
  • 80% tarmac, 20% hard pack dirt roads 
  • Group normally 4 to 14, plus leader. Min age 16 yrs
  • 7 nights guest houses and 4 nights lodges, all en suite

 

What's included

  • All breakfasts, 7 lunches, 2 dinners
  • All accommodation 
  • All transport and listed activities
  • Tour leader throughout
  • Flights from London (if booking incl. flights)
  • Local bike hire

What's not included

  • Travel insurance
  • Single accommodation (available on request)
  • Visas or vaccinations
Call us on
353 (0)1 804 7153
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

9

Pace:

Moderate: 13-16km/8-10miles an hour

Terrain:

Low altitude; 80% tarmac, 20% gravel roads

Day by day breakdown
Day 250.0km/31.0miles
Day 320.0km/12.0miles
Day 465.0km/40.0miles
Day 545.0km/28.0miles
Day 660.0km/37.0miles
Day 755.0km/34.0miles
Day 990.0km/55.0miles
Day 1035.0km/21.0miles
Day 1170.0km/43.0miles

Responsible Travel

At Exodus we believe in the power of Responsible Travel.

Every time we travel, we are part of a global movement that creates jobs, builds more sustainable societies, encourages cultural understanding and safeguards common natural and cultural heritage. To learn more about what Responsible Travel means to Exodus click here… 

Itinerary

  • Day 1

    Start Cape Town; free day to explore.

    Arrive Cape Town; the day is free for relaxing, shopping, catching a few rays of sunshine or exploring the endless activities in and around the city. The guide will be on hand to advise and assist, but here are a few recommended options: a cable car ride up Table Mountain for the fantastic view over Cape Town and the coastal regions; a visit to the world famous Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens or a half-day trip to the infamous Robben Island, the prison where Nelson Mandela and other members of the ANC served their long sentences (this trip can be done on day 12 depending on the weather on Table Mountain).

  • Day 2

    Ride over Hellshoogte, passing vineyards; to Rosenview.

    This morning we have a very short transfer from our lodge before an orientation tour through the city bowl and then on to Bloubergstrand - it's from here that the iconic pictures of Cape Town with the backdrop of Table Mountain are taken. After taking the obligatory photos, we're off on a short transfer into the centre of the winelands. In the afternoon we cycle over Hellshoogte' (Hell's Heights) and then freewheel the rest of the way to the famous Boschendal vineyards where we stop for a well-earned drink (optional) before transferring to our accommodation at the Rosenview winery in Stellenbosch.


    Meals included: Breakfast Lunch Dinner
  • Day 3

    Ride the Franschhoek Pass; afternoon wine tasting in Stellenbosch.

    In the morning we have a short transfer before cycling through Franschhoek and up the Franschhoek Pass (739m) for some of the most breathtaking views of this region, before enjoying a fast descent back into town. French Huguenot refugees under the patronage of the Dutch originally settled the town, and their descendants still maintain an excellent museum, tracing their history back to their expulsion from France in 1685. After a full cooked brunch we head out to Stellenbosch, the second oldest town in South Africa, where we have the option to sample some of the finest wines that its 29 cellars have to offer. We use the minibus to travel to the different wine farms in this region.


    Meals included: Breakfast Lunch
  • Day 4

    Transfer through Breede Valley; ride through semi-arid desert of Great Karoo.

    Today we head east, transferring (140km) through the fertile Breede River valley, passing old settlements verdant with vines and fruit trees and seasonal blossoms. We transfer into Montague and after a short coffee break at a local Route 62 shop, we get onto the bikes for the rest of the day. From here the landscape changes to the semi-arid desert of the Great Karoo, a huge ancient plateau making up almost a third of South Africa's landmass and littered with remains of ancient Bushman cultures. We cycle a scenic back road traversing a more fertile region known as the Little Karoo, a short climb brings us to the Tradouws Plateau before arriving in Barrydale, our base for the night. This quiet old Dutch village is in a fertile valley surrounded by a colourful mix of vines, fruits and wild flowers (in season). Time allowing we will visit a local co-op cellar and have an opportunity to taste their produce, including the local Chardonnay which is well respected for its unique taste.


    Meals included: Breakfast Lunch Dinner
  • Day 5

    Ride through Langeberge Mountains to Bontebok N.P..

