Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2018
    CLIVE PENWARDEN

    I really wanted to see a Tapir!

    Our third visit to Costa Rica was everything we expected and more (sadly we didn't see a tapir - but that was the only disappointment!). The trip is full on - if you participate in all that is offered, you don't get much time to read your book! Early starts were the order of the day (not too difficult, due to the time difference between there and UK.) Some days there were longer journeys, but these were always broken up with stops for food or to see things of interest. The Costa Ricans are friendly and very keen on their eco-tourism. The lodges and hotels were of a good standard, with the meals (whether from the accommodation or from restaurants), were very acceptable. A holiday that starts and finishes with stays in lodges that can only be reached by a lengthy boat trip has to be very special.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of the highlights of the holiday was our visit to a small locally run restaurant in Sitio de Mana. A large wooden terrace/balcony in a little village, sited on a mountainside, with spectacular views (which gradually appeared as the mist lifted), was almost surreal. The food was fantastic (including a chocolate cake that they had baked) was all prepared by the local village ladies, on very primitive looking cast iron stoves. While eating we were able to watch humming birds and toucans at very close quarters. Another highlight was snorkelling at Cano island - a profusion of multi coloured fish flashed by, as a turtle slowly made its way to the surface within six feet of me, before disappearing into the depths again.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Jonny Villalobos was excellent - so good that while with us he heard that he had won Tour leader of the year (2017) - voted by Exodus customers. His depth of knowledge is huge, whether it be re birds, flora, history or general knowledge on Central America. He found some very good restaurants for us and dealt well with the minor medical problems that arose.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do go on this trip - it complements the Exodus costa Rica Discovery tour. Do take plenty of sun protection - it is very easy to get burnt on the boat trips. Don't forget your camera, and if you have a waterproof one take that as well. Ensure that you have waterproof bags to line your day bag and protect your cameras etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is such a profusion of wild life - we saw all four species of monkeys that are present, some saw a big cat (there are several species.) The seven kilometre walk, alongside the pacific and the jungle was not strenuous and we saw loads of wildlife on it. Sloths were everywhere - we were educated in the sloth sanctuary, but saw more outside of it! On the faster side of life - the trip out to and from Drakes bay on a boat with twin 150 outboards was like participating in a power boat race - great fun.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Jo Mullin

    A wonderful trip

    Thoroughly enjoyed this holiday. We saw so much wildlife from sloths and monkeys and even an anteater to scarlet macaws and toucans, as well as the elusive quetzal, dolphins and lots of beautifully coloured birds, fish and reptiles. The group we travelled with was very friendly and good fun. We saw many different landscapes and the whole trip was extremely well organised.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is impossible to pick one - seeing so much wildlife for the first time was wonderful. And the scenery was ever changing and beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guillermo was a brilliant guide - he spotted so much wildlife, had a vast knowledge of nature and was kind and very well organised.. You will be very lucky if you have him as your guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have deet and sunscreen and good walking boots or shoes for when it is muddly and to keep things from biting your ankles. A rain poncho will keep out the rain and keep your rucksack dry. Have a good camera. Relax and enjoy it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly recommended.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Helen Webster

    Wonderful holiday!

    I would recommend this well organised holiday to anyone who wants to explore the diverse landscapes of Costa Rica, as well as see a wide range of wildlife - sloths, monkeys, spiders, frogs, snakes, dolphins, butterflies - as well, of course, birds ( we saw over 100 different types!) The accommodation ranged from good to excellent, and the food was varied and plentiful - not just rice and beans! We were also very fortunate to be with the nicest group of fellow travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A difficult question to answer, as there were so many wonderful experiences, but the three days at Drake Bay were very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guillermo was the best of guides. He was patient and kind, he happily shared his love and deep knowledge of Costa Rica with us, as well as ensuring we all took all the photos we wanted. He also added several additional activities, which were appreciated.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you pack Deet, strong suntan cream and a good poncho. Water shoes for any river crossing or the sea, would be useful at Drake Bay.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are interested in the history of Costa Rica, and have some time to spare in San Jose, I would recommend a visit to The National Museum of Costa Rica (Museo Nacional). Otherwise just relax and enjoy spending time in this beautiful, sane country.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Anna Kennedy

