Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jerry Gambs

    Vigorous.

    I rarely give ten out of ten, but this came close. The sun shone every day, I slepped well and didn't put on weight. The walks were just right, leisurely as it said, I didn't want a route march, I do enough of that. The group was assorted, what more can I say ! J

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Thanos eating my chips !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos was a true professional with extensive knowledge of his job. Well educated, kind,fit, just a great guy. For me he made the holiday, such a pleasure when some one knows his job. I must thank Thanos for a happy Greek Islands Trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack half what you think you need.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The breakfasts could be a little more substantial.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    James (Jim) Clarke

    Greek Island Wanderer

    A well balanced trip that gives a taste of 3 contrasting islands. Travelling in April proved to be an ideal opportunity to see a different side to Greece - quieter, greener and a comfortable temperature for walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks in Naxos and Paros were excellent, offering the opportunity to not only experience the pace of genuine Island life but also to enjoy the many varieties of herbs and flowers that abound at this time of year. Santorini was an impressive spectacle which even the general busyness of the town could not detract from.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have experienced many group leaders and would rate Thanos as being amongst the best of them; he anticipated the needs of individuals in the group and ensured everyone was included. It was a joy to listen to his obvious passion for all things Greek and his wish to share them, his breadth of general knowledge ensured he answered all questions and could participate in any discussions. A friendly, efficient leader who is a credit to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light using layers rather than bulky clothing in April and prepare for mosquitoes in Paros, even in April. When on Santorini do make the effort to visit both the ancient buried site of Akrotiri (easily done by public bus which leaves from close to the hotel) and the New Prehistoric Museum (also close to the hotel) to help make sense of the Bronze Age settlement of Santorini which can easily be done in a morning and offers the bonus of seeing more of the Island.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Jennifer Chalmers

    Walking in the Greek Islands

    This was a trip that stimulated all the senses, from the wonderful colours of the wildflowers on the walks and the blues and whites of the pristine villages we passed through, to the tastes and smells of freshly cooked seafood at harbour restaurants. Apart from all the experiences described in the trip notes we were lucky enough to have some added bonuses. These included a fantastic bazouki recital and Greek dancing in the old town hall at Naxos which included unlimited drinks, a trip to the astonishing excavations at Akritiri on Santorini and, as the ferry arrived early at Piraeus on the last day, a visit to the Acropolis in Athens. Our last night's meal turned into a celebration when we were surrounded by a wedding party! This was definitely a good time of the year to do this trip, a pleasant walking temperature of 19 to 25 degrees Celsius, everything looking fresh and generally not to busy (except for the main town in Santorini when the cruise ships were in). A wonderful Spring break with great company!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The dramatic caldera walk on Santorini has to be a highlight. As you passed by the whitewashed houses and looked down the steep slopes to the bay below you could only try and imagine the huge volcanic explosion that created the current landscape and the fate of the people that lived there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos our group leader couldn't do enough to make our holiday enjoyable. It was so relaxing just to leave all the arrangements in his very capable hands. He was so knowledgeable about everything we encountered including the plants, history, archaeology and geology of the islands. He chose some lovely restaurants to eat in the evening and worked out everyone's individual bill! We had the added bonus of his wife and young son along who were very interesting to talk to.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax and enjoy! We went for a quick swim in the sea in Paros which was very invigorating at this time of the year but did need water shoes to get passed the first strip of pebbles. I only needed my walking poles once for part of the descent in Santorini, otherwise fairly easy walking. Do try the freshly caught cuttlefish!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Along with the Amalfi Coast walking holiday, this has to be one of my favourite Exodus trips in Europe.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Kath Tordoff

    Great mix of walking, sightseeing & relaxing!

    I've been on several Exodus trips and this was definitely up there as one of my favourites. All three islands were beautiful and very different from each other, the walks were really enjoyable and there was just the right amount of free time to enjoy some sightseeing, shopping or even relax on the beach! I was concerned that the number of ferry transfers would eat into our holiday time but we spent most of those journeys out on deck in the sunshine and it all added to the experience. I'd recommend this trip to anyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the whole trip but an added bonus was an unexpected stop off at the Acropolis on our way back to Athens airport! My friend and I had been regretting not flying out a day or two earlier to explore Athens so this just made our week. Other highlights included a bouzouki concert in Naxos and gatecrashing a Greek wedding on our last night!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos was a real character, had loads of knowledge about the islands to share with us, and made our trip run very smoothly. His help in navigating the ferry journeys was invaluable! He chose some great, inexpensive restaurants and tavernas for our evening meals and made sure there were no arguments over the bill!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Vittoria Doyle

    Wonderful easy walking trip in beautiful surroundings!!

