Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2018
    Elizabeth Guard

    Unforgettable week

    A truly memorable week packed with up-close animal encounters in their wild and free environment. Really helped us understand animal behaviours and the urgent need to preserve their precious habitats.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing 7 male cheetahs together in a group- even our guides were amazed!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders very friendly, knowledgable and respectful of rules of the reserves.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take large SD cards! It’s a full-on week, game drive from the day you arrive . Some in our group went to Nairobi 2 days early to rest and acclimatise to the heat .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Small size group (ours was 11) is perfect
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Paul Downie

    Blissful escapism

    Beautiful walking in the Sierra de Aitina. This is really a hidden gem of an area. It is incredibly scenic area and the walking is interesting and varied and the length of the walks are about right I’d say. The accommodation is in the most truly stunning setting. To have exclusivity of such a place was a real treat. We were looked after incredibly well. The service and value for money for this trip is excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Aitina Natural guesthouse and it’s owner Natxo, one of the nicest people I have ever met whilst travelling. Exodus are lucky to have him! The accommodation is in such a beautiful setting. It really is true escapism. We were looked after so well. Nothing was too much trouble. We were served a three course meal every evening and the food was amazing including the packed lunches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided so not really applicable, but the owner of the guesthouse managed everything we needed perfectly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We felt this trip gave us fantastic walking in a beautiful place and the accommodation and food was superb. This is an unknown area so there aren’t lots of people but it is truly a scenic area. The almond blossom was spectacular and we were lucky to be there when it was in full bloom. Just very simply a W onderful holiday. Can’t commend this holiday enough. Go!!!!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Rob Niblett

    Sierra de Aitana Trek

    A great walking holiday which matched the moderate/challenging grade exactly. The walks were well paced with a good mix of ascents and ridge walks offering excellent views. As the week progressed we were able to see where we had been and where we were going. Jose was an excellent leader and his local knowledge was obvious and he was keen to share it. He led the walks professionally and knew the routes and all the options inside out. He is a passionate advocate for the region. The walks were carefully planned and organised with care attention to detail. His packed lunches were tasty using local produce and eagerly anticipated. Jose integrated well with the group and had a very dry sense of humour. The evening meals were very tasty and plentiful using local produce. The hearty local fare was perfect after a days walking. You certainly won't go hungry or lose weight. The Pension was ideally located with great views to the coast and allowed some of the walks to start and finish from it. Overall a really enjoyable trip which I couldn't fault.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ascent of Sierra of Aitana although all the walks were very rewarding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. See above.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Steve Slight

    Sudan explorer

    An excellent trip for those who love camping and deserts. With the added astounding sights of Pharaonic temples and buildings and the wonderful sight of the Meroitic pyramids. All to be seen without crowds of tourists. Lovely friendly and welcoming people and a sense of complete safety. Some long often very bumpy off-road driving, exciting at times and a bit tedious in places. Landscapes ranging from rocky outcrops to endless flat terrain of sand or rock. Camp food was very good considering the conditions. Our cook produced some amazing meals from a gas ring and charcoal fire.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the almost pristine paintings in tombs, looking fresh and colourful depicting gods and people from thousands of years ago.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Abdel was so knowledgeable about everything, the history and stories behind what we saw. He was attentive and patient, never failing to do his best to answer every question put to him. He looked after our welfare and gave advice where needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do pack very carefully and keep the weight to a minimum. My bag was 12kgs and contained everything I needed. And I did use everything in it. You do not need to take your own water bottle. 600ml water bottles were available at all times (if a little warm sometimes). A small tin bowl (like a dog's food bowl) was provided for basic washing in the desert camps. With a little care it was possible to have a strip wash. Hand gel and wet wipes were essential items. I also took a camping trowel for digging toilet holes. A torch and tent light were essential as well.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Desert wild camping has to be one of the most wonderful experiences. At night it was warm (12c) and the sky, mesmerising with horizon to horizon stars (including meteorites being clearly seen). And the silence.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Katie Shilton

