Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Keith Burrett

    Myanmar

    I will start with a sore note which otherwise was an excellent holiday. We visited Bagan House lacquerware, the demonstrations and products on display where amazing. So much so I purchased a gold inlaid box which was a bargain at $45 which was nicely gift wrapped. To my horror on arriving home I discovered it had been replaced by a heap of worthless junk. So be warned if buying from them. The people in Myanmar seem very friendly and always smiling. One of the highlight is visiting the villages and workshops. It like beening transported back 300 yrs, before the time of the industrial revolution. The other highlights are the temples and monasteries. The only annoying part is having to keep taking you shoes and socks off. At times the trip was a bit hectic but well worth it for there is a lot to see. I would recommend this trip for the cultural experience, but don't wait too long for modern technology will eventually take over.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational part of the holiday was the Myanmar people. They seem very happy yet compared to us they have nothing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Khti Maw was excellent. Very knowledgable and a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only advice from experience if buying anything from Bagan House don't allow them to wrap your purchase.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food in Myanmar restaurants is not too expensive and good quality. Although be careful when ordering duck or chicken because it contains a lot of bones.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Alan Colgate

    Trekking Borneo and Beyond

    Although aged 80 I was probably at least 15 years older than anyone else, however this in no way spoiled my experience of this holiday. The group was fantastic, the best I have experienced over the last 20 years of trekking. It was certainly added to by the local 'guides' who were excellent and very friendly to all the group. I and 2 others were not able to get to the summit of Mount Kinabalu as we ran out of time although we had passed the last checkpoint. We should have left the Laban Resthouse earlier. We did not sleep anyway! The whole holiday experience was far better than I expected although I did need to buy a new camera in Kuala Lumpur (a waterproof one). The humidity and going through the 'rapids' on the river was too much for my old camera!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was full of new experiences and I suppose the lasting highlight was the time at the end spent at the complex by the sea. I have never experienced such warm seawater!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As I have said above the 2 we had, the first at KL and the second on Borneo could not have been more encouraging and friendly to all the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Humidity and shooting the rapids is not good for cameras unless waterproof. I was not alone with the problem! Insects were not a problem even in the evening, in fact I don't think I got bitten at all - not like in the garden at home in the UK!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Lastly I did feel that the climb was more difficult than what I experienced 18 months earlier in Ethiopia although not so high. In Ethiopia there was plenty of time to get aclimatised whereas in Borneo there was none at all. Yet this was graded 4 and the climb of Ras Dashen in Ethiopia as Grade 5. The altitude there did not seem a problem as we reached the height of 4543m over a period not 2 consecutive days as in Borneo.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Penny Houghton

    HIghlights of Tibet

    Excellent trip with outstanding leader, Keshar KHADKA

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Potala Palace and first sight of Everest Kathmandu - Bhaktapur

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take things slowly in Tibet Take Lavender essential oil to impregnate a kleenex for the toilet breaks - this saved us at the Everest Base Camp Monastery! If you have time while in Kathmandu, take a taxi to Bhaktapur and Patan, its really worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wish I had done the trip back to back with Highlights of Nepal - now I'll have to go back!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Jon richards

    cycling through Rajestan

    This was a good trip, seeing the classic UNESCO sites of Jaipur, Agra & Taj Mahal, wildlife reserves, train rides, moderate cycling as well as some really off the beat village life. The hotels were mainly of a good standard with pools & the staff were excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the sites at Agra & Taj Mahal which were amazing. Some really fond memories of village life, visiting local schools, houses etc - Exodus really excel at this. The safari was ok, probably enjoyed the bird sactuary more

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tapesh & the whole team were brilliant - well organised, considerate, communicative etc

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's hot so take good screen, hat etc. Hardly any mossies, so didn't bother with Deet. Take alcohol hand wash to avoid the bugs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are lots of visits to palaces & forts which get better as the trip goes on to the well know UNESCO sites, some of these early ones are optional. There are some quite long bus transfers to the cities where these sites are - I believe changes are being made to the schedule to reduce the amount of these. The cycling scenery is fairly dry, and in my opinion much lusher with less urban centres to get to, on the Kerala or Sri Lanka trips. So if you want to see the UNESCO sites and have good (rather than excellent cycling), this would be a good trip. For a more relaxing trip, with lusher scenery & v few bus transfers, the Kerala trip might appeal more
  • Reviewed November 2017
    DAVID STEEL

    MY COMPLACENT BUCKET LIST TICK TO EVEREST BASE CAMP!!

