Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA WHITEWATER

    I travelled with my 17 year old son, so both our thoughts are reflected here. If you're looking for a truly active holiday then this is for you. We found that we had chance to try so many things that we hadn't before. Whilst the activities are pitched at beginners, everything is really well organised, everyone is well supported by both leaders and the group and there is enough free time to slot in something more advanced or personally challenging. The location itself is fantastic with stunning scenery too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was the fact that I found that I could do things that I would never have attempted without the support of the group eg with a fear of heights I tried paragliding and canyoning and thoroughly enjoyed both. I got such a buzz when I'd achieved something new! I loved the kayaking and will definitely be continuing with that at home. The trip taught me that you're never too old for new challenges. Life begins at 50! For my son, well he has no fear of anything, so he just enjoyed being able to jump off the highest rock possible (advanced canyoning), try Eskimo rolls and hydro speed through white water, whilst I knew he was in the safe hands of the very experienced guides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Blaz was fantastic, he was always around, came to see us in the evenings and ferried us around to do extra activities too - he even dropped us off and picked us up after a meal out. All of the guides who worked alongside him were brilliant too, knowledgeable, reassuring and fun. They encouraged us to persevere, without forcing anyone and laid on more challenging activities for those needing even more adrenalin. We were the most active group he had had, he said, but everything still ran like clockwork.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't think too much about any of the activities - you are in safe hands - just enjoy them! Dress casual and take trainers for both wet and dry activities. Try the zip wires at Bovec, they were one of the best things I did, with incredible views. If you have the energy, make the most of the advanced activities, the prices are reasonable so take the opportunity to so something new whilst you are there.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first experience of Exodus and in fact of any adventure holiday experience and we absolutely loved it. There was a mixture of solo travellers and couples/friends in the group but everyone stuck together and encouraged each other. I will definitely be doing something like this again and would throughout recommend it. And a final word from my son......woooooo hoooo, when can we go again!
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    BULGARIAN NATIONAL PARKS

    Well organised with professional and friendly staff, all in all a great trip with amazing scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the sumit of Mt Vihren.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very professional, helpful, friendly - all round he was excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Depending on the room you get at the hotel in Bansko you might need ear plugs. Most people didn't seem to have this but we were at the back of the hotel and there were dogs barking pretty much all night. Thank goodness I packed mine so it wasn't a problem. One or two of the walks are either long or quite hard so make sure you are fit enough to enjoy them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a really good trip, the walking was excellent with some challenging bits but that made it all the more satisfiying to do. I would definetly recommend this trip. The scenery was wonderful and the guide very knowledgeable. The Bulgarians were very friendly especially at the hotel in the Rila area. This was the best hotel with some really good traditional home cooking. The hosts there were really friendly and there is a pool, so you might want to take your costume. Also after the longest walk the driver of the bus arrived to pick us up with cold beers! I have never enjoyed a beer so much. I would also like to add that both the guide and the driver were great - very friendly and helpful.  All in all a great trip - do it!
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    We spent a fantastic week in beautiful Kas. The walks were a nice way to spend the mornings to earn the afternoons on the beach. The holiday was made extra special by Hati, our amazing guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day we spent kayaking was beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hati was FANTASTIC!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get the boat back from the beach on the first day! Definitely try cheese rolls

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Lutfen to Hati for teaching us some Turkish!
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    great holiday, great leader, great place
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    GORILLAS & MASAI MARA