    Fabulous South Africa

    This is an absolutely brilliant trip that I would definitely recommend. The only downside of it was not being able to do it all over again! The itinerary for the trip is exceptionally well planned and balanced. It is classed as leisurely and can easily be just that. However, there are plenty of opportunities for the more active and adventurous as well. I did game viewing, walks, kayaking/lilo, zip wiring, shark diving, got an ostrich 'masssage', visited caves, went around a township, visited Robben Island and went up Table Mountain, saw lots of cute penguins, plus lots of other things - what an amazing way to spend 12 days. There are not many long drives on this trip but even the drives you have feel part of the holiday as the scenery is just exceptional and there are lots of interesting stops en-route. The accommodation throughout is of an excellent standard. In particular I think we all loved The House Martin Guest Lodge in De Rust. The food throughout was also brilliant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were wonderful moments every day. I was delighted to see so many animals on the game viewing day at the start of the trip and Table Mountain was stunning. I really enjoyed walking along the cliff path in Hermanus to Grotto Beach and back which I did on my own on the free day. I also loved the walk in Tsitsikamma along the boardwalk which is a fairly easy walk unless you have any mobility issues or are exceptionally unfit so most people should be able to do it without a problem. I also went up to the look out point which is on uneven ground and uphill so you need to a reasonable level of fitness to do that as well but is worth the effort. The scenery throughout the trip was really varied but always stunning and was a definite highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin is an exceptional tour leader. I have done many trips with Exodus and other similar companies and he is probably the best tour leader I have ever had. He is very friendly but also very professional and organised. His love for his country is infectious but he is honest about the problems and challenges the country still faces. I came away from this trip feeling I understood more about South Africa than I ever have about any country I have previously travelled to and that was thanks to Justin. He strikes the perfect balance of giving you a lot of information without ever making you feel overloaded with it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unless your have done a lot of safari's before and are a bit bored of animals I would definitely recommend doing the optional Tooth and Claw Safari at Schotia which was excellent as there is a very high probability of seeing lions, hippos and giraffes which you are less likely to see at Addo in the morning, although Addo itself is also excellent. I would also recommend staying a few extra days in Cape Town at the end. I didn't and really regretted it as there is so much to do.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You hear scare stories about South Africa which I think are nonsense. I am sure things happen like they do everywhere but I went off on my own a couple of times and never felt anything other than completely safe, certainly safer than I do back in the UK at times. I found the majority of the people really friendly and welcoming as well. After about the first 2 days I developed a rule of always taking Justin's advice on food as he really does know what he is talking about. I am not much of a meat eater normally but did become a bit of a carnivore on this trip as the South Africans do love their meat and with good reason. In particular I would recommend trying warthog ribs in Cape Town as they were delicious.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Donna Sanders

    Nile Cruise

    I do not have a very long 'bucket list', in fact Egypt is the only destination on it and this holiday did not disappoint. From the flight to Cairo to the flight home everything went without a hitch. The hotels and Nile Cruiser were very good and Sayed our Tour Leader was excellent. Thank you Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Nile Cruise was so relaxing. Being able to take time to look at the scenery and enjoy the life on the river banks as we gently moved up the Nile was magical. Abu Simbel cannot be described in words as there are none that will do it justice, truly awe inspiring. The Valley of The Kings was a surprise as it was much more compact than I had thought it would be and therefore much more impressive as there were so many tombs so close together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed Mansour our group leader was excellent. He calmly and quietly organised the week so that we had no worries and were able to concentrate on the trips. His knowledge, stamina, humour and versatility were outstanding. He was friendly but not overly so and always made sure that individual needs were catered for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Our trip was in the Egyptian winter and we did need a warm jacket and waterproof - yes it did rain in Aswan. You do not need a great deal of sending money as buying things is very reasonable. Once outside Cairo finding an ATM became a bit more difficult, mainly because of the itinerary. Change some of your money at the airport. Getting the visa at the airport was trouble free but there were queues. Lots of bottled water is provided by Exodus.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our group was not very happy with the captive crocodiles in the Nubian Village. We could have missed out visiting the house where they were kept for tourists and spent more time in the village itself.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Rosemary Cripps

