Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    DeeAnn Bowater

    Classic Rajasthan Premium

    This is a lovely trip of 15 days thru the central and Western part of India, including many crowded places but with glorious forts, mosques and temples and excellent accommodations and GOOD FOOD. YOU NEVER had to fear any food problems , and especially if you drank their good Kingfisher beer to tamp down the wee bit of spice.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the feeling in the air of the Sikh temple in Agra. There are hundreds of volunteers EVERY day who cook and serve those who need food-without any pay. This was a wonderful experience. I know some would say the Taj Mahal jolted their senses the most, but the Sikh temple did it for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I am going to go out on a limb here-but the BEST part of the India trip was knowing Ajay Gupta, our leader. If I had never seen India, and only heard about it from him, that would have been enough. (But I'm glad I did see India.) Besides being so knowledgeable about all the sites that we saw, and being such a good communicator, he gave us a plan for the future of India. He is full of hope and offered us so many ideas and ideals that , if accomplished, would make India a heaven on earth -the way it started 5, 000 years ago. I can't say enough about his kindness and humanity. A remarkable young man.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a red head, I wore my hat all the time and always wore long sleeved light cotton blouses. I wore skirts, too, to avoid the tangle around my ankles when using the squat toilets-tho they weren't as horrible as I was led to believe. In fact, most places were just fine. Drink as much water as you can hold. It is hot and you will need it. Enjoy the beer,(not for lunch ,tho) but don't bother with the wine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think I needed to be aware of the acceptance of trash more than I was. There are just so many people, and not enough of an infrastructure to take care of the trash...so that was a bit hard to see-also the street dogs-cows I knew were coming.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Susan Allen

    Rajahstan was fantastic

    A brilliant tour, a small group of just seven of us in a comfortable airconditioned bus with a terrific driver and helper. Our guide, Harish was knowledgeable, professional, helpful and friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many but seeing the Taj Mahal at sunrise takes some beating of course! Our hotel at Deogarh was magnificent and my room was truly stunning. The train ride! Dinner on the ramparts at Khimsar Fort. Udaipur and the boat ride on the lake. .....and so much more....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marvellous!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the group leader's advice - he really does know best!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A couple of downsides: 1) our flights on Jet Airways were not at all good, I think that Exodus should consider using another airline for their Premium holidays. 2) don't like being taken to places where they try a hard sell! Loved visiting the co-operative set up by a Swiss couple who genuinely cared about the local women. We saw them making textiles and clothes, no hard sell there so, without any hassle, we bought several lovely things.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Salma Nishar

    Classic Rajasthan - Premium

    We had such a wonderful time on this tour, every day was filled with interesting sightseeing, amazing food and so many new experiences! We were a group of 16 and our guide, Mr Wahab Khan (aka Mani Ji) really helped get the group together, he was excellent, very knowledgeable about the sites we visited. The itinerary was perfect, we fitted in so many experiences and everything went as planned. The highlight of the tour would have been visiting the Taj Mahal - one which we will never forget!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having coffee on the mountains of Khimsar and waiting for the sunrise!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was fantastic and made this trip really special for us. He took really great care of everyone and took note of all our small requests...it is the small things that matters and he was superb at it!
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Philip Brown

    Phil and Sarah Brown

    This was a holiday that just kept on giving. Everyday Indian culture, history, religions, politics, landscapes, cuisine gently revealed... An inspiring trip full of variety, contradictions, colour, noise, exotic tastes and smells.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The time in Pushcar camel fair was priceless, all of our senses were called upon, colours bright oranges and fuchsia pinks, glittering sparkly bangles and anklets, street food spicy hot from the kadai bowls, hooting cars and camel wagons, huge big steel wheel carousels, screaming out for customers, neon lit after dark. Memories emblazoned in our minds.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Mani, had an open and friendly manner and he went that extra mile every day to inform the group and share his own experiences. We would unreservedly recommend him to continue as a group leader. He dealt admirably with the rupee notes crisis when we were away and we would not have managed without him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    With the current problem with rupees 500 and 1000 notes suggest travellers only exchange 100 and 2000 and check their change so that they are not given old notes in change. Also used Bimuno pastilles and we did not get Delhi belly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is our third trip with Exodus and at every point we have been pleased with the service and set up. Thank you for helping us create memories.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Glen Locke

    Classic Rajasthan

    I wonderful tour filled with all sorts of memories

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal is truly a wonderful splender.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best group leader I have ever had. Lots of extras and information about the area and the culture of India.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a little hot when you go in March/April and the area is not as green as it is earlier in the year. We had no problem getting our laundry done so no need to pack too much.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The overnight flight going out makes can lead to a droggy start, you may want to look at going out the day before to rest up before starting the trip.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Linda Petrie

    Classic Rajasthan

    This was a fantastic trip from beginning to the end. Every day was an adventure with new experiences - from the colours, sights, the food, the customs & not least the friendliness of the Rajasthani people. And not forgetting the crazy crazy driving on the roads shared by many modes of transport - human, mechanical & animal!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Sikh temple in Delhi & obviously our first sight of the Taj Mahal was breathtaking. We also enjoyed the visit to the school where the children were proud to show us their work books & sing to us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay was a superb leader. We could relax knowing we were in very good hands. He was kind, helpful & full of stories to give us an insight to the Indian way of life. He was very knowledgeable and it was clear he was passionate about India and its people. We could not have hoped for a better leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep an open mind and just soak it all up. Every day really was an adventure.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip covered many miles but it was worth it as a lot of sights were packed into the itinerary. I agree with previous comments that for a first timer to India it was an excellent introduction & we would certainly look forward to returning to India in the future. The organisation by Exodus & our guide Ajay was superb. I must also mention the standard & variety of the hotels which were without exception all excellent. They just got better & better. The size of the group (15) was just right too. It was lovely to share the experience with such lovely new friends.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Heather Hyde

    Classic Rajasthan - Premium holiday

    This really was a fantastic experience, the standard of all the accomadation was really wonderfull, from modern to historic hotels, our group of 15 were great company and we had plenty of fun and laughs. Our group leader Ajay was really good and helped to make the holiday one to remember for a long time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of Rajasthan, the histoic accomadation from Palaces to Forts and of course the Taj in Agra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really good, could not have been better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is really the way to see India, OK traveling by bus for a few hours between locations can be a bit long, but there is so much to see while travelling, the coach was air conditioned and was comfortable and plenty big enough for all the group to relax. The driver was excellent and I would recommend this trip to anyone interested in seeing India.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic weather, wonderfull country, great accomadation, great group and leader, great memories.
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Philip Nield

    Great place, great trip

    Rajasthan is an eccentric and colourful state and we saw the best of it. This wouldn't have been possible without our guide Balvinder who went way beyond the call of duty. Our fellow travellers were also good company, but the star of the show was India at its most "in your face".

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have two. Visting a school and having the children sing to us. The camel fair and sacred lake at Pushkar.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb. A gentleman and a scholar.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bear in mind that there's a lot more time on the bus than the average Exodus trip. This is unavoidable given the distances involved, the state of the roads and the traffic congestion. But that's India!
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Adrian Christer

    Fantastic first trip with Exodus

    A great tour for first timers to India, it packs in an amazing amount into 15 days. Hotels (except one) were very high standard ranging from extremely plush modern to quirky but comfortable forts and palaces. Food was good at hotels but a bit variable at lunch stops en route - but that's India. There were some long bus journeys between locations, but you can't alter the geography.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Sikh temple in Delhi where there is a massive kitchen manned by volunteers capable of providing a free meal to thousands each day irrespective of colour, class or religion.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronit was excellent - a real pro. He has worked for Exodus for many years so was very knowledgeable and extremely well organised - everything ran smoothly. He was able to pass on the right amount of info without being tedious - something that some of the local guides used could perhaps take note of. We thought he struck the right balance between being approachable but not overly friendly. He was very conscientious in explaining menu options as not everyone was familiar with Indian cuisine. He made the extra effort to arrange fireworks to celebrate Diwali. He did us proud on the last evening by choosing a good restaurant on the lake shore looking to the floodlit city palace at Udaipur. We organised our own flights so arrived in Delhi 2 hours before the group - Ronit was there to meet us and had arranged a taxi to take us to the hotel so we didn't have to hang around, similarly, the main group left the hotel at 5am on the last day whilst our departure wasn't 'til 1pm and again Ronit arranged a free taxi to take us to the airport and waited to see us off. Finally, but most importantly, he was very conscientious in looking after my wife when she slipped when leaving the bus twisting her ankle and grazing her elbow. What a great guy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Might be stating the obvious but here goes - take medication for stomach upset and colds with you - 12 of the 14 in our group suffered to varying degrees. Be aware that many of the sites visited (and some of the old heritage hotels) involve climbing steps - some steep and without the safety protection we have become accustomed to in health and safety obsessed GB.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Initially there was a bit of overkill with visits to many temples, palaces, forts etc and we began to think that we wouldn't see much of "real" India but in week 2 there was a greater diversity of towns visited, more varied visits and more opportunity to wander the streets of less touristy honeypot locations. And we would like to praise the driver, how he manages to cope so coolly with the chaos that passes for traffic in India was amazing, and his assistant who helped everyone on and off the bus at every stop. Thanks guys.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Donna Meyer

    Could not have done it alone

    Classic Rajasthan was my first organized trip. I have always arranged my own bookings and activities; but with a destination as unfamiliar to me as India, I chose to go with Edodus. It was one of the best experiences of my life. Our guide added interesting places that I could not have found on my own. The language barrier, tipping protocol, and food choices were made seamless. I can't wait to go on another Exodus trip next year. Thanks for the wonderful experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have a theology background and world religions are my interest. The Hindu, Muslim and Sikh Temples were spiritually significant to me. The Camel ride was super cool too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was vigilant about our safely and that we were all happy. In a diverse group, that can be a challenge. What I liked was the special added things to the itinerary that were delightful, like the cow hospital and the motorcycle shrine. These are what makes India a fascinating place. The small things. I feel our trip leader one we would like those places.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's just a great intro to India.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Now that I've done the leisure tour, I know I can take a tour that involves more walking or hiking. As an American I thought our British tour companions were fun and funny and added a different perspective. I enjoyed traveling with non Americans!
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02