    Costa Rica - Coastal Secrets Jan 2018

    We had a great time on this trip. We saw lots of birds and other wildlife. Costa Rica has very diverse ecosystems and we experienced quite a variety. We really liked the limit of 16 travelers. We enjoyed the group and were made very welcome everywhere we went.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on the waterways around Tortuguero and Drake Bay was very special. If we hadn't had the benefit of great guides, we wouldn't have seen so much wildlife. Snorkeling at Cano Island was really amazing too - fantastic to see the colourful fish in the coral reef and also a large black sea turtle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was so knowledgeable and a really nice guy. Very thoughtful in terms of knowing what people were keen about and interested in.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We didn't factor in having to tip so many people (boat drivers, resort staff). Also, we were surprised that traffic all around Costa Rica goes much slower than you expect so time to get to some places is longer than anticipated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall is was a great trip and would recommend it highly to others. The mini-bus was a little on the tight side for taller people - hard on the knees.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Felicity Walker

    All I expected and more

    What a fabulous trip. I'd visited Costa Rica before, but this trip truly concentrated on the wildlife and the country has so much to offer. We saw so much and some of it very different - frogs, snakes, spiders, beautiful butterflies, stunning birds, dolphins, humpback whales, I could go on and on. I also thought I'd see a sloth, but we saw so many, it was wonderful. I had read mixed reviews about some of the accommodation, but I thought it ranged from good to excellent. Where the hotels were merely good, the relative lack of tourists more than made up for it. The food included in the hotels/lodges was also of a very high standard...it would have been difficult to go hungry!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the grounds of the various properties we stayed in, just spotting the animals on the ground and in the trees. Some of the best sights were within close proximity of our accommodation - including a walk along the coast at Cahuita where the sloths were everywhere. Watching humpback whales from the shore - at a time of year when they shouldn't have been there! So many glorious scarlet macaws on the Pacific coast. So many wonderful photo opportunities

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was very knowledgeable and passionate about the wildlife and was obviously a very experienced guide. I liked the fact that he added in quite a few extra optional walks, which were much appreciated after some long days travelling.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only the obvious, expect rain, even in the dry season...but the sun comes along eventually

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not a single member of the group used the group flight via USA. I hope that Exodus take this on board, as it is obvious from previous reviews that this is a common theme. An extra day needs to be added to the trip so that the BA direct flights can be used. It may add a little onto the cost of the trip, but would be well worth it. I travelled back on the day the trip ended and came back via Madrid - where they lost my luggage, a common occurrence according to BA. How I wish I'd done the direct flight on the following day along with most of the rest of the group! p.s. My luggage did reappear the next day
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Alison Loades

    Coastal Secrets Costa Rica

    I totally recommend this trip to experience the beautiful diversity of Costa Rica. We had a trip of a lifetime. Great trips, accommodation, food and a tour of a beautiful country full of wonderful wildlife and birds and friendly people. I would love to return on day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Way too many to mention.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Pedro was extremely knowledgable and enthusiastic about his country and the wildlife, birds, people and history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect to get wet for some of your trip. And i mean wet! Expect very strong sun for some of your trip! Plenty of sun tan lotion required. Expect extremes! But that's what makes it a fantastic experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy your trip in paradise!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    John Aldous

    Costa Rica Coastal Secrets

    This is a fabulous tour which I highly recommend to anyone. It takes you across Costa Rica from the Caribbean to Pacific Coasts, experiencing a wide variety of scenery and habitats, from humid rain forests and lowlands to cool cloud forests. Our tour was well organised with an excellent tour leader and driver. Everything went exactly to plan! You stay for two or three nights in most places, so there is time to appreciate things and not feel too rushed. Travel in the small bus was comfortable, apart from a few short sections of bumpy roads, which is all part of the experience! Walks are easy and taken at a comfortable pace.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights for me included seeing dolphins following our small boat in Drake 's Bay, the calls of howler monkeys in the rainforest and seeing racoons, sloths, toucans, macaws and capuchin monkeys.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Gio, enthused us all with his love of his country, people and the natural world. He took us on a number of nature walks and showed great skill and knowledge in finding and identifying the huge variety of wildlife on show. He was calm, well organised and attentive to the needs of all members of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I recommend spending a little on a night time nature walk at Drake's Bay (this can be organised through the lodge). This gives another perspective on the rain forest, giving you a chance to see frogs, spiders and snakes.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    James Palmer