    After breakfast a short climb takes us up and over the spectacular Tradouws Pass. Near the top of the pass is the remains of a prison camp once home to the convicts that constructed the pass in 1873. From here the route is mainly downhill through the Langeberge Mountains to the small town of Suurbrak. Built by the London Missionary Society in 1812 many of the buildings have been restored and now the town has the feel of a living museum. Moving on we reach our base for the night - Swellendam. From here we drive to the Bontebok National Park. This park boasts some rare antelope as well as mountain zebra and some endangered crane species. The park has two 2km self guided nature trails, which can be explored independently.


    Meals included: Breakfast Lunch
  • Day 6

    Ride and transfer to Cape Agulhas N.P., Africa's southernmost point.

    A short transfer (40km) brings us into the Overburg district, and we cycle through the cultivated farmlands of the Western Cape. The road gently rolls through neat wheat fields and remote fishing villages facing the Indian Ocean, arriving at Cape Agulhas. This is the southernmost point of Africa, and South Africa's newest national park, encompassing a large area of wetlands and coastline and extending some kilometres out to the sea. Whales and other sea life that frequent the warm waters of the Indian Ocean enjoy the protection within its boundaries. It also provides a home to thousands of sea birds and seals that can be seen along the rugged beaches. We cycle from Bredarsdorp to Arniston, our overnight spot and weather permitting we spend some time on the beach.


    Meals included: Breakfast Lunch
  • Day 7

    Cycle to Hermanus; sample the local fish cakes and beer.

    This morning we cycle from Bredarsdorp to the town of Napier. After a short stop and a chance to sample the local fish cakes, we transfer to the Akkedisberg Pass and from here we cycle the very scenic mountain pass into Standford. After a visit to the Birkenhead brewery, with a chance to sample the local beer, we transfer to the town of Hermanus. Famous for the very close sightings of the Southern Right Whale, which come into the secluded bay to mate and calf each year from July through to December, it's a great place to relax. In the afternoon we cycle from one of the local viewpoints of Walkersbay along the Hermanus coastal road to our accommodation offering the best chance to spot whales, in season.


    Meals included: Breakfast Lunch
  • Day 8

    Free day to relax in Hermanus.

    We have a free day today to rest our legs in Hermanus. In the 1920's the town was known as a place to convalesce and was being recommended from as far a field as London. Grand hotels were built and its reputation as a holiday resort was established. Nowadays it still manages a delightful balance between the two industries of fishing and tourism. In addition to this the World Wildlife Foundation recognises Hermanus as among the twelve best places in the world for whale watching.

    Join us on our September to October departures for the best chance to see whales swimming off the coast. 



    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 9

    Ride the Whale Coast to Gordon's Bay.

    Today we cycle the Whale Coast, from Hermaus to Gordon's Bay, possible one of the most scenic rides in the world. The road follows the rugged coastline passing through fishing villages with dramatic views over False Bay and the Cape of Good Hope. Along the route there is a good chance that our efforts will be encouraged by the numerous troops of Cape Baboon. Today is the longest cycle day, but those preferring a shorter ride can catch a lift in the support bus for part of the day. We transfer at the end of the day from Gordon's Bay to Simonstown.


    Meals included: Breakfast Lunch
  • Day 10

    Stunning Cape Peninsula ride; visit penguin colony.

    After breakfast, a short 30km transfer brings us to the Cape Point Nature Reserve. We then walk from the Cape of Good Hope to the old lighthouse at Cape Point. From here we cycle through the Cape Point Nature Reserve and then along the very scenic coastal road to the historic village of Simonstown, downhill for most of the way, with panoramic views over False Bay. After a rest stop and lunch at Boulders Beach we visit the local penguin colony (optional). We then continue our cycle along the coastal road to our overnight accommodation.


    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 11

    Cycle to Cape Town via Chapman's Peak, Hout Bay and Camps Bay.

    The ride today follows part of the annual Cape Argus route, one of the largest cycling events of the world, and is arguably the most scenic route that South Africa has to offer. We complete our circuit by cycling from Glencairn over the redhill pass along an old navy road to Scarborough and then all along the Atlantic coast via the stunning Chapman's Peak drive into Hout Bay. After lunch in Hout Bay we cycle up Suikerbos Ridge past Llandudno and then on to Cape Town via Camp's Bay and the 12 Apostles all the way to our accommodation in Seapoint. We celebrate the end of the cycling at one of the many venues at the Waterfront.


    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 12

    Optional morning visit to Robben Island; end Cape Town.

