Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Laura Peterson

    Moonstone and Machu Picchu

    I had a wonderful time in Peru and would recommend it to anyone. Our guide Tomas was friendly and so enthusiastic about the culture and history of this fascinating county. The Moonstone trek was incredible. Amazing views and feels like you have the mountains to yourself. Did not see any other tourists until the last day. It contains interesting Inca sites to explore along the way. Cannot recommend my guide Frank enough, he was encouraging and positive throughout. Enormous knowledge of the history and ecology of area. I suffered a devastating side effect of altitude, loss of appetite- but our talented chef Robert produced in a tent on a mountainside wonderful meals that kept me going strong. The trek is challenging at times but the sense of achievement when you reach the snow capped pass cannot be beaten. Machu Picchu lived up to the hype and was great to have a tour with Tomas then time to explore for yourself. Cusco is a busy town that you can spend hours wondering around, I was often alone for this and felt confident and safe to do so.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going up through the snow and reaching the top of the pass. We visited Machu Picchu on the winter solstice, so saw in the new year watching the sun rise through the temple of the sun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders were outstanding and made it a trio of a lifetime

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get your cardio up!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jacky Wilson

    Beautiful coastline

    Always wanted to go to Sardinia! The coastline is really beautiful - unbelievably clear sea, deserted beaches and completely unspoiled. The holiday is based in a family-run hotel in a smallish town. It’s fine - friendly, but breakfast and picnics were disappointing even if dinner was generally good. There is a fabulous pizzeria a few minutes walk from the hotel as well as a good gelatería. The walks involved more scrambling over rocks than indicated on the trip notes and the terrain was quite hard on the joints generally as it was stony. The walks were also all quite similar and I would have preferred more variety. Sardinia (or this area anyway) doesn’t seem to have much architectural interest and we didn’t see any pretty towns or villages such as you would always see in mainland Italy or France.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Amazed at all the beautiful beaches - truly, who needs the Caribbean? This is perfection.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was brilliant - helpful, good humoured, friendly, interesting. A really top guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was the heat that was difficult to cope with rather than the walks. There are generally not places to top up bottles at midday so you need to carry a lot of water to keep hydrated all day. I did not enjoy all the rocky terrain and scrambling. I should perhaps have asked more questions though the trip notes only indicate “some” scrambling so I didn’t expect it would feature as much as it did. It’s a challenge to pack two pairs of walking shoes in your case but if possible a pair of breathable ones for day 1 and ones with more robust soles for the remaining days would be ideal. I think a pole was very helpful. Sunhat essential too, even if you don’t normally like wearing one!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If it were possible to find greater variety in the walks I think it would be better. I wish we could have had longer in Cala Luna on the last day, not just 45 mins - there was a lovely shady bar but no time to swim, have a drink and then get ready to walk.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jill Last

    Walking French riverra

    Excellent guide, Sandrine. Exodus must retain her!! Routes, excellent variety, interest and length. Good hotel. Below average breakfast. I had a very good room, but too much vegetation outside window!! Very good roof top bar. Good transport. Flights, don't like late day flights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walks up high in on coastal hills, with views down to sea. Narrow hillside tracks, walking amongst special plants. WWII underground area at top of hill - sitting on top of a gun turret, eating lunch with a 360 deg view, reflecting! Being in and exploring the old towns Day in Monaco. Our guide Sandrine was inspirational in her enthusiasm and knowledge

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding - see above.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Embrace the situation and explore the differences!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Prefer earlier flight times No meals included and quite a pricey holiday
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Leslie Donaldson

    Spitsbergen Photography Special

    We spent 12 days aboard the Vavilov traveling around Spitsbergen with Paul Goldstein and Mark Carwardine. In 24 hour day light we saw an amazing number of polar bears with cubs (estimate 35 cubs and adults) Arctic foxes, various birds and fantastic scenery. There was a wonderful mixing of all the guests and staff and before the end of the trip it was like one big party. Everyone was keen to help each other with camera advice and computer problems. Paul and Mark held several tutorials on light room photographic processing and were always willing to give advice on any other topic. The ship’s captain manouvered the ship to give us the best views of the polar bears.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was no single moment since we had a mother and two cubs who came right up to the ship, followed another mother and cubs on the ice edge while we were I n zodiacs. In another zodiac trip to see thousands of Guillemots on the cliffs we also saw seven Arctic foxes playing and hunting close up. The scenery of mountains and glaciers was fantastic. On the penultimate day we went for a walk and saw rain deer and an adult fox and 3 week old cubs. Every day had a new high.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein was his usual high energy self and inspirational and the One Ocean staff were an excellent team especially their leader Boris Wise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go! Don’t buy a new camera just before you go, there was so much action you need to know how to use it before you arrive. There is a good laundry service so you don’t need too many clothes but bring layers to keep warm especially gloves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is our fifth trip on the Vavilov and it had the highest animal count.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Leslie Donaldson

