Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Derek Holwill

    Brilliant wildlife trip

    Tremendous trip for wildlife. Great photographic opportunities every day - very varied.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Humpbacks repeatedly breeching next to our boat

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get up early to enjoy sunrise and the early morning birdlife. And have a camera with good low light capabilities
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Caroline Fielden

    Two weeks of wildlife bliss

    This was our second trip to Costa Rica (we travelled with Exodus 3 years ago and loved it) and it didn't disappoint. If you love the natural world this trip is for you. The entire holiday is spent immersed in the diversity of nature visiting some of Costa Rica's amazing locations From tiny leaf cutter ants to majestic whales this trip offers it all. Each stop on the itinerary offers its own unique view of the natural world with a abundance of wildlife in stunning surroundings.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was memorable it would be hard to narrow it down. We saw numerous wild sloths (actually moving - very unusual) the magnificent show of the humming birds, snakes and lizards. The moment which took my breath away were the close encounters with humpback mothers and their calves and two sleepy tapir who were totally relaxed in our presence.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pedro had an obvious love of his country and its wildlife and was enthusiastic about even the tiniest animal. He loved his hikes through the rain-forest and gave up his free day to lead walks through Saverge's cloud forest.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If Exodus don't change their itinerary consider paying extra for a tour to Sirena rather than San Pedrillio while staying on the Osa Penninsula. The wildlife in Sirena is more abundant and varied. Although the trip notes recommend taking dollars, take as many colones as you can as some places don't give the best exchange rate when paying in dollars. Don't forget a good poncho and dry bags, it will rain!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Philip Wood

    Costa Rica

    The enthusiasm for wildlife of our guide Alex castro really made the trip special

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably snorkeling whales, turtles and humming birds

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent see previous comment

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You have to have an interest in flora and fauna
  • Reviewed August 2018
    denise gillott

    What an adventure

    What an amazing trip! Walking through jungle, swimming beside a waterfall, snorkelling in clear blue waters, boat rides along canals and through mangroves. Incredible wildlife everywhere, huge crabs, monkeys, sloths, turtles, whales, dolphins, caimen, crocodiles, frogs, snakes ,hummingbirds, butterflies. ...i could go on and on..The trip was full on. Early starts, that are not really a problem because of jet lag and extra walks included by our guide Alex who ensured that we all made the very best of our time in Costa Rica. We saw so much on our excursions but also lots just in the areas around our accommodation. We were a group of 14 , plus guide Alex, ranging in age from 19 to 70. It was very special being in a group of like minded people who were all there to get the most out of the trip, see a lot of wildlife and have lots of fun at the same time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We joined an optional evening tour in Tortugero to a beach where we watched a turtle laying it's eggs in the sand and then burying them. This image will stay with me forever. It was truly an honour to have witnessed this.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex, our group leader, really helped to make the whole trip special. His knowledge of birds and animals was incredible. His enthusiasm for any "find" made by any member of the group was infectious. Many species he must have seen so many times but his enthusiasm was real. He made a point of finding out what each member of the party wanted to see most of all and then made it his duty to make that sighting a possibility. On the last evening he even found a red eyed green tree frog that we had not seen until that time and came running to our rooms to call us over to ensure that we didn't miss it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you have winter walking boots. A pair of walking sandals that can go in water are useful for some trails and then for beach boat landings ( water shoes otherwise for landings). A pair of lightweight flip flops dry quickly for use around the lodges. Clothes/shoes do not dry very easily in Costa Rica...having items inside the lodge when the fan was on was more efficient than leaving items outside as the air is so moist. You MUST have a poncho. Insect repellent needed for all days and evenings so take plenty. Antihistamine cream is also very useful even if you have used deet. Much cheaper and more readily available in UK ,Use high factor suncream when snorkelling AND remember to apply more before going in for a second swim. Take a good camera if you have one and good binoculars. Many birds, bats , snakes etc can be at a distance, through foliage. We didn't have good binoculars but seeing things through Alex' was a whole different experience to seeing without. In the cloud forest the evenings were cool and the nights cold. I slept with 2 duvets and a blanket. I wished I had taken something warmer to sleep in. There is a free laundry service at Drake Bay. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Celia Akers