    Costa Rica's Coastal Secrets January 2018

    This was a memorable holiday, for all the right reasons. We were interested to find out about Costa Rica's wildlife and landscapes, and we were delighted with what we found. It was an active holiday, with quite a lot of early-morning rises, but this was more than compensated by the richness of the wildlife encounters. Our guide, Pedro, was outstanding: his knowledge, organisation, and enthusiasm were inspirational. The group, which ranged in age from 33 to 83, got on really well together, united by his passion and good humour. Accommodation was good to very good, and the food (most of which is included in the price) was also good to very good. We experienced the full gamut of weather conditions, from tropical rain to warm temperatures and blue sunny skies. As for organisation, the trip passed without a hitch despite certain roads being blocked by landslides and fallen trees, and we always felt safe. There is quite a bit of travelling from one location to another.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming into close contact with so many wild animals in their natural surroundings is not an experience we are used to in Europe, and we have been lucky to return with some stunning photographs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pedro, our group leader, was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, efficient, helpful, and passionate about his country. He led the group with great humour and was always willing to go the extra mile.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For anyone interested in this tour, take sun cream, insect repellent, a poncho, walking boots and a good pair of trainers. It is not really a trekking holiday, but conditions can be wet and muddy. A good camera is a must. We chose to fly direct from the UK to San José rather than face the inevitable immigration queues if you fly via North America.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If there was one thing we would change about the activities on offer, we would advise against the Sloth Sanctuary at Puerto Viejo. It was rather self-promotional and we saw little evidence of the rehabilitation which they claimed. We had already encountered plenty of sloths in the wild, and the visit to the sanctuary added nothing to our appreciation of these animals. A visit to the crocodile and birdlife sanctuary on the River Tárcoles on the way back to San José on the last day is a much better option. But choose the right company- some are more ethical than others.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Gisela Aitken-Davies

    Exceeded high expectations!

    August is the rainy season, but the early morning starts meant that we fitted a lot in before the impressive downpours that sometimes happened later in the day. The range of wildlife we saw was astonishing; I'd picked this trip because of the visit to the Sloth Sanctuary, which was disappointing compared with the number of sloths that we saw in the wild. Our excellent guide was complemented by eagle eyed boat 'drivers' who also appeared to be keen and knowledgeable about wildlife and were ready and willing to nimbly propel the boats around to see something on the bank they had spotted: monkeys, lizards etc. The accommodation, in places, was not 5 star, but had its own charm and there is not that I would not happily revisit for one reason or another, even the very friendly one in Cahuita with its temperamental showers but very friendly owner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It really is difficult to pick one out. After the second day, by which time we had seen sloths, turtles, golden orb spiders, howler monkeys, we wondered what could be left. There was plenty! The sheer variety of ecosystems, places we stayed and activities meant this was unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andreas' passion for and knowledge about his subject was infectious. He was excellent at pitching his information at an audience which included some very experienced bird watchers and some relative newcomers, and his knowledge of all Costa Rican wild life was extensive so our trips out were informative and interesting. Andreas was very safety aware and took this, and people's satisfaction with arrangements, into account. Going the extra mile probably sums him up, especially with those people who were delayed because of Hurricane Harvey.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an umbrella and poncho (covers your backpack) especially if going in the rainy season.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd like to thank Exodus in London for their help with sorting out accommodation and rearranging flights back to the the UK after our flights via Houston were cancelled.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Joanne Offer

    Fabulous wildlife

    I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. The amount of wildlife that we saw was simply unbelievable - from sloths and whales, to scarlet macaws, toucans and 4 types of monkeys. We even saw animals that I'd never even heard of before. (Agouti and coati.) Tortuguero is simply magical - waking up to the sounds of the rainforest and then seeing turtles on the beach at the other end of the day. I couldn't believe the number of beautifully colourful birds we saw in the cloud forest. By the end of it, we were saying, "Oh, it's just another hummingbird." And our time on the peninsula was just spectacular. Plodging through a stream in the rainforest and swimming near a mini-waterfall were great experiences. Never mind being able to spot humpback whales while standing on the beach having a picnic lunch!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending my birthday whale-watching: we had 4 different sightings in just that 1 day. The guides were as excited as we were when a baby humpback pretty much swam under the boat!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andreas was extremely patient and highly knowledgeable about Costa Rica's wildlife. He spotted animals that we would have walked straight past, and always made sure we had all the information we needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring water shoes - something you can wear snorkelling or getting on/off a boat. My cheap ponchos bought from Poundland were the best bargain of the trip - they kept me and my rucksack (largely) dry. It really does chuck it down in the rainforest. Yes, the accommodation in Cahuita isn't up to the same standard as everywhere else, but it was clean and situated right on the beach. Did the job. And the cocktails in town more than made up for any shortcomings. When flying in hurricane season, it might be worth trying to fly direct to San Jose so you reduce the risk of flight disruption - our connecting flight via Houston was cancelled, although Exodus helped us to sort alternatives.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have preferred to spend an extra night in Tortuguero and had one day less in Cahuita. (Simply because of the peace and remoteness of Tortuguero.)
Call us on 353 (0)1 804 7153