    The day is free for last minute shopping, catching a few last rays of sunshine or the half-day trip to Robben Island before the trip ends here.

    Meals included: Breakfast
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Combine this trip with

Essential Info

Visas

British passport holders and most European and Commonwealth Passport holders do not require a visa to travel to South Africa. Please note that all travellers to South Africa who do require a visa are required to have a minimum of 2 blank consecutive pages in their passport i.e. a left hand page and a right hand page to enable an entry visa to be issued.

Please note that new regulations from the 1 June 2015 mean that any child under 18 travelling to South Africa needs to be in possession of an unabridged birth certificate with the names of both parents. 

If a child under 18 is only travelling with a single parent, they will also have to have an affidavit, no less than 3 months old, from the absent parent confirming the child can travel with the other parent; a court order granting full legal guardianship of the child; or a death certificate of the deceased parent.

Vaccinations

No vaccinations are obligatory but some vaccinations are recommended. These include typhoid, yellow fever,hepatitis A, hepatitis B, rabies, measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) andinfluenza.

Eating and Drinking

All breakfasts, 7 lunches and 2 dinners are included on this holiday.

For breakfast you can expect a continental style buffet with fresh fruit, cereals, bread, yogurts and tea and Coffee. On some days our guides will prepare a cooked breakfast when they have the facilities to do so. For lunches that are included in the trip you can expect a good spread of fresh salads, cold meats, cheese, bread, condiments, fresh fruit and a selection of cold drinks. For evening meals that are included in the trip you can expect a large Braai (BBQ) with lots of locally sourced steaks, sausages and vegetables. Restaurant menus are very varied and our guide will be on hand to recommend the best options for your personal tastes and budget. You can expect stews, pasta, curry and steaks. Vegetarians are easily catered for.

Weather

The best time to see the carpets of wild flowers and fruit blossoms is in the spring (August and September). In the summer months the south easterly wind can blow up to 70km/h at least a few times a month. This helps to cool things off, but can be a little tiring if cycling into it. Our programme is flexible enough to accommodate any major changes in weather, and yet still be enjoyable. February is the hottest month in Cape Town with an average temperature of 23c. June is the coldest month of the year with an average temperature of 13c so we avoid running trips at this time. At the times we run most of our trips you can expect warm days with the temperatures around 20C.

Is this trip for you?

This tour is classified: Road

Activity level 3 (Moderate)

10 days cycling with an average distance of 55km (34 miles) per day with full vehicle support

A classic road tour with relaxed rides and the opportunity for a few challenging climbs. Mainly good quality tarmac with a few excursions onto hard-packed graded roads. This trip uses main roads which can be busy, but the scenery from the route we take is wonderful. All of the roads used are of good quality tarmac except the occasional stretch of dirt road in the wine district and at Cape Agulhas.

Call us on
353 (0)1 804 7153
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Accommodation

Lodges & Chalets

Throughout the trip we stay in locally run lodges and chalets with plenty of individual character. The majority of these are small, privately owned establishments and all are clean and comfortable. We have chosen a range of properties, most specifically for their excellent locations; in Cape Town we stay in Seapoint, near the Waterfront which is a very popular and central area, in Hermanus we are close to the sea and in Stellenbosch we stay at the Rosenview wine farm where we can sample the locally made wines. All accommodation has en suite facilities and are of a high standard throughout the tour.

Call us on
353 (0)1 804 7153
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Experts

Contact a member of staff who has done this trip

Call us on
353 (0)1 804 7153
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Expert Blog Entries

Forget feeling lethargic on your travels – cycling is one of the easiest ways to blend cultural and active expl

  • Reviewed March 2017
    Beda Higgins

    South Africa Cape and winelands

    Excellent trip; great guides who went out of their way to keep whole company happy. Awesome scenery along the route, good food and wine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The coastal scenery was breath-taking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent group leader, hit the right balance of fun and safety. He couldn't have gone to more trouble to tailor the trip to suit the group; Brilliant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Arthur Onions

    Cycling the Cape and Winelands

    A very well planned, organised and led tour of a fantastic country. The cycling was at times hard but always breath taking. A wonderful way to see a country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When the wind finally came from behind and we got to ride Chapmans drive which was closed to traffic. Riding with the stunning coast at our side.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    With Jean Paul Gardelli in charge it was like having your Mom, Dad and best friend rolled into one. Ten out of ten for organisation and forward planning, a great encourager and patience worthy of a saint. He went above and beyond what I have experienced before and ensured we all had the best experience possible. Assistant leader Layla and driver Endy followed JP's high standards. So accommodating, friendly and accomplished.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The wind at times turned moderate into challenging but the minibus was always readily available.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't wait, book now.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Peter Vogel

    Cycling the Cape and Winelands

    Great trip, great guides, great food...and stunning scenery..

