Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2018
    Mike Henderson

    Wonderful Jordan

    This trip is a wonderful way of seeing most of the important sites in Jordan with a bit of cycling thrown in! Please note it’s not really a cycling holiday as there are quite a few bus transfers, one of which was over 6 hours.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many-floating in the Dead Sea, seeing the Treasury in Petra, snorkelling in the Red Sea, riding a camel in Wadi Rum. Every day had a highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have been on many Exodus trips and all the local group leaders have been excellent but Eddie in Jordan was outstanding! His organisation was faultless and he spent a lot of time informing us about Jordanian history and culture. It was also a pleasure to meet his wife at our farewell dinner. FIras ,who was our cycling leader, was also outstanding . He was very safety conscious, honest about the route ahead and very encouraging to the less able cyclists. We also had a Tourist Policeman with us all week and whenever we were cycling we had a police escort!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just bear in mind that cycling is not a major part of the trip but , if you want to see the best of Jordan, then this is the trip for you. A reasonable degree of fitness is needed for the cycling as there a few challenging hills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip exceeded my expectations and I’m now an expert on Jordanian culture!!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Evans

    Amazing adventure

    This was a busy , varied and hugely enjoyable trip . Eddie and the team looked after us brilliantly and gave us access to amazing places

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting Mefle the last remaining inhabitant of Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eddie was very knowledgeable and great fun too
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Julie Evans

    Fab trip

    Great trip with informative guide and some wonderful places visited. Special memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Petra Treasury for the first time. Floating in the Dead Sea Walking on Mount Nebo

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Very passionate about sharing his love of Jordan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a mix of clothing layers.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Steve and sue Jones

    Petra, Jerash, Dead Sea, Red Sea, wadi rum camp.

    Fantastic week with 16 others in a group where we all got on really well. Petra Jerash and wadi rum were outstanding and due mainly to our guide zehar. We had an onboard policeman with us at all times and when cycling, police escorts which helped to ensure our safety. At no point did we feel unsafe however. We felt priveledged to see Petra, float on the Dead Sea, swim in the Red Sea and sleep under the stars in the desert.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    2 days exploring Petra and a night in wadi rum. We cannot separate the 2 into a single moment. Floating in the Dead Sea and swimming in the Red Sea. Sleeping in the Red desert. !!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He quite simply, made the trip due to his knowledge of the locations, his historical knowhow and enthusiasm in providing it, to engage our interest. He is a real asset to exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t be put off by concerns about Jordan as we felt safe under the guidance of our leader and the onboard tourist policeman. Weather can be a problem as there were unusual rain falls while we were there but that is not usual. Hotels were a little less quality than we expected (having experienced 4 or 5 star hotels when we did Vietnam trip with Exodus) but comfortable. But that is a personal opinion and others were happy enough. Overall, don’t be put off. This is a special trip due to the locations visited and cycling is a great way to combine them with adventure and hiking around Petra.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it as Nike might say. You will not be disappointed.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Jean Neary

    An enjoyable adventure

    I really enjoyed this trip. It packed a lot into the 7 day period (ex travelling days). Petra was everything I had expected it to be. The cycling days were relatively short but being a novice to cycling holidays and being June and hot, they were sufficient. I thought the cycling guide and support team were excellent with great equipment, support and encouragement.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking Petra.... it was everything I expected and more. We walked from our hotel to the monastery and the viewing point behind it. It's a long walk but definitely worth it. I think the monastery was my favourite as the treasury building can be very busy with people, camels, donkeys and someone trying to sell you something or other !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was Sami. His mum was ill and I'm sure he was distracted by this. He didn't engage with us and I felt we were working to his time schedule. His food choices were expensive relative to the A la carte options in the same restaurants. There were some minor clashes with the group too. Overall he was satisfactory as we completed our trip successfully.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I found it very hot in June ... so bring an umbrella, it creates great shade when you are walking a site like Petra. Cycling sleeves are great for protection from the sun when cycling. Jordan is expensive - it's European prices .... so be prepared to pay 7-8€ for a beer. Our bank cards didn't work in all cash machines, so pre order currency at home before you arrive.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Nigel Goddard

    Petra & Wadi Rum by Bike

    A well organised trip with lots of activities packed in. Inside a week our guide ensured we experienced/saw all the highlights of Jordan. However the organisation was such that I never felt rushed or under pressure. The cycling was very easy. We were transported to the nicest areas to cycle, avoiding the big hills and busy roads. The bikes were brand new and mine was perfectly adjusted. The cycle team were very friendly and competent mechanics. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I'd say this trip is great for leisure cyclists. Anyone looking for a tough physical challenge would not find this tough enough. The accommodation was great. Clean hotels all en suite. Good food. All in all a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tough to pick one out. Walking down a Roman High street, floating in the Dead Sea, snorkelling in the Red Sea, the religious sites, Petra, staying in the desert, camel rides, they are all great!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Had everything sorted. Great attention to detail to ensure that all our needs and wishes were met. Put in a great deal of effort to arrange the activites for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I didn't need my bicycle repair kit at all as, had my bike broken, the team have everything sorted. The bikes were flat bar Trek bikes, tyres must have been about 35mm wide, brand new. I've got lots of bikes of my own and I am glad I didn't take one as the ones provided were perfectly adequate to the job in hand. Same for pedals/saddle. Ensure you take a decent sun hat, sun screen and good shoes. To get the most from the Petra days there is lots of walking and you will spend a long time outside with the sun bouncing off the rocks! There was a lot of food and snacks! I found there to be absolutely no need for energy gels etc during the cycling.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes. Do it!
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Peter Wallis

