Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Sarah Skinner

    Inca trek, a must for anyone who enjoys trekking.

    A seasoned Exodus traveller, this holiday was the best so far! The trek was brilliantly organised, walking over 4 days, we arrived to see an almost empty Machiu Picchu. Our guide Reny was fabulous, and had a great knowledge of the trek and the Inca history. The group had a fantastic atmosphere. I would highly recommend this trek to all it was hard work but really really worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the Sun gate after 4 days walking and the monkey steps!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Reny was fantastic, he ensured a group atmosphere. As someone who had done the trek a few hundred times he really knew the way, and was so supportative when the it was tough. As well he had a fantastic knowledge of the Inca history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sign up and do it, it is really worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Smile for sun!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Jamie Forbes

    Discover Sri Lanka

    What a fantastic trip! Travelled with my new wife on our Honeymoon and although I had high hopes of Sri Lanka the tour went far beyond our expectations. A guided tour of 16 with a real mixture of people we visited many sights and places and overall was a very well balanced trip that comprised of history, culture, tradition and a bit of R&R. The tour allows you to experience the different provinces of Sri Lanka that provides its unique vibe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many to choose from. Seeing wild elephants on the roadside and a leopard on the safari to watching the sunset over the plains at Giritale. The bike ride was great fun where we were greeted with wide smiles by the village children. Every day was memorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I cannot speak highly enough of Sujan, our group leader. Friendly, knowledgeable, funny and very professional. He made everyday run like clockwork. An example of this was that he told us exactly where to stand within the Temple of the Tooth. When the ceremony began we had perfect location. Further, he appeared to be on very good terms with all staff at every hotel and excursion personnel which helped to create a friendly atmosphere. Sujan also went the extra mile for us both knowing it was our Honeymoon and managed the tipping process perfectly. Absolute asset to Exodus and his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely remember a jumper AND raincoat. Can get chilly when in altitude and weather in the tea plains is just like Britain. Comfy walking shoes also a necessity. A towel for the rafting also otherwise an uncomfortable trip in the bus back to the hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall best overseas experience of my life. The group was fantastic and the country is something EVERONE should travel. Thank you Exodus and especially Sujan for a remarkable journey.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Annabel Ewbank-Smith

    A steptastic holiday!

    This was a great holiday in a beautiful area, fantastic coastal walks with amazing views of the cobalt sea, trekking through lemon groves past olive trees, fascinating towns and villages, and even a swim in the Mediterranean. There were a lot of steps but the trip information did warn of this. The Hotel Due Torri seemed to think it was a privilege to host us!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the crater of Vesuvius and enjoying the views from the top.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Satva obviously loves her job and inspired us all with her enthusiasm, knowledge and love of the Amalfi area. Nothing was too much trouble and she even gave language tips!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get in some training on steep uphill and downhill slopes, and extensive sections of steps.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Glenn Russell

    Alexandra the Great !

    You have to be lucky to have a great holiday. We were lucky to pick this great tour, lucky to travel with a good group and very lucky to have Alex as our guide!This amazing young lady really made the trip - and even altered the itinerary a little so that we would get the best out of every day irrespective of the weather. Although a native french Canadian , she knew everything about Vancouver and chatted animatedly with everyone , answering every question that was sent her way. There are always things that go a little wrong -our room at Ucluelet was very dark -but she immediately fixed a change with the hotel. She also knew great places to eat and varied it as much as possible. The highlight of the trip was a day long visit to see grizzly bears feeding on Salmon migrating up the river. On the way we got close to a large humpback whale . With the boat engines stopped we could hear every breath of the whale and managed to get some great pictures - a magical moment. The zodiac trips to see whales were fun, but our boat skipper kept a very long distance (much greater than the mandatory 100 yards) from the whales even when invited to approach by other boat captains. Considering we had travelled many thousands of miles to see the whales this was disappointing. The penultimate day was spent in Victoria. We had tasted "beaver tails" -a cinnamon doughnut - in Ottawa many years ago and wanted to repeat the experience. Alex , once again, made it possible and found a local source of this delightful sweet! As we said our goodbyes to our new friends on the final day, Alex was on hand again to make sure all went well. We hope she continues as a guide - any other have a hard act to follow!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The grizzly bear trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above -outstanding. 'merveilleuse !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a really great trip and our first holiday with a group we had not met before. It will not be our last !
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Alex Henderson