    Coastal secrets of Costa Rica

    I had booked this trip to celebrate "big birthdays" for both me and my daughter, so my expectations were high and this fantastic holiday exceeded my expectations. Walking in the rainforest and cloudforest and sailing in the mangrove swamps was magical and thanks to the sharp eyes of our guide we saw at very close range howler and capuchin monkeys, two and three fingered sloths, poison dart frogs, blue jean frogs, transparent frogs, crocodiles, caiman, lizards, basilisks, snakes (the yellow eyelash viper was stunningly beautiful seen through our guide's telescope), green turtles, humpback whales, dolphins, hummingbirds, anteater, racoons, coatis, scarlet macaws, parakeets, heron, egrets and lots more. It was a safari! We experienced the diversity of the ecology and cultures of Costa Rica while avoiding the touristy areas. The eco-lodges varied from good to excellent and all had air conditioning to ensure a good night's sleep. The food was excellent and special diets were well catered for. We were warmly welcomed wherever we went. There was quite a lot of travelling in our air conditioned minibus but the journey was made more interesting by the guide's stories about the local area and frequent stops to sample local fruit at the side of the road , eating in family run restaurants where you could watch the birdlife at the same time, or stopping to see archaeological remains such as the stonospheres. If you want to experience the great outdoors in the tropics and fall exhausted but happy into a comfy bed at the end of every day, this is the holiday for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was something inspirational every day so it's impossible to name just one. Sailing alongside a family of humpback whales was awe-inspiring. Hearing the calls of howler monkeys in the early hours of the morning. Seeing and hearing scarlet macaws while walking to get breakfast. Watching monkeys watching us. Sitting in the hotel garden in the cloudforest and being dive-bombed by hummingbirds. The exhilarating sail to Drake Bay across the waves where the mangrove swamps meet the pacific. Snorkelling off Cano island and seeing so many colourful fish, turtles and a white-tipped shark.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    If Johnny Villalobos had not already won the Exodus guide of the year, I would be nominating him! His knowledge of nature, wildlife, history and his country was exemplary and he imparted his knowledge in an interesting and entertaining way. He clearly loves his job. Johnny was sensitive to the group's needs, was very flexible in accommodating people's requests, and never lost an opportunity to give us an impromptu experience of real Costa Rica. He was highly respectful of wildlife and ecological issues. Johnny went the extra mile for us and regularly put on extra walks or experiences on his own initiative that were not listed in the trip notes. He was also quietly observant of individual's needs : when I was dehydrated and a bit seasick he arrived at my door with a jug of coconut water after finding the fresh coconuts in the lodge garden himself. A thoroughly decent and modest man. Thank you Johnny for a fantastic holiday that was fun and mind-broadening.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A waterproof poncho is probably more comfortable in the (hot) rain than the waterproof breathable jacket I wear in the UK. Dry bags to line your day rucksack and for cameras are useful. Drink LOADS more water than you think you need as its very easy to get dehydrated. Take earplugs if you don't want to be woken by howler monkeys in the early hours of the morning (or just enjoy the experience). Expect to have wildlife in the lodges and remember we're in their habitat not vice-versa. Don't keep food in your room unless you want a close encounter with ants! There's no need to take food supplies for a vegan or wheat free diet as the lodges always have options. Don't buy chocolate souveniers to bring home at the start of the holiday as it will be heat damaged after 2 weeks! The best mozzie protection is to cover up and just spray the exposed bits with Deet 50%; even then, be prepared to get a few bites sometimes. Be wary of traffic in San Hose...it does not stop for pedestrians! Take the opportunity to see the National Museum, the Jade Museum and the market.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had the same driver (Didier) all the time. He was a good, calm, safe driver at all times even when stuck in the madness of San Hose rush hour madness or when driving close to a precipice in the cloudforest. I am a poor passenger and I felt safe at all times.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Joanna Wilson

    A tropical paradise.

