Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Steve Underwood

    Amalfi Highlights

    A well-planned and comprehensive exploration of the beautiful Amalfi coast, with many diverse experiences packed into a full-on week. A mix of bustling coastal towns with wonderful sea views, Capri, the city of Naples, walking the Vesuvius crater rim, hiking the spectacular Path of the Gods, the ancient ruins of Herculaneum and (as an option on our 'free day') Pompei. The boat rides gave a alternative perspective of the coastal scenery. The Hotel Due Torri was a wonderful, family-run hotel with fantastic dinners, set in a good location away from the coastal crowds. Its elevation also avoided some of the coastal heat. Did I mention the dinners ? The Path of the Gods was an enjoyable walk taken at a leisurely pace. The spectacular route followed hills and cliffs, and provided beautiful views from high above the coastal towns and bays filled with expensive boats. There are a few steep, but short, ups and downs on rocky terrain. We walked slowly, and I did not find it particularly difficult or strenuous, although anyone with dodgy knees or legs should be careful on some short parts. I did use a walking pole - highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Path of the Gods. The walk offered beautiful high viewpoints from above the blue sea and coastal towns. I did not find the Path particularly difficult at our slow pace. However, with hindsight I would have avoided the 1500 steps down to Positano which come after the Path, and instead taken the local bus that avoids the steps and which was available as an option on our trip. After the spectacular high views from the Path, the downhill steps were a slog that took a toll on my calves ! Other highlights included the Herculaneum ruins that offered a fascinating history lesson (the town was destroyed by the Vesuvius eruption that also took out Pompei). The local guide here was excellent. Herculaneum is smaller but less-visited than Pompei. Also, the many beautiful, coastal viewpoints, for example from Villa Cimbrone in Ravello, and the top of the chair-lift on Capri. And another mention for the dinners at the Hotel Due Torri !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo, who was born in the area, was a knowledgeable, friendly and helpful guide for whom nothing was too much trouble. Plenty of inside knowledge of places to visit, and eat lunch. He even arranged local transport and an itinerary for our Capri visit, which was listed as self-guided in the trip notes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The coastal towns and Capri can get hot and crowded in summer. Pompei (an option for the 'free-day') can be crowded with cruise ship tourists. The Herculaneum ruins are quieter. Use walking poles on the Path of the Gods. Expect to eat too much. Try the local wines and beers. It is a busy trip, but that is a good thing !
  • Reviewed June 2018
    mick fincham

    Up and down

    A full week of trips and endlessly up and down the narrow switchback roads down to the coast. Herculaneum was a highlight as was the back streets of Naples in the pouring rain! Much too hot for the ascent of Pompeii. The Path of the Gods was awe inspiring though not the easy walk it was described as ...…...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views were spectacular !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo is very knowledgeable and is passionate about his country. The group was a little too big for him especially on the Path of the gods.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Look out for the price of pizzas in Naples! The price on the menu is not what the cost will be...…….

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think the Path of the Gods walk was a bit too hard for a trip rated as leisurely.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Paula Guyver

    Wonderful archaeological sites

    Herculaneum and Pompeii were outstandingly good, seeing the artefacts in the Museum at Naples helped put the earlier visits into context. Walking to the top of Vesuvius was fantastic and seeing Capri was wonderful. Amalfi and Ravello were also very enjoyable and deserved four stars. I felt the Path of the Gods walk had no place on this trip (perhaps only as an option for those who wanted to do it?). I did not the think the strenuous nature of the walk was adequately explained and an overall rating of 'leisurely' for this holiday certainly does not apply to the Path of the Gods. Several of our group would not have done the walk if they had known what it would entail. Positano was lost on me because by the time I had completed the walk I was hot, tired and dusty and not in the mood for sightseeing or shopping. I felt the rest of our day in Naples could have been better spent elsewhere.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Herculaneum and Pompeii - they were the reasons I booked the trip and they more than exceeded my expectations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo's passion and love for his country is obvious and his energy and enthusiasm were impressive. We were a difficult group for him - a large group with two fallers on the Path of the Gods both of whom needed medical attention and stitches. I think he struggled to look after us all on that day - possibly the group was just too large for one person to manage? Although I think he did his best in difficult circumstances.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The pace of this holiday is marked as 'Leisurely'. The Path of the Gods is not leisurely and after our trip, that happened to coincide with the visit of two of the directors of Exodus, they will hopefully consider reassessing and reclassifying the description of the day spent on the Path of the Gods. There is a lot of walking on this trip and very little down time.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Paula for her feedback. We are, however, sorry to learn of her concerns about the activity level of this tour. We have been running this itinerary for over 5 years with the same programme, which includes the Walk of the Gods as well as a short walk up to Mt Vesuvius, and the feedback we receive is normally very good. Following Paula’s group’s experience, however, we have updated the way our trip notes describe the overall trip difficulty, the terrain and the level of fitness required, to make sure our clients are prepared and aware of what to expect; and leaders will keep groups together during the most difficult section of the paths.  Marta Marinelli – Product Manager for Italy

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Jim Clarke

    Amalfi Experience

    A super trip to experience many different features of the Amalfi coast ranging from its mountain villages and history down to its fashionable resorts - a real contrast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 'Walk of the Gods' gave a real taste of rural life in remote communities coupled with absolutely stunning views of the coast from on high making the clash with the hustle and tourist Mecca of Positano all the greater. The scheduled visit to Herculaneum and Vesuvius made the trip to Pompeii on the free day all the more relevant and well worth doing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was charm itself, helpful and concerned for all, he took real care of the group and was an excellent guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that in August whilst Italy can be very hot, with sensible precautions it is perfectly manageable. The village of Bomerano has basic shopping facilities along with some nice restaurants and cafes in the square but allow for the fact that the afternoon siesta is rigorously adhered to as far as the shops are concerned. On the day of departure you will not leave until 4.00pm so plan to do something with the time available; a leisurely coffee/lunch is well and good but allow time to walk up to the forest viewing platform overlooking the coast, it is signposted from the main car park in the village and involves a 1 km walk but absolutely worth it and a circular walk on minor roads will bring you back into the village by the hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Katie Shilton