    Best decision ever

    Exodus tours were recommended to me, and as someone who knows little about wine but loves to drink it I was keen on this trip. I also fancied some exercise and activities thrown in. I was slightly dubious about going alone but soon realised when I got there that exodus caters for people like me. I would say the trip is scaled correctly in terms of activity level, I particularly enjoyed the panzano and San gimignano walks. There's also loads to do on your free day, I rented a vintage fiat from castellina, some of the group went riding and others cooking so plenty of options. Couldn't recommend this trip enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All wine tastings are inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was amazing. There was (which I'm told is quite common on Exodus tours) a very diverse group of people of different ages and interests. Mark made sure everyone was looked after and entertained, he was also great at pointing out particular spots of interest (museums, gelato shops, enotecas, city tours) that made sure everyone got the most out of the time we had. He was also great with the walks, found the group pace early on so no one felt left behind.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're going in mid sept as I did, dress like an onion. It's boiling in the direct sun and goes down about 10 in the shade and in the evenings sometimes. Still pleasant though, light jumpers are your best friends.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Karen Lim

    Wonderful!

    A wonderful once-in-a-lifetime experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the gorillas up close - we were told to stay at least 7 metres from them but sometimes we were much closer. That one hour went by like a flash! I also loved the white water rafting - I hadn't intended to do it but wanted to seize the opportunity of trying out some of the best rafting in the world. I did not feel at all scared and would definitely do it again. The Masai Mara was amazing - seeing animals I had only previously seen in books, and birds I had never seen before.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was great! He was always cheerful, informative, knowledgeable, helpful, patient, cracking jokes and teasing members of our group and the rest of the team. The rest of the team were also sound - Boniface (Stonecold) the driver who handled our enormous truck with great skill, Godfrey the cook who turned out delicious meals with very basic cooking facilities and Esther the assistant who was always ready to help with a smile.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes and the other reviews. Go with a bit of patience and forbearance - do not expect Western standards in anything.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was a bit apprehensive about the camping aspect and the gorilla trek and I was fine. The camping worked out well and the gorilla trek was very manageable (with the help of porters). I can honestly say that I did not have any bad moments on this trip. Our group was varied in age but we all got along very well and there was much laughter and good times.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Rob Pearson

    Indeed a Grand Tour of Sicily

    A good introduction to a wonderful island - its culture, cuisine and history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Selinunte - walking around the ancient streets of this ruined city gave a real perspective of how the city could have looked and functioned.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. A challenging role, as it was the first time the tour had run!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow! Plenty of free time for extended exploration. In Palermo, don't miss La Zisa, a Norman castle with ornate Moorish design. In Syracuse, the Catacombs of San Giovanni are the largest in Italy outside of Rome - recommend queue up for the after-lunch guided tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Being the "first" tour, we could have expected some hiccoughs but there were none of material note. We were fortunate that the agriturismo had been double booked and so we spent a night atop Erice which was a magnificently lofty alternative. The tour does not involve much "programmed" walking, and whilst there was plenty of free time for leg stretching, more walking would have been preferred. The hotels were varied and on the whole were adequately comfortable; the only exception was the hotel in Palermo which we found unclean and in need of refurbishment. More time in Ragusa and missing out Caltagirone, and less time in Palermo and more time in delightful Cefalu would have been much appreciated !
  • Reviewed October 2017
    David Simpson

    Great wildlife viewing with a top class crew

    Some of my best ever wildlife viewing, seeing all the big 5 (including my first ever clear views of leopards) plus much else including spectacular birds, chimpanzees and of course the amazing mountain gorillas. Very well looked after by leader Jacob, the best ever driver Stone Cold, Godfrey the cook and the hardworking trainee Ester, all of whom not just kept us safe, healthy and happy, but were great company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the fabulous mountain gorillas, who didn't seem to have read that they were meant to keep 8 m distance! Couldn't believe how close and active they were. The optional hot air balloon ride in the Maasai Mara was also well worth doing, as was chimpanzee tracking which hadn't been mentioned as an option in the trip notes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was knowledgable, worked hard to make sure we all had a good experience, and had a good sense of humour too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for plenty of early starts and long drives, but the experiences along the way make it all worth it. Being on time for the morning starts, and being ready to help load/unload the truck etc (though not required) makes it all run more smoothly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The region is really beautiful, and always has plenty to see even on the long journeys. The camping is fine, the people along the way friendly, and you'll find Rwandan streets far cleaner than those in the UK!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Lucy Fish

