Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Karen Evans

    The Amazing Amalfi Coast

    This was my first Exodus holiday /adventure and it certainly will not be my last. It has been such a great introduction to Italy and the treasures that it has. The views were unforgettable, the people kind and welcoming, the wine and food delectable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sensational views that were the reward for climbing or descending a few stairs ( don't mind my irony there!). I seemed to develop a hidden.passion for photography as there was so many memories that I wanted to capture ...be it the views or the wildflowers or the amazing Olive, Fig, lemon groves or beautifully tended fruit and vegetable plots that are everywhere.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were self guided but the guide leaders were accessible if we had needed anything

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Plan your trips well around the bus and ferry timetables otherwise you spend a lot of time waiting for an already long bus journey. I wouldn't advise hiring a car as the roads are "interesting"
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Dawn Penman

    Amalfi self guided walking holidat

    The hotel and food were excellent. The walk instructions were clear and easy to follow. I would not describe the walks as “leisurely “, they were more challenging. One of the Exodos guides for the group walks, Susie, was very helpful. The other guide, Paul, wasn’t. The worst thing about the holiday was having to use local buses, especially the ones from Amalfi, which were infrequent and very overcrowded. For that reason I would not recommend your self guided walk to others. The area is beautiful and the scenery stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to Versuvius.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above. We did not have a group leader. The hotel staff were also helpful, particularly the head waiter.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Avoid the buses!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only that the Exodos staff were also helpful and efficient.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jane Midgley

    Just Wonderful!

    We had the most wonderful holiday, and The Hotel Due Torri was instrumental in that. The walks and scenery were stunning, and we survived the steps, with greatly improved toning of the knees!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wild flowers were a total joy. Pompeii and Herculaneum have been on a wish list since I was a child

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were self guided, but our daughter joined a group for the walk of the gods, and he was excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Advice from Exodus seemed to cover everything. And what we didn’t know or understand the hotel staff helped us with, they were brilliant

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you Hotel Due Torri.....we want to come back!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Vicki Nunn

    Steps, steps, steps, people, people and more people!

    If you don't like hoards of people or walking down flights and flights of stone steps don't go on this trip! Thought by October it might be a little quieter but no!! There are more beautiful places to walk with a greater variety of walks with far fewer people. One fellow traveller commented that you get basically 2 views just at different heights (one down to Amalfi and one down coast towards Positano and Capri). We couldn't face the hoards in either Capri or Pompeii after spending days on crowded buses (the worst day we spent 4 1/2 hours either waiting for, or sitting on, a crowded bus!) or in crowded Amalfi, Positani or Ravello! By the end of day 2 we could barely walk as our calves were in agony (a problem shared by many in the hotel). The walks are not aerobically demanding - it was actually a relief to go up (most walks are down!) and change the muscle usage and get the heart beating!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Catching the bus from Naples (after much stress and research) and saving ourselves 143 euros!! The garden at Villa Cimbrone in Ravello was lovely (but not worth that 4 1/2 hours waiting for or on the bus) The ferry from Positano to Amalfi was rather nice

    What did you think of your group leader?

    You're self guided so not really applicable but Eduardo was around if you need him

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can join the group transfer from the airport apparently (we didn't know this!). We stayed an extra night in Naples (Hotel Ideal - £37/night and near where the airport bus drops) so we could see Naples and take the bus to Bomerano next day which goes from around the corner from the Ideal hotel (in front of the Ramada hotel) at 10.30 and 2.30 on the Saturday. The bus costs 3.6 euros each where a taxi costs 150 euros so even with the night in a hotel it was still so much cheaper! If you want to train for this holiday go to the nearest multi-storey building, take the elevator to the top and walk down the stairs for a couple of hours every day for a week!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The website makes this sound a lovely romantic trip but we found it quite stressful, hard on the legs (but not in an energetic way!) and not the most satisfying walking holiday! On a plus point, the weather was great, the hotel good, the food tasty/varied and the pre-dinner cocktails delicious. Bomerano itself is a nice quiet village for a coffee or ice-cream on the square. Our fellow self-guided travellers were good company. If you go on the group holiday you will avoid the buses but not the crowds!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Irvin Dickinson

    Self Guided Amalfi Coast Walk

    As a self guider you can experience the real Amalfi coast and what it has to offer. The grading for this walk is pretty accurate, although the number of steps you negotiate can truly test even the hardened hiker. The highlights for me was the 'Path of the Gods' finishing in crowded Positano and the walk down to Priano on the final day with an exquisite sea food repast in a fantastic restaurant overlooking the small bay. Being self guided you are reliant on public transport which is an experience in itself. Crowded buses, windy, narrow switchback coastal roads, Italian drivers and the Exilhirating drops to the sea.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 'Path of the Gods' a truly remarkable walk with outstanding views of the Sorrento pennsular along the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As we were 'Self Guided' we really didn't have a group leader. However, Eduardo, on his weeks holiday offered his help throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even if you are a fit regular walker, be prepared to be tested by the number of steps you encounter on the various walks. AND check to see if the bus timetable you are given is the correct one. When we were there the timetable changed from a Summer to Autumn timetable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be flexible, we changed our itinerary to suit the weather.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Mark Lewis

