Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Keiko Tanioka-Man

    Memorable trip

    Cathedrals, Temples, Churches, Monasteries, ruins scatter over beautiful ‘picturesque’ landscape of rolling green hills and mountain top, and a view of Mount Ararat or Mount Kazbek, ahhh… Well organized itinerary. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip with a company of like minded, well traveled and mature people from various countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Karahunj (Zorats Karer) - the Armenian Stonehenge (Yey)!!! and walk up to Gergeti Trinity Church in Georgia, definitely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well organized and knowledgeable in many respects. They love their respective countries and enthusiastic to introduce us their land with pride. They both looked after us so professionally, even though they both very young. Armenian guide (Rafik) is a young man of intelligence and made us smile with witty sense of humor. Thanks for taking us to Karahunj (was in my bucket list last few decades, accomplished!), afternoon tea at Molokan Village, Lavash bread making demo. Georgian guide (Nino) is always cordial with beautiful smile. Thanks for ‘Daily Reminder’ each night so that we can prepare for what to expect the following day. You somehow managed not to lose any of us during the walk to/from Gergeti Trinity Church!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring your own scarf for ladies and long pants for gents esp. in Georgia. If you forget, you may be able to borrow at the entrance of churches free of charge. Bring comfortable walking shoes. Always ask if you can take photo before you enter the religious monuments. If you like history and cultural experience, briefly research where you are going to visit beforehand so that you can enjoy and appreciate it more. Both countries were cross-road of many different cultures, religions and empires along the silk roads over the centuries, made them uniquely distinct place with beautiful scenery.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    During the border crossing (from Armenia to Georgia), the coach bus carried our luggage up to the border of Georgia so that we did not have to drag our luggage and walk. The Armenian Guide accompanied us up to the entrance of Georgia to make sure we all crossed boarder safely, which was indeed very nice. Thanks to our drivers, Artak in Armenia and Nika in Georgia for driving safely to take us to our destinations each day; especially through narrow and sometimes winding road very skillfully. People make country and leave lasting impression, after all. My gratitude also goes to local tour companies – Sabera Tours in Armenia and Caucasus Travel in Georgia for sound operation of tours. Hope Karahunj (Armenian Stone Henge) makes it into itinerary – this place is too precious to skip. I already miss Lavash with cheese and herbs, ‘Churchkhela’(Dried Candy) and ‘khachapuri’(Cheese Pie)!!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Gillian Forbes

    Religious and religious historical highlights of Georgia and Armenia

    This trip is only really suitable for devout Christians or religious and historical architecture scholars, there is so much emphasis on ancient churches, monasteries, cathedrals etc. and the details of their contents. There are many long drives, and very little free time to enjoy the beautiful scenery and/or wildlife. Tbilisi is wonderful and certainly worth the journey

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tbilisi

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leader in Armenia was very organised, spoke impeccable English, seemed genuinely caring for the group Leader in Georgia was enthusiastic, clearly loved Georgia but was not quite so good at keeping to the time or keeping a check on all the group Both leaders tended to lecture for too long on the religious/ history/ architecture of every building we entered

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect too much apart from religious buildings and long journeys to access them

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Both countries offer good value for money, food, wine and beer all inexpensive

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Gillian for her feedback, although we regret that she did not enjoy her time in Georgia and Armenia. We appreciate that there are many religious buildings to see whilst travelling these countries, this is due to their cultural heritage and these are all detailed in the trip notes. We find most clients enjoy the balance between historical and current-day cultural experiences; however we are genuinely sorry that Gillian’s experience was not so positive. We will discuss with the local manager if we can include any further local, interactive activities.