    Gotta say, this was an absolutely brilliant trip! The group, 14 of us in all, was a very eclectic mix with Canadians, Icelandic, Dutch, Irish, a couple of very entertaining "Cor Blimey" guys, and the rest of us were Northerners, but fortunately none of the others seemed to hold that against us! Me and the 2 Cor Blimeys were mates who had embarked upon this jaunt in virtually complete ignorance of quite what was in store for us, so we thought our preparations of a couple of leisurely jaunts up Snowdon followed by a couple of pints of Guinness in the same PYG pub frequented by Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay 65 years earlier would stand us in good stead. I confess that the complete ignorance I referred to above was mainly down to me not having read any of the reviews, but to be honest, I am glad I didn't read them because it would probably have put me off going and I would have missed a truly great experience. The other 11 people were all seasoned trekkers, who were rather surprised by our inexperience (and stupidity?) in embarking upon this full-on 18 consecutive days High Passes Trek which is widely regarded as one of the toughest available. However, despite me picking up a dose of food poisoning in the UK even before we flew to Delhi, we ALL made it across ALL of the High Passes, due in no small part to the expertise and skill of the Trek Leader, Pasang Lama, who I have to say was brilliant at coaxing, encouraging and looking after us - not surprising really, given his 21 years' experience in the role! The scenery of course is second to none, and on a few practical points, supplies like toilet paper, snacks, drinks, sun cream etc. are readily available throughout the trek, plus the food available in the Tea Houses was far better than I had anticipated, which is more than can be said for the general standard of ablutions, but hey, even they were manageable. I am 70, but reasonably fit I suppose, so my advice would simply be get fit, shed a few spare pounds, do a bit of aerobic exercise like jogging or riding a bike, make sure your boots are comfortable and go for it! The Altitude thing is a bit of a lottery so no point in worrying about it, although it may be prudent to have a try-out at altitude somewhere before you go to see if you may be susceptible to it? Some of us took Diamox, some didn't, but nobody had any significant symptoms of AMS apart from the odd headache, a bit of nausea, and a little bit of water retention. Loss of appetite is quite common at altitude, and the only thing which bothered me was the inability to sleep when we were above 5,000m - which we were for 10 days in a row - so actually quite debilitating!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sense of satisfaction in overcoming the challenges and hardships of oxygen deficit and lack of sleep for days on end. Oh, and yes, OK, I suppose the magical sight of such a legendary panacea of scenery was pretty cool too . . . . yes . . . . that too!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was brilliant. He inspired confidence, was amusing, direct in his manner when it was needed, and conciliatory when it was appropriate. Full marks Pasang!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just Do It - but get fit!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Gillian McFall

    Ms

    A fantastic first experience of Nepal ... and hopefully not my last

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The emotions that came out at Base Camp showed how much the trek meant to some people and I'm happy to have shared that experience with them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shailesh was very informative about what each day would involve ensuring that we were well prepared. He looked after the group well and was careful to check for any health/altitude issues which was reassuring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Eat plenty apple pie!! :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Getting off the main Everest Trail for a few days was lovely, much quieter and a welcome escape into the beautiful goyko area. I would recommend this route.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Lindsay Van Jager

    Great Walking Tour for those seeking easy walking

    This is a very good tour for those who don't wish to walk a long way everyday. Very well organised, different experiences daily in a most interesting part of Italy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Matera, Alberobello. Ostuni and Lecce are all marvellous places to visit. We loved the wine and food tasting at Paco Wines in Alberobello and the wonderful dinner in Ostuni.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This was a self guided trip. Due to the distances we were picked up and taken to various towns. All the drivers were on time or early and the cars were good quality and very clean.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go in summer it would be too hot. Spring and autumn are the best times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The last day of the tour we were to make a trip from Lecce to Otranto by public transport. This is not a good idea for a day trip. The train times there and back were not convenient and there was a requirement to change trains. In the end we decided not to do this.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Peter Baylis

    Cycling Three Countries

    The whole holiday was a great adventure and turned out to be even better than we hoped it would be! So much to see and do, we packed so much in it felt like we had been away for a month! Cycling allowed you to get to see bits of the countries that you would never normally get close too on other types of holidays -Brilliant!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Depends what you call inspirational but the thing that sticks in my mind , is coming around a corner in Vietnam to be faced by hundreds of children, who all turn and look at you and start screaming "hello" and waving at you -made you feel like some sort of Rock Star!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chai was excellent and looked after us all the way. His knowledge allowed us to stop and try local things as we cycled through the countryside, something you would think twice about if he wasn't with us. Learnt a lot about the local culture from him.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    NICHOLA CARTER

    Absolutely Fabulous Holiday.

    Well where do I start? This holiday was one big adventure from the start, right to the end. I saw and learnt so much.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many inspirational moments but I think meeting so many Cambodian people who so friendly and happy, even though their country went through such a terrifying ordeal. They always had a big smile on their faces.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Chai was always so professional and calm and so knowledgeable. He always greeted us with a big smile and always did his absolute best to look after us. I just hope Exodus realise what an asset he is to their company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't bother taking Cambodian and Vietnamese currencies. Just take Thai Baht and US Dollars. Baggy shorts over your cycling shorts was enough to get you into most temples. Take your own saddle or saddle gel cover. I took the saddle I did all my training in and I didn't have a sore bottom all holiday. Try as much of the different food you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am already looking at booking another Exodus holiday for next year. Everything was looked after and prepared for us and the whole holiday ran on rails (or should I say ran on bicycles?).
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Vittoria Doyle

    Wonderful easy walking trip in beautiful surroundings!!

    Walking was lovely and easy with enough challenges to enjoy. Group was nice. Food was amazing. Thano our leader was brilliant. So knowledgeable and helpful. He knew his history, culture, flora, fauna and all the people we met around and about!! He cared for the environment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going on to the caldera in Santorini. As a geography student of old, i found the landscape and history fascinating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thano was amazing. So knowledgeable and helpful. Kept us trying his foods. We learnt so much history through him. He answered all questions. Really good leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy walking, its a beautiful place to do it. Take walking poles!!
Call us on +91 531 40 28