Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2018
    alan darling

    fine, does what it says on the tin

    An amazing experience, better than expected. The 2 days in Petra were fantastic and we saw everything.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just exploring Petra it is so vast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    we had 2 leaders because ours could not take us because of personal reasons. Eddie our second leader was great, very knowledgeable and amusing and organised our trip brilliantly and dinners, a very important part of the holiday . Our first leader Hassan , had his own agenda, good with facts but did not help us with domestic issues.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In April take a range of clothing it is cold in the morning.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We did not have the best of experiences. Because we had 2 emergency leaders, our first one did not help us with where to have dinner in the evening, a very important part of the holiday and bonding with the group. He also took advantage of a new member and insisted that she collect the money for 3 events which included the guides tip ! He benefitted from this and also the payment to Petra by candle light, charging us a fee for buying the tickets which was the handed over to a MEMBER OF THE GROUP TO COLLECT and put her in a very stressful situation being in charge of the event. DO NOT ASK HIM AGAIN !!!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    julia gibson

    a week in Jordan - much more than Petra

    This is a full on trip but we covered so much. It's probably only now that I am home that I can really appreciate it all. Issa our guide was really knowledgeable and did his best to make sure we all got the best out of the trip. Mohammed, our own personal armed escort, was also a great addition to the trip although a little unnerving at first. Long travelling days were broken up by lots of stops and toilets and water were never far away. We carried our water with us on the coach in the form of two massive plastic containers so we could always top up. The weather was perfect for exploration, sunny but not too hot for Petra although Aqaba was pretty hot. Food was reasonable although a little predictable by the end of the trip. The sheer scale of Petra can only be experienced by being there and having the second day to explore at one's leisure was great. The beauty of the desert landscape in Wadi Rum took me by surprise.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the treasury emerge between a gap in the rocks then discovering its magnificence in full, and the sheer beauty and tranquility of the night time in the desert were my highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very knowledgeable and keen to share it with us. At times it was a bit of a route march to keep up with him, the emphasis was for you to stay with him rather than him to check on us - which led to two of us misplacing the group at one stage!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you do dress appropriately, it is a strict muslim country and although we were told they are tolerant of visitors we felt more comfortable if covered up to a reasonable degree ( below the knee skirts/shorts and shoulders covered). Alcohol is not freely available, the cave bar at Petra saw a lot of our custom! There are a lot of steps at Petra but most places can be reached by donkey or horse, not just the monastery if you find this tough, you do need a reasonable level of fitness however.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As with most Exodus trips it was really well organised and despite what was happening across the border in Syria we felt safe at all times. Every day brought new discoveries and wonders. This was an amazing experience I encountered by accident but am so glad I went.
  • Reviewed April 2018

    A Week in Petra

    A great week with a great bunch of people This was the trip just as I expected it - Petra being the highlight, but Wadi Rum coming a close second. Or maybe Jerash? Mount Nebo? Two disappointments - firstly Madaba where we rushed through the town to see only the Ma’daba Map (well worth it) because we had stopped off at a ceramic centre for adults with learning difficulties which turned out to be a large shop with less than half of the items being ceramics and the rest the usual ‘stuff’ you could find everywhere but here the assistants were very pushy. Secondly, Aquaba where, because we couldn’t get into our rooms, we went straight to the private beach for snorkelling, swimming etc. which is supposed to be an additional option but we were told to pay the JD20, with no options. A bit annoying as many of our group were not interested in sunbathing and swimming on a private beach overlooking Palestine on the other side of the Red Sea.a -

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inevitably, the two days in Petra, particularly starting early on the second morning (7am), walking through the Siq and reaching the Treasury almost on our own.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Isaa was very helpful, a little earnest to begin with but loosening up by the end. He imparted an enormous amount of information, perhaps too much so! I would have preferred if we had not had to go around as a group at each site. This was particularly annoying at Kerak where we, and other large groups, prevented easy movement of couples or small family groups. Our driver, Jamal, was an amazing driver with a big friendly smile at all times. However much of a character Mohammed was, it was a bit disconcerting having a gun-totting policeman walking around with the group!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do make the effort to make the early start on day 2 at Petra. Do have a torch and wet wipes for the camp - it gets dark very early and the loo block, where you won’t want to spend too long, is a bit of a walk away! Do make sure you not only have your swimming costumes but also your water shoes for the private beach at Aquaba - the sand is far more uncomfortable here than at the Dead Sea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you plan to spend an additional day in Amman, before or at the end of the tour, be aware that we get an awful lot done in the last afternoon namely the Jordan Museum (Dead Sea Scrolls), the Roman theatre plus 2 little museums, the Citadel, a rush through the downtown market and lunch at Hashem’s. We found Darat-al-funun (Little House of the Arts) just north of Downtown - it’s a very small art centre with peaceful, shady terraces where you can have iced coffees, smoothies etc and walk through the gardens to the ruins of a Byzantine church. You could also have a more leisurely walk around the market, stopping to buy figs, dates or some of the wonderful selection of nuts! From there walk to Rainbow Street (do ask for directions, Jordanians are very kind and will try very hard to help). Have lunch at [email protected] which is in a street off Rainbow Street, near the bottom. It has a lovely terrace cafe and despite its name, we were the only tourists!(apparently very lively at night). There’s nothing too special about Rainbow Street by day, but the gift shops offer you the chance to buy better souvenirs without the pressure of the sales staff you get at the regular stops during the trip. If this is your first Exodus trip be aware that there is no such thing as a lie-in! However, it is a wonderful chance to find out about this wonderful country - you’ll love it!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    J John

