Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Cathy Weaver

    Atlas panorama

    Fantastic trip. Well organised from start to finish. Marrakech was a wonderful experience shared with a fun group. Our guide, Hassan made the walking in the mountains a pleasure with his knowledge and great sense of humour. I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to experience a totally different landscape. Yalla!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The stars in the evening were amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An inspiration
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sue C

    Discover Costa Rica

    This was my first Exodus trip and it reminded me why I love to travel and how I have missed travelling. It is a good trip to show you some of what Costa Rica has to offer and in comfort from travelling to accommodation, the daily drives are not to vast and are broken up with a visit here or there. You go from travelling through mangroves to witnessing turtles nesting, to volcanoes, rain & cloud forests with a beach thrown in as well - with evening cicada and frog calls to being woken by the roar of a howler monkey with sights of sloths, untold colourful birds including the fabulous Quetzal, 4 species of monkeys and much, much more, what more could you really want?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I can't single anything out, it was great simply being away from it all and in such amazing surroundings, there were many "wow" moments for me

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gustavo was fantastic, he certainly knows his stuff and is excellent at spotting wildlife from afar, thus ensuring that we saw all we could. The trip was v well planned and organised

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect rain, a sturdy poncho is wise although you may find it's simply easier and more fun to get wet and blend with the locals!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is a definite must Pura Vida!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Chris Porter

    Walking in Albania

    We completed this walk in mid September so experienced good walking weather conditions, not too hot plus rain at night, how considerate. The trip was just as described in the detailed trip notes involving some stunning high mountain walking plus a range of terrific other non exertive cultural experiences. Phew. Instead of entering back into our rather luxurious new Mercedes coach on day one after a delicious lunch in Shkodër we crammed into this battered rough and tough old blue bus with no seatbelts and mis matched seats. This wonderfully set the scene for all that we were about to head on a trip into serious back country. Great fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Theth to Volbona via Volbona Pass was fantastic, stunning mountain vistas and you felt could almost touch Montenegro we were that high and close. A close second though was the Lake Komeni boat trip, deep gorges and wildlife close by on the shore, so near yet too far.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dorian was a great and personable tour leader deaing with the range of personalities in a large group with aplomb. He displayed considerable knowledge of his country and seemed to know practically everyone in Albania. A highlight was his sensitivity in frequent engagement with locals, who genuinely appeared to appreciate our group’s attention rather than rushing past.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Fitness is quite important as it is not a stroll in municipal parks. Several of the walks were quite challenging, as to be expected with 1,000 metre ascents /descents, although the rewards were equally spectacular. Some people found sections of the Volbona Pass walk vertiginous, although with the group travelling at a slowish pace there was no sense of rushing to catch up.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rupert Livingstone

    Ventoux, Ventoux - so good I had to do the trip again

    I did the trip in 2016 and got my nutrition wrong so walked the last 2k to the summit. I just had to go back to do it properly this year. I was not disappointed as going back made the trip even more enjoyable. The cycling is fantastic and finally cycling all the way to the summit was an emotional and satisfying experience. The trip is changing slightly for 2018 and my only dilemma is whether to go back again to attempt another route. This is a great short break, properly getting away from it all, enjoying some wonderful climbs and descents and basically just enjoying being able to focus solely on cycling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Personally, being successful in cycling to the summit - a big monkey off my back. As a trip, the beauty of the countryside, the camaraderie of the group and the sheer bliss of cycling provided the inspiration. The descent to Sault is a joy, as is the Gorges de Nesque.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yves was simply superb. Without him, the trip would not have been as successful. At no point were there any qualms or concerns as Yves managed to cover off any issues before they arose - even diverting to get bananas when the Sault supermarche decided not to open on time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are reading the review then you are probably serious about the trip so I would use the cliché - just book it. It is a fantastic trip and the satisfaction of reaching the summit more than offsets the pain of the forest. The best advice is the obvious advice. Do some training, get yourself fit, ensure that you have tackled some hills or done some consistent resistance training on a turbo and get your nutrition right. Other than that, enjoy what will be a fantastic and memorable weekend of cycling.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Stuart Royce

    All worth the hard work.