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding the coastal road through false bay, just stunning!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bevin consistently went above and beyond to make the holiday a success. A big thanks to Trish and Ende too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    ATMs were plentiful, no need to take cash with you, generally things were of excellent value.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only way this holiday could be improved is to work in some swim/beach stops on route.
  • Reviewed December 2016
    sarah bynum

    It's only when you look back.....

    Its only when you look back that you realize that, the scenery really was that stunning, the mountains really had that grandeur, the group really was that friendly. I loved every day of the tour, from the beautiful little towns of Stellenbosch and Franceshoek, to the beautiful Cape Agulhas, to the breathtaking Chapmans Peak Drive. Wine tasting, experiencing local foods and all of it with the stunning backdrop of mountains and the beautiful fields of vines. Our guides, Roger and Siintje worked relentlessly to ensure our enjoyment and wellbeing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the high point of Chapmans Peak Drive and seeing the road stretch seemingly endlessly before me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous. Helpful, friendly knowledgable, nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack chamois cream! some long rides in the saddle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The guests houses used at the beginning and end of the trip - the 'sweetest chain' are truly delightful places to stay. Also, the Botanical Gardens in Cape Town are well worth a visit. easily a whole day could be spent exploring the gardens.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Felicity Jones

    Cycling the Cape and Winelands

    A wonderful trip in a beautiful country with wine, beer and brandy tastings included.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling the coast roads to Simonstown and Hout Bay with mountains on one side and the beautiful blue of the ocean on the other. The walk and cycle on the Cape of Good Hope. Drinking champagne and watching the sun go down on Signal Hill

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable and hardworking, neither he or Sofiso seemed to get much time to rest between cooking breakfast, lunch and dinners, mending bikes, looking after us and coping with problems caused by the Cape Argos cyclists.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do try a bit of hill training and prepare for cycling against the wind. You may find the heat difficult at times but it gets easier as you acclimatise.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think having three people on the trip would have made things a lot easier for our leader and driver who had to be leader, mechanic, cook, driver, problem solver and entertainments officers.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Geoff Beale

    Cycling the Cape Winelands

    An all round excellent trip. If taking your own bikes take a road bke. It is definitely Not for mountain bikes. We took our folding mountain bikes which we have used on previous trips but even with semi slicks could have done with 700c wheels and 21mm slick tyres. The wind and heat over the central sections was killing. Having to actually pedal downhill to keep going at times. The highlights were Franchoek and Stellenbosch with the wine tasting, Franchhoek pass and Troudapas, the whale coast from Simonstown to Gordon's bay ( a long day at 90km with an absolute killer of a hill to start after breakfast, most of us made it up), Chapmans peak down to Hout Bay. Recommend to anyone but be reasonably fit before you go. You will be a lot fitter at the end.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all inspirational. The scenery was excellent most ot time. Probably the most enjoyable day was the whale coast ride (around False Bay).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wynand our tour leader was a great character and wit. He was full of bulls*** a lot of the time which made for a lot of banter, fun and winding up with the group. Sifiso our driver was a quiet Zulu but came out of his shell during the trip to be a great asset to the group. Both guys worked extremely hard to make the trip memorable for us all. There were some logistical and organisational issues which they handled with professionalism and tact. Some of the evening meals and lunches and breakfasts were prepared by the guides when we were staying in lodges or way out. All were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it. If you like wine, beer, brandy good food etc there's plenty of it, quite apart from the cycling which has its pain and plenty of pleasures. You will see many sights and sounds to impress as well as depress(shanty villages). Take plenty of sunscreen and electrolytes for your water bottle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    South Africa is dirt cheap at present with £ Rand exchange rate. Large peronis at just over a pound and quality wines at 2 to 3£ a bottle. A meal with wine and beer set us back no more than 600Rand for 2 (£25). If you go to the Waterfront in Cape Town expect to pay up to twice that. It is very touristy but worth a visit. On the cycle days be prepared to see abject poverty with shanty towns to Beverly Hills wealth in all white areas. Well worth organising a half day excursion if you have time at start or end either to Robben island or the freedom trail when you will get a guided tour round a township. We ended our tour on Signal Hill overlooking Cape Town for a boozy close to the trip before going to an African restaurant in Cape Town where we had our final evening meal and were entertained by an amazing group of musians and dancers.
  • Reviewed January 2016
    Jonathan & Suzanna Grix