    Africa at it's best!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every moment of this trip was amazing, I can’t recommend it enough.  I chose this trip because I wanted to see the Masai Mara and the gorillas and they didn’t disappoint.  Seeing the big five in their own environment was very special and the balloon ride, floating silently over the beautiful landscape, is something I will never forget.Seeing the Susa group of gorillas on the mountain side in Rwanda really exceeded all expectations.  A group of 35 stunning creatures, including 3 silver backs, at close quarters.  They walked around us as they ate and rolled through the vegetation.Although I went for the wildlife, it is the local people that I will remember more than anything else.  From our faultless team of Julius, Boniface, Ken and Joseph, who worked so hard to make sure our adventure was as enjoyable as possible.  To the children we passed on the way, waving at us we drove by, always with the biggest smiles. For me the most inspirational moment of the trip was visiting the Soft Power Education NGO in Jinja, Uganda.  We painted a classroom in a school and meet some of the local children.  If you get the chance to do this, grasp the opportunity, you won’t regret it!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julius was the best trip leader I’ve had on the three Exodus trips I’ve been on.  It’s not that the others were poor in anyway, just that Julius, and the whole team for that matter, always went that extra mile to make sure that we were always happy and getting the most from our adventure.Julius was a great guide, with a wealth of knowledge of the areas we travelled through.  He never failed to answer any questions I had. Ken served the most amazing meals.  Been a fussy eater, the food was something I had worried about, but Ken never left me hungry.  His fish dish was the best I’ve ever tasted.Boniface drove us safely across the three amazing countries even when the local roads were far from smooth and level.Joseph helped the team and put our tents up.You don’t have to help the team, but if you do help and chat to them, it will only add to the enjoyment of your trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t hesitate about booking this trip!!  I hope you get the team we went with, you couldn’t wish for a better group of people to look after you on your travels.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to the great team, I’ll never forget them or this amazing adventure!
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - LEMOSHO ROUTE

    A very demanding but extremely rewarding trip. The organisation was perfect and the guides were 2nd to none.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day brought it's own challenges with the anticipation of summit day firmly fixed in everyone's mind. The actual summit day was possibly the hardest challenge I have ever had but the feeling of achievement was overwhelming, I see it in my mind every day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader and his 3 assistants were unbelievable. Their organisation was like a military operation and their skills in recognising potential sickness, weaknesses etc was incredible. We had 100% group summit success and I feel was was down to the guides (and in some part the strength of the group as a whole).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My Top Kit Tips - A "pee bottle" but not she-wee. She-wees can cause unpleasant accidents when trying to use at minus 5, at 3am - I had a Uriwell and it was incredible and saved the night time freezing dashes to the loo. I also had a Thermarest Thermal Liner which was a god-send. As far as snacks are concerned take loads, favourites are Jelly Babies and Chocolate mini-bars. Definitely take a platypus/camelback water system. Agreed it might freeze on summit day but only the water in the tube freezes, if you blow the water back into the pack, your body heat will keep it from freezing. I didn't take one and trying to get access to your water bottles when wlaking is near impossible. Take really simple footwear for the evenings, slip ons preferably so that they are easy on/off if you do have to go to the loo. Icebreaker Merino tops really CAN be worn 3+ times without any smells - highly recommend these. Gaiters are a must, do get some.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't be tempted to walk fast, the whole point of walking slowly is that your body can adjust, almost on a step by step basis, to the altitude. The better you adjust, the more likely you are to summit successfully.To anyone considering this trip - just do it!It is amazing but DO prepare with plenty of hill walking.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    Cuba is changing and rapidly so really pleased to have had the opportunity of visiting when we did.That said the more rural areas are like taking a step back in time, horse and cart are the main method of transportation, crowded, rust ridden buses full of smiling faces.  We pass small villages where every trade was taking place in the streets, some taking bicyles apart, some making parts for those wonderful American cars, some with the odd chicken or pile of mango's to sell - all wave as we pass on our way.  In the cities and main towns it's another story. Young, in their skimpy outfits and old in more traditional attire out enjoying themselves dancing away.  Some clutch mobile phones - some clutch a more important comidity - their bottle of rum!  Again, smiling and welcoming faces.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I guess it had to be the ride in the convertible "Chevvy" - "cruising and playing the radio - with no particular place to go"!  Of course, there were other highlights - the trek to Fidel's Mountain Hideout, Che's Mausoleum - sombre and resplendent.  Being rowed across the Toa River, the crashibg waves of the Atlantic Ocean, lovely Baracoa and swimming in the river under the waterfalls in the "El Cubano" Nature Park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Raymondo cared for us very well.  He seems to have friends everywhere! His recommendations for restaurants were very welcome. I understand this was his first "tour group" having been responsible for the bike itineraries in the past - so hope we were not a disappointment to him!  Mention must be made of Orlando, our driver.  He was top notch and a real credit to the company. He was exceedingly careful and courteous.  Always very smart and kept "his bus" sparkling!  He had a good sense of humour and we encouraged him to join with us on occasions when it was appropriate.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, the journeys are long but not unpleasant.  Lots of stops en-route and the coach was very comfortable.Take cash - more than you think you need and change in hotels rather than queue for ages in the banks.  The rates of exchange don't fluctuate that much.  There are cash-points in the major towns which we didn't have any problems with.Travel light - local guys always pleased to receive the odd T-shirt.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't be shy about dancing - you have to at some point!!!Go enjoy - enjoy the smiling faces, enjoy the music, the delicious sea food washed down with some rather scrummy cocktails 
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    I wish I had made this trek when I was younger but never theless it was a remarkable and awesome experience. The group I travelled with were all a great bunch of people, fully supportive of each other and without whom the trip would not have been the same.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To wake up in the morning, and on opening the tent flap to find a panorama of clouds beneath you, like a white sea underneath a changing sky, as the sun rose slowly from behind the clouds.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He did a fantastic job, and deserves every single dollar that he is paid; and much more. His constant vigilance and encouragement made it possible to stretch oneself to the limit without incurring any risk.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Preparation is the key to the sucess in reaching the summit, and to have a thoroughly enjoyable time. Make sure you have all the kit as per the list.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was surprisingly lot better then I expected, and it is humbling to see so many people working so hard for their living, just to ensure that we had a fantastic time. All the porters, guides and kitchen staff deserve medals.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    SPITSBERGEN IN DEPTH