    Amazing Amalfi Coast

    An absolutely delightful trip with lots of stunning scenery, great days out, wonderful company and lovely food. The Amalfi Coast is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been - and I have been to a lot of them. There are no long drives on this trip at all which is great but even when you are on the bus the views are so spectacular the journey just flies by. The Hotel Due Torri is a lovely family run hotel with fabulous meals. I particularly enjoyed the optional evening in which we did a bbq as the seafood was divine. They also have a great cocktail menu which most of us took advantage of.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the Path of the Gods walk as it is just stunning and wasn't as hard as I expected. I enjoyed it so much I would be tempted to go back and do the walking tour as it is a very nice area for walking. On the free day we did walk down to Priaino and Marina Dei Praia which was great as well. Capri is just stunning and I would also recommend going to Villa Cimbrone in Ravello as many of us felt this was a definite highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was a good tour leader. He was a really nice guy and everything ran really smoothly. The only thing I would say is that I would have liked a little more information on some of the places we visited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go!
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Frances Mee

    Highlights of the Amalfi Coast

    This was an excellent trip in a very beautiful part of Italy. We visited many fascinating places and stayed in a lovely hotel with friendly staff and great food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the Walk of the Gods which was challenging but worth it for the amazing views, the wonderful lunch half-way through and the sense of satisfaction at having made it to the end. Herculaneum was also fascinating to visit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was a wonderful guide. Nothing was ever too much trouble for him and he made sure that everyone was happy and all their needs met. He had a great knowledge of the local area and imparted it with humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Eating out is quite expensive in Italy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our return flight was cancelled by British Airways due to an IT crash. We feared we would be left stranded at Naples Airport but our guide arranged for us to return to Bomerano and ensured that the entire group had food and accommodation for as long as necessary. Exodus was wonderful in finding us all alternative flights home. The support we received from Eduardo, Valentina, the hotel staff and Exodus head office was exemplary and helped us cope with a very stressful situation.
  • Reviewed April 2017

    Amalfi

    A good trip all round.The welcome at the Naples air port was just wonderful, it set the right atmosphere for the whole holiday,very important.The week was well managed, and exceeded my expectations through out.Hotel Due Torri,in Bomerano,was excellent, Albert Callewaert superb, what more can i say. Well done,will most certainly use Exodus again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking Around Vesuvius.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class man,Albert was the best.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Avoid BA.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Keep it coming,loved the holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Katrina Edmunds

    Highlights of the Amalfi Coast

    I had always wanted to visit the Amalfi Coast and wasn't disappointed. The weather was sunny and warm all week, despite it being late October. The hotel staff were fab, the food plentiful and of a really high quality - and they catered brilliantly for my gluten/dairy free dietary requirements.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We visited all of the main sights and had knowledgeable but fun guides at both Pompeii and Vesuvius. Herculaneum was another highlight, as was the the Walk of the Gods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was great - really knowledgeable about the area with excellent English. He also rearranged the itinerary to ensure we got to Capri as the ferries were stopping running that week. He also arranged for us to join the hiking group staying at the same hotel to save us money on a trip to Pompeii.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear hiking boots on the Walk of the Gods, not just waking shoes.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Laxapathi De Mel

    Amazing Amalfi, Lovely Limoncello

    This was a well organized trip with varied activities each day - a good mix of walking,culture and cuisine. It was an excellent introduction to this beautiful area, which made us want to return. Every member of our happy group helped to make it a memorable tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Walk of the Gods, Herculaneum and Pompeii. Our group meals with wine and limoncello! The cooking demonstrations at the hotel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo shared his unique knowledge of the area in which he lives and seemed to know everyone. Not only did he skilfully steer us through the week's itinerary but also made himself available to help us make use of our 'free time'. A great combination of professionalism and fun. Without Eduardo we would not have discovered some of the local places of interest.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The least leisurely day was the one when we did the Walk of the Gods. It is not strenuous most of the way but you need to be able to manage a few areas of rocky terrain / boulders and take your time. Stopping to admire the views is a good idea anyway. Once you finish it, you feel a sense of achievement. Walking poles help but don't rely on the ones at the hotel. These are abandoned by previous walkers and not all in good enough condition.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We are glad we made this trip and if you are thinking of a visit to the Amalfi coast, we doubt whether you can do better than booking this one!
  • Reviewed September 2016

    Great Location, group, food, hotel and an amazing experience

    A memorable holiday for all the right reasons. The group was a wide age range, who all got on and supported each other. A pleasure to share a holiday with such lovely people, not forgetting Eduardo our lovely guide. The itinerary was good but quite full on, would not describe it as a leisurely holiday. Free day spent in Boneramo was a welcome relaxing break. Hotel provided great food, good service and staff where efficient. Visited many beautiful places and always made welcome. Would definitely recommend this holiday and Exodus Holidays.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the Walk of the Gods regardless of initial apprehension. Felt a great sense of achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was a wealth of local knowledge, supportive and has good sense of humour !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For Walk of the Gods wear boots and take walking poles, water and a hat if sunny.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Lived up to expectations !
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30