    Marta Marinelli – Product Manager for Georgia & Armenia

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Alicia Bjerkseth

    Surprisingly Disappointed

    Armenia & Georgia were countries #36 & #37 for me...I have never been so disappointed and discouraged by group travel, thus I am re-thinking all future travels as independent or highly-active tours only. While both countries are absolutely beautiful in their own ways, and working hard to recover from Soviet times, a better experience interacting in these countries, other than just sight-seeing, would have been a welcome opportunity. The majority of each day was spent in the bus traveling long distances between locations, with little time offered at the actual site being visited, compounded by the tour leaders using the majority of that time to give historical explanations. I was truly disappointed to finally reach some of the sites I had read about, and having little time to explore, for example...a very rushed hour at the Armenian Genocide Museum, and ten minutes in almost-darkness at Noratus cemetery...two places I really was looking forward to exploring fully. The days in Georgia were equally long in the bus....arriving after dark to mountain villages that were likely beautiful places to explore, but really only being there to sleep in a chalet and leaving the next morning. While I'm sure this provides income to the locals, the visit to Gergeti Church with jeeps destroying the mountain-side terrain and the monks feeling worried about the large number of tourists visiting their site does not feel like responsible tourism to me. I honestly think a better itinerary with more meaningful experiences could be developed for these two countries....with exceptional time in great locations....quality versus quantity. Maybe seeing the whole of the country is not what matters. There is little interaction with the people who actually live in these countries....one of my favourite and really brief moments were those where locals showed us how they made breads in both countries and the lunch visit to the Molokans. I grew bored with the numbers of daily church and monastery stops...some of them really were not fascinating or unique and could easily be left off the itinerary....unless seeing 3-4 churches every day is your thing. I originally purchased this trip through Imaginative Traveler, and did not realize until the first day of the tour that it was being operated by Exodus....the travel group was a completely older demographic than I am accustomed to traveling with and activity was a slow pace. The tour leader for Armenia was exceptional with his historical knowledge and concise explanations that made sense, while the tour leader Nik for Georgia had a very confusing tangential way of giving information, so I never really knew what he was talking about. I would have appreciated meeting instructions in Armenia at the hotel for the morning of the tour, but none were left for guests who had arrived earlier on day one....I made several trips back to the hotel to continue checking in, and only found out we were meeting at 9am the next morning when my roommate barged in at 2am from her flight....unacceptable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I arrived to Yerevan a few days early and did my own visit to Karahunj...the Stonehenge of Armenia...this place should be included in the trip....and the bus goes right past it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Daniel, the tour leader for Armenia was exceptional with his historical knowledge and concise explanations that made sense, while the tour leader Nik for Georgia had a very confusing tangential way of giving information, so I never really knew what he was talking about.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    malcolm thomson

    highlights of armenia and georgia

    Out of a group of 16 , my wife and I had a good time but could of been better if not for the " Worst Guide of the Year " award , GUYANE ! Exodus subcontract her from a local company but she was terrible. First morning we drove off in the bus and she left 2 people behind !! Then things went downhill from there. No personality, didn't smile, no welcome meeting, didn't say driver's name, we were late getting into 2 hotels ( 9.30 pm ) , cable car wasn't booked in time , looked bored, tired and didn't care less about her clients. We got Sophia ( Georgian guide ) at the border, She was brilliant and lovely !! Armenia is a lovely country trying to get back on it's feet after Soviet Rule. We liked it better than Georgia. Beware of the wines there, we had a few dodgey stomachs in the morning. But, it's great to see , you'll be bored with looking at churches after this trip. Hotels OK except in Yerevan which was great ! Transport good. Don't do this trip if you're a veggie !! Meat heaven ! Enjoy !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Leaving the Armenia guide at the border and collecting our new one , Sophia !!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Armenian Guide - Guyane ? was a complete mess. Did someone tell this woman , you look good, you present well and speak english well , why don't you be a tour guide !! Wrong !! You need to have a personality, look after everyone , not us 2 people who befriended you and used you as their personal tour guide, smile, count all people before you drive off ( she left 2 people behind after day 1 ) !!, know what you're talking about instead of reading it off your IPhone ( google ) etc etc !! Georgian guide - Sophia - what a turnaround !! She was a brilliant guide. Someone should video her and show it to Guyane , this is how you look after people !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring something for your stomach, the wines are a bit dodgey on the stomach. They are made a different way to normal. Love churches and read up on the history first.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hope you DON'T encounter GUYANE !!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Becky Fawcett