    What can one say?National Geographic, eat your heart out. We can only say we were so lucky, the quality of the team on board, the weather and of course the wildlife were all outstanding 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many moments to chose from.  You can't forget the sight of your first polar bear, maybe even the second.   Even the 23rd was pretty good!A polar bear mother and cub was neat, but then a mother and 2 cubs was better.A mother and 2 cubs being stalked by a beaten up male bear was a sight to behold, even having our Polar Bear (ian Stirling) expert purring with content. 60,000 gilmots flying around overhead wasn't bad either......and then there was the reflection.  With the waters of the Fjords being so calm and the skies so blue it's hard to describe the tranquility of the area 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein - unrivalled energy.Who would want to run the Brighton Marathon, climb Kilimanjaro and then run the London Marathon all in 7 days, let alone with a 10ft tiger in his rucksack.Such and eye for a great photo, with a quirkiness to go with it.  But he doesn't like puffins! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for anything and everything.We were lucky (or unlucky) not to get the 2am wake up call to gather on deck to see a polar bear.  We had so many to chose from without early risesIt may be cold, but in the sun may warm you through.  Take plenty of sun cream.Dress in layers, you'll be able to adjust to temperature changes quickly. Be prepared not to see a star for 2 weeks, with 24 hours of daylight time seems to have no meaning 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is such and awesome experience, yes we were the fortunate ones maybe.  But you take your chances with wildlife.Words and photos hardly describe the beauty of the region, and to see your first polar bear... 
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN THE WESTERN DOLOMITES

    Rewarding trekking through spectacular scenery

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the last day climbing up the metal ropes from the morning break

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was inspirational & made you truly believe everything is possible, just take your time. Eric was like his partner & equally as helpful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A reasonable level of fitness is required for this trip but is rewarded many times over

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Though this trip is called the western Dolomites, you could call it the ultimate Dolomites as Marmolada is never far from view. Even on on our day off some went to Sass Pordoi by cable car which simply has to be experienced.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30