Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Karen Carrington

    Sri Lanka Walking Tour

    This was an amazing tour. It was very well organised. The walking was good. The countryside and people were fantastic and the guide himself was very personable and knowledgeable. It was totally enjoyable. I would recommend going up Adam's peak on a Monday-Thursday evening to avoid the crowds, but that is the only thing I would have changed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everything was good

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was born for a job of this type - friendly, funny and knowledgeable
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Stella Thompson

    Off track cross country skiing at it's best

    This is some of the best off track cross country skiing you will ever find. A wonderful wild environment, with varied terrain and a variety of challenge, the best leaders you can ever meet and a great place to stay with a lovely friendly atmosphere. It is very special. I would have given up years ago if I hadn't come here and have been coached to steady improvement over the years. I have been on other holidays with other leaders, but no-one has ever come up to the standard of Ilse and Mary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting high up on a bright day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you get the grade right for you!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Vickie Lush

    Everything and more

    If Antarctica has been on your ‘ to do list’ GO!,, Amazing time had by all, my only negative would be that I did not book to go onto South Georgia and The Falklands due to the time factor. I now have to select photos for my album going to be a long process.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is very hard to pinpoint one part of the expedition but I particularly enjoyed the kayaking you have a chance to get up close and personal with the whales, seals and penguins.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Solan was inspirational as were most of his associates on the ship each having their own personality and knowledge to share.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To prepare well, plenty of layers there is absolutely no need to be cold if you take layers. Crossing The Drake requires medication in my opinion but if yours fails the Doctor is on hand and is extremely supportive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food was amazing with plenty of variety and if there was nothing you liked you could order almost anything the kitchen and excellent service too.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Diana Howard

    Classic 4WD Safari - Captivating Kenya

    This holiday met every expectation - brilliant safari, comfortable accommodations and knowledgeable, efficient tour operators. I had a fantastic time. There were 2 long drives, but to end up in the Masai Mara was well worth the effort of sitting in the back of the safari vehicle for several hours chatting to my fellow travellers and taking in the Kenyan countryside, villages and villagers. We visited 2 lakeside safaris and stayed in a lovely lodge with a beautiful view, but once in the Mara, the real trip began in earnest. We had ample opportunity to see an enormous variety of animals and birds. Peter and Hassan took us to all the best spots to see lions by the side of the road, a leopard with its prey up a tree, hippos, cheetah, giraffes, elephants, baboons and all the wonderful impala, Thompson's giselle, topi and many many more species all grazing in beautiful herds or hiding out in the bushes and water holes waiting to pounce. There were a lot of babies and young animals in Feb. and not too many other vehicles to contend with while viewing them. The Ilkeliani Camp was magical: spacious comfortable tents with very effecient bathrooms. A Masai warrior escorted you after sunset safely to or from the dining tent or the sitting/bar tent or the tree top lookout. Elijah and Joseph cooked up wonderful dinners with excellent vegetarian selections included. The food was really top notch, especially considering the remoteness of our location. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and took great care to spoil everyone. Our trip included a visit to the Masai village, with a welcoming dance and a fantastic jumping display. It would have been nice to have brought some gifts to the villagers. Perhaps Exodus could include a link with suggestions. There was also a balloon ride which I didn't do. The weather was kind and it didn't rain, wasn't too hot and although I took my malaria pills, there didn't seem to be many mosquitos if any. The tents were all perfectly netted and protected as were the rooms at Sunbird Lodge. If you're travelling alone, I do recommend paying the single supplement for a little peace and quiet and privacy at the end of the busy days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was inspiring to see the numbers of lions and cheetah and all the various big game, and how healthy they all looked. This conservation seems very well managed and I am happy to think that my grandchildren will be able to enjoy seeing these magnificient animals in the wild. I was also inspired to learn that the Masai women receive education and no longer have to marry at 13.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought a lot of our group leader - Peter. He was very organised, very charming and efficient with his evening briefings. I had to change room at the Sunbird Lodge and he took care of arranging this even though they were very busy and it was inconvenient. I could not manage the steep steps down to my room due to some medical issues. On the safari drives Peter found all the good spots to view the animals and was very patient with all the group's individual wishes. He was very knowledgeable about the area, the animals and able to answer all the various questions we threw at him. I had complete confidence in his driving on the long and rather perilous drives to and from the Mara.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need to bring towels, mosquito nets. Pay the single supplement. Read the notes thoroughly for all the good money tips. Bring pencils, books, second hand clothes to gift the Masai villagers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Hugh Price