    Fellow travellers make all the difference

    First time, out of 6 Exodus trips, I was on my own but once again the like minded group were great. We had great fun while taking in the history and scenery that Jordan has to offer. The guide "Sammy" was exceptional in his knowledge of Jordan which made the history more engaging when sighting. Hotels used had good rooms with comfortable beds, however, breakfast was very limited in selection in most of them. Food in general was not brilliant, with rice, chicken and goat as staple diet. Snacks during cycling brilliant. Bikes were very good and you always had the support vehicle if problems. Overall, you need to see Jordan by any means.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Jerash was stunning. Dead Sea was great fun. Petra. The scenery. Cycling down hills through small villages. Can't pick one moment

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sammy was so knowageable about history of Jordan and passionate to inform others. Organisational skills very good. choise of restaurants ok. Very able to control difficult situation. Like a stick of rock he is Jordan through and through.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Itinerary stated boat trip in the Red Sea with snorkelling. In fact Exodus cancelled these trips 2 years ago. Very disappointed with administration not updating trip notes.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Denise Morgan

    Coach trip with a bit of biking bolted on??

    Have done quite a few trips with Exodus before and all have been generally well organised. I felt this trip was really organised as a coach trip with a bit of cycling bolted on and its a shame the trip leader didn't double up as the cycle leader. I was hoping for a fair bit of cycling on this trip but found myself being led to local mosques (it was in the itinerary therefore we must do it, come rain or sunshine) for a "tour" which I was't really interested in. The quality of the bikes used weren't fit for purpose (Exodus, you need to get new bikes for his trip!!), and they were certainly not the front suspension bikes advertised in the trip notes. In fact, given the amount of steep downhill riding, it would be very helpful to have bikes with functioning brakes (my rear brakes could be fully engaged and I'd still be able to push my bike forward!), or even better, with disc brakes. It would also be useful to have bikes that would change gear under pressure (i.e. when cycling uphill). I understand that bikes on these types of trips are heavily used, but that doesn't mean they should be badly looked after. Finally, on the subject of bikes, the bike mechanics on this trip were also pretty awful - I had a bike that would not change gears on the uphill (see point above) and when I asked the mechanics to look at this, their answer seemed to be to spin the peddles, change the gears and tell me there was nothing wrong (or worse still, that I didn't know how to ride a bike). Most of the cycling was pretty great, its a shame there wasn't more of it. The only gripe I had about this was that the coach would literally trail behind the last rider by only 2 - 3 meters and if you are the last rider, that is not a pleasant experience!!! The trip leader was fairly knowledgeable, though very repetitive, and a little confusing with his plans at times. I also wish trip leaders on these types of trips would actually recommend nice places to eat, rather than to suggest always eating in hotels - I had high hopes for the food in Jordan but unfortunately I only had one memorable meal. That brings me onto lunches and snacks.... We were asked to cough up 45 JD at the beginning of the trip for lunches and tips for the hotels - this was significantly more than the trip notes suggested (20 - 25 JD) - this covered us for snacks (biscuits and dates and 5 lunches (mainly pre-bought sandwiches). When asked if it was necessary to provide money for snacks (I had brought a lot of my own), I was told it was mandatory, not optional as the trip notes stated. Quality of the hotels was generally fine. Wadi Rum is an "experience" if you've never done that type of thing before. If you have camped out in the desert before, then its just another forced night out in a random campsite. In Morocco last year I did a night out in the desert in a similar camp - the folks running the camp then at least tried to entertain us with local music, but there was no such thing in Wadi Rum - the trip leader and staff disappeared straight after dinner. Finally, the transport used was kinda dirty, and I mean chewing gum stuck on the back of seats dirty - the coaches could certainly do with a bit of a clean.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day of cycling across the desert - the scenery is amazing, though there are a few steep hills which are quite hard work when your gears don't work!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable but a bit too repetitive and talked way too much. I've also never felt so controlled by the trip leader on a trip before.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are wanting a cycling experience, there are better trips out there. If you're interested in culture and are happy to have a trip leader talk to you for ages at a time, with a bit of leisurely cycling thrown in, this trip might be for you.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Denise for her feedback, although we are very sorry to hear that she was disappointed in the quality of equipment provided for the trip and other aspects of the itinerary. We have contacted Denise on an individual basis, but would like to confirm that a new bike fleet has been purchased and these will be used for Exodus trips from March 2018.

    We have also reviewed the set-up of snacks and lunches to ensure that this is communicated clearly to clients in an appropriate way.

    There is normally a performance of Rababa and dancing at the Wadi Rum camp and we have discussed this with the Bedouin Camp owners to reiterate what our clients and Exodus expect as part of this experience.

    Monica Princic – Product Manager for Jordan

  • Reviewed December 2017
    Traveller -

    Trip of a lifetime!

    What a way to see a stunning country! Cycling in the heat of the desert, walking through the Siq towards the Treasury at Petra, sleeping under the stars in Wadi Rum. I'd always wanted to go to Petra, so in trying to build a holiday around some time in Petra, it made perfect sense to pick up a bike and see the country rather than sitting in a stuffy coach.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Treasury emerge at the end of the Siq. Something I've wanted to see since childhood. Stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Isa was so passionate about Jordan, keen to answer all our questions and tell as many stories as he could. His tour around Petra was particularly memorable. The bike team were also fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect any down time - it's a jam packed trip!
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Darko Kapor

    In a word - excellent!

    Great value for money. The trip was superbly organised by local guides, in the case of my group led by Zuhair, ably supported by Abeed's bike team. The visits to towns were not too long, and there was plenty to visit and see outside of the major centres. The full commentary by Zuhair - including an exhaustive geopolitical and historical narrative on the last few centuries of regions - was a bonus, as was the 2-hour camel ride near Wadi Rum and a swim in Dead Sea (both included in the price). I would certainly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra Dead sea Camel ride

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zuhair was excellent
Call us on 353 (0)1 804 7153