    Wheels, Wines & Waves

    A great trip; at times the weather was a little on the warm side for cycling. A fun mix of cycling, wine, food and sightseeing and the overall experience was made even better by a great group of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The natural beauty of this area of South Africa was very inspiring, particularly cycling along the Coast and hearing the crashing of the waves and admiring the power of the sea. Inland, the ride from Barrydale along the gorge was also spectacular. Hermanus was also a main highlight and we will definitely come back here on a future trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was a great leader and quick to change plans when needed - as this trip was over Christmas and New Year, some of the restaurants that would normally be used were closed and he was able to adapt plans at short notice. On Christmas day, as an extra that was not on the official itinerary, he chose the perfect place for us all to have a glass of bubbles together, overlooking Cape Agulhas. He is a kind and thoughtful guide who always tries hard to meet the very varied requests from the group – at times this is an impossible task!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow. This advice goes for this trip and any other Exodus trip – the trip notes should be taken as a guide rather than a rigid itinerary and if anything changes just enjoy it. Some of our best experiences on this trip were changes made at short notice, such as finishing our last day of riding at the top of Signal Hill with a drink, overlooking Cape Town. Apart from a couple of optional hills the riding was not too hard and is accurately described as moderate.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An extra few days in Cape Town would be good – half a day at the beginning and end of the trip is not enough time to see Robben Island, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and other attractions.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Richard Milligan

    Cycling the Cape and Winelands

    A breathtaking tour of the Western Cape with a drink (or two) thrown in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fabulous views in the winelands, the Karoo and on the Whale Coast (especially). Each day had a different 'wow' factor and each day I found my ability growing. As someone who does not cycle regularly, the fears of the longer rides, through hilly country and with strong headwinds, grew less and less as the trip continued until the only 'challenges' were the optional climbs that we slotted in on the rest day and at the end of the longest ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wynand was a fabulous leader. Full of energy, full of knowledge and a clear love for his country, cycling and the flora and fauna. He made sure that no one was excluded, was a friend to all and ensured that we knew what we were doing, what to expect andmade sure that we were well fed and watered.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow. Relax and enjoy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The support driver, Sifiso, needs a special mention. A lovely guy with a fabulous sense of humour. Very friendly, helpful and professional.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Gareth Buffett

    Cape and the winelands

    A good combination of varied scenery inland and coastal, towns and city and tours Food and accommodation were good. Good bus used and bikes ok though I could have done with a lower gearing a couple of times Rides were too often on busy main roads albeit usually with a cycle lane it isn't very relaxing or sociable to have too ride single file with fast noisy traffic wizzing past. Quite often felt rushed with meals and tastings sometimmes due to the leaders having to cook our dinner which was often not ready till quite late. Is it really necessary for them to cook? Could have done with an extra day in Cape town to fit more in. With only two half days you can't fit in Table Mountain, Botanic gardens, Roben Island and the city itself let alone shopping and relaxing on the beach

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Botanic gardens-Superb

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Adequet Good local knowledge re history and flora and fauna Needs to be more formal in briefings and the initial one was far too long Got lost a couple of times but I guess if you don't do the trip regularly that happens Generaaly friendly and helpfull just needs to sort out his communication better

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Jacqueline James

    Cycling South africa

    Described as a moderate cycling holiday, although my husband and I have a reasonable fitness level, and coped with the cycling, members of the group stuggled with the terrain, and I don't feel moderate is a good description for this tour. Enjoyed the holiday in general, good group of people, and guides, weather was not always kind to us, and some of the accommodation was under par.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving in Herrmanus and seeing mother and baby whale giving us a show in the bay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tallis was our tour leader. He was a lovely easy going man, and nothing was too much trouble for him. Any issues or problems he tried to deal with, some were out of his control to rectify at the time. Was a credit to the tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cycling easy roads once a week would not make you ready to enjoy this tour. You must be able to tackle hills and constant rolling hills, sometimes into the face of the wind, otherwise it becomes a long slog.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accommodation was in issue in Franschoeke, which consisted of cold lodges, no heating, and weather at the time was cold and wet. Also in Glen Cairn, where part of the group had warm welcoming b & b's, and we plus another couple, had a cold, unwelcoming holiday home, with no hot water on arrival. All group members should receive the same standard of accommodation.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Jacqueline for her feedback, but we are very sorry that some of the accommodation did not live up to her expectations. Whilst we have previously received positive feedback from clients about the guesthouses that Jacqueline mentions, we have discussed her feedback with the relevant guesthouse managements and we will of course also continue to closely monitor client feedback to ensure that her experience is not repeated.