    Beautiful Sicilian Sights but tour requires some tweaks

    We saw many of the must see sights and picturesque towns of Sicily, enjoyed tasty dishes especially the ice creams and granitas and had some time to wander around places and soak up the Sicilian way of life. We were on the first Grand Tour of Sicily so were anticipating some issues could arise. Future trips will only benefit from having a much smaller group (say max. 12 people). Much of the accommodation, restaurants, roads and some sights were on the small scale and our group of 17 people meant difficulties with accommodation type/quality, logistics and group meals. Also some changes to the itinerary (e.g. length of time spent at certain places) will only serve to improve future customers experience of Sicily, enabling them to fully immerse themselves in the Sicilian way of life, culture and history. I enjoyed my time in Sicily and thanks to our local Exodus guide feel I experienced much of what Sicily had to offer (& was on my wish-list). So if you want to see a varied heritage played out in archaeological treasures and picturesque landscapes coupled with a good dose of sunshine (we were very lucky) and tasty dishes (such as cake for breakfast - always good) then Sicily is the place to go. I just hope Exodus will reduce group numbers and not trip length.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many 'wow' moments, that only the number of photos taken can attest to, and special memories made on this trip. I really enjoyed wandering around picturesque Ragusa, plus being a Inspector Montalbano fan meant it was like being on the set. Seeing the back of Palermo cathedral for the first time was a wow moment just because it was so different to everything else we had seen. The byzantine and roman mosaics at Monreale and Piazza Armerina were very special and a lot to take in. Walking around Etna and through Zingaro Nature Reserve was a lovely experience and not to be missed. Wandering through the medieval streets (lots of steps) and enjoying the Baroque sights (everywhere you look) in Noto, Modica, Palermo and Catania were a joy. The sheer scale of some of the Greek and Roman archaeological towns/amphitheatres are a sight to beyond. Charming seaside town of Cefalu was a nice place to relax just wish we had longer.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Milena was a very good leader and coped well with a relatively large group and the problems (especially logistics getting to accommodation and for group meals) that this entailed. She was extremely knowledgeable about all the places we visited and travelled through. She was very enthusiastic about helping us learn more about Sicilian culture and history plus she had lots of geological knowledge which I found very interesting (but maybe not for everyone).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Find out about potential group size before you travel and hope that you have a small group as that will only be a benefit. Possibly take a small travel pillow as many of the beds/pillows were rock hard. If you have limited mobility or problems with stairs, be mindful that there are lots of steps, cobbles and slopes in the places we visit and even in accommodation itself. So might not always be easy going and you may need to request a room on the lowest floor possible in accommodation as there is not always a lift. Be patient as service can often be very slow in restaurants and sometimes quicker meals can be had in cafes if you need a snack. Don't miss out on the chocolate in Modica or the group lunch (very tasty, local only to that area) also make sure you experience the Etna walk and along the coast Zingaro NR. If you are a keen photographer - take a spare memory card or 2.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Sicilian sights you see on this trip I would rate as very good and in some cases excellent in certain places. But the overall trip I currently rate as good purely due to the difficulties faced by a large group and the quality of accommodation used. After a long day of sightseeing all we wanted was a clean and comfortable room to relax in before the next full day but this was not always possible due to the available accommodation (i.e our group was sometimes spread around different B&Bs/hotel) and the simple logistics of reaching either our room (e.g. up to 1 hour wait) or the sights themselves. Suggest itinerary is tweaked so we stay 2 nights in Ragusa and Cefalu, 1 night in Taormina, leave Palermo at lunchtime so to reach Cefalu early afternoon, miss out the steps of Caltagirone entirely and spend bit longer at Roman mosaics of Piazza Armerina and lovely Modica & Noto.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Sarah Bucknill

    Mont Blanc Highlights Sept 2017

    An excellent holiday which delivered fantastic views of the mountains. We travelled in the middle of September and the week began with some unseasonably cold weather which resulted in one day walking in the snow. It was not too demanding but be prepared for cold weather. The second half of the week was much warmer and the variety of weather made the trip even more interesting as the snow was beautiful but we were also able to enjoy very sunny days. The Chalet Chamonix was very comfortable and the meals provided by Sarah and Rich were absolutely outstanding, the best we have had.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wonderful views of Mont Blanc and the surrounding mountains shared with a great group of people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny was very flexible with the itinerary and changed the order in which we did some walks in order to take advantage of lifts being open/closed and the weather. She was extremely knowledgeable and gave very useful advice on equipment and where to purchase it if required. She was also very helpful on techniques for ascending and descending to preserve knees etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This holiday was graded a 3 but one or two bits were quite challenging and it is important to be reasonably fit.
Call us on +47-22 41 30 30