    Walking was lovely and easy with enough challenges to enjoy. Group was nice. Food was amazing. Thano our leader was brilliant. So knowledgeable and helpful. He knew his history, culture, flora, fauna and all the people we met around and about!! He cared for the environment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going on to the caldera in Santorini. As a geography student of old, i found the landscape and history fascinating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thano was amazing. So knowledgeable and helpful. Kept us trying his foods. We learnt so much history through him. He answered all questions. Really good leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy walking, its a beautiful place to do it. Take walking poles!!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Clare Jaques

    Walking the Greek islands

    A fabulous way to see the islands, largely unspoilt fortunately despite their popularity. We were transported outside of the “tourist” area to ancient walking paths and walked through mediaeval villages. Our excellent Greek guide was able to fill us in with very interesting historical/local information to really get a picture of life in these islands.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the iconic spot in OIA for photo of the blue chapel domes. But many “wow’ moments

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A passionate Greek man, very sociable, conscientious with a great sense of humour. Very easy going if you did not want to join in the evening meal, which we did once so we could try out a specific taverna we had heard of.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking pole useful for the trip I felt for safety.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very pleased we spent a few days in Athens prior to the trip. Could this be included to make the tour 10 days? Just a thought. I would add that one to the highlights for me for this trip in total was going to the Acropolis and the amazing Acropolis museum.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Kavita Chandra

    Walking the Greek Isles

    Really enjoyable vacation. Cecile was a wonderful tour guide and all the three islands that we visited on the trip were lovely. I liked Paros the most but only by a hair. Naxos and Santorini were beautiful and was happy that we got to visit Akrotiri in Santorini. All very scenic and relaxed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the metal charms that one could buy in Paros and make wish at the church from the 4th century. The wooden windmill bar by our hotel in Paros was beautiful and we had a lovely dinner at Levantis in Paros. All spectacular.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would stay an extra day in Paros.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Sharon Chollet

    Walking the Greek Islands in JuneS

    A very enjoyable week visiting Naxos, Santorini and Paros with a great group of people. Leisurely walking amongst stunning scenery, refreshment stops at pretty villages and excellent meals at local tavernas. Accommodation was generally better than I expected and as always with Exodus the whole week was well organised

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk along the Byzantine path and all the beautiful sunsets, particularly the last night in Paros

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Having met Cécile on the Evia trip 2 years ago, I knew we would be in safe hands. She manages to be both professional and friendly, has a great knowledge of the Islands and always chose great tavernas for our group meals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As previous review, pack light and obviously be prepared for walking in high temperatures if you go in June. This is a good trip if you have a non walking friend or partner, plenty for them to do whilst the group walks. Books or music are useful for the longer ferry journeys

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you love Greece and want a bit of exercise to counteract the wonderful food and drink then I thoroughly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Joyce Perkins

    Excellent way to sample the islands

    This was my first Exodus holiday and was a marvelous experience. I found the balance between organized walks, free time and traveling to be perfect. The group was friendly and diverse so I enjoyed the whole week. Our guide - Cécile- was good. She really knows the islands and how to beat the crowds. I especially enjoyed using local busses and ferries and staying in small individual hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Byzantine trail on Paros. The sage, rosemary and aniseed growing beside us made it a feast for the senses and the idea of using a path that was so old made it really special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - she worked hard and made it look easy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light - you have plenty of chances to do washing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I felt the hotel Sunrise on Santorini was below par The rooms are dark and dingy and the breakfast was mediocre.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Marilynn Reid

    Walking the Greek Islands

    I loved this trip! I have taken hiking/walking trips with other travel companies, but this was by far the best one yet. It was so well organized - everything went smoothly. The trip leader was well versed in the history of each island - and his enthusiasm for the country was contagious. We got to see parts of the islands that most tourists would never see. If you love the outdoors and love to hike, this trip is for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, it was our last hike on Noxos. It was a bit of a challenge. It was rocky going up and very rocky going down. I wasn't sure I wanted to make the last stretch of it, but others encouraged me and I did it all the way to the top and down. Afterwards, I felt healthy and invigorated.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I think that our leader, Thanos, really made the trip special. He keep everything running smoothly. He was a wealth of interesting information about the islands and their history. I really enjoyed listening to him. His love for these places was evident in his enthusiasm. Also he accompanied us to almost all of our dinners and had great recommendations.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are going in the fall season, be sure to have extra layers that you can remove as the weather changes depending on the elevations. I thought it would be warmer, but it was chilly in the mornings and evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think I have said it all.
Call us on 353 (0)1 804 7153