    A father and daughter adventure of a life time. Never to be forgotten.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment/ moments, was from the guides encouragement throughout the climb and making you feel that you could accomplish anything.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mussa was excellent in every way, from start to finish.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not under estimate this climb. Be well prepared for a challenging week of hiking. A couple of weeks walking is not enough training even if you are a seasoned hiker. Give yourself at least 6-12months of training.You must be prepared to listen to the advice of your guides and don't think you know better. These are the guys who get you through it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I have said, the guides,porters and cook are invaluable people on your trip. They know these climbs like the back of their hands. They know the conditions that may arise at any time. They are constantly assessing your condition throughout the trip without you realising it. If they feel you are having problems then they will deal with it in highly trained and professional manner. Big respect to these guys.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Max Sheridan

    Superb Cycling in Sicily

    This was my first trip with Exodus and I was looking forward to exploring the island. The whole holiday was first class from start to finish. Iris and Giuseppe looked after us throughout and we felt that they were friends not just guides by the end. The group got on very well and although I was the youngest at 28 this was not an issue. Food was superb throughout especially the picnic lunches and food at the agriturismo. Always lots to eat at breakfast and plenty of stops for coffee. Scenery is beautiful and is unspoiled compared to mainland Italy. Bikes are great and well maintained I did not miss my own bike at all. Overall an immersive experience with an excellent group. Just go ahead and book it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The descent into Syracuse was out of this world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Iris was exceptional she was available at all times for questions but also let us relax and enjoy the trip in our own way. Her restaurant tips were spot on and we enjoyed learning from her.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Leave your own bike at home and make sure to pack a snack if you arrive late on the first day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    10/10- Excellent.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Simon Wilkins

    Cycle Mallorca

    Cycle Mallorca is a really special trip which allows you to get to see a great variety of the beautiful landscapes of the island along mainly quiet roads and also has a good range of rides through the week and the opportunity - for those who want to - to do longer or more challenging rides. The ride was excellently led by the friendly and knowledgeable Alfonso and really well supported by Manu.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many: arriving at San Salvador Monastery after a long, winding climb and being rewarded with island-wide views, the serene ride from along a traffic-free road between Sa Rapita and Campos, the absolutely fantastic ride early in the morning up to and back from Cap Formentor along great roads with stunning views all the way, the walk up to Castel D'Alaro (optional) from Alaro, being able to experience the quietness and beauty of the island away from the crowds.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alfonso was friendly and helpful and led the group expertly. We were his biggest cycle group to date and he kept us safe through the week. He made it possible - with the support person Manu's help - for those of us who wanted to take the longer or more challenging options - to do so. Alfonso and Manu both had great senses of humour and the group had some great laughs along the way. Alfonso was also passionate about the island and its people and ensuring that we got the best out of the week's cycling. Manu provided excellent support - providing water regularly and also some light snacks at just the right times when we'd done some climbing and extra energy was required. Although very sociable, Alfonso and Manu only joined us for an evening meal on the first and last night of the trip (generally our cycling guides would join us for all but one evening) and this may have been that the locations generally were not big enough to have restaurants big enough to cater for all the 16 people in the group plus the leader and support. However, because quite a few of the group already knew each other it did allow the flexibility for smaller groups to make their own decisions about evening meals . Although we suggested a picnic on one or two days would have been nice (again, we have done this on a some trips before) this wasn't taken up.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the usual cycling kit: padded shorts, sunglasses, helmet, gloves and an extra layer plus a light waterproof (there was heavy rain the night before we started the trip). Don't forget sunblock and some spare water as you're out all day - and possibly an energy bar just in case. The tip is classed as moderate but if you're only an occasional cyclist you might want to get a few more cycle rides in prior to the trip to fully enjoy all the rides on offer (San Salvador Monastery and Cap Formentor are really great rides and well worth the effort). If you get time, the walk up from Alaro to Castel D'Alaro is really stunning - but you'll need 3 to 4 hours to do it comfortably.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cycle Mallorca lets you see the most quiet and beautiful parts of this busy island and has made me want to go back and cycle there again.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Tanya Mitchell

