Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Joanna Marsh

    Walking the Picos de Europa

    Just returned from a fabulous week in the mountains in Northern Spain. We had 5 exciting walks up to 2000m with optional scrambling to the peak on our last walk. Suited us (mum and 16 year old son) brilliantly for Half term. Wonderful guide, fellow walkers, hotel etc. It was a really relaxing way to holiday as there was zero stress (nothing to organise) but physical challenge each day. The canoeing on the free day was a rest from walking, however 15km of upper body workout.....and lots of fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Amazing scenery, getting to know fellow travellers, physical challenge and sharing all of this with my youngest son on his 16th birthday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was great. Nacho is an experienced guide and was able to judge our group and lead us for the week, seeming to know what each person would require from him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do plenty of walking to prepare for the holiday. Being fit enough means you will enjoy the walks more. We went in October which was end of season. I suspect the walks might be very hot in the height of summer so consider whether you can cope with exertion in heat.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Bill Kerr

    Walking The French Riviera 2017

    Perfect break away - good capable leader - perfect hotel and wonderful location in Menton. We had a good week and walked to some super places. We enjoyed great meals out in the evening and altogether with the super October weather experienced a truely wonderful holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Repeated moments as walked up to 14km. in a day and was able to repeat this day after day willingly and relatively effortlessly - this was inspirational for future holidays of a similar nature

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was very capable - socialised and communicated well and we felt with her

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Use Exodus - take a fair quality camera - a sunhat and a good pair of stout shoes and UVA & B lotion factor 30-50 even in October

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A lovely location on The Riviera and a great time to go - it seemed like endless summer..
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Eric Brierley

    The best that Jordan can offer

    From day 1 I loved the feel Of Jordan, Jordan is a place of friendly people. The desert hike and Petra will not disappoint you. I added 3 extra days, 1 before the hike to see Amman, and 2 after to visit Jerash and the dead sea, and there are plenty of other places to see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    being in a group of like minded people, and we all got on working as a team to help each other. The wild camping under the mass of stars, just never see so many stars. And Petra no words to describe just see for your self.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Group leader was great, made sure we were supplied with plenty of water and good places to stop in the desert for a rest from the baking sun. And a good laugh too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have plenty of sun screen high factor is best, a good sun hat. And yes don't pack too much like I did( what do you need in the desert ? Not a lot )

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Knowing how to put up a tent is a handy thing to know. I didn't but I do now :)
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Roger Pattenden

    Fascinating glimpse of rural Romania

    Very good trip. The rides were through a variety of terrain and landscapes. On the first few days there were views of groups of local people working in the fields with only the occasional item of usually soviet era farm machinery to help. There were visits to interesting sights including many fortified churches the like of which we had not seen before. In the context of local overnight stays with which we are very familiar on Exodus trips, those on this trip were all good. The only slight downside for some was the local high fat diet (sausages, salami, fatty pork and pickled cabbage featured prominently ) and hardly any fresh vegetables for nearly all meals. But that was the local diet and was therefore the authentic experience we expected. It was interesting to see the contrast between rural Romania with its horses and carts and modern Bucharest which we explored at the end of the trip. The trip lived up to our expectations of seeing a rural way of life which might have been similar to the UK several hundred years ago.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the bakery where the wife made very good bread, in conditions which would give a public health inspector a turn, and where the husband used a cart pulled by a blind horse.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Radu was an excellent leader and Liviu was also excellent as helper / driver and picnic provider. Both spoke very good English, had a very good knowledge of Romanian history and were very pleasant company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for rather different food from a healthy UK diet.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    June Egglestone

    A great week in Uzbekistan

    I really enjoyed this holiday, and felt like a week was enough for a taste of Uzbekistan. Beautiful architecture, friendly locals, and lots of history. Islamic, with a twist of Russian. The country is really safe, and clean.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    More than one thing! Registan - at night, and early in the morning. Viewing the architecture of Tashkents metro stations. Bukhara. Swimming in the lake near the yurt camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Takhir was an excellet tour leader, and you will be lucky if he is your guide. Trust his advice for how to organise meals, it will make mealtimes run smoothly, and you will get to try a lovely range of the local food.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For ladies, I would recommend the hammam in Bukhara (I'm sure the mens is just as good). Bring your own entertainment for the flight. Dont bother bringing nibbles, you wont go hungry!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Anthony Rugg

    Walking in Sardinia

    An excellent place for serious walking on mountain terrain, with sea and beaches within easy reach.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking a deep gorge .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leadership was inspired.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    October proved to be a good month. Not too hot but still summer temperatures for UK residents.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Annette Jones

    Mont Blanc

    The tour was extremely well organized. Our safety was considered in planning where we went based on weather and conditions. We ate the most delicious food including our to go lunches. The meals where also themed towards regions we hiked in for that day. I even celebrated a birthday while on this tour and the trip leaders made a nice fuss of me and prepared me a cake and sang me "Happy Birthday." It was a wonderful trip to the Alps. Thank you for the wonderful memories