    First Class Trip

    Excellent opportunities to see not just Tigers but many other mammals and birds as well. Helpful staff and good lodges and time just flies by. Others have rated this trip highly and deservedly so.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Viewing a tiger fairly closely over a period of about 90 minutes

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vijay was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and his knowledge and experience was invaluable, even to the extent of finding a suitable battery charger in rural India.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes warn you it can be cold early am and late pm but it can also be cold during the day in February. Take layers, take a buff for the dust, possibly a bag to keep the dust off cameras. A head torch is quite useful too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Most enjoyable trip
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Alla Neal

    Still OK but not excellent as previous 3 Exodus trips.

    This is my 4th trip with Exodus and the worst. Still OK but not excellent as previous 3 were. We spent too much time in unbelievably noisy polluted cities instead of maybe explore countryside a bit more. Also by returning from Halong Bay (which were fantastic) we lost the whole day sitting in Hanoi lobby to be able to take overnight train and to have a very busy day after this. Train is awful - not possible to sleep, even for someone like me who experienced many overnight trains in Russia. Instead it would be better to take a day train, rest in the hotel overnight and then have the busy day. Cycling inside the city in Hue was not safe, especially considering that more than a half of the group are not experienced cyclists and the amount of traffic grows very fast every year (Ref: Vietnam population doubled in size within last 60 years). But cycling in countryside was lovely. Hotel in Hoi An was miles away from the city centre for no reason - there are plenty hotels closer for the similar rate. And finally our guide kept disappearing for an hour or two and was very vague with his instructions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Halong Bay

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was a nice chap, but he was not the best exodus guide. He "forgot" about a single lady traveller on the 1st night and had to go back when he remembered (about half an hour later, when we already were sitting in the restaurant). He kept disappearing for an hour or two, was contantly very vague with his instructions and was ignoring questions when you ask him something - it alsways shall be 2-3 times before we get a reply.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Sharon Reuben

    A Perfect Balance!

    My first time using Exodus for long-haul...I've traveled independently all over the tropics so was reluctant about this, wondering if it would be worth the money, but compared to the European trips I actually think it's great value & I loved this trip It's a perfect balance of cycling & sight-seeing with the best food I've EVER eaten in India, which I put down to our guide Safi. As a vegetarian, you can't eat better than Southern India :-) Lots to do, heaps to see, great variety of landscape, architecture and more...people are warm and friendly towards cyclists here...use your bell in the busy areas and enjoy the glorious peace of the quiet out-of-town rides. The backwater trip was lovely & peaceful, most hotels very good & a few excellent. I'm an experienced distance cyclist so wasn't daunted by the itinerary...most days are leisurely, a few more challenging which keeps it interesting -without question, the climb to Ooty is a serious challenge so be prepared. That said, a few folks used the support vehicle, that's what it's there for so don't be proud! * Would definitely recommend *

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a tiger in Chamundi was unexpected and magical...Seeing the sign for the last hairpin bend up to Ooty was a different kind of magical!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Safi was great - very good company, didn't push the group too hard but also kept to time and delivered a great trip with lots of variety, heaps of local interest, incredible food etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need many clothes - bring light thin layers as it gets v hot as you head south, but the few days around Ooty including the long descent after it are properly chilly, particularly flying back down to sea level out of the sun! The bikes are good...bring a little saddlebag or similar to hold a few items (phone etc) There's nothing you can't buy locally but ideally bring mossie spray / sun cream from home.
  • Reviewed February 2019

    Amazing views with peacefuness

    A really beautiful place to walk; each day gave us different views of the Dolomites and Austrian and Italian Alps. Our guide, Sara, was excellent, she encouraged all of the group to get the most out of the trip and despite the challenging weather (very deep snow and recent fresh avalanches which closed off many routes) devised an interesting, varied and very enjoyable schedule for us all. The hotel was good, the room was comfortable, spa was very welcome after long days walking and the food was very good- they catered for my gluten free diet really well with the minimum of fuss. Loved the breakfasts and lunch boxes. The group were lovely- this was my first group trip and I was quite apprehensive but I was really happy to meet such a diverse group of like minded people. The peacefulness in the mountains was wonderful- I’m so happy that our routes were altered because it gives me another good reason to go back again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 360 views from the Durrakopf and the peacefulness

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb. She encouraged and challenged us every day and made the trip for us. She made us feel happy to push ourselves and inspired confidence in the way she adapted to different conditions and thoroughly assessed and determined appropriate activities. She gave great insights into the area and was very interesting to talk to. She responded to different needs within the group and sorted out problems for people quickly and effectively.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t pack alpine ski-wear, it is too hot; better to have light layers to take on and off through the day, walking gear is best. Do some hill walking before you go to get fit! Really enjoyed the cross country skiing on the day off and shared lesson with local guide Iris.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to Sara!
  • Reviewed February 2019

    Fascinating, however..

    Fascinating colourful experience of Vietnam. The trip includes insight into it’s turbulent history, and inspired many of the group to read more about it. I went single, into a group of 16, and with Ngok, one of the nicest and best guides I’ve ever experienced. He was with us in Vietnam, and joined us evenings and for optional tours as well. We had to say goodbye to him before the early morning onward flight to Siem Reap. There we had a new guide, who met us with the unsurprising news that it was too early to check into the hotel – and then took us on a full day program, through to watching sunset over a temple (unfortunately underwhelming on that particular day) – without yet checking in. We arrived at the chosen temple and waited there 2 hours for sunset, tired and travel weary after 2 weeks in Vietnam. The hotel was no more than half an hour away, so we really felt he could have planned the day better for us. We had all been up very early (the previous day too). Half the group wanted to go direct to the hotel and miss the sunset, but the guide felt we should see the sunset because it was mentioned in the original itinerary. The majority of our group were disappointed with the Hotels. Comfortable and clean, friendly staff, but not as good as we expected from a trip advertised as Premium. Exception was the Hotel in Siem Reap, which met our expectations of Premium class. Note, only the hotel in Hanoi was not the one advertised in the original programme, it was supposed to be an 'or similar' hotel. Several of us wrote to our travel agents to complain of its distance from the town centre (shuttle bus ran insufficiently), its proximity next to a road, and general failure to meet expectations. Another point worth mentioning to those who choose this trip having noted that it is classed as leisurely. It wasn’t! There was very little free time, admittedly partly due to participation in some optional activities, and partly due to traffic jams keeping our bus on the road for hours longer than planned. It would help relieve some of the stress if the itinerary could be changed such that we do not spend 2 nights in a hotel, travel some hours for an overnight elsewhere, and then do the reverse travel to return to the original hotel for another night. It happens twice in this itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The colour and hustle and bustle of life in Hanoi, Hoi An and Saigon. The optional street food tour in Hanoi with Thanh (Tony) was worth doing, to see some of the back streets and eat in places you wouldn't normally find. Angkor Wat has to be up there as an inspirational part of the trip, though we hadn't realised there were soooo many temples on the itinerary. Some of the group felt 'all temple-ed out', gave up, and tuk-tuk-ed back to hotel pool and Siem Reap markets on the second day of temple visiting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngok is a lovely, friendly, memorable young (from where I am at 68 years old :-) man, and contributed immensely to the whole trip experience. He was with us in Vietnam, and joined us evenings and for optional tours as well. We learned a lot from him. The evening meals in the Vietnamese restaurants chosen by our guide were really good. He put menus together for us, such that we could try different dishes throughout the trip, though we always had the option of choosing something ourselves instead. Siem Reap guide...very pleasant and keen, though somewhat inflexible. See my summary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get quickly over the fear of crossing the road! Just pick your moment and go, keep the same pace, and focus on the other side! You get used to it :-))

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was very good, in spite of negative comments I've made. I experienced Vietnam and the temples in Angkor, and was not disappointed. However, it was not an excellent trip. Perhaps if I were considerably younger than 68 it would have been easier, but I chose this trip because it says the pace is leisurely and hotels are premium. So I was disappointed, as were the rest of the group. (14 of the 16 in our group were age around 55 to 75, and there were 2 under 30.)
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Anne-Marie Robinson

    Fascinating trip

    This trip has an interesting and varied itinerary, with plenty of excellent cultural visits. There is quite a lot of travel involved, as stated in the trip notes, but it's a big country and there's loads to see....palaces, temples, nature reserves, tea plantations, markets, backwaters and beaches.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the whole trip, but the highlight was the day and night spent on the backwaters in Alleppey. Just wonderful!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was outstanding. He was brilliantly organised, totally efficient, thoughtful, and charming. He made the trip a real pleasure to be on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a lot of travel between places. If you don't like temples, don't do this trip!
Call us on +91 531 40 28