    Memorable

    Such a memorable trip, from the food, sights and friends we met. Our guide Manni was so brilliant, funny and organised. From the Taj Mahal which was breathtaking to the street food, every step of the trip was just great, we loved every minute! The food demonstrations have had a positive influence since we have returned- what more can I say!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal and the palace at Karouli, breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manni was brilliant, he had lots of history and background information wherever we went. A lovely guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy every minute, be adventurous and try the streetfood!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Alison MacDonald

    Excellent tour in Heel of Italy (Matera to Lecce)- a photographers mecca

    Emanuele was an excellent guide. He went above and beyond to create a truly memorable cycling trip for all the people on the tour. This trip is a photographers mecca, the towns we visited were so unique, beautiful scenery and visiting UNESCO world heritage sites. An excellent group of like minded people whose company we all enjoyed sharing a laugh over a beer at the end of the day.The roads we cycled were very beautiful, mostly very quiet and a couple of days were more challenging with the hills but quite manageable. The accommodations were truly memorable from Sassi to Trulli to a Convent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding the "Roller Coaster" and making it all the way up. A hot day, quiet road and when we turned the corner the Roller Coaster was waiting for us with Emanuele at the top to cheer us on and take our picture. Also the accommodations were very unique and they all looked after us very well.Loved staying in the Sassi and Trulli accommodations, that was amazing. Loved this group of people we rode with,chatted with and shared our stories over dinner and wine. The scenery was spectacular, from the lovely quiet Italian towns to breathtaking scenery along the coastline.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emanuele was wonderful and worked so very hard, very attentive and knowledgeable guide who was always more than willing to answer all our questions and paid great attention to all our safety.He was a very experienced cyclist who took us to some excellent foodie restaurants and shared his love of history and his involvement in reviving the old historical routes and turn them into cycling routes. He clearly briefed us on the night before, describing the route, using riders as waymarkers for the route and designating a rider to sweep at the back. The van was always behind us and Piero worked very hard to refill all our water bottles, prepare picnics in the parks for our lunch.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a wonderful trip. Clearly a level 3 Moderate, all of it manageable. It would be a good idea to put the leaders cell phone into WhatsApp.Hills were a bit challenging especially on the hot couple of days but never more than we could manage and often short and sweet! The support van was always behind us with Piero filling our water and preparing our lunchtime picnics. There is only 1-2 seats in the van with limited room for extra bikes but it was never a problem. The group all rode together, Emanuele designated a rider to sweep at the back.We all had paniers. Only a couple of stops for swimming.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful trip, will recommend to all my friends in Canada. Emanuele was an excellent top notch guide. A rough profile guide in the brochure/trip notes of each days ride could be beneficial to show what is in store for the riders on each stage of the journey. This would be at the guides discretion to modify routes as conditions dictate.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    David Woodhams

    Land of the Jaguar

    Overall a relatively full on experience with very little 'down' time. An amazing abundance of wildlife especially birds. A trip that definitely lived up to expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day on the Paraguay River when we spotted a Female Jaguar and cub on a rock adjacent to the river on our return journey from the National Park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony was an excellent guide with very good knowledge of the birds and mammals and his spotting skills were amazing

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As we were travelling in the dry season it did get very hot 40C + and somewhat dusty but worth it in every way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We left the UK with the hope that we would see the main targets of our visit, Jaguar and River Otter. Not only was our expectation rewarded with one sighting, but 3 groups of Otters, 4 Jaguars and the Hyacinth Macaws as well as numerous other mammals and birds. A truly wonderful experience and the stay on the houseboat was GREAT
Call us on +91 531 40 28