    Comprehensive

    The guide was informative and well organised. We visited all the key sites in the week and had time to explore. Not a lot of time to relax, but the emphasis was on visiting the sites of special interest. There were two afternoons with opportunities to sit, by the Dead and Red Seas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra and Jerash. Both places were huge and had so much to explore. The time available was insufficient to familiarise oneself with the area properly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was polite, efficient and friendly. He knew the areas well and how to get the most out of the time available. He also organised a couple of unscheduled treats for us - a picnic and an evening meal under the stars.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t be surprised by early starts and having to keep to a schedule. A rucksack or light handbag is essential for day time use.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Megan Benton

    An excellent tour of a fascinating country

    We had a wonderful week in Jordan. The country has so much to offer in terms of history, geography, geology, natural environment, culture and food, not to mention sunshine. The tour was well designed, generally giving enough time for us to enjoy each part of the tour, and the logistics were very good - meals, accommodation, transport, tickets, etc. were well organised. The food was excellent!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk to the high place above Petra was amazing not just for the view from the top, but also for the beautiful and strange rock formations and colours all along the way and the surprises - tombs, views, etc. - around every corner. (Also, there were not many souvenir shops along the route, compared to along the Monastry walk.) The sunset and sunrise at Wadi Rum were also really special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader, Samer, was outstanding. One of us has done six or so similar group-based tours with this company and others, and Samer is the best guide he's had. His English is excellent, his knowledge of his country is deep and broad, and his friendly, unflappable disposition was much appreciated. The two coach drivers were also excellent, considering some of the awkward manoeuvres needed at times!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would advise potential travellers to go to Jordan! Also, I would advise them to start to get to know others on the tour sooner rather than later - we really enjoyed our companions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would have liked to see more of Wadi Rum. We had some time in the morning at Wadi Rum to explore the desert a little on foot, but we would have liked to see more of the area by 4x4. Little Petra was interesting, but we would have preferred more time in Wadi Rum instead.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Anthony Chewter

    A week in Jordan

    What a wonderful country, full of Eastern promise. The people were lovely and did not annoy us as we passed so many little shops. The country was clean and the hotels of a very good standard, a little bit more expensive then we first though it was going to be, but it is a fairly rich country so prices are on the higher side. The Dead sea, Mount Nebo, Wadi Rum, Aqaba were all fabulous but Petra was something else, amazing place and so much bigger than we thought it was going to be. Brilliant week and made even nicer by the fact we had 16 companions from 4 different countries, no smokers no moaners just wonderfully friendly people who were there to enjoy this amazing country. Thanks to all of you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra, truly a wonder of the world

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Somer new his bible and history to the point it was sometimes way over my head, but he always made it sound interesting, truly a gentleman.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more money than you initially think of.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    GO,GO,GO
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Val Lee

    A week in Jordan

    A brilliant holiday starting in Amman visiting Jerash which is a huge site full of archeology. Petra another huge site and the walk down the Siq full of interest and then the Treasury comes into view. Climbed up to the Monastery spending all day in Petra. Best was the walk up to the High Sacrifice place. Night visit very disappointing, a bit of a lead balloon after the walk down. Hotel in Petra in a fantastic position but dirty and breakfast not good having to avoid chipped cups etc. The view from Mount Nebo over the Promised Land and all the mosaics wonderful. Loved Wadi Rum, the food, stars and camels. Aqaba interesting and snorkelling good. If it would be possible to fly home from Aqaba it would save the long but not unpleasant drive back to Amman in the tired bus with broken seats and dirty interior.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wadi Rum - loved it. But the walk over the tops in Petra brilliant - job to choose.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omar extremely knowledgeable especially in Petra his home town and really did his best for us. Very helpful but he did repeat things a little too much.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes. Cover up against the sun and enjoy the experiences you will surely have

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wadi Rum. I did a bit of a litter pick - everyone should do it! Sad to see the rubbish in places.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    David Collins