    David Sear- Exodus Product Manager for Cycling in South Africa

Dates & Prices

Please provide as much information as possible below so we can best help with your holiday requirements.

Fields with * are mandatory.

Please provide as much information as possible below so we can best help with your holiday requirements.

Fields with * are mandatory.

An overview of flight options

Exodus is committed to making joining our tours as easy as possible, wherever you live. We generally only block book seats from London, but this certainly does not mean that you need to fly from there. Depending on the route and airlines available, there will usually be various options available for those who want to fly from their local airport.

This page aims to provide a useful overview of the options available to our clients. However, the best flight arrangements should be tailored to your personal requirements, so please contact our Sales team for expert advice.

 

What kind of options do I have ?

1. We can book for you: Flights from anywhere in the world - not via London  

Depending on the route, this may be direct or via an overseas hub like Amsterdam, the Middle East or elsewhere. On short haul routes there may be direct flights with low cost airlines, charter flights or scheduled airlines. Exodus can book most, but not all, of these for you. The most appropriate airline may be different to that which we use for the group flight from London, but many people now travel on different airlines and meet up with their fellow passengers at the destination.

Pros Cons
  • May be the most direct route
  • Often the extra fare compared to the London flight is minimal.
  • As you will be in the hands a single airline for your entire journey, the airline will be responsible for your bags and your connections.
  • You may not be able to join the group transfers. However, we can usually arrange private transfers, or book your flights to try and coincide with the group transfers. See notes on transfer arrangements below.

 

2. We can book for you: Connecting flights from your local airport to London

Exodus can book connecting flights to London so you can join the group flight there. Connecting times will be followed according to airline advice, or as requested by clients. There are two types of fares we can use for this option: a 'through-fare' or a 'published fare'.
 
a) A 'through-fare' is where you will be in the main airline's care throughout. You change planes, but your bags are checked all the way through to your final destination. 

b) A 'published fare' ticket is completely seperate from your onward ticket from London. It is usually cheaper than a through-fare but will need to be paid for and issued as soon as it is booked. This can be a problem if your tour has not yet reached minimum numbers. On 'published fares' neither airline is aware that you have connecting flights, so Exodus is responsible for timing your connection, not the airlines involved. The tickets are also usually non changeable and non refundable.

Pros Cons
  • Depending on the fare type, Exodus or the airline is responsible for flight connections.
  • Through fare tickets can be expensive.
  • On a published fare, tickets must be issued immediately; tickets on published fares can be very difficult to change if onward flight times change; bags are not checked though to your final destination.
  • Published fares are non-refundable.

 

3. Booking some or all of the flights yourself

You can also book connecting air travel yourself, either to London, or all the way to the start point. There may be certain airlines or routes we don't have access to, so this is always an option. However, if you make your own travel arrangements you become liable for any delays, cancellations or missed connections, and Exodus is not required to offer refunds if you have trouble reaching the start of your trip.

Pros Cons
  • You might find cheaper fares, or routes not available to Exodus.
  • You are responsible for any delays or missed connections, and the cost of the tour is not protected should you miss your flight be cancelled.

 

 Notes on transfer arrangements

Sometimes it is possible to travel on a different airline to the group flight from London. Where this is the case, we need to think about ensuring you meet up with the group with minimum extra cost and hassle.

  • On certain trips, it is easy to arrive on a different flight and still meet the group at the hotel with time in hand. We can usually arrange private transfers (at extra cost) or offer advice on taking a taxi to the start hotel.
  • On other trips (especially in Europe), the transfer meets the group flight and then travels some distance to the first night's accommodation. Where this is the case, our Sales team will try to arrange flights that arrive before (and depart after) the group. However, we do have to make it clear in your final documentation that if your flights are delayed, the transfer cannot wait for you. While Exodus or our local operators will do what we can to help you reach the start point of the tour, any additional costs must be paid by the client. 

 

Next steps? 

Call our Sales team on: 0203 733 0698

Email your query: [email protected]