    Ethiopia in Depth

    Overall it was an excellent trip for those who enjoy exploring history, current culture, scenery and wild life and who are happy to spend at times many hours riding in mini buses sometimes over dirt roads. Welcome from local people was genuine, some begging, some bartering but never felt under pressure to buy or give money. Mountain scenery was amazing, historic churches and pre christian sites were fabulous and with relative few visitors competing for space, views and photos. Local food was interesting and European particularly Italian options were available for those less adventurous. Tour description of climbs to some of the Rock churches and mountain walks under-estimated the toughness but were worth the challenge for those who were fit enough. Hotels generally pretty good except in Harar and there were more cash machines available than tour description suggested. We saw no sign of political unrest although aware of difficulties due to government cutting off wi-fi as several points in the holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one highlight. Walking in the Simien mountains, seeing the monasteries at Lake Tana, seeing the Stellae at Axum, seeing the castles at Gondar. Attending the camel market on route to Lalibela. Seeing the Lalibela rock churches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders were good, in particular the overall leader who was very experienced and supported the group throughout the trip. Young leader in Harar was patient and new local area intimately. Given more opportunities he could eventually become an overall tour leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are happy to take each day at a time you will have a wonderful trip. Debatable if best to travel between Axum and Lalibela by flight or by 12 hour mini bus ride?

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    18 in the group was really too large just in terms of the logistics but the group were all committed to punctuality and mixing so it was manageable. Ideally groups could be reduced to a max of 14 even if this meant increasing cost of the holiday.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Martin Kingdom

    A Memorable Holiday

    A great holiday, and I was lucky to be part of a very friendly group - a big positive on any holiday. Our guide Justin made the real difference though, with his careful planning of all our activities. Our programme was very wide ranging, with options to be more or less active, suiting all of the group. Justin was helpful and courteous at all times, extremely knowledgeable and had thought of pretty much everything. For me, the really special days were the game drive (we saw everything except for leopards), and the cable car up to Table Mountain (we were fortunate to have perfect weather). Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A lot to choose from, but Table Mountain akes some beating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was simply excellent. The trip was very well planned and organised, and I gained an insight into the real South Africa from the knowledge and experience that he was happy to share. Outstanding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be comfortable to go on this trip. The only problem I has was the mosquitoes in Cape Town, with whom I was far too popular. Some of the group were completely immune!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Wayne Maxwell

    Wayne Maxwell

    We had a great trip and would recommend it highly. Our guide Roberto and his team looked after us all extremely well and nothing was too much trouble. Roberto was very organised and efficient and planned our trip with meticulous care. He sorted out any unforeseen problems very quickly to enable the trip to run smoothly and enjoyably. He was intuitive at predicting our needs in advance. We enjoyed the small friendly hotels we stayed in, mostly run and owed by locals. We enjoyed the excursions to small family run concerns such as Frog Heaven.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved cycling along the Pacific Beach, our morning in Manuel Antonio National Park, swimming in the Pacific on an isolated beach at Puerto Jimenez followed by lunch at a Plantation type restaurant. Waking up to Scarlet Macaws kissing on a branch outside our bedroom window on the second morning. Cycling the beautiful Orosi Valley. Frog Heaven and taking the most amazing picture of a red eyed tree frog. Eco-Termales Hot Springs was a fabulous end to a long day in the saddle. Exciting boat trip in Tortuguero spotting all kinds of wildlife. The light / sunshine, beautiful plants, colours, wildlife, tropical scenery. The friendly helpful people we met along the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Could not have been better. Superb. We would highly recommend him and his team. We would like to do another trip with him if possible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of fly spray, watch out for lizards landing in your Gin and Tonic. Always check the glass before you drink. Check clothing before getting dressed - I was bitten on my bottom by a harmless scorpion. Factor 50 sun cream and re apply frequenly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Sheila Dawson

    Wild SriLanka

    A great wildlife trip in a lovely country. Pleasant, friendly, knowledgeable group leader and very knowledgable and enthusiastic naturalist accompanied us. We saw loads of wildlife in 3 different areas. Some early starts, but well worth it. Learned a lot. Group gelled together quickly and were easy to travel with. Hotels good - particularly liked the ecolodge in Sinharja. Would definitely recommend the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Blue whale - magical! Elephants- awesome!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good,

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some early starts.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30