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountain views on our hikes were breath taking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sarah and Richard were wonderful chalet leaders and more than deserve the leaders award!!! Marc, our hiking guide was good too but it required me to tell him what style of encouragement I respond well to, as I am afraid of heights.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If your afraid of heights this trip is still worth trying as I am and saw a beautiful part of the world. Very grateful of the opportunity
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Julian Lewis

    High Inca Trail with Amazon Extension

    This was my second trip with Exodus, my first being to Kilimanjaro and the Serengeti, and it certainly didn't disappoint. The trip originally had 5 people on it, but due to last minute cancellations, presumably because of news of strike action in Peru, only 2 of us ended up travelling. Ultimately, we experienced hardly any disruption throughout the entire trip. As such, it made the trip much more bespoke. As the trip flew directly to Cusco, at 3400m, the first couple of days were designed to assist with acclimatizing and we soon got used to the altitude. There was plenty of free time to explore the city and take it easy. We also spent the first morning on an acclimatization hike exploring Tambomachay, Puca Pukara, Qenqo and Sachsayhuaman in the hills above Cusco. This hike was very gentle and downhill. On the first day of the hike, we set off early (0630 start) for Mollepata, stopping at Tarawasi to explore more ruins. As Mollepata is below 3000m, we immediately noticed the drop in altitude and this helped ease us into the hike gently. In addition to meeting our wonderful Quechua chef, Florentino, we were accompanied along this stretch of the hike by local horsemen (and a dog who we nicknamed Condor, who would provide no end of amusement along the way), who provided support for us. We found the first few days of the hike rather quiet, as this route is frequented by far fewer hikers than the main Inca Trail. The first day was a 4 hour hike with a gradual climb up to 3500m. The second day of the hike was quite tough as we had a 17km hike going from 3500m to 4400m. This involved a 0600 start, though was mostly on the level during the morning. The afternoon was shorter though quite a bit harder as it had several steep parts, as we ascended to the camp at Inchupata. An emergency horse was on hand along this stretch. The views of Salkantay were stunning, though the camp was quite cold at night. We even saw a couple of avalanches on Salkantay. On the third day of the hike, we climbed up to Incachiriaska pass, at 4950m, and were rewarded with stunning views in all directions. This was followed by a rapid descent to the Inca Canal to our camp site. Day four of the hike was quite leisurely and short as we descended to Huayllabamba. We said goodbye to the horsemen, and had several amusing attempts to part company with Condor, then met up with the porters who would carry our kit along the main Inca Trail. We also had an opportunity for a brief cold shower; our first proper wash since the hike began. Having ascended Incachiriaska pass earlier in the hike, the ascent to Dead Women's pass on day five of the hike was much more straightforward and we got to the top in far less time than we'd planned for. The descent down to Pacaymayo was quite steep, and we got a taste of the steps which would be a common feature of the latter part of the hike. As we'd joined the main Inca Trail, things became much busier at camp sites and on the trail. We timed our departures to avoid the early morning rushes, and soon found we had the trail mostly to ourselves. On day six of the hike, we climbed over a second pass and explored more Inca ruins at Runcurakay and Sayacmarca. We camped at Phuyupatamarca and marveled at the views of Machu Picchu mountain, far below us down the notorious Inca Steps. The next morning, we also had stunning views of the other side of Salkantay. On the last day of the hike, we descended to Winay Wayna, and then completed the trek to the sun gate and our first glimpse of Machu Picchu itself. After an hour or so snapping pictures of the classic views of the site, we took the bus down to Aguas Calientes and several much needed showers. The following day, we had a tour of Machu Picchu and then had a few hours spare to explore the site on our own. As it turned out, this was only sufficient time to visit the Inca Bridge and take more pictures close by the main site, though I certainly didn't feel I was missing out on any opportunity to ascend Huayna Picchu or Machu Picchu mountain. We descended back to Aguas Calientes mid afternoon to get the Expedition train to Ollantaytambo. This was an enjoyable and relaxing slow train ride with great views, and included free drinks and snacks in the ticket price. The next morning we explored the ruins in Ollantaytambo and headed on through the Sacred Valley to Pisac. We arrived back in Cusco by early afternoon, where we planned excursions for the following day. The main trip on offer was to Moray Maras and the Salt mines in the Sacred valley. I opted for this trip and found it very relaxing. While other excursions included a (long) day trip to Rainbow Mountain, Exodus don't actively endorse this due to mixed reviews, though (discrete) arrangements can be made if you want to try it. The last morning of the main trip involved transfers to the airport, either for homeward flights or transfers to Puerto Maldonado to the jungle. As I'd opted for the Amazon extension, the jungle beckoned. The flight was short though the change in climate was huge. After transferring to the river launch, and a two hour journey up river, I arrived at Cayman Lodge. As the only traveler on this part of the trip, I had another personalized trip, and guide to myself. The pace of the jungle was quite leisurely and involved afternoon and night walks around the perimeter of the lodge, a 10km trek to Sachavacayoc Lake (an oxbow lake) in the jungle where we spent a couple of hours canoeing around looking for anacondas, an early morning river