    Stepping out to Amalfi

    We had a very enjoyable holiday in Amalfi. We went on the self guided trip and the instructions were excellent. The arrangements were made to make the visit hassle free and worked very well. The hotel was excellent, especially the welcoming and friendly staff and when we had a query the Exodus guides were there to help. Altogether a very enjoyable experience, but you need to be fit as the number of steps make some of the walks quite hard work. The views were worth the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As I am in my 70s the achievement of climbing Monte Tre Calli on day 3 was inspirational and the walk to Ravello on day 7 was another which was worth the climb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A. We were self guided but the advice offered when asked for was good and we always felt we could ask for assistance at any time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walk up and down steps in training for this trip!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first trip with Exodus, but hopefully will not be our last.
  • Reviewed May 2016
    Marion Sharpe

    Great views, good walking, friendly hotel

    We were self-guiding using notes supplied. The walks were varied but all offered great views and gave the opportunity to visit local towns. Very friendly hotel staff.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views from Path of the Gods

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were self-guided but there were two groups doing walks in same week. Both leaders were friendly and approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you arrive early to take public buses back to hotel- they can be very crowded.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    May is a great time of year to go- lots of wild flowers and temperature good for walking
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Neil Stewart

    The Amalfi Coast - Self Guided

    All in all, a splendid walking holiday with great routes, allowing one to enjoy all aspects of the beautiful and dramatic coastline, plus hill walking in the interior. The two groups - guided and self guided melded remarkably well to the benefit of both. Hotel Due Torre was an ideal base, providing excellent Italian cuisine with the added bonus of cookery lessons thrown in, not to mention very friendly owners and staff.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably two: a) Sentiero degli Dei (Path of the Gods) and b) The Gardens of Villa Cimbrone. The Path of the Gods, winds its way along the cliff tops, providing stunning views of the coast line and finally of the colourful town of Positano. This walk is highly recommended and should not be missed. Villa Cimbrone is well worth a visit for the magnificent panoramic views from the beautifully laid out gardens. While in the region, a visit to Pompeii and Herculaneum should also be considered.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not really applicable to the self guided walkers. Having said that, Paul was approachable at all times and offered quite a few suggestions with regard to what to look out for en route and also items that were not covered in the notes. In addition, the self guided participants had the benefit of advice from Mr. Eduardo Palermo, the local guide, who also acted as our chauffeur when we visited Pompeii and Herculaneum.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are not a regular walker, build up to the longer walks, as the ascents and descents can be quite tiring. The route notes could do with up-dating and inevitably you may have to make short detours due to road works or other maintenance work.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel has a limited number of walking poles available. As stated in my opening sentence - a splendid walking holiday.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    David Bickley

    Amalfi Coast Self-Guided Walking

    This holiday worked very well for us. I now have to walk rather slowly up hill, so I'd be afraid of holding up a walking group. Going self-guided gets around that problem. All the arrangements went well: we got lost only once (and were able to back-track easily, so no real problem). Hotel very helpful when we were stranded in Amalfi because the buses weren't running. Leaders of other Exodus groups based in the same hotel made useful suggestions. Hotel staff also very helpful with suggestions about the walks - and also for rescuing us from Amalfi when the buses didn't run.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    (1) Walk of the Gods (2) Valle del Mulini up to the Ferriere - this wasn't one of the walks in the book, but we did it instead of the high-level Valle del Ferriere walk because the weather was bad. (3) wandering throuh tunnels and passages in Amalfi on the walk to Ravello (4) Paper museum in Amalfi (5) Cooking demostrations in the hotel - totally unexpected and great fun!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn't have one! The book of instructions for the walks worked well, with very few ambiguities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    (1) Be prepared for lots of steps: e.g. 1200 steps down to Positano at the end of the Walk of the Gods. The trip notes told us to expect this, but the reality was a bit daunting until we got used to them. (2) Getting the bus back from Amalfi to the hotel at Bomerano can be very hit-and-miss. There is no indication at the bus station which buses are going where: you have to wait until the driver gets in and puts up the sign, and then you have to fight your way on - the word "queue" has no equivalent in Italian! Particularly bad in Ravello, for the bus back down to Amalfi. A shame, because it meant we didn't get as much time in Ravello as we would have liked
  • Reviewed June 2015
    Andrea Millward

    The Amalfi Coast: Self-guided

    The hotel where we were based was excellent. The hotel owner (manager) and all of his staff could not do enough to make our stay more pleasant. We were advised that one of the days during out stay was a bank holiday and it was recommended that we undertook a different walk than scheduled avoiding public transport which was more limited on this day. Without this advice we would have been waiting longer for public transport back to the hotel.The hotel staff spoke to us every day to provide advice and help. The food was very varied and prepared and cooked to a good standard and gave us a "taste of Italy" throughout the week. Also we were invited on two occasions into the kitchen to watch and take part in making pizza and tiramisu; which was great fun. All the staff were very friendly, polite and courteous from the hotel manager, cook, waiting staff and staff attending the pool area and bar which made our stay special. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walking was varied and scenic. We particularly enjoyed the "Walk of the Gods"; so much that on the free day we did it in reverse.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not applicable - self led

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks involved lots of steps so a decent standard of fitness is required. The transport links (public buses and boats) to the start of walks was good although you need to make sure you are early as they tend to go early when they are full.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only slight negative was that the self-led walks booklet could have been more accurate as at certain times it was a little confusing. The addition of more detailed maps would have helped with the situation.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30