    Spitsbergen Photography Special

    We spent 12 days aboard the Vavilov traveling around Spitsbergen with Paul Goldstein and Mark Carwardine. In 24 hour day light we saw an amazing number of polar bears with cubs (estimate 35 cubs and adults) Arctic foxes, various birds and fantastic scenery. There was a wonderful mixing of all the guests and staff and before the end of the trip it was like one big party. Everyone was keen to help each other with camera advice and computer problems. Paul and Mark held several tutorials on light room photographic processing and were always willing to give advice on any other topic. The ship’s captain manouvered the ship to give us the best views of the polar bears.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was no single moment since we had a mother and two cubs who came right up to the ship, followed another mother and cubs on the ice edge while we were I n zodiacs. In another zodiac trip to see thousands of Guillemots on the cliffs we also saw seven Arctic foxes playing and hunting close up. The scenery of mountains and glaciers was fantastic. On the penultimate day we went for a walk and saw rain deer and an adult fox and 3 week old cubs. Every day had a new high.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein was his usual high energy self and inspirational and the One Ocean staff were an excellent team especially their leader Boris Wise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go! Don’t buy a new camera just before you go, there was so much action you need to know how to use it before you arrive. There is a good laundry service so you don’t need too many clothes but bring layers to keep warm especially gloves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is our fifth trip on the Vavilov and it had the highest animal count.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Geraldene Cummins

    Excellent holiday, I didn't want to come home

    I had a great time cycling around Croatia. Our guide was excellent as was the scenery and food. Cycling is a great way to see the country and enjoy the views. We went swimming every day after the ride and was taken to lovely restaurants in the evening.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling along the coastline in the sunshine and seeing the lovely clear waters.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marijo was fantastic, very friendly and welcoming. You couldn't have asked for a better leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are hills so make sure you have a good level of fitness. I used the support bus one morning as it was a steep climb in over 30 degrees which was too much for me. The food was really nice and everyone in the group was lovely and we all had a nice time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You must visit Croatia. It's really beautiful and the people are welcoming.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Trudy Restieaux

    Picos mixed activity

    Brilliant holiday, all the activities were challenging, hotel staff very accommodating and food deĺicious.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the rubo gorge in mist and rain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was amazing, patient, encouraging and looked after us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good holiday for lone travellers or friends but need to be active if not that fit.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Lesley Butler

    Wonderful Trip

    If you like history, visiting beautiful buildings and tasting local food, this is the trip for you. Yes there are some bad roads to contend with, but that's a small price to pay. The highlights? Bukhara, meeting the eagle hunter and brilliant local guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up close to a golden eagle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two leaders. Dilshod in Uzbekistan was brilliant - his knowledge of local history was amazing and he also had a great sense of humour. Ermek in Kazakhstan and Kyrgystan was also a great guide - conscientious and a fund of information, particularly about the recent history of the region.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy the different cultures of Central Asia.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We found the local people very friendly and all three countries a lot more laid back than we were expecting.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Ian Hill

    The title of the trip was appropriate.

    The organisation worked well. Trip notes and maps together made route finding easy. The route was varied and interesting; opportunities for eating and drinking were many. The quality of hotels was good, though only two provided tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The bikes were well-maintained, but are rather heavy, so it was a good job the route was mostly flat. There were no bottle cages provided, which made stopping for water a bit of a faff! Overall, a very enjoyable week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    too many to mention.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    not applicable as it was self-guided.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have ridden a bike a lot in recent times. Savlon helps with saddle soreness. Learn a bit of German, particularly to do with food and drink. Being able to read a map is essential if you miss the direction signs, though they are generally pretty clear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't think so.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    julian tatham-losh

    cycle romaina

    really truly surprising place quiet unspoilt clean friendly , good wi fi , mobile phone and yet really untouched by 2oth centuary cars a variety , and then the fortified churches we all yawn ,but with this trip each and everyone has its own special charm . Good varied acheivable ride in deepest quiet untouched country side

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    veskri unesco world heritage village

    What did you think of your group leader?

    radu was i think the best i have had so far

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    do not forget youre battery charger for camera i did and beelive me youll want to take loads of pics
Call us on +45 (0)70 12 03 03