    Overall we had such an amazing trip. Our tour guide was fantastic and one of a kind. He really knew his stuff and went the extra mile above and beyond for the group. We always maintained respect for Nature and conservation, further more learning the importance of why Costa’s Rica is so special. Costa Rica was teaming with wildlife, we spotted 9 sloths including a close up chance encounter of a wild two toed sloth, A surge of 30 Coati and their young on the edge of the rainforest coastal walk at Coravado. Swimming with green turtles and white tipped reef sharks, seeing a young humpback whale calf up close with mum....an experience to see the well renowned Quetzal...Macaws, Anteaters, Howler Monkey families at the door step of our lodge facing the Pacific Ocean not to mention the many countless bird species, insects and reptiles we encountered along the way. If your looking for paradise, Costa Rica has it all and more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being surrounded by Hummingbirds close up at our stay lodge in the middle of the cloud forest was pretty sensational. Quite difficult to narrow it down to one, the snorkelling experience was also a high experience as we had never done anything like that before. It opens your eyes up to a completely different world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Johnny (Villalobos) was amazing. He really leaps out at you as a extremely proficient and interesting tour leader, not your run of the mill tour guides. I wasn’t surprised to learn he had won an award for his work. There’s something very honest about Johnny and you can see how extremely passionate he is about conservation, wildlife and his country. Also dedicated twitcher! I think if I were to re-visit Costa Rica again, I’d like Johnny to be there on the tour front.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go in with an open mind. The hotels are well placed for the locations and more than comfortable. The Drakes bay lodge, Cloud forest hotel are mind blowingly beautiful. Be prepared you may not see all the wildlife viewing that’s on your hit list but the wildlife you do see is amazing , we saw so much amazing wildlife more than any other wildlife trip I’ve been on, no we didn’t see a Jaguar or any cat family member but we pretty much saw everything else including the odd rare species. The beauty of the rugged coastal rainforests is amazing, be prepared with full rain water proof clothing, and make sure it is water proof. Water shoes are a god send, the advice another previous visitor highlighted to wear came in super handy when we boarded the speed boat. Also if you have a nice fancy camera, make sure you have rainproof protection for it. I brought a water proof camera with me for snorkelling and the local tour guides were extremely kind enough to dive down and take photos of underwater wildlife , which we are aiming to share with the rest of the group. The cloud forest is quite a change from the warmer climates of Costa Rica, make sure you are prepared with a good reliable warm hoodie. Our tour guide even had gloves and a hat on for the 5am Quetzal walk. Also make sure you have good waterproof walking boots as you do walk a fair way on special set occasions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I’d love to go back on this particular trip, hopefully with the same tour guide! This is my first experience with Exodus and from meeting well travelled faithful Exodus travellers on this trip, I’ve found that Exodus is pretty much the company to go with, it’s not touristy and is respectful to areas they visit. I’ll definately be travelling with Exodus further in the future.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    CLIVE PENWARDEN

    I really wanted to see a Tapir!

