Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Susan Johnson

    Good Tour-Poor Customer Service Exodus and Accomodation Problems

    Organised a private tour group for our family of 6 (grown up children) to get dates needed and as told we were too big a group to join a regular group. Cannot fault the activity side of the holiday and Slovenia is beautiful. Offered alternative accommodation at higher price as usual accommodation full. Stated my number one requirement was 2 twin rooms and a double. Was told would get this or 3 twin but arrived to find given 3 doubles and told guesthouse full but could swap to one twin the next night. Restaurant staff while lovely advised after the first night they were not familiar with vegetarianism. Had couple of other issues. Exodus unprofessional, gentleman dealing on my return left unexpectedly and I had to chase response. Exodus agreed to refund extra I had paid over standard advertised package price and felt this was reasonable. However I feel I got a worse deal (usual accommodation has good reviews) than if I had been booked on the standard package, and if I had booked this through travel agents could have had it discounted by 5%. Recommend an activity holiday in Slovenia but would use another operator another time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We all had a different favourite activity. Lovely minibus driver from airport transfer who gave us a running commentary of the area and took us en route to a cafe in the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a mix of guides for the different activities. Mainly students studying at Ljubana University. All very helpful. Zip lining takes place at an organised centre and they were super friendly and helpful here.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Got given wet boots so don't need to take your own. Most activities are a short drive away with zip lining a bit further. Ask to sit up front if don't travel well. I'm prone to travel sickness and was fine. Para gliding is not guaranteed. The weather wasn't right while we were there and apparently not the week before either. Try and plan/book your optional activities at least the day before to endure guides/equipment is available.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Stunning scenery, lovely people. A mix of activity and chill time

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Susan for her feedback. Whilst we are pleased that she enjoyed the activities and the great destination, we are very sorry that she was disappointed with aspects of the accommodation. Our Slovenia Mixed Activity tour is very popular and we do not encourage large groups on standard departures. Unfortunately the alternate hotel for her private group was more expensive during this busy period; Exodus did address the discrepancy relating to the twin rooms by refunding the difference in price. Other private groups that have stayed at this hotel have found it to be a suitable alternative, but we are nonetheless sorry if Susan would have preferred to stay in the standard group hotel.

    Sharmil Goswami– Tailormade Manager

  • Fantastic fun in absolutely stunning surroundings

    This was my first Exodus trip, and my first time travelling alone. I booked onto the trip because of the wide variety of activities included and didn't even pause to think about the surroundings. Slovenia is simply stunning and Soca valley was breathtaking - many of our activities took place in the azure blue Soca river whilst looking at lush mountains and countryside. Just lovely. The activities were all good fun, though coming in July meant that it was incredibly hot (upto 37 degrees though the river was a refreshing 12 degrees) - July was also arguably not the best time of year for white water sports - the rapids were not so rapid; however, we were able to paraglide which had not been possible earlier in the year. The guides suggested May was when the water was fastest. We were kept pretty busy but there were several gaps in the itinerary which we filled up with bike rides, hikes or extra water activities - and paragliding. Activities were good value for money and our guide was helpful in helping us add to our itinerary - but if you want full days, you'll need some additional budget. I filled every moment and added in an extra canyoning trip, paragliding, climbing and hired an eBike (we took a trip up the mountain and also out to Tomlin Gorge - an eBike is a great option if you want to enjoy the scenery without melting or if you're a less keen bike rider than others) - I spent about €300 on top of the original trip price. The only drawback to the trip is that the hotel is a little way out of town - town has little eateries, bars and you can access the river to chill out - it's a half hour walk or a five minute bike ride. If I were to re-do the trip, I'd hire a bike for the whole week; several of us kept hold of them for several days once we'd got them. The hotel are happy to keep them in a garage so they are safe etc. The hotel also deserves a shoutout - no pool and not the most atmospheric place, but good, clean, comfortable accommodation and an incredibly kind and helpful hotelier. He was more than happy to cater to a range of dietary requirements and gave us better advice on bike trips and what to do than any of the guides. I'd recommend it - a beautiful country, a wide range of really fun activities and super friendly people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Paragliding above the Soca valley and just taking in the amazingly beautiful country I'd been blessed with visiting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tilen was great fun and was keen to ensure we all had a good time. He worked hard to enable us all to do everything we wanted to do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Budget for doing additional activities - the advanced canyoning was incredibly fun and paragaliding was stunning. You can pay for most of your extra activities in card or cash in town at the end of the week. Some activities require cash - I had to pay cash for paragliding and climbing. Consider hiring a bike for the whole week Cycle out to Tolmin gorge - 15km and then take an hour or so to walk around, it's stunning. The trip up the mountain is beautiful - the village at the top is beautiful thought the waterfalls are a bit disappointing in summer - but the 5km up is worth it for the 5km down (and more so if you do it on an eBike like I did - absolutely brilliant and can be hired at no extra cost if they have one spare and you ask nicely) I wish I had brought neopropene shoes with me - we spent a lot of time hanging about in or near the river I also wish I'd had a GoPro or similar - a lovely part of the trip was there was no attempt to sell you photos/ videos of your experiences, but it did mean if you didn't make your own, you didn't have a record The hotel will make you a good packed lunch for €7 if you ask ahead - there is also a supermarket nearby if you want to make your own If you like your own space, the single room supplement is worth paying for - but if you are anxious about travelling alone then not paying the supplement gives you a built in buddy you can arrive at meals etc with...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus trip - many of the people on the trip had been before and I can see why people would come back... I'll be looking to book my next trip as soon as finances allow!
  • Reviewed July 2018