trip to Colpa Chuncho clay lick to view macaws feeding, a night safari along the river looking for caimans and quite a few hours chilling in hammocks out of the sun. Soon though, this part of the trip came to an end and I transferred back to Puerto Maldonado for my flight home. As Peru were attempting to qualify for the 2018 World Cup, we also sampled the local excitement of the regions enthusiasm for football. This could only have been matched by a papal visit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pin down one single moment, though we had perfect weather (glorious sunshine and few clouds) every day of the trip so were rewarded with inspiring views every day. Among the highlights of the trip were seeing Salkantay from many angles, Incachiriaska pass, Dead Women's pass, the view from Phuyupatamarca down over Machu Picchu mountain, the classic views of Machu Picchu from the sun gate and gatehouse, the Sacred Valley, and travelling along the Tambopata river.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    William was very knowledgeable and keen to share his knowledge and experience of the Inca Trail. As the group size was small, we had a lot of attention though it never felt intrusive. Our chef, Florentino, the horsemen and the Quechua porters were great and always friendly. I even picked up several greetings in Quechua. My guide in the jungle was a freelance guide, called Empe. She was very knowledgeable and made the trip very enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Though we experienced perfect weather on our trip, which was almost unprecedented, you should plan for some rain along the way. I'd definitely recommend doing the jungle extension if your itinerary permits as it provides an additional and alternate view of the richness of Peru's geography. I almost wish Id opted for a pre-trip extension to Lake Titicaca, though that will have to be another trip. As the trek is at high altitude, travelers should come prepared with good sun screen and insect repellent, even on days when its not overly sunny. The Peruvian sun can be unforgiving. Pack economically. The bag weight limit on the Inca Trail is 10kg, so you carry the excess. Unless you prepare with extensive load bearing training, you should try to keep your day pack as light as possible as the altitude and sun soon consume your energy reserves. Though on Kili I'd regularly carry at least 2 litres of water, the frequency of campsites and top ups mean that you can carry a little less water, as long as you top up whenever you get the chance. As with any high altitude trekking, take things easy for the first few days to help acclimatize, stay hydrated and eat plenty. If you have any dietary requirements, such as low carb diets, then do review these carefully as several days of the hike are intensive and you will need as much energy as you can pack in. I found I needed extra carbs on several days though this was quickly burnt off. Security at camps during the first few days of the trek is fine, as you're almost the only people at the remote campsites, though as you reach the main trail the campsites get busier and you'll often find other trekkers walking through your camp. While this doesn't present any problem, vigilance should be exercised in accordance with common sense. Security in the jungle lodges was ok, though by the nature of its location you shouldn't have any major concerns. Though English, Spanish and Quechua were the main languages spoken on the trail, French was also seemingly quite widely spoken in the jungle. A warm sleeping bag will pay dividends especially at the higher campsites. A good pair of binoculars will come in handy in the jungle. On the night safaris, a good phone camera (e.g. OnePlus 5) proved better for impromptu close ups of insects than even a good bridge/SLR camera, so try both for best results.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having climbed Kilimanjaro, I found this trek challenging but very achievable. While the hardest days of the trek are comparable to regular/early days on Kili, nothing is quite on the same scale as summit night, though ascending and descending the Inca steps should be approached carefully as some of the flights of steps are extensive and mishaps could be costly. There are a few stages where additional caution is advised, such as walking along narrow ledges alongside sheer drops, but the William was very clear with highlighting these stretches.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Flo Branchu

    Breathtaking

    This trip was incredible from beginning to end. The locations we visit, the various mode of transports and hotels selected were brilliant. The guide was incredible in every possible way. By the end of each day I thought "surely it can't get any better"... yet each day we discovered new breathtaking landscapes, tried mouthwatering food and understood more about this incredible country and multitude of cultures. I can't recommend this trip enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's very hard to choose.... i would say Bagan and that view.... i still feel like I was dreaming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Passionate about his country and people, genuine and knowledgeable. Funny and caring. I can go on and on. Plus he only recommended amazing food... Min is on my "favourite people" list!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate, book and go... happy travels!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Guy Dixon

    Carpathian capers

    Great accommodation, good food and excellent group leader. Unique combination of outstanding scenery, history, flora and fauna. Interesting insight into a charming and often overlooked part of Eastern Europe. Definitely worth doing if you're looking for something a bit different.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up on the bucegi, the long local walk on day three, Brasov, everything on the final day, Thomas, and hanging out drinking beer at the lovely guest house.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'd skip the optional trip to the bear hide - too far, too bumpy for an evening trip.
Call us on +91 531 40 28