    Our third visit to Costa Rica was everything we expected and more (sadly we didn't see a tapir - but that was the only disappointment!). The trip is full on - if you participate in all that is offered, you don't get much time to read your book! Early starts were the order of the day (not too difficult, due to the time difference between there and UK.) Some days there were longer journeys, but these were always broken up with stops for food or to see things of interest. The Costa Ricans are friendly and very keen on their eco-tourism. The lodges and hotels were of a good standard, with the meals (whether from the accommodation or from restaurants), were very acceptable. A holiday that starts and finishes with stays in lodges that can only be reached by a lengthy boat trip has to be very special.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of the highlights of the holiday was our visit to a small locally run restaurant in Sitio de Mana. A large wooden terrace/balcony in a little village, sited on a mountainside, with spectacular views (which gradually appeared as the mist lifted), was almost surreal. The food was fantastic (including a chocolate cake that they had baked) was all prepared by the local village ladies, on very primitive looking cast iron stoves. While eating we were able to watch humming birds and toucans at very close quarters. Another highlight was snorkelling at Cano island - a profusion of multi coloured fish flashed by, as a turtle slowly made its way to the surface within six feet of me, before disappearing into the depths again.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Jonny Villalobos was excellent - so good that while with us he heard that he had won Tour leader of the year (2017) - voted by Exodus customers. His depth of knowledge is huge, whether it be re birds, flora, history or general knowledge on Central America. He found some very good restaurants for us and dealt well with the minor medical problems that arose.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do go on this trip - it complements the Exodus costa Rica Discovery tour. Do take plenty of sun protection - it is very easy to get burnt on the boat trips. Don't forget your camera, and if you have a waterproof one take that as well. Ensure that you have waterproof bags to line your day bag and protect your cameras etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is such a profusion of wild life - we saw all four species of monkeys that are present, some saw a big cat (there are several species.) The seven kilometre walk, alongside the pacific and the jungle was not strenuous and we saw loads of wildlife on it. Sloths were everywhere - we were educated in the sloth sanctuary, but saw more outside of it! On the faster side of life - the trip out to and from Drakes bay on a boat with twin 150 outboards was like participating in a power boat race - great fun.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Jo Mullin

    A wonderful trip

    Thoroughly enjoyed this holiday. We saw so much wildlife from sloths and monkeys and even an anteater to scarlet macaws and toucans, as well as the elusive quetzal, dolphins and lots of beautifully coloured birds, fish and reptiles. The group we travelled with was very friendly and good fun. We saw many different landscapes and the whole trip was extremely well organised.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is impossible to pick one - seeing so much wildlife for the first time was wonderful. And the scenery was ever changing and beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guillermo was a brilliant guide - he spotted so much wildlife, had a vast knowledge of nature and was kind and very well organised.. You will be very lucky if you have him as your guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have deet and sunscreen and good walking boots or shoes for when it is muddly and to keep things from biting your ankles. A rain poncho will keep out the rain and keep your rucksack dry. Have a good camera. Relax and enjoy it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly recommended.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Helen Webster

    Wonderful holiday!

    I would recommend this well organised holiday to anyone who wants to explore the diverse landscapes of Costa Rica, as well as see a wide range of wildlife - sloths, monkeys, spiders, frogs, snakes, dolphins, butterflies - as well, of course, birds ( we saw over 100 different types!) The accommodation ranged from good to excellent, and the food was varied and plentiful - not just rice and beans! We were also very fortunate to be with the nicest group of fellow travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A difficult question to answer, as there were so many wonderful experiences, but the three days at Drake Bay were very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guillermo was the best of guides. He was patient and kind, he happily shared his love and deep knowledge of Costa Rica with us, as well as ensuring we all took all the photos we wanted. He also added several additional activities, which were appreciated.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you pack Deet, strong suntan cream and a good poncho. Water shoes for any river crossing or the sea, would be useful at Drake Bay.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are interested in the history of Costa Rica, and have some time to spare in San Jose, I would recommend a visit to The National Museum of Costa Rica (Museo Nacional). Otherwise just relax and enjoy spending time in this beautiful, sane country.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Anna Kennedy

    Costa Rica - Coastal Secrets Jan 2018

    We had a great time on this trip. We saw lots of birds and other wildlife. Costa Rica has very diverse ecosystems and we experienced quite a variety. We really liked the limit of 16 travelers. We enjoyed the group and were made very welcome everywhere we went.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on the waterways around Tortuguero and Drake Bay was very special. If we hadn't had the benefit of great guides, we wouldn't have seen so much wildlife. Snorkeling at Cano Island was really amazing too - fantastic to see the colourful fish in the coral reef and also a large black sea turtle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was so knowledgeable and a really nice guy. Very thoughtful in terms of knowing what people were keen about and interested in.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We didn't factor in having to tip so many people (boat drivers, resort staff). Also, we were surprised that traffic all around Costa Rica goes much slower than you expect so time to get to some places is longer than anticipated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall is was a great trip and would recommend it highly to others. The mini-bus was a little on the tight side for taller people - hard on the knees.
Call us on 353 (0)1 804 7153