    Good Trip

    This trip was very good, when you are doing the activities it's great fun and a beautiful country for being outdoors. The group was excellent (they always seem to be, don't know why I worry before going) as was the group leader and also the hotel staff and owner. The reason I've scored it 4 out of 5, was I'm really activity and once you have done your morning activity the rest of the afternoon is free. There is little in the surrounding area to do and I found myself going for walks and mainly getting lost. Would have just like a bit more action.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best part of the trip was doing the paragliding, it was an extra 130 euros but worth every penny. If you haven't done it before I would recommend doing it. The views are amazing when you are above 1000 meters and if you get a decent pilot, he will do a crazy spin near the end and you get to feel some G - Force.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader isn't with you all the time and the company Exodus use is called Positive Sports. However having said that 'Tallon' our lead was very good, you could tell he's spent all his life of the water, and when doing those activities felt very safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take extra money to do additional activities (especially the paragliding) and either books to read or some walking boots. There is one whole day which is free, before going look online to see if there is anything to do near by else it could be a long day (the hotel closes on that day).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great holiday, really glad I went and would recommend it as Exodus are excellent
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Christina Brown

    Adrenaline filled week of fun!

    Me (22) and my brother (20) have recently returned from this trip and despite our bodies being ready for a rest we definitely did not want to leave this beautiful country. We hadn't considered Slovenia as a holiday destination but when we came across this trip it sounded perfect for us and it definitely went beyond all our expectations! Slovenia is such a beautiful country, from the minute we stepped of the plane we couldn't stop admiring the views of the beautiful houses, mountains and turquoise rivers that surrounded us everywhere we went and every activity we done. Our leader Tilen was so welcoming and organised so the trip was hassle free which was good for us as we don't have much experience travelling abroad. Tilen and all the other leaders on the trips were very friendly, supportive and fun so all the activities ran smoothly and were incredibly fun - even if some are quite tiring. I was pretty useless at kayaking at first but the leaders were very patient and within an hour I was paddling in a straight line and keeping up with the group, even though I did capsize but that was all part of the fun! The activities on this holiday are awesome and even though our group was mixed ages and abilities we all partook and enjoyed every activity. I didn't think I would manage the mountain biking but the route was manageable and even though it was hard work at times I still enjoyed it and was happy that I managed to do every activity offered. Canyoning and paragliding were mine and my brothers favourite activities and my brother even braved the advanced canyoning and despite wobbly legs at the top of some jumps managed to do them all and had the best time whilst doing it! The group we were with were all great fun and made the trip such a laugh, especially in the evenings after our long tiring days everyone kept spirits high. The hotel is great also: lovely variety of food; comfortable, clean rooms; and very friendly staff who speak good English. Overall, this holiday was definitely 10/10 and we both had the most amazing time and would recommend it to anyone looking for a holiday with adventurous activities included.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When doing all the activities on the Soca river and taking in the amazing views all around us, while trying to stay afloat on our raft, kayak and tubes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tilen was super helpful, fun and organised which made the trip run very smoothly. He also kept spirits high when people started to tire and had great knowledge of the area - especially where to find the best places to eat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most places whilst out there do not take card so we found that we had to withdraw more cash than expected. However this was not a big issue as there is a cash machine in the town which is about a 20 minute walk away. Take a couple of swimming costumes and towels if they fit in your case as you will be on the water quite a lot and sometimes our towel wasn't dry by the next day. Also I over packed outfits as most of the week you will be in wet-suits and wet shoes (which are all provided) but it was nice to have a change of clothes for the evening meals.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Celia Akers

    Slovenia mixed activity (over 16)