    Two very beautiful countries

    A wonderful and very interesting trip to see two very beautiful countries. Both Georgia and Armenia have long fascinating histories and have built their monasteries and churches in spectacular locations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up to the Trinity Church, only 2 members of the group did it but it was well worth the effort. Spectacular scenery and even in the heat the walk wasn't too strenuous, if you can and enjoy walking give it a try.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sofia in Georgia was brilliant, speaks excellent English and is incredibly knowledgeable of her country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When looking at trips I read a review from someone else warning younger travellers to think twice about this trip as on theirs the average age was quite high. I'm 33 and although I was the youngest member of my particular group I still had a fantastic time with great people, please don't let that other review put you off booking!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Nikolay Suzdalcev

    Exciting trip to Georgia and Armenia

    It was a very good trip and liked it a lot. Georgia was very special experience for me and Armenia was good as well but both in their own way. In Georgia you feel yourself in Europe Armenia is still like soviet union but still very beautiful. People in both countries are amazing, very friendly and their hospitality will leave you speechless.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think it was hospitality of local people. Even when we were stuck somewhere in the mountains somebody always offered us place to stay. Even Tbilisi and Yerevan is very friendly. At naniko (car renal company www.naniko.ge) they helped us plan everything. At Tbilisi Apartments (www.tbilisi.apartments) they help with tickets and suggested where to go. I mean people there are the best thing to see. Not many places left like this.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Kevin MacFly

    I love Armenia

    I arrived to Airport with my family, the rental agent of this company https://travelcar.am/rent-a-car-in-yerevan met us and guided to the car, so we started the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tatev Monastery. Breathtaking view.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing guy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Visit Tatev, it's AMAZING.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Estefante Fernandes

    Tour of Armenia and Georgia

    A great trip for everyone--good scenery and the locals were very helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip to Khor Virap area, south of Yerevan and monastery with a clear view of Mt Ararat. Gergeti,has good scenery and the Holy Trinity Church, at the top was superb.There is also a ski resort,Gudauri, looked good--may come to ski here in the future.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Daniel,our leader,was most knowledgeable of his country,Armenia and answered most of my questions well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip and you will not regret doing it( I went in September and the weather was just fine,Summer will be very warm.)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Met some new people in the group and we got along well.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Richard Cohen

    Highlights of Armenia and Georgia

    An excellent 2 week trip taking in two very different countries both of which have a long history and are extremely proud of their magnificent cultural heritage. Both Armenia and Georgia also boast wonderful scenery and it is very interesting to witness how they have developed in the post Communist era.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was the moment when we heard a choir singing the most transcendent Armenian sacred music in a chapel carved out of rock at the Geghard Monastery. That was my moment for Armenia. In Georgia the moment would have to be the walk up from Stepantsminda to Holy Trinity church and the view over the High Caucasus mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Armenia: Rafik Santrosyan - a brilliant young man who really enriched our experience throughout the trip. He gave us fascinating and often hilarious insights into all aspects of Armenian history, politics, language and culture and kept us all entertained and fully briefed and informed all the time we were with him. Georgia: Anna Koriphadze - a very different personality but wonderfully thorough, conscientious and reliable. She was highly organised and took great pains to help us with all kinds of things throughout the time we were with her in Georgia. She kept us very well informed throughout the trip and was excellent in ensuring that we were safe at all times. I would very highly commend both these guides.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some good walking shoes or trainers. Do spend as much time as possible on your free evenings exploring Yerevan and Tbilisi by foot. There is a huge amount to see in both cities.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Georgia and Armenia are at the meeting point of so many cultural influences - from Russia, from Iran, from Greece, from Turkey. They have a long and glorious Christian tradition as well. Truly fascinating and different from anywhere else I have ever visited.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Francesco Cesare

    Amazing trip!

    We managed to see the most important attractions of Georgia and Armenia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finding some historical monuments which passed through milleniums

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very Broadminded and communicative person.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    After we stayed 3 days more, rented a vehicle from Naniko rent a car http://naniko.am/ and visited to Nagorno Karabakh. Which We will recommend. Armenia and Georgia is a perfect combination.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30