    A week in Jordan

    An interesting week with plenty of cultural experiences and great scenery. Our guide Zahair was full of local knowledge and a great ambassador of Jordan. The highlight was definitly the two full days in Petra. Early wind and rain had resulted in Petra being closed until late morning with a warning of flash floods. In the end all was well and our group enjoyed seeing the monastery, the high point of sacrifice, the Siq and lots of tombs and caves. Wadi rum was great but the Bedouin camp was a bit of an ordeal but rescued by the great evening meal. Lack of sleeping bags and vertually no running water made for a primitive and unpleasant wake up call in the morning. Aqaba was warm, the Red Sea had good snorkelling too. The visit to the Dead Sea and seeing Jordan's Grand Canyon was not to be missed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The two days in Petra, especially the walk on the second day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zahair was attentive full of stories and had great local knowledge and a great ambassador for Jordan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The week in Jordan was very interesting, varied and well worth a visit. However some of the accommodation was very poor and should not be part of the itinerary. Out hotel La Maisson in Petra was one of the worst ones I have stayed in for many a year. The shower cubicle was tiny, it completely flooded the floor when we showered. We had to mop the water up with the hand and bath towels each time. The breakfast was a matter of first come first served. The food was not replenished, tables not cleaned and no clean cutlery. Staff simply disappeared when perople asked them for anything. Our group were all put in the basement underneath the dining room. The noise from scrapping chairs, stamping feet and clanking cutlery began very early and was deafening and annoying. The coach we had all week was very old, pretty smelly and grimy. It broke down on the motorway 50 miles from Petra. The driver tried to fix it but to no avail. We waited 90 plus minutes for a replacement bus. Our driver was left overnight with the old bus. We endured a white knuckle ride to Petra along winding roads and hairpin bends eventually arriving at La Maisson at 9.30pm. Our old bus was repaired and we used it for the remainder of our stay.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have been with Exodus travel twice already, both trips were excellent. Petra was our third trip plus we are booked to climb Macchu Picchu in the summer. The poor accommodation and bus has made me unable to recommend the trip to our friends. These problems were pretty significant and has made the trip poor value for money too.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank David for his feedback, although we are sorry that he was disappointed with the accommodation in Petra and the vehicle used for some of the trip. Many parts of La Maison Hotel have now been completely renovated and refurbished since David stayed there. We have spoken to staff at the hotel and reiterated the standards and quality of service that we expect, and we will continue to closely monitor all client feedback we receive about the accommodation and food to ensure that it meeting our expectations. We also regret that one of the vehicles was of a poor standard and broke down on the way to Petra. We have now switched to a different bus supplier and we are making weekly vehicle checks at the new supplier’s depot to ensure this situation does not reoccur. We hope this shows we have taken David’s feedback seriously.

    Monica Princic – Product Manager for Jordan

  • Reviewed January 2018
    Mavis Williams

    Brilliant trip in a fabulous country

    The 8 day tour of Jordan was really enjoyable. The trip encompassed all the incredible sights of Jordan and its rich culture and history. Petra was amazing and a real highlight. The guide was knowledgeable, caring and very enthusiastic. Would really recommend this interesting, varied and enjoyable trip. The group were all like minded people and we all got on very well which was a real bonus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Petra and having time to really explore the whole site. It is really amazing. Also the trip was very varied and covered all the highlights of Jordan

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was amazing, very experienced knowledgeable and worked really hard to ensure the whole group enjoyed the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The night in the desert was really good but if you want a sleeping bag book it before the trip. This was not made clear in the trip notes, it makes it easier if you want to sleep outside. Walking boots recommended. Layers for winter as can be cold at night in the desert. Alcohol available but hard to find and can be expensive

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very enjoyable trip and an amazing group. Thank you Exodus
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Tracey Lawrence

    A peaceful nation in the middle east

    An amazing introduction to the Middle East and Jordan with a fabulous mix of culture and activities across the country. People are really friendly and say 'welcome' all the time. loved the fact you aren't changing hotels every night like some trips. large comfortable coach. Highlight obviously Petra and it didn't disappoint. 2 days of hiking around Petra with every corner another wonderful sight and a view to take your breath away. I also wasn't knowledgeable regards the Roman Sights and they were a fabulous surprise. Dead and Red sea great but abit chilly during Decemeber....so a short dip to say I did it :)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra! ....and an impromptu arranged marriage at Wadi Rum Camp...all for a bit of fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very knowledgeable and informative. Full of passion and stories all day every day. Minor constructive comment would be that sometimes it felt like a boot camp especially as his loud voice bellowed at you for dropping back to take photos and he really liked it his way and being centre of attention.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    order a sleeping bag....its free even if you don't want it. take sturdy shoes/boots for Petra...we did over 60,000 steps and near 40km over 2 days according to someone's fitbit!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    get to like bread, humous, cucumber and tomato....its the staple lunch. Fabulous trip...well organised. Book It!
Call us on +45 (0)70 12 03 03