    This holiday was everything I hoped for and more. I've been back a week and am still smiling! The Kobarid area of Slovenia is stunningly beautiful with towering , rugged mountains and clear turquoise water in the Soca river that's clean enough to drink which is handy while you're rafting or canoeing. The guides were all great : accomodating of different people's needs and wants, informative, fun , safety conscious and supportive without being pushy or competitive. Tilen especially deserves a huge THANK YOU for working so hard all week and calling at the hotel every evening to plan the following day , and still having a sense of humour even when he looked exhausted. I loved the white water rafting and white water kayaking and could have done more. It was plenty exciting enough for me although other people who had done white water rafting before thought it was a bit tame. The first zip wire was terrifying (at 1,300 metres altitude) but all the others were fantastic and I just enjoyed the view at high speed. I chickened out of the canyoning and was chief photographer while my teenage daughter did it with the rest of the group and her verdict was it was AMAZING. The mountain biking was more challenging than we could manage (but then we do live in Cambridge where the only "hill" is the railway bridge) but we did our own thing on tarmac roads and really enjoyed it. All the equipment seemed to be really good quality. The weather changed towards the end of the week so we wern't able to go paragliding unfortunately but instead a minibus was organised to Tolmin Gorge for a lovely walk in more spectacular scenery. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and the staff bent over backwards to keep us all happy. It really seemed to matter that we had a good time. I was anxious about how my daughter's vegan and wheat free diet would be catered for but I needn't have worried.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The kayaking which was almost a full day's activity, unlike the others which were a half day each. The introductory bit on the lake, the peace of floating down the turquoise river looking up at the mountains, feeling like a tiny part of humanity in the awe inspiring landscape, and the exhilaration of following the guide down the white water without capsizing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tilen could not have been better. All the guides were great but I think we had the best! He was genuinely concerned that we all had a good time, accomodating, funny, was very safety conscious, discreetly helped the less fit of us without it becoming an issue, and gave equal attention and concern to us oldies even though there was a posse of attractive young women competing for his attention! Considering he's only 22 he has a lot of maturity and is an all round good guy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Allow at leasr an extra 150 Euros for additional activities in the afternoons or for hiring bikes so you can get further afield. They're not compulsory but most people did extra activities as there's not much else to do unless you like walking. It's worth visiting the "museum" in the village about 2 minutes walk from the hotel. It's actually a barn stuffed full of memorabilia from mainly World War l but also WWll collected by a villager. We turned up on the doorstep and were shown around by his grandson who helped to pick the things up from the mountains as a child. The Kobarid history walk was really interesting too and included a waterfall, ancient settlement and WWl Italian trenches. The Slovenians tend to underestimate the amount of time it takes to walk places! Maybe they're all super fit or don't stop to look at things, but if you're told a walk will take an hour, allow two! The woods are so peaceful if you need to recharge your batteries after all the adrenalin. Didn't see any brown bears unfortunately, but my daughter had very close contact with two deer. Take earplugs as the church bell rings (a lot) at 6.15am. Even with earplugs it woke me up every morning except the last two when I'd got used to it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We flew out 3 days early at no extra cost and stayed in the capital Ljubljana first. It's well worth seeing and is small enough to walk everywhere. The castle is really interesting and gives a great view of the city, and make sure you explore the old town and hang around by the river.
  • Reviewed September 2015

    sLOVEnia

    Slovenia: Simply stunning scenery - lush green mountains surrounding the crystal clear waters of the Soca river. Positive Sport, Kobarid: a range of adventurous activities led/organised by expert, friendly guides. Hotel Jazbec, Idrsko: Comfortable, clean hotel rooms, delicious fresh food and friendly staff. Overall: An amazing holiday!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    From start to finish this holiday was more than I could have hoped for. I wasn't expecting the sheer beauty of Slovenia and so being on an outdoor activity holiday in such a stunning location was unforgettable. Every single activity that was organised by Positive Sport was led by confident guides who had safety as their priority, but who also ensured that our group had fun. My favourite activity was white-water rafting because it had everything: excitement on the rapids; jumping from rocks into rapids; as well as calm moments taking in the views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tilen was an excellent group leader who worked extremely hard throughout the week. With a friendly manner, good knowledge of the local area and great organisational skills, he was able to make sure that everyone got the most out of their holiday free-time. All the other Positive Sport guides were great at encouraging us, keeping us safe and having fun at the same time! A great company for Exodus to be linked with!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want a relaxing afternoon activity, go tubing down the river!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I feel lucky to have gone on this trip with a great group of people - I will definitely be doing more trips through Exodus I am also looking forward to exploring more of sLOVEnia!
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Katie Shilton

    AVQ Slovenia Mixed Activity 11 July

    This is a great activity holiday with a wide range of activities. The activities are suitable for people without any previous experience of them, although perhaps for those who are experienced in rafting and kayaking the rapids may not be big enough, I went in July and the water level was quite low in places. The hotel is really nice, the staff are super friendly and the food was good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I found the beautiful scenery inspirational, and would definitely recommend the optional paragliding which was worth the money as we were in the air for quite a while over a stunning landscape. I also really enjoyed the canyoning which I was pretty nervous about beforehand but it was great fun and always felt safe. Using the rocks as waterslides was amazing! Also, I was fortunate to have a wonderful group, we were all very supportive of each other and had a really good laugh.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Blaz (sorry, I don't think that is spelt correctly) was great. He was really helpful in making sure people got to do any additional activities that they wanted and was generally a really friendly nice guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a woman, I personally I found a tankini with shorts useful rather than a bikini as you are in and out of wetsuits quite a bit and for the canyoning you walk uphill for about 20minutes just in your swimwear. Also, take a torch for if you want to walk back from Kobarid to the hotel after dark.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Brilliant holiday which I wish I could do all over again!
  • Reviewed September 2014
    James Guilliatt

    White water - not extreme, but good fun

    Good introduction to kayaking, canyoning and white water, however more experienced water sports enthusiasts may find it is not challenging enough. Plenty of other activities to do whilst there too such as MTB (Mountain Biking), Paragliding, Museums, Escape indoor logic Maze, hill walking, Zorbing, horse riding, the list goes on. Accommodation was very clean, well catered and spacious, local area has great restaurants and supermarkets.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Renting mountain bikes and rode to what felt like the top of the world at a place called TOLMINSKE RAVNE. Google image it, its beautiful! Hard ride up though, so make sure your fit! Had a meal with the guides at a local camp site restaurant , I had a steak the size of a rugby ball and it was cooked perfectly! Great alpine atmosphere and chance to know the guides better.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great laugh and very knowledgeable of the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beer is cheaper in Kobarid (the town) than the hotel but the hotel house wine was 1EUR a glass at the time we travelled. Don't forget mosquito spray, not horrendous amounts of insects but enough for a few bites. Bring extra cash for alternative or extra activities if you like to cram a lot in to your holiday. Local camp site does amazing pancakes and steak meals, ask your guides - do not miss this restaurant.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want more challenging, adrenaline rush trips then ask the guides who will try and cater for your needs. The locals are super friendly!
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA WHITEWATER

    Jolly good fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is a really fun trip, getting wet and thrown about on the rapids. Getting into a wetsuit every day was not so fun but I think I found a few new muscles! Ziplining is a must, such an adrenaline rush and what a view! The mountain vistas from everywhere along the river were beautiful and tranquil, and the weather in August was superb (over 30 almost hit 40 at one point). Also the hotel we stayed at was wonderful, we had a 3 course meal every evening, very accomodating to vegetarians and surprise birthday celebrations :)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All our instructors were fabulous (and quite good looking I must say!) Always relaxed and joking, we always felt safe and well looked after. Blaz (tour leader) visited us every evening at dinner to discuss what to do the next day. There was always a good selection although some things are dependent on the weather e.g. paragliding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you get motion sickness bring some tablets, the 2 hour coach trip to Kobarid turned my stomach (and I don't normally suffer from it.) Ladies I recommend take a swimsuit or two rather than a bikini, you will be changing into a wetsuit out in the open every day! Also be aware that even though a lot of activities are included there is also a lot of free time. Budget an additional 150-200 Euros for extra activities to fill it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    While this was a fab trip and I'd go again, there were only 3 weeks out of the year that this trip was running. The only solo trip was in August (when all the other reviews said the water level was really low) and we had the same problem trying to scooch our kayaks over rocks in sections with less than 6ins of water. Not sure if more dates will be available in the future or who's decision that is, but I'd welcome an opportunity to try rafting in higher water :)
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA WHITEWATER

    Well organised, lots of fun and a great group of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots of moments I will always remember, kayaking down the rapids and at the calmer moments managing to look around at a stunning view.  The guides were always very relaxed and you always felt in safe hand.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great group leader always did his best to work round the additional activities that anyone in the group wanted to doo. Relaxed friendly chatting and had lot of good suggestions about what to do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were told a lot that it was unusual weather but when we were there it was in the high 38c (I was there mid August) I would recommend that you take shorts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend lot of fun and great company. The room sharing was easy too as they pare you with same sex person of closest age. More fun to share as doing did solo traveller.